(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Piggy, Reira
I dont have CL, so dont know about squeezing baby's nipple. Why must do it for boys? they will not grow breast mah?

Sharon
I was told not to cut bb's finger nails only after I cut his nails! They say if cut already then next time baby will like to gamble wor...

After 6 weeks, I still cannot really control my bowels... and I don't have the "high tide" sensation even if my bladder is full...

piggytoh
I was shocked when my CL suddenly told me one day that she have been helping Zachary squeeze out milk initially. haha that time i was too exhausted with breastfeeding that i bo chap everything cept feeding.

Janice
my CL told me that if dont squeeze milk out, baby's nipple will be painful leh. thats all.

kikilala
squeezing as if expressing milk. hmm i just went to squeeze Zachary's nipple and a drop came out. i video-ed it down (hard to do it with 1 hand!). now upload to FB, maybe you can check there and see how.

kikilala,
wah...like dat i wont cut his nails le

me too...dunno how to solve the problem...my gynae say every 4-5hrs muz go toilet even if dun feel like goin cos bladder already full

re: NUK teats
i haf a stupid qn to ask....for NUK teats...which way is up? the side wif the hole face the tongue or face upwards?
i wan try bottlefeeding but dunno how to feed...hahaa

PJPJ,

I aso have inverted nipples and bb juz wont latch on coz he quite impatient...even though i use nipple shield...So u express it out or u still latch?

Dear all Mummies,

does block duct = engorgement? Intend to try Madam Rokiah or seek help from parentcraft on breastfeeding liao....last last resort.....

Btw does anyone know if for change of formula milk...do i have to mix the powder?

e.g. one scoop of old formula milk + two scoop of new formula milk

Reira

I dun have engorgement (something like a hard lump due to full of milk) thus does it mean that i do not have block ducts...

My milk supply are so low tat makes me very depress...does not wish to give up on breastfeeding but it does strain me out liao...

Read thru the forum and understand madam rokiah can help in engorgement and clearing block ducts..hence does it mean since i dun have engorgement...i wont have block ducts..thus no pt seeking madam rokiah's help?

kiki,
I had the same question as u but my CL say boys dun have boobs but they have breast also mah so will feel pain ..i heard them say no shoe for bb be4 they turn 1 too..

sharon, side with the hole should face up as in the hole should point to ceiling. Put the teat in baby's mouth in that direction.

Pegsfur, I know what you are going thru now as I went thru the same thing for my no.1
Learn to let go and just let your hb handle Ovann sometimes. Like what Mich said, go take a long bathe or go downstair for a stroll to relax abit.

Sharon, I latch in the day and use bottle for EBM at nite for Jayla. She didn't have nipple confusion.

Low milk ss : Mummies, do you wake up regularly at nite to pump? Milk ss will be better if you do. Milk ss will be affected if you say tired and only wake up to pump once a nite or don't even pump at nite at all. What I mean by nite is from 11pm to 6am.

happi, if ur baby can stomach more then try feed more. But if he can't then you have to wait till his stomach grow bigger and he will naturally extend his feeding time. My friend told me her girl fed 2 hourly till when she reached 2month old then it was 3 hourly. Now at almost 4 months, its 4 hourly so it gets better.

Agree with irene on the pumping at nite. My milk ss is best between 2-5am.

hey gals,

just a short note. for those who went thru c sec, pls rest well, don't overdo the physical activities.

I'm now 5 weeks plus after c sect & thought the stitches are fully recovered (it looks perfectily healed on the outside), however started having pain, and tummy swell up. went to A & e last night and found out that somehow i tore out some stitches inside and it;s now bleeding internally.

now on antibiotics & rest, hope it will clear otherwise got to take out the stitches and drain. so yeah, go easy on the physical activities...don't use the lower abdomen muscles, don;t bend down excessively & don't carry heavy things over 5kg.

it takes 6 weeks to 8 weeks for internal stitches to fully heal.

babymaking
oh no! have a good rest.

i checked with my gynae and she said that even for those tbf, some can start to ovulate after 8 weeks. so if not bfing, then earlier?

mich,

irene,
how much u feed jayle at nite for EBM? can she sleep thru? how many times u pump at nite?
i latch on ryan whole day...he wakes bout every 2hrs! so tiring, even at nite...tried bottle feed last nite bout 80ml he could only sleep 3hrs

babymaking, hope u feel better soon.

sharon, 3 hours at nite is very good for a 2 week old baby! And 80ml is already quite a good amount. Normally can't expect them to stretch the hours till they are almost 6-8 weeks.

pegsfur... cannot let ur HB Bully u.... accumulate all the milk bottles...b4 he have his dinner...tell him not enough bottles get him to wash...then sterilize... (u cant touch water ma) then laundry get him to collect & fold...usually men's patience is shorter...they feel helpless when they cant solve the problem....baby crying continously irritates them i guess... since he cant help with baby...help w other things lor...

