(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

morning to all,

re: OSCAR test
i did not do the OSCAR test though my first gynae did advise me to go for it. i swap gynae as with my first gynae there were medication errors in the medications given to me. so scary.

when i asked my second gynae (Dr Fong Yang) about it he say that the chances of the test were not too accurate and that it would be a waste of my money. :p also you should be able to tell if the baby has any probs when they do the monthly checks on you. there would be a detailed scan in the bb's 5th month and that would be able to confirm if there is any chance that the baby is DS anot.

mrsC
can try putting a small pillow there when you sleep coz that was what i use to do.

yaps its going to be a super lazy morning.

morning mrsc... hope ur pain go away soon.. ya i agree put a pillow at the back to suport a bit.. will help... tat y now i got 3 pillow w mi when i sleep LOL

tinking wan go robinson sale anot hee

Allow me to intrude. I am wondering when you ladies go for your first gynae appointment/first scan?? I managed to get my first appointment date but it is in first week of January 2009.(She is very popular.) It will be my 12th weeks by then. Is it too late for a first gynae appointment?? Pls share your experience. Im in a dilemma. Tks alot.

my miracle
normally we go first visit @ 6th week.
im nt too sure if week 12 will b too late. bt I presume its ok unless u gt bleeding or bad cramps which might b sign of etopic

personally I tink if thr is no pain or bleeding might b ok to wait. just go buy folic acid n take every day

bt seriously I can't wait to go gynae hee thou all they do is scan n give folic acid

y ur gynae q so long huh? any alternative ?

Hi Han BB,
Tks. Thats what i thought so too that most pple see their gynae at 6th week. When i called up and told the nurse my reservation abt seeing gynae so late, the nurse said it is common for people to see gynae at week 12 or later if no cramp and all. But I have had one miscarriage before so not sure though actually this time really seems to be quite alrite. My gynae is a popular one at KK. Seen the recommendation from thread here, Dr Yeap. Maybe I shd see another one first.

i saw my gynae when i was at my 7th week and i'm going again next week when i'm at my 12th week...

my MS just started a few days ago.. i feel like vomitting after every meal... i just vomitted my swensens dinner...

i thought i would be one of the lucky ones without MS.. apparently NOT..

haiz dyva.....

did not have MS with my first so thought that i would be lucky this time round again but it seems that i can kiss my dreams goodbye. puking even though i have not been eating. now cant even stand the vitamin pills that the dr gives

my miracle

i think that some mummies do not even know that they are preggie till they are about 3 mths along so that is prob what the nurse meant. but just to be save you can always seek private dr advise. as the charges for the a class in kkh is slightly higher then private rates or at least comparable. expect to spend about 150 for your first visit.

jasmine, so will you be doing the oscar test this time round?

mymiracle, i went for mine during wk 5. you may want to see yr gynae earlier since you have MC history. some nurses will tell you its ok to visit gynae later as long as no severe bleeding n cramping, its entirely up to your own confort level. you may wan to see ano gynae meanwhile. like some of e others here, i always cnt wait for my gynae visit n chk on e bb. its always reasurring to know that my little one is doing well in mi.

Mymiracle,
i personally will not wait till 12 weeks for my first visit.
another thing abt such busy gynea, consultation may be very rushed unless we kept asking questions and i always have reservation abt them during my delivery.

dunno will the gynea only show up at the very last min.

mymiracle,

best to try to have your 1st visit at about 8 weeks.. where you get to see the sac and porbably hear heartbeat.

try to check with nurse again see if there's any earlier slot.

Which doc are you visiting at KKH?

I'm also a patient at KKH, Gyne Dr. KT Tan, though this is my #2 but its my 1st time with Dr. Tan. Previously I was with another Doc.

HBB,
I tot 1st pregnancy will have to do Blood test
to check for HIV, Thalasemmia, etc?

sunsweet, rest well today.

I'm in a foul mood today, dunno why , think my hormones is creating havoc again..will keep to myself incase i snap for no reason.. my poor hb got it this morn...hee..

