(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

donkeymami - i jus ordered from this nice caterer call Ezthots. The food n price are reasonable n the food are quite decent. they have quite a range of food to match n mix. u can call the person in charge to check. Steven - 9431 9656

happi
nipples wont be painful if you use the pump the correct way leh. sometimes i need to pump more than 30 mins (my pump auto stop once it reach 30mins) to empty all milk.

cherrios
i read that if dont let baby try previously frozen EBM, next time will reject thats why i let Zachary try lor. who knows now he knows that he can tell it taste differently. he drank 40ml to ease his hunger and dont want anymore (i know he definately drinks more than that!). after that he still wants to latch on and was crying all the way when i was showering! luckily, my breasts still got milk left. after my hubby tried the previously frozen BM hor, he told me next time give Zachary fresh ones haha

maybe u can use like 25 bags to soak? everyday you still store a few bags right? then shouldnt be a problem. you can also everyday use a bag to wash hair, body & face. i only keep like 10 bags in freezer and use the older EBM on beauty purpose. i've been trying to decrease my supply for a bit so that i dont have to pump after every feed haha

why are you letting Ellyse drink from bottle totally during weekend?

donkeymami
for buffet, we just use Revada and it is quite nice. I love the curry chicken, sweet sour fish fillet, fried bee hoon ect :D yum yum~

JoannS
i think my mil paid $6.50 or $7.50 for the cheapest voucher.

Ya, I think must pump for abt 40 mins with 20 mins break here and there. That quote was from someone who tried it. Well, no harm trying. I will start today la. Most prob at night. Cos now sometimes latching, then just pump extra 20 min with a 10 min break. Hopefully ss goes up.

I'm only taking the Tea from MIM. Consists of fenugreek and peppermint. THinking of going to buy fenugreek from GNC from Goat Rue, was reading it from the webby that mashy posted. Still thinking of what to do.

phy*o*
do you know how long we can keep the MIM nursing mother's tea? i bought the trial pack and RRL tea 3 mths ago. btw, where do u keep them? i put them in a lock n lock container and put in fridge. donno if correct or not.

irene,
how regularly u eat?

phy*o*,
my baby neva poo for 3 days!! yday finally poo...poo so much dat the whole diaper soaked from front to back n leaked onto his top!
today poo once only...tink his pooing not v good lei
when can we start drinking the MIM tea? i bought but dunno when to start

registration of birth cert,
how many days do we haf? my shifu haven come back wif the name...i juz read on the 'notification of live birth', its say within 14 days...today its the 8th day liao..but i tink i read before its 1mth?

Sharon,
if i not wrong 14days is for registering at hosp at ICA is longer... now i no longer swaddle my bb leh only when i bring him go out den i swaddle him....

Reira,
No prob. Let's go BPP for HK cafe.
I am so lucky to get Mdm Rokiah last min. She was here in Jurong area & came to my plc after her client at CCK. She said I have the worst engorgement of all her client of yesterday. Bought the hot stome from her, very useful. She said I am be very diligent to get improve my block ducts. I am surprise that 1 of my breast is like fountain... can shoot up milk. OMG!!

dolliepollie,
I bought pigeon nipple puller from kiddy palace. Very useful & not expensive too.

http://www.pigeonbaby.info/product.php?pr_id=17

Reira,

Should be okay to keep in refrigerated ba. Mine is in an air-tight container in a cool cupboard.

Sharon,

I started taking the tea ytd. Twice a day (morning and afternoon). Thinking whether I should take after dinner too.

Sharon,

Monitor baby's poo's patterns. Sometimes they vary for different babies. If uncertain, call your PD and ask.

My baby have problem in sleeping leh , make me very tired . My mum say is difficult for me to take care if without sarong . isit true ?

anyone hve item those automatic sarong how much it much (movable type) ??

Hi Bubblymommie,
I pump almost every 3-4hrs and does not latch on much..find it more efficient tat way so i can do other things and can also monitor the amt bb drinks. Yest i was a bit lazy,slept from midnite til 8am then pumped..wah the breasts like macham bricks so painful.Then thruout the day can feel lumps at sides of breasts..now scared already so will try to pump more dilligently.

No joke,it was soo painful.So i kept massaging and apply hot towel..it works.

Hi bbmaking,
U feeling better?Seeing Dr Woo for follow up?

Piggy : me also hear alot say sarong not good , u know la mother "time" they use sarong say have sarong easy to take care .
headache...........

Today my boy day time only sleep 3hrs . and I can see he is very tired in his eye so kelian . Maybe due to the wind inside is stomach ma . he like have difficulties sleeping and keep crying leh . how har???

thanks reira/janice/piggytoh

phy*o*
thanks...bb finally poo twice n pee alot today...tink cos i got a little bit more milk le...so happy! hope can maintain

how long bb stay awake?
normally how long ur bb stay awake in the daytime?
like 10-12pm then 3-6pm dun sleep at all normal?

shizuka gal
The nipple puller is good. it helps the bb to latch more.

I have short nipple on the right side and I find that it is easier to latch with football hold

bean ;u can try massaging bb 's tummy with 2 fingers anti clockwise n downwards.

sarong very dangerous...alot of bbs fall out of it

Shizuka
I had session with mdm rokiah yesterday too. During the session I had so much milk, spurting like foutain but today my supply drop to an all time low. Did u have the same problem?

Pinkmama

I have the same problem like u after the session with Mdm Rokiah. But after a few days the milk ss slightly increase.