Sharon, I think 80ml is good amount too and 3hrly feed is very good for Ryan's age. Even at 1 mth old, Jayla is feeding 3hrly at nite. Day time when I latch her, she drinks lesser so its 2hrly feed.

My no.1 only sleep thru at 3mths+ so I don't expect Jayla to be so early at 1mth old.
I used to pump at 9pm, 12mn, 3am and 6am. Now I am reducing pump so I only pump 3 times at nite.

wah irene, u still wake up and pump.. when ethan feeds in the middle of the nite i can doze off whilst latching him.. u pump in the same room?? no noise?

Janice, no...I don't latch at nite as I cannot don't want to wait for Jayla to finish latching. So I will pump out and let CL feed her.
I don't pump in the same room. I will need to on the light and will surf the net when I am pumping.

Post natal gathering

Date~ 1st oct ( can be adjusted la )

Time~lunch time

Venue~PASTA DE WARAKU @ IILUMA (BUGIS)

http://www.waraku.com.sg/sin.aspx

Price range set lunch is less than $10 after ++

They hv nice kids meal for those bringing their toddlers etc plus free gifts too

1) weishy
2) shopping queen (marcus~high chair)
3) yoko
4) BBnGG
5) prisneo
6) sbb
7) SL
8) Ino
9) dolliepollie

*****Any more mommies joining ? *****

weishy & dolliepollie

i cannot cfm at tis point cos after full mth will be myself taking care of my gal..so i'm not sure if i can bring her out tog haha...will let u gals knw when closer to the date.

Anyway, thanks for coordination!

bubblymommy
since you dont wanna give up on bfding hor, i would suggest you to seek for Mdm Rokiah's help leh. she can better advice you if you got block ducts or not or just simply no milk. that time Mdm Rokiah not only help me to clear block ducts, she also help me to clear the milk opening. initially got 3 opening on left and 2 on right. now both nipples have 4 openings and left breast got 3 opening which can shoot out milk like watergun lol right nipple only got 1 opening which can do that

gathering
i also cannot confirm. donno if hubby will allow me to bring Zachary out alone or not but by then he already 2 mths old le. 1st Oct is Thurs, hubby sure cannot come along but so far when we bring Zachary out, he sleep all the time in his stroller and only wake up for milk.

breastfeeding when outside
how to do that if there is no nursing room!?

bear/mich,
But i dun want to be away from Ovann cos i dun want mil to use this opportunity to come close to ovann. Selfish i may be, but that's her retribution for all the nasty things she said & did.

I felt better yesterday cos mil was not home the whole day and i can finally breathe. The atmosphere was so suffocating with her presence in the house.

joanne s
Hahaha .. dat's a good suggestion. Maybe i can leave these little things to him.

This morning i made him feed Ovann at his 6am feed and he obeyed while i 'supervise' him.

Re: pump
My mini electric seems to be spoiled ... the suction seems to be lesser all of a sudden. Where do i get it repaired? Or shld i get a new one? Sianz .. my supply not yet established yet and it has to spoil at this time.

pegsfur, call mums and babes and see what is their advise. the medela office is in some far away place in the west...

hubbies welcome la
better still can learn how to handle bbs whilst we dine wakkakakakka :p

donkeymami:sure anyways i think will make booking at a closer date too.

Reira:can use the nursing covers????

mich,

Huh ... some far away place in the west ah .. ok, i go check out mums & babes, see wat they say. Tks!

re: pumping
When our milk supply establised, does it mean we can pump less often? Hw to determine if supply has established? Hw long is the longest we can go without pumping n yet our supply wun drop?

I went out yesterday for the whole day n pump in the car only after more than 6hours! Will my supply be affected?

Hi Babymaking and ML,

Can try power pumping. Here's the formula. THinking of trying it later.