Oscar test

I have actually declined to do oscar test as i find that the % that determine bb got DS or not is not 100%. What if bb were tested to have a higher chance of getting DS but when the bb was actually alright? Wun we be worrying and crying for nothing throughout the whole pregnancy if we decided to keep the bb? And what if we come to a conclusion to abort the bb when it is actually alright? Doesnt we killing the healthy bb instead? Normally if checked and found out the risk is high, they will get us to do Amino test. Which is using a needle to poke through our tummy and get the fluid from the waterbag and test. But this might be a risk for bb if this test were to be carried out as there will be a needle hole, it might get infected or miscarriage if things were not to be done properly. This was wat i had read once online..

Sheryl

I had this blood test done already. Like what Sunsweet had stated. It is to check if you are down with HIV, thalasemmia and etc. They will be able to tell you within a few days after this test was performed.

Sunsweet
ohno!! Dizzy spell... it's terrible.. So you staying at home now or working? Better becareful when you are either away from your chair or bed.. It might be due to a drop of sugar level? You might feel better if you take in a some glucose drink? that might help a little.. Glucose Powder can be found in supermarket..

Glucose.. yikes.. this little bb of mine dun like sweet stuffs leh..

I went to get a small bottle of medicated oil rubbing oil like a aunty now.. it feels slightly better..

lucky boss not ard today else my head sure spin..

Ohno... Then no choice already.. Like you said, you have to be like an aunty rubbing oil on and off.. But make sure you becareful when you are not sitting on your chair... Now going lunch time.. Do take a piece of fruit.. Best is riped mango.. It contain more sugar in it.. If dont have, then take papaya? Really have to take care of yourself leh... Dizzy spell, cannot overlook ah.. Later faint, more jialat..

Sunsweet, why not get off to head home..it be hard to concentrate to work w dizzy spells.
I guess your boss will understand.

sunsweet, try to relax n take things slowly at work. since yr boss not ard today, cn laze ard a bit. hahaha! i am aso feeling tired n restless today. cnt concentrate on my work, bt gt plenty on my desk to do.sigh!

cant wait for 6pm to come....

I'm also having dizzy spells since last nite, knocked my head to the wall when walking (rush to pee)...haiz...this morning still dizzy, struggling to go lunch and get a sugar cane juice...feeling much better now...maybe low sugar level...
I'm trying to sit more in the offc and rest when boss not around

oh ya hkbb, i think sugar cane is too "liang". no gd for our body now... we need more heaty stuff now if i am not wrong.

Sheryl
I only do this blood test for now.. Had it done when i'm at wk 9.

Han Baobao
Y cannot drink sugar cane juice? I've been drinking at least once a week eh...

dorisq
is v liang one.. no good
even liek when af come drink this.. the flow also heavier one.. try to avoid k.. u can drink say in 3rd trimester.

i think mine is not low sugar leh..

cos i feel dizzy + neausea after lunch ..

sigh.. now keep yawning..

maybe i need a lot of sleep..

HBB,
my gynea also said no need for thr blood test.
she mentioned tat provided there's family history. otherwise it is not a must.

Hkbb,
oh dear.
pat pat. i hope you din hurt yourself knocking on the wall.
ya. sugar cane is liang.
better dun drink too much at tis stage.

Sunsweet,
take more rest ya.
maybe get a day off tmr?

nbb2
oic hee ok ok.. guess nxt visit will hav more updates liao since will b in week 11 hee
cant wait for thursday...

sheryl

i wont be doing the OSCAR as per dr recommendation not to do. he says that if there are anything wrong with baby should be able to see in the monthly scans. hmmm mine is a consultant as i am a private patient?

.... OH NO!!!! I have been drinking sugar cane.. I tot it is ok to drink since noone mention it!!! I really hope bb is ok... Hope it's not affected by the stupid mistake i did..

hi everybody,

just came back from gynae, and i am only about 7 weeks....still cannot see bb from tummy scan..only via vaginal scan....i saw the heartbeat and bb is abt 1cm...is that big or small?

mashy, pls update my details to EDD 27.07.2008...thanks....