But I was having fever yesterday due to engorgement. Hope it wont affect my ss....

very long did not come in... I was trying my best to rest and sorting out reno for my new place. :p Luckily this round got CL so can shake leg abit now.

re: sling
any recommendation where and what to buy? I nvr use sling b4 but would like to try seems quite convenient when carrying bb out.

re: build up milk ss
IMO..
1) rest more
2) eat regularly (not excessive)
3) drink alot of liquid e.g soups/water/red dates tea etc
4) lastly must pump regularly even at nite, to the extend of set alarm clock to wake yourself for at least 1~2 mths to establish milk ss

Sharon, I eat all 3 meals and add one tea break in the late afternoon.
My lunch and dinner quite big portion. I notice when I eat well, my milk is thicker. And when I didn't eat well, my milk is thin.

Re : baby alert
My girl didn't use baby plus but she was very alert since birth. In fact, she didn't sleep much since day 1...not like those sleepy newborn at all.

Celine, I think the pouch is easier coz the normal MIM sling requires you to master the skill of tightening and loosening the sling. I have been using the MIM sling since Joshua's birth.

hi phy_o,

okie, i will try, since i pump very long per session also, when u say rest, meaning really do nothing or massage ?

btw, i dun latch now, issit becos of that that the ss just wouldn't increase ? any mother dun latch but still got lots of SS?

Hi Piggy,
haha, maybe most babies are very alert at birth. cos sometimes see pple pictures of bb, mostly close eyes one ... tot BB plus really amazing. :p

kiki/irene,
tks for the info, think i will buy the pouch to try out look easier than the sling.

ML,
I dun latch much but my ss is ok.

celine, wow, you still can manage renovations during confinement!

irene, I find that I am hungry all the time! I was hungry while latching at 12am, now I am hungry while pumping at 4am! But of course middle of nite I don't want to go look for food.

sharon, normally babies will have some periods where they dun sleep. Mine doesn't seem to sleep in mornings 7-10am, and then from 7-9pm.

mich,
ya lor got to do coordination work while my hb oversee the work at site :p

i get hungry easily too but dun eat much coz nothing much for me to eat during confinement.

celine, how come nothing much to eat? Thot your CL would be diligently cooking for you? You're up expressing milk also?

celine, ha ha so many of us up at this hour. Can you eat biscuits or cakes during confinement? I keep craving for this kind of carbohydrates.

Celine, haha..you dare not snack because you scared cannot lose weight ah?

Mich, yes...I am hungry when I wake up to pump in the middle of the nite too!!! I also dare not eat in the middle of the nite. Too lazy to brush teeth after that too! Hahaha...

many of us up now? i only "see" you wor?

my hse dun stock biscuits or cakes only bread so maybe thats why i dun have cravings.

thou i love to drink 1 cup of bubble tea so much :p

oh irene you also pumping now haha ya more ppl now

i dun go out so cannot stock usually my mum will just buy bread...

talking abt weight lost, you 2 lost all the kilos yet? I still got 4kg leh

shizuka
how many sessions did you have with Mdm Rokiah? that means dont need to worry about supply liao! must be a lot!

phy*o*
the MIM packing says to keep in freezer, i was so shock when i read that!

celine
i only gained 4.5kg during pregnancy and lost 10kg so far after giving birth.

celine, i sneaked out during confinement and had my bubble tea. I have no idea about my weight as my home weighing scale is inaccurate. Visiting gynae later so will have an update. But I gained alot, so won't be losing it all that fast. The last 2 rounds I took 1 year to be back to pre-pregnancy weight.

Mich:same here
......... after 1 yr still left with 2 kgs of excess baggage

reira,
wow thats good lost more than you gain!

mich,
i was on total bfg 1 year for my #1 so i gain back my pre pregnancy weight during 2nd mth, subsequently lost more maybe due to fatigue :p
hopefully this time i can lost the 4kg in 2nd mth too since i need to go back work...

mashy, wow... which page I want to go and see!

weishy, looks like we are the slower weight loss kind. Did u gain much this round?

celine, you probably put on very little to be able to lose it in 2 months! Unfortunately I have fat genes when preggy. No matter how i try not to eat too much, still gain weight.

mich

it's on Fri, 28/8. We just got to know abt it when my hb saw it at the notice board outside the cc.

BTW, did ur gal receive an animation clip from the poly students? My boy came back with a plasticine Worm or snake dunno what is it and an animation CD after he came back from the outing. WAs scratching my head wondering what is it. hahaha.

Been so busy that I barely have time of energy to come in to the forum.

Frozen EBM:
I too think that it probably tastes different to the baby cos my baby initially refused it when I offered to her. Only took it when she realised it was that or nothing else :p

Pegsfur:
I tried a hand-me-down mini electric for a few weeks and encountered the similiar problem many times. The motor will suddenly "lose power" and suction would be very low. It was only temporary and lasted about a day before returning to normal. Then after a few uses, the same thing happened. Think it is cos water/BM entered the motor component - very easy to happen due to the design. Got so fed up with it that I went to buy the Ameda Lactaline recently. Much better cos more reliable and much much less noisy (and hubby no longer complains about the noise)

Reira:
I recently developed numbness in my right hand. Was told it is carpal tunnel syndrome. Been given vit B but was told I needed to change the way I use my right hand to take pressure off the nerve. Not easy to do that cos I am looking after her by myself and I can't get things done with only the left hand. Sigh...