(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

skylermum & creamer,
hey i was at petit bowl ytd too!! wat time were you all there? did u all manage to catch the toys r us warehouse sale too?

skylermum,
J also doesnt like the chicken & tomato rice. guess it's sour as well. does S like the cod fish & sweet potato? it's yummy right?

creamer,
J also likes the creamy spinach and mushroom. yummy right?
cod fish and sweet potato was sold out today though.

junies,
thanks for checking your fren for me. do update me when you get the advice and solution from your fren ok?
thanks!!

hi annticipating,

yes, because my baby book mentioned that their hands and legs should be cooler than the rest of the body, but this should not be interpreted as COLD right? If hands and legs are COLD, means baby is too cold already right?

<font color="cc3399"> newmum, Kyle's room a/c temp is set at 24 but a/c fan speed is 4 out of 5. He's only in a sleepsuit and no blankie either. He still wakes sweating sometimes. I think it's ok if you think baby is doing alright. If you have any misgivings, then raise the temp, I guess?

Re: Sour tomatoes - my little guy LOVES IT!

newmum,
i set aircon at 25. my boy's also in sleepsuit... but he always sweats at the head, his pillow wld be wet! recently he keeps on kicking away the blanket. so now i dun give him the blanket anymore le, and he's ok with dat. his hands and ears and face will be cold. but i guess it's still ok cos his head still sweats!!!

funny how our little ones always seem to perspire so much! I really don't know about the temperature of their hands/legs/head, but we'll change the sleepsuit if the back of the sleepsuit is wet with sweat.

do mummies here still let their little ones wear socks? i think this was discussed previously.. :p

aircon &amp; sweaty heads -
exactly! its a challenge trying to strike a balance between sweaty head and cold hands. i wake several times a night to adjust the temperature constantly because of this. extremely trying...

Hi newmum!
Check the temp of the belly to determine whether baby is too hot or cold.
The hands and feet are not a right gauge as they will be cooler than the rest of the body as baby still cant regulate their body well.
As for sweaty head, think it is one of the sympton for teething.

Aircon better set at 25 degrees, the most environmentally friendly temp

ANNticipating,
I let my boy wear footed sleepsuit but will let him wear socks if wearing non footed one.

Re: Petit Bowl
My boy tried the cod fish and spinach pasta, tomato chix, butternet risotto, chix with sweet potato and grapes and salmon crumble.
So far he takes everything, prob fav is cod &amp; spinach but my fav will be salmon crumble cos really got many pieces of salmon!

RE: Amount of food and milk

I got a qtn to ask abt food intake.. how much should our baby be eating now?
Ever since I put baby with nanny, he's been eating heaps!
According to nanny he takes 4-5tbs cereal (HB)with 70 ml ebm, then 1 adult rice bowl of porridge, then 4-5 tbs of cereal and milk (100 ml).
This is between 9 am to 4 pm.

But dinner time he will just take half bowl of porridge and latch for 30 mins before bed. He still latch 2 hourly throughout the night.

I'm wondering how much milk and solids should baby be eating at this age? And when do we stop giving cereal? and change to adult cereal?

haha so coincidence! i went united sq on sat and tried petit bowl too. let him ate there and tkaway 8 capsule to last the whole wkend cos i didnt mgn to go mkt on sat morn. i dont cook beef so i bought all beef for him. he love it leh. he had the cream of spinach, butternut,another one with peas, first beef something, beef bolognese and i think another was stew beef. i think the portion was very small. i mix my own abc pasta with 2 capsule each meal.

ahnetsan, i bought 2 toys there. siao one so packed n it's not like warehse sale dirt cheap. aiyoh.. if not my sis drove n she bought 5, i wouldnt bother to queue for my 2 toys. the testing queue was crazy... and many packaging were torn.. so scary.. think it's becos too pack after many ppl going thru them. i reach there around 11 already alot ppl. bought the activity tabel &amp; 1 v tech learning system $76.50. saw the playskool push walker $50.. i read somewhere metro or what got offer $39.90 so toy r us after addn 15% is still ex. wow really must do homework before going such fair... lucky i clitched a deal with another mum on fri staying at my area already, $18 nia n hers was like brand new cos her son dont play , good buy man.

creamer, he likes the cod fish and sweet potato, later i will be trying the mango and banana desert.. sounds so yummy hee hee The mushroom thingy sounds good! will buy next week..

ahnetsan, yeah i was there for the Toys R Us sale but didnt get anything after all.. think i was there about 2 plus?

ah ching, i wanted to get salmon crumble yesterday but it was sold out! haizz.. cos it really sounds so delicious hahha

Re : sour tomatoes
I realized my little guy is not very into western food cos i tried giving him pasta 2 times, and tried the chicken tomato rice over the weekend as well.. Food that is tomato-based, he will just make that "want to vomit" face and refuse to eat anymore ha!

