(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Congrat to all mummies that had popped n smooth delivery fot those still waiting

This sunday is my boi's full mth bash, which mean confinement is gg to be over soon n I can resume normal life YIPPY!!!!

I just went to dye n highlight my hair. Feel so alife after the whole session
. So now i am pumping n gg to discard the ebm
. Better be safe than sorry lor.

Superbee,

Hb wan sat, me wan sun, e latest for him is monday, gynae w/o mentioning anythg issue admission letter for monday. No chance for him to b overdued.

Bread high in carbo leh.

Seems like e waiting game only make us eat and sleep all e time. Haha

Had my cocktail jelly just now as e weather is simply too hot. Later taking durian and my gelato.

wow, all this cocktail jelly lah, durian lah, gelato lah, lychee lah... making me drool sia!!

updates from sweethalo,
well, she's still waiting... now 6