(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Cheryl,

Ya..frequent urination is a symptom also..dun worry

Luvbabe,

Hw many wks u r in nw?
Me too, wake up every night but not to urine..every night wake ard the same time ard 5am+..sian

Cheryl no problem =) jia you! =)
as the the symptom you will always urine in the middle of the nite.. burping very very loud(hahah) and fart alot. Its all normal de. I think the worst is middle of the night is you got to wake up and pee.. sometimes wake up to pee you cant even sleep.. =(

but bear with it. till later stage like 3rd trimster things will be better SLIGHTLY abit hehe

cheryl, yes. For my #1, I have the frequent urination prob too, even gotta wake up in the middle of the night to wee....My gynae explained that it could be due to some pressure on the bladder.

donkeymami,
I probably into my 5th or 6th weeks now. As I am also a very light sleeper, every slight noise (e.g. if my son's little beansprout pillow moves), I can wake up already.

fabbie,
Yeah, I also fart alot now coz of the gas in stomach. Sometimes can be so embarrassing....

which gynae are you all seeing? JTS, I heard from my gynae's assistant that if this is your first preg or if you have previous miscarriage or abortion before, then better see gynae soonest possible. Else, if this is your #2 onwards, can arrange to see gynae in week 7/8 also nevermind.

My EDD has just been confirmed at 4 Aug.
Now 5.5weeks and just saw my bb's heartbeat today. So happy. It's a huge relief.

hi mommies/to be,

Went to see my gynae juz nw...can see small yolk sac only. the doc said im in my 6th wk and edd changed to 1 Aug...

but the gynae said my bb heartbeat very low 110per min...she told me to come back again next wk for another scan...hopefully the heartbeat will increase

btw she said its normal to have cramps/discomfort in the tummy as long as no bleeding

luvbabe
hahaha is like that de. i have once before i walk fart walk fart walk fart.. that time i already dun care liao.. since i notice theres no smell!! LOL

Hi everyone, I just joined this forum, so nice to have other MTBs to share things with!

According to the online due date calculator, my EDD is 1 or 2 Aug 2009. This means I'm at the 6wk mark. Will probably go see the gynae next week. This is baby #1, so am pretty excited!

Symptoms so far: SUPER appetite! Unlike other women who experience nausea and cannot eat, I only experience nausea if I DON'T eat. Sometimes I have to eat every 2hrs, and sometimes in the middle of the night.

I also have problems sleeping as well as I used to. Does anyone know why?

Hi all MTBs,

Just tested +ve 2 days ago and am about 4.5wks preg! Dunno how to calculate EDD coz cant really remember the actual date of my 1st menses. Can the gynae advise? I estimated its either 7th or 8th Aug. =)

I hve more or less decided on Dr Joycelyn Wong from TMC but sadly, she will be away till 3rd Jan, which is too late so ended up going for alternative gynae tmr.

Today I noticed spotting...izzit normal? Though have heard that its hormone change or somethng but m still worried. Hope all is fine...

My symptoms include
1. feeling hungry easily but yet cant eat much
2. will wake up in the middle of nite and cant zzz well, then feeling very tired at work
3. menstrual cramps feeling
4. sore breasts

Hope to share information with all of you during our pregnancy journey! =)

hi mashy,

happy to see u here? wow! u can hear ur bb's heartbeat at 5.5wks liao..tat's good.

I gng to see my gynae tmr evening hope everything is fine

EDD: 6 Aug 09
Gynae: Mary Rauff (but 1st appt is 14 Jan)
Hosp: NUH
# of child: 2
Gender.of Current: M
No. of Weeks: 5

Donkeymami, you also bukit batok? Where do you live? Wanna meet up? heh heh...

I'm a SAHM, anyone else also?

General cramps are normal cos it's just a sign that the uterus is growing.

Galgl688, my last preg, I also could feel nausea a week before my period was due so dun worry. It's normal.

Last preg, I was miserable with MS till 3rd trimester, frequent fainting spells and couldn't eat anything but crackers and ovaltine for two whole months. Hospitalised twice also! I pray that this one will be better. So far so good, I only have increased appetite and nothing else. I only have some difficulty falling asleep cos I've been very excited about my preg and all! Silly me...

As for the previous bad experience, I can't say my opinion is the authority cos a lot of pple have all praises for him. It is a mismatch of style I think. He was super efficient and effective but I prefer a the more consultative and the not so "gan chiong" type. So I asked around and heard from my friend that Mary Rauff is the kind that I like. So I'm willing to spend the money and wait so long for the 1st appt...

Hi Fabbie, my burping not so loud though but its the farting part wahahhahaha....i realised these few days i feel very hungry but only ate very very little and feel nausea.. past weeks appetite super good de lor and no nausea.. will it worsen over the weeks?