RE : aircon
newmum, i was in the same situation as you, woke up several times a night cos he kept waking up. My boy used to wear those footed sleep suits and he wakes up every 2 hour intervals. I finally realized, he couldnt sleep well cos he is too hot! Lately I just dress him in short sleeve tee, long pants plus socks with 2 blankies. Aircon at 25 degrees PLUS switchin the fan on and turn towards him..

he slept better! They are really so hot, but i'm aredi shivering under my covers

Ah ching,
Jayden schd at home is roughly (amt same as IFC but my timing abit differ)
8am - 8 (friso scoop) scoop HB cereal with 120ml FM
10- 180mlFM
12+- 1 rice bowl porridge/ pasta
3+- 210 ml FM
6+ 1 rice bowl porride/pasta
8+9 - 210ml FM with 3 friso scoop of nestle cereal

adult cereal.. i dunno . maybe i will do ard 2yr old. the time wn he can tk UHT milk. then i all switch at the same time.

Ya jayden also wk up wn too hot now i choose thin long sleeve and maybe also gotta do with mattress &amp; bedsht material? those with hole ventilation and 100% cotton shd be more cool.. esp the last few days was scorching! i then dress him in just romper no long sleeve..

wow skylermum i think u went too late. many good stuff were grab by the time i get there so ur time think is really hidden found good stuff , obvious one shd be all taken.

ah ching, didn't know sweaty head is symptom of teething... is it due to the higher temperature from teething?

pardon my ignorance, but why is 25 degrees most environmentally friendly temp?

my baby is eating lots more porridge as well. i think it could be growth spurt.

newmum,
There was a campaign by NEA to set air con at 25 degrees..Not exactly sure why but it suppose to save electricity.

sweating head sympton i read from the baby book. not sure why though..

After reading createjoy's post, don't think my boy eating a lot.. but he is drinking very little milk. sigh

aircon:
i set my aircon to 26 degrees. dress in sleepsuit with no socks n blanket. his head will also be sweaty! his feet n hands not cold unless he woke up n play in the cot. duno why...

Petit Bowl:
hvnt been there, sounds interesting. probably pop by this week.

hi cassey,
can PM me the cupcakes recommendation too. thanks!

aircon:
i set the aircon at 26 degrees. dressed him in sleepsuit with no socks n blanket. his head will also be sweaty! but hands n feet not cold, unless he woke up n play in the cot. duno why...

petit bowl:
havent been there, sounds interesting. probably pop by this week ;)

hi cassey,
i'm keen in the cupcakes too. can PM me the details. thanks!

ahnetsan,
i dun think i will buy petit bowl again. very small portion...
and i keep feeling worried if i heat the food throughly, cos travel home refreeze then thaw &amp; heat scare got bacteria eat already LS. :p eat there is fine, the place quite interesting. wish it was bigger though... a pity i wasnt ard wn he is eating. (busy queuing for the stupid sales) my hb was with him he said he likes it.

Oh talk about that i'm surprise jayden can suck adult straw already!

ah playdate at polliwigs.. so envy.. i wish i'm still SAHM

Ahnet-
I also add milk powder into noah's cereal because he doesn't drink beyond 120ml each feed so I think u can add fm into his cereal ba...

Newmom -
Aircon usually set at ard 23- 26 and Noah's in slpsuit but if his pjs are the non footed types then I will put on babylegs for him over the pjs and not pull through his feet so that they are covered. Noah also has the sweaty head syndrome ahhaha... so always got to wash the pillow case... hehe :p

I don't think you shld worry about ac being overly cold cos your baby would automatically tell you if it is.. aka cry due to discomfort from cold.

Re: Sour Stuff
Interesting that so many babes don't like sour stuff...I would think so too but strangely my dear Noah loves sour stuff.. he actually chased after my mum when she was eating a rather sour orange. We let him try a CNY Kam just for taste and he was so onto it that he kept crying for more...yikes! Also loves apple puree which can be quite sour.. he's got a sour tooth... oops! sounds wierd.

Kikismom-
wah where is polliwogs? sounds cute... hiaz... Tues and Wed no good for me...

newmum0109, S sleeps in aircon in footed sleepsuit and no blanket, the temp is set to 26deg (or so it says on the remote control), but based on my baby monitor, it usually reads 23-25deg, if rain or what, can go down to 22deg. So maybe it does get colder than the 23deg that you think you set it at? I think cool hands and feet are ok. But if it's me, and if I feel that her hands are COLD, I'd raise the temp by a wee bit, maybe 1deg.

kikismom, hehe coincidentally, I was just looking at Polliwogs website earlier! Pity I only saw your post now, abit too last min for me. Hope you have fun!