I guess fruit juice is a better option if you crave for sweet cold drinks.. Been taking apple,orange juice occasionally as i do not consume much vegetables (MIL do not cook much vegetables, mainly meat and fish)

Dorisq,
dun worry ya.
juz dun drink anymore for now.
coconut juice is also liang. better avoid till 3rd trimester.

OJ also dun drink too much coz a few of my fren's bb have bad jaundice.
not sure if it's related or not but i try to play safe.

another option for nice sweet drink is soya milk.

Mypreciouskeagan,
if your gynea din mentioned anyting then it's normal

I'm new to this forum.
My EDD is 13th July

After reading the comments provided by some of you on the OSCAR, now I'm hesitating whether to do it...sigh...

Hihi! This is my first time here and today I went to see a gynae for the first time! (though previously i was seeing a chinese doctor.) My chinese doctor told me that my bb should be due 20 july 09 but it seems like i'm only about 4 weeks pregnant. whereas you MTBs here are like 8 weeks. so dunno accurate anot?
today first time see bb in a scan though its only a blur blur pic and the gynae say its bb's heart beat! so cute!

Ya lor... Haiz... Alot of food and drinks need to look out.. Now i also not sure what can be eaten and drink or what cannot be eaten or drink already..

dorisq,

I'm also like you, this being my 1st pregnancy, not sure what are the stuff to be avoided.

If in doubt, I will always surf the net for more information about the food, a bit confusing at times coz there will be mixed reveiws. But I will usually avoid the food just to be on the safe side

dorisq,

some food to avoid,

Raw Meat: Uncooked seafood and rare or undercooked beef or poultry should be avoided because of the risk of contamination with coliform bacteria, toxoplasmosis, and salmonella.

Deli Meat: Deli meats have been known to be contaminated with listeria, which can cause miscarriage. Listeria has the ability to cross the placenta and may infect the baby leading to infection or blood poisoning, which may be life-threatening. If you are pregnant and you are considering eating deli meats, make certain that you reheat the meat until it is steaming.

Fish with Mercury: Fish that contain high levels of mercury should be avoided. Mercury consumed during pregnancy has been linked to developmental delays and brain damage. A sample of these types of fish include: shark, swordfish, king mackerel, and tilefish. Canned, chunk light tuna generally has a lower amount of mercury than other tuna, but still should only be eaten in moderation. Certain types of fish used in sushi should also be avoided due to high levels of mercury. Please see Mercury in Fish for specific types of fish and further information on how to calculate mercury levels.

Smoked Seafood -Refrigerated, smoked seafood often labeled as lox, nova style, kippered, or jerky should be avoided because it could be contaminated with Listeria. (These are safe to eat when they are in an ingredient in a meal that has been cooked, like a casserole.) This type of fish is often found in the deli section of your grocery store. Canned or shelf-safe smoked seafood is usually OK to eat.

Fish Exposed to Industrial Pollutants: Avoid fish from contaminated lakes and rivers that may be exposed to high levels of polychlorinated biphenyls. This is primarily for those who fish in local lakes and streams. These fish include: bluefish, striped bass, salmon, pike, trout, and walleye. Contact the local health department or Environmental Protection Agency to determine which fish are safe to eat in your area. Remember, this is regarding fish caught in local waters and not fish from your local grocery store.

Raw Shellfish: The majority of seafood-borne illness is caused by undercooked shellfish, which include oysters, clams, and mussels. Cooking helps prevent some types of infection, but it does not prevent the algae-related infections that are associated with red tides. Raw shellfish pose a concern for everybody, and they should be avoided altogether during pregnancy.

Raw Eggs: Raw eggs or any foods that contain raw eggs should be avoided because of the potential exposure to salmonella. Some homemade Caesar dressings, mayonnaise, homemade ice cream or custards, and Hollandaise sauces may be made with raw eggs.