Power pumping
20 mins pump
10 mins rest
10 mins pump
10 mins rest
10 mins pump

Quote " my ss was like 30-60ml/pump session, after 2 days of 4 times a day power pumping - it shot up to 180-190ml/session for 1 day or so then gradually normalised to abotu 80-120ml/session. "

Sharon,

Does your baby poo all right?
Just wanted to share with you. When I discharged from TMC, I asked them how often must baby poo. For Day 1-5 it's abt once a day. In the second week, when baby is on breast milk ss, (or FM in our cases), then baby can start to poo abt 6 plus times a day. My baby poos abt 4-6 times a day. Now she's in her second week. So dun fret too much as long as she poos each day ye?

cherrios
have you tried letting Ellyse drink previously frozen EBM before?

today I finally try letting Zachary drink it. he doesnt seems to like it and only drink 40ml even tho he previously only drank roughly 15ml from my left breast. (i pumped out 105ml from left, 130ml from right so he roughly drank 15ml from left bah.)

hubby and I tasted the EBM it taste normal but when swollow like got the weird smell.

Hi mummimes,

Pls excuse this interruption. I've the following items to sell, if interested, pls PM me. Thanks!

- Friso gold 1 (0-6 months) 900g, expiry 28 May 2010. Selling at $20 only (usual retail at NTUC is $29.90)

- Safety First Car Seat Mirror: to be attached to back seat so that you can view baby in your rear mirror. Selling at $10 only (retail price approx $16).

Self collection at Boon Lay or Harbourfront (Sundays only)

Mich
my bb usually fall asleep after one breast, so cannot stomach more milk le. sometimes i wake him up for another breast but he usually drink a little then go back to sleep again. aiya..... hope he can stomach more and prolong the feeding interval.

he was crying... refusing the bottle jus nw. cant latch him cos i jus pumped. HELP!!!!! ....

phy,
power pumping.. wont the nipple hurts??? pump for so long????

irene (bear),
sometimes i scared bb will wake up hunger for milk, so i dare not pumped at night. cos i latched for night feeds. my bb wake up almost every 2 hrs nw.....

hi babymaking,
Jus read your post about your stitches tearing. Are you better now? Better take gd care. I also had a c-sect less than 3 weeks ago. I'm also very scared of the stitches inside and am considering doing massage (which my gynae said is ok). But the massage ladies don't dare to do for me. What did you do that made your stitches tear huh? Have you done your massage?

reira, never try eh...now i latch in the day n pump at night, only wkends then totally on bottles..let her drink fresh ones ma..haha..y u let Zac try the fbm? Wana c if he wil reject? Btw both breasts might not produce the same amt of milk eh...like my right side usually produce 10ml more than left...

I still dunoe wad to do with those bags of ebm..now comin to 30bags le..wonder if i shld ask the other wife who gave birth ard the same time as me if she wants some but i scared she will mind eh..but throw away like wasted..my mum suggest i soak in the bath tub with it, but i need hw many packet then can fill up the whole tub la!!

This wkend might b goin for a short trip, might not b able to pump often n my gal still takes very long for a feed when latch...i dun wan spend all my time nursing her...worried my supply will drop with the less frequent pumps n latching eh..esp when its for 3days in a row..how??
she is now 5wks old,is my supply considered established?

Any good suggestion for full month buffet? I knw Mum's Kitchen is nice right?

Thinking to try Ivins but they are charging $30/hr for extension of buffet time given i.e.3hrs

I tot usually they cum & collect ard 4pm for lunch right? Nw i checking wif them cum & collect after 5pm then we pay extra $30.

happi, then you pump after you latch to increase ss and won't deprive baby of milk.

Pegsfur, how about going back to your mum's place in the day? Ask your hb to go pick you up on his way back from work?

babymaking
hope you are feeling better now. I also had C section and in my 5th week now too
felt slight pain on and off too, esp when i need to carry my gal (who is 4.7kg) now and sit
up and down, am scare too of my wounds. You felt extreme pain at your C section wound? My pain
is below the C section wound..

phy
did you take anything to boost your BM ss? my BM ss seems to have dropped too. Have been taking
fenugreek but like not alot ...maybe will try your power pump. Did you do power pump only in day and night?

michelle
i also don't dare to do my massage, i previously sign some massage package and just called them
to ask if they do post natal , they say for C section, have to wait till 6months later then can do.
I think it's better safe than sorry..will wait loh