Ah Ching, why do you think your boy is drinking very little milk, if he's latching every 2hrs at night...? He's just comfort latching and not drinking is it?

thanks to all mummies who replied abt aircon! Relieved to know sweaty head syndrome is quite common :D i used to think i'm subjecting baby to hot and cold and hot and cold, the number of times i have to adjust the temperature.
Tubbymummy, so my aircon is not the only cranky one too! It also never EVER tallys with my baby monitor.

Re Polliwogs, looks like such a fun place! But i think mummies will enjoy it more.. cos seems more suited for toddlers, is it a tad early for our little ones or they really can climb high and low like this? And i thought my girl is agile!

Friso promo
Anyone keen to order friso 3? $300 purchase got $50 voucher. but i dont drive. so i'm looking for someone who drive can pick up frm me. we each order 5tin free 3 tin, so each tk 6 tin @$140. need to find 3 mothers to share and we will get $60 voucher to share. but the voucher might come in 1 pc of $50 so we can discuss how we wanna spilt it. n of cos u gals pick from me, i'm willing to take a smaller share to be fair.
or if anyone want to order friso 2 $175 for 6 tin. then just 2 of us will do. offer end 26 may. pls PM if keen.

Tubbymummy: I think my boy drinks abt 50-80 ml each time he latches on.. He doesnt drink in the day time as he doesnt take bottle.
So total only abt 400-600ml..?
I gauge amt by the amt I able to pump out.

I think he latches on throughout the nite out of habit.
But I think it is ok as he doesnt get to drink milk in the daytime.

babycow,
u can go see oversea spree. if u not taking cartoon characters, the retail outlets-seow khim has it. i bought mine from want to sell section, some bought extra but need time to wait for the one you like..

ahnetsan, i went petite bolw dat day about 5pm+ for her dinner time but didnt see all mummies leh. Mayb all go toys rus sales huh.. i didnt go in the sales, i see too many pple so crowded and nothing much to buy so decided to give it a go.

Sklermum, glad ur son likes the cod fish. The chicken alphabt pasta G likes too but 1 didnt give her much cos heard baby less than 1 year shld not intro chicken cos will have cough and sorethroat. Coincidentenly, G has the cough the next day and now down with fever

Sorry to disturb. I believe you are having wonderful time with your child.

For your info, Tokio Marine Asia Life has been in the market for more than 60 years in the market. Our company even came out in the article as the one and only insurer in Singapore which has never cut our bonuses to clients, even during the SARS period or 1997 crisis.

You can take a look at our website at http://connect.tmasialife.com/index.aspx.

Kindly take a look at the illustrations.

LifeStyle LP
As for the protection plan, premium term option is 5,10,15,20 or 25 years. Attached is based on $100,000 sum assured for Death/Total Permanent/Disability/Dread Disease. Premium term is 20 and 25 years only. The plan covers whole of life. When the assured reaches 65, he can withdraw, $4,000p.a. for as long as the assured live. At the same time, the assured have the option to withdraw the bonus as well. It is not a loan for withdrawal like traditional life insurance policies.

Legacy Plus (LP)
As for the protection plan, premium term option is 5,10,15,20 or 25 years. Attached is based on $100,000 sum assured for Death/Total Permanent/Disability/Dread Disease. Premium term is 20 and 25 years only. The plan covers whole of life of 2.5 times and comes with a complimentary Terminal Illnesses coverage.

I hope this will provide you with some options. Should you have any queries, do give me a email at [email protected]. Will try my very best to address your queries.

regards,
Leng
TM Asia Life Singapore Ltd

hellooo Mummies..
am kinda behind the archives again.. :p

Re:sweaty head
hmm, I m not sure if this is true for teething but my D is always perspiring. LOL. .. n even more now when he is teething... or was it just the very hot weather recently? Really not sure.
n YEAH.. he finally has his first tooth, 5 days shy of hitting 11 months old.

Re: Petit Bowl n Toys Rus
Too close to my office liao. Though I have gone to pick up a copy of Petit bowl's menu loong ago, I never got down to buying them cos I still prefer to just cook for D. As for the sale, I just can't be bothered to buy any even though it was less crowded on a weekday. I just hate queues!

sweethalo, D loves apples and tomatoes too! hehe... sour tooth kinda sound weird becos he does like sweet stuff as well.