If the recipe is cooked at some point, this will reduce the exposure to salmonella. Commercially manufactured ice cream, dressings, and eggnog are made with pasteurized eggs and do not increase the risk of salmonella. Restaurants should be using pasteurized eggs in any recipe that is made with raw eggs, such as Hollandaise sauce or dressings.

Soft Cheeses: Imported soft cheeses may contain bacteria called Listeria, which can cause miscarriage. Listeria has the ability to cross the placenta and may infect the baby leading to infection or blood poisoning, which can be life-threatening. You would need to avoid soft cheeses such as: Brie, Camembert, Roquefort, Feta, Gorgonzola and Mexican style cheeses that include queso blanco and queso fresco, unless they clearly state that they are made from pasteurized milk. All soft non-imported cheeses made with pasteurized milk are safe to eat.

Unpasteurized Milk: Unpasteurized milk may contain bacteria called listeria, which can cause miscarriage. Listeria has the ability to cross the placenta and may infect the baby leading to infection or blood poisoning, which can be life-threatening. Make sure that any milk you drink is pasteurized.

Pate: Refrigerated pate or meat spreads should be avoided because they may contain the bacteria listeria. Canned pate, or shelf-safe meat spreads can be eaten.

Caffeine: Although most studies show that caffeine intake in moderation is OK, there are others that show that caffeine intake may be related to miscarriages. Avoid caffeine during the first trimester to reduce the likelihood of a miscarriage. As a general rule, caffeine should be limited to fewer than 300 mg per day during pregnancy. Caffeine is a diuretic, which means it helps eliminate fluids from the body. This can result in water and calcium loss. It is important that you are drinking plenty of water, juice, and milk rather than caffeinated beverages. Some research shows that large amounts of caffeine are associated with miscarriage, premature birth, low birth weight, and withdrawal symptoms in infants. The safest thing is to refrain from consuming caffeine.

Alcohol: There is NO amount of alcohol that is known to be safe during pregnancy, and therefore alcohol should be avoided during pregnancy. Prenatal exposure to alcohol can interfere with the healthy development of the baby. Depending on the amount, timing, and pattern of use, alcohol consumption during pregnancy can lead to Fetal Alcohol Syndrome or other developmental disorders. If you consumed alcohol before you knew you were pregnant, stop drinking now. You should continue to avoid alcohol during breastfeeding. Exposure of alcohol to an infant poses harmful risks, and alcohol does reach the baby during breastfeeding.

Unwashed Vegetables: Yes, vegetables are safe to eat, so you still need to eat them. However, it is essential to make sure they are washed to avoid potential exposure to toxoplasmosis. Toxoplasmosis may contaminate the soil where the vegetables were grown.

http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancyhealth/foodstoavoid.html

sunsweet, i feel a little guilty now cos i have been eating quite a bit of honey baked ham....somehow i think cos it is my second child...seemed to be a little more relax...but thanks for the reminder...will stop from now onwards....

hehe I too took honey baked ham.. so now on have to pan fry it b4 sandwhiching btw the bread

wanted to mc today but on leave from tomorrow till next week.. heading up north for my cousin's wedding... so bo pian have to come office clear work..

was puking this morning.. sian..

it's a long day today..

sunsweet u driving up north? will get motions ickness?

i tink deli meat v high in salt content.. must not eat too much also..

Sunsweet
Thanks for the tips... Wa... You have to drive up to the north?!! Wun you have motion sickness?? If i am sitting in my husband's car, i sure will feel nausea one...

hi gals, i am not well today. was puking this morning n threw up gastric water. had cramps, tink coz stomach expanding. now feeling better after slping e whole morning. gt to go see a gp to get mc for today....

HBB,

yup going up north.. i think i will have more of morning sickness (whole day) rather than motion sickness..

anyway driving up on own.. so can stop anytime if need to.

KL is too near to take a flight.. shorter journey if drive..