Hi Luvbabe, u really shop alot for maternity wears when u were preg with ya #1 to apply for so many privicards. Ya i dun mind gg shopping with you though ;-p Thks for sharing...

fabbie, ur description is so farnie!!!!!!

hey, i read that usually MTM will experience constipation, i am the opposite leh, i feel like going to remove my bowels more often leh, and its not just a feeling of.. i really do go...

its not diarrhoea or really hard stools.. just soft stools, colour is not a concern..

think i should bring this up to my gynae?

Cos i read that in 3rd trimester, prostaglandin (hormone) is relased to prepare the cervix and dilate it, this causing mummies to poo more....

should i be concerned?

Cheryl
For me starting 1st trims i got no appetite keep on having MS.. till about 2nd trims my MS gone.. and my hunger starts to increase...during 3rd trims im eating like a pig! I can have a heavy dinner with a mega mac right after that! lolx

BabyS
Ya will have constipate cus we are eating alot of iron mah. So we must eat alot of fruits. From my experience. I everyday ate a apple.. It seems like everything is okai. no constipate at all. Must take more fruits. I had once constipate till bleed very jialet. thats why from then i keep eating alot of fruits. =)

Its normal to poo more. even lau sai also got. quite often is normal de... is better than you poo more.. or didnt poo at all! hahah

wow, am very happy to see this thread so active....

sunnyduck, violetta, doris, all new mummies here,
welcome! yeah, am hooked to this forum eversince I found out about this.

fabbie,
you're so funny to describe the walk-fart thingy but that's exactly what I experience at times too.

Cheryl,
Yes, especially when it was the first experience and #1, I bought quite a lot actually and some of the privicard is lifetime membership. Yeah, we can go shopping together if you are ok.

BabyS,
Continue to monitor your symptoms. Actually, I'm like you, I used to move my bowels only once a day. Since I tested +ve, I had to move my bowels at least twice a day now.

MTB,
Just an advice that you should start taking folic acid.

hi all... my symptoms are similar to most: sluggishness, bloatedness, tendency to let out air from behind, waking up at night to pee. So far no morning sickness... at first, feel hungry easily, but nw appetite gone down. Jacyln, my mom's gynae was DR Rauff too... she's still seeing her for her annual body checks. always comlains to me abt the long waits. heh, i guess that's one reason i did not consider going to her. but i suppose the long waits are testimony of how gd and popular the doc is. =)

Welcome to all new mummies joining this thread!!!! By the way, same as BabyS i got no constipation always feel like pooing..kekekee... but so far only once every morning and the rest of the day just feeling like wanna poo only ;-p And yes I have started taking folic acid prior to pregnancy but now the dosage higher...

ah...... seeing that so many of us poo so often makes me feel better... ahhahahaahh!!

anyway i just made a call to the clinic to ask.. the nurse just tell me if i wanna see dr... (in a non panicked manner).. so i got appt for tmrw morning.. I think i shall just go and get a piece of mind bah.. Spend more $, but if to ensure baby's safety, i rather spend it..

Yeah i have been taking folic (5mg) almost daily, since july.. now still taking..

u ladies taking iron pills ah? I never leh.. i only taking vit c, folic, duphastone and calcium pills now..all (except duphastone) is my normal supplemetns that i take..

shirley poo poo.... i think i know who u are...... hee....

those ladies who are pooing more (hee)... do u feel any cramps or pains? Or just like u wanna poo? thats what i feel... on wed it was menstrual cramp like.. after that it just feels like i wanna poo....

gosh i feel very bad for typing so many posts inside here... sorry, very kan cheong 1st time mother. haha

Can anyone advise me if 1 tablet of folic acid is enough since preggy now? Its 800mcg for 1 tablet. I took 2 pills once and I felt nausea and giddy after that....dunno y is that so..end up i stick to 1 tablet.

Later visiting gynae for the 1st time, so excited! =)

how come ur tab is 800mcg? Where u buy from?

i bought my from Unity, and its 5mg (500mcg) per tab. My gynae also told me 500mcg a day is enough lioa.

Babys,

I used to hv constipation prob but i got diarrhoea once beg of this wk wif stomachache. then last evening also feel like pooing but oli farting alot.

violetta,

i also seeing my gynae this evening for 1st time
hw many wks u r in nw? i'm in 5wks nw hope can see yolk sac this evening

I bought from Nature Farm and its stated folic acid 800mcg n Vit B-12 5mcg. Is there any diff from all ur folic acid u took?

Hi donkeymami,

I should be in my 4.5 or 5 wks now...hope can see something later...

Does anyone feel nausea now during 4-5 wks?

oh urs is combi huh.....

i dunno leh, my dr just told me take the 5mg one enough liao... books recommend at least 400mcg a day.