Re: Aircon
I also on fan plus aircon at 26 - 27 degrees (didn't make it lower as he has abit of sensitive nose). I usually off the air con ard 12ish am before I sleep when the temp has gone down but the fan will be on thru the nite. Can't afford to on the aircon thru out on a daily basis as I dont' want to risk him having a stuffy nose the next day. So far, I have only done so once or twice when the weather is too unbearably hot even with the fan blowing at him. Even with AC on, he sleeps with short sleeve (some times sleeveless) and a long pants (open). No blankets.. just his bean pillows.

hello all! i'm heading to brisbane again to visit in laws with new baby oliver in late may.any mummies need me to cart back anything from au?could you guys send me a PM if you need anything?

btw,sophie has gone on a food strike.she only eats fruits and nothing else.she cries bloody murder whenever we try to feed her anything else.i have even tried adding fruit puree to her cereal or veg BUT her sense of taste is so keen that she immediately knows she's been duped and sppits everything out!i also dont know how to get her started on solids!she only wants her gerber biscuits that i have to feed her!seldom check the thread now.talk to you soon,ladies!

tubbymummy, thanks for the info. pretty scary for something like that to happen. now will think thrice abt bringing rouxuan out to play in such places.

re: aircon
we just on the aircon at 26degC but the thermometer shows 25.5degC. rouxuan wears long sleeve and long pants plus a blanket that was kapoed away by me from my hb a couple of year ago. now she kapoed from me. haha she'll bite it everytime before she sleeps. really nice material. didn't notice sweaty head. think she'll fidget and wake up more if the room seems hotter, like when our aircon goes crazy. think her hands sometimes warm, sometimes cool. tot it's ok as long as she's not having a fever.

re: sour stuff
fed strawberries yesterday and she loves it. maybe not sour enough.

re: HT
threw away my opened box of HT too. trying HB but seems like she prefers HT. think HT more fragrant. probably that's why the worms like it more too. haiz. maybe will try nestle next.

createjoy,
I don't like playskool push walker cos the wheels go only one direction, it is quite difficult to push.

Anyone used training pants? Does the baby feel wet after pee? How do mummy know the pant is wet and need change?

Potty training:
How do we let baby pee when we go out? I tried the kid toilet but it scared me cos of the automatic flush.

re: aircon
we set the aircon temperature at 26 deg Celsius.. marilyn will wear short sleeve and long pants, and with baby socks as we believe in keeping the feet warm and cosy. And so it seems most babies do sweat even in aircon room eh, as Marilyn also has sweaty neck during her sleeptime... we just use cloth diaper to cover her tummy.

creamer,
how is G? how's her fever? hope she's better now and recover well. take care!!

ahnetsan, how's your baby milkstrike? mine starts to take 100ml at nanny place but with cereal ... and today dunno why dun even wan that.

Trying to cry out method, yesterday K cried for 1hr+, then hubby coax him to sleep. He said K was already dozing off, but still sitting up and refuse to lie himself down!
Now trying again... wonder if it works!

Tinybubu-
hihi hope you are well and Oliver too... Was sophie ok with cereal previously and only started the strike recently?

bbjun -
hahha ya ...sour tooth is wierd sounding but I think Noah doesn't really fancy sweet stuff, only stumbled on his liking for sour stuff after I gave him apple &amp; mango pudding and he liked! Previously he just won't take whatever solids I was trying.

Potty training-
Opened up potty and tried placing Noah on it when he was trying to make a poo... He cried whilst on the potty.. wonder if it was the strange experience of taking off his diapers or just that he hasn't been on a potty or maybe he hasn't been in the toilet that I placed the potty in... oops!

HT - openned my pack of HT cereal to take a look... Didn't find anything wriggling or strange looking... so I decided to use it... think it's just a fluke chance ba... can happen to any cereal or for that matter any types of food.

Dolly-
Is K teething? or is he eating more solids now so don't want to drink milk?

Noticed that these few days, Noah has been cutting down his milk intake too probably because I gave slightly more cereal thinking I should try to up his appetite...or then again, could be the hot hot hot weather... hiaz...

sweethalo,
i tried adding FM into the cereal. J seems to know leh, he refused to eat after tasting it.
haiz... 2 days ago opened Nan HA. he took a few sips via straw, at least it's some improvement,
cos normally other brands we haf to sort of force him to drink, NAN HA he drinks it himself. but
only drank a bit nia, i think less than 10ml, damn cham too.... haiz...

dolly, still e same leh... still on milk strike leh...

bbmarilyn, G develop fever on mon think in the aftn but i tot is due to the super hot weather so didnt check on her and still bring her out walk walk. She is drowsy in the car and didnt make noise tot she is just tired. When back home in evening den realise she got high fever. Haiz.. i shld have taken more caution approach. Rush her to PD and surprisingly they do see patient till midnite.. The next day her fever subside and consistently stable till now jus a little coughing..

Sweethalo, G started to drink lesser for the past 2 weeks liao. Each only less than 150ml nia. Used to about 180 to 200ml each feed. Duno is it bcos she wans to wean off milk when coming 1 year old.

Regarding the HB Cereals, will be ordering direct from local source. It will be @ S$7.50 and ordering the puff and melts from evitaminstore instead. M working with evitaminstore on the total costs, will update again.

Not sure whether u gers still interested in the cereals or not.

sweethalo: dunno whether teething or not, now still only 2 tiny teeth
I asked nanny to starve him some more, still dun wan milk... think can start packing the sterilizer...

ahnetsan: maybe you also try not to give him milk(other than latch) for a while n see how?

hello mummies with bbs on milk strike,
happened to chat with my neighbour a couple of days ago and she shared with me about her daughter (who is 4 now) who went on milk strike when she is approaching 1 yr old. She said that her PD told her that some bbs/toddlers stopped drinking milk naturally because their stomach/bodies stopped producing some sort of enzymes to digest the milk. Hence, after drinking milk, they feel some stomach discomfort and will dislike drinking milk. Right now, her daughter only drinks magnolia milk.. cold from the fridge, once every other day n I think sometimes, if she demands for milk, she still drinks like 180ml from bottle. She supplements her daughter's diet with cheese, mixing some milk into the oats she has for breakfast, putting other sources of food where she can still get calcium.

My mother on the other hand told me that I went on milk strike as well when I was a bb. But she can't rem exactly when. What she did - add 1 scoop of milo to the milk so that I will drink my milk back then. I think it happened to both my siblings as well. :p Didn't know we were that difficult. LOL.

Anyway, I seriously do not know who is right and why BB goes on milk strike but want to share what I have heard so that u can either check with PD or research more on it.

Hope this is a passing phase for your bubs and they start to drink milk soon.

sweethalo, apple and mango are Dylan's fave as well.

Potty training:
Nanny is finally successful in getting D to pee into the toilet bowl today after trying for more than 6 mths. Hopefully, we can really get him trained soon!

Ahnet - whah J got detective tongue... mixed in cereal still can tell got fm? How many scoops did you put in? I usually only add 1 scoop...

Creamer - hope G is feeling much better already. Has her drop in milk intake got anything to do with her not feeling too well?

Dolly - Does he still drink from btl, if so cld it be the teat size flow is too slow? hmm... does he drink from sippy cup?

bbjun- whahahah Dylan &amp; Noah have the same taste! kekekeke

seems like most of the babies have teeth already and still no sign from Rouxuan! MIL says that means she'll start changing her teeth after 11. wonder how true that is.

bbjun, your nanny is really persistent! good that Dylan is finally ok with the potty.

by the way, has anyone seen Huggies Ultra XXL on the shelves when you are shopping for diapers? Been to ntuc, shop n save and cold storage but can't find. if you do happen to spot, do let me know. think my gal is exploding out of her XL active baby pampers. think pampers doesn't have XXL for active baby.

hi mummies, been MIA quite a while.

Baby A still drinks her milk frm the bottle, she's been taking about 120-150ml since 6 months and only now when she's taking formula then can take more. but i also notice that her tummy bulging out, prev she got flat tummy! wondering if my mum keep feeding her milk that's why she's getting 'fat'. haha!

Her daily diet:
- wake up 6am, drink 120ml of milk then goes back to sleep
- wakes up for the day at 9am, drink 90ml milk
- 1030am eat HT cereal with Rusk biscuit or steamed apple or strawberry/banana
- 1130 90-120ml of milk then afternoon nap
- wake up 1-2pm for lunch of porridge or baby pasta with chicken/lamb and veggie
- 3pm 120ml milk (again! haha) then nap
- 5pm wake up, drink 90ml milk with snacks like manna biscuit/gerber puffs
- 6pm dinner of porridge/pasta
- 730pm 100-120ml milk
- between 8 to 10pm i will give another 90ml of milk so she can sleep off

she drinks a lot is it? about 700ml/day. but i think it's because now i start giving FM i dont 'ration' the milk. prev when i latch she always take short snacks no matter how much i try to distract her.

now when i latch it's usually at night and in the dark so she cant look around much, and she will keep pulling my hair! do you all have the same?

miss you all loads!