Hi, I read in a book that 5mg of folic acid is sufficient for mothers. Any excess will be flushed out of the system anyway, and we also get folic acid from our foods as long as there's variety in your diet.

I have been feeling a little crampy since yesterday. I know it's expected but it makes me a bit nervous anyway... gotta wait till gynae visit next week to check properly!

Folic Acid offer -

89 tabs for 3 local stamps. Pls send SAE. All bought after mid of this year.

So confused about the mcg and mg...will ask the gynae later if i should continue taking my current folic acids or to take from doc.

Sunnyduck, i feel a little crampy too recently and yesterday see spotting....thats y i switched my appt date from tue to today. My mum said its normal but MIL said not normal....made me so worried now....

Btw, has anyone tell their friends or colleagues about your pregnancy during the 1st tri?

I didnt intend to tell my colleagues till i can at least see the heartbeat (not pan tang), but thanks to my boss, everyone knows liao.. not that she purposely, but she said out loud when i informed her "why u all take turns one!!" then my colleagues outside her office heard liao.. haha.. but they never ask me.

I told some of my closer colleagues, cos sometimes i used to do b4, i cant do liao and need their help, so i told them... (and some of my close online friends, cos they are mummies too, so can get some advice from them)

oh and my mum found out also, cos she log into my web page on accident and she saw the post that i set private for some friends.. but she promise not to tell anyone and will act surprised when i tell them.. hahaha...

My ILs dont know yet...

but so sad leh, i think i really look fatter liao cos one of my colleaqgues just now (who didnt hear my boss's declaration) asked pointed to her tummy, looking at me and asked if i was pregnant.. I was just wearing a loose shirt and not even maternity wear, and i asked her "huh.... i starting to look fat liao ah.." ahhaah...

the spotting u see may be implantation bleeding, but still just to be on safe side better see dr...

I experience cramps too, like milder menstrual cramps. worse on wed, now very very very mild and occasional.

BabyS, I think I also look fatter! Although I was not skinny to begin with (got slight belly but definitely not overweight) I think my belly looks v obvious now! And my boobs have definitely also grown (this one hubby quite pleased about :p).

How can my tummy already have grown so fast? Unless it's my super appetite lor, which I'm attempting to control.

I have only told my mother so far, but I think I need to tell others soon. I am actually supposed to go to BKK over X'mas to see a friend who's living there. Bought air ticket and everything already. Now I'm not sure if I should still go, and if I don't then I definitely have to explain to her why...

I only told 2 close colleagues as I may need help to carry some heavy stuffs...or in case i dont feel too gd and at least there are ppl who know.

Now is I dunno how to tell my boss coz I felt guilty as I am only with the company for 1/2 yr. Not sure if she would mind...

My ILs and parents know already coz they can then advise me on what are the dos and don'ts....

I intend to tell my close frens after my check up later....only when after 1st tri then will officially announce....

BabyS, thanks for the info, feel much better now...talk to u gals tonite! M going off now! =)

gals,

so far oli my DH & one fren kwn i'm preggy. may some close frens knw after cfm wif gynae this evening. cos dun wan to disclose too early 1st as in still not 100% sure mah

mashy,

nvm la..ur bb alr detected heartbeat yesterday liao..hehe
i thk she jz simply too happy that she will b having a grandson/daughter soon.

mashy, u r in 5wks+ nw right? when u tested +ve & LMP?

My LMP is 23 Oct & tested +ve on CD39. Nw shd b in 5wks.

I gng to see my gynae this evening, heard can oli see sac by nw cant detect heartbeat yet le..urs 5wk+ alr detected heartbeat thk ur BB vy strong le

mashy: haha... ur MIL excited mah... so how long along are u already?

violetta.. sure, but since u already made appt with dr, go see to get peace of mind lor.. =)

sunnyduck.. i wasnt slim to begin with in the first place, now even fatter!!! boobs wise i havent noticed if bigger, i just know really sore.. and some say it should diminish by 2nd trimester.. *i still have to wait so long!!!!??*

mine feels like water retention b4 i get my period.. i have given up trying to suck my tummy in liao.. if pple think i preggie, let them think. if they think i fat, let them think.. no strength to hold the tummy in lioa. ahahha

BabyS
Do take iron pills is good for you and baby.. eating tat may cause constipation. so remember to eat fruits everyday. =)

donkeymani/babys

My LMP is 18 Oct but i ovulated abt 1 week late i think. Tested postive on CD34. Gynae said i'm abt 5.5weeks.

I also not sure if she's really excited or wanna show off. She likes to tell her relatives how many grandchildren she has compared to them and all boys. I already have a boy and she said she hope my 2nd one also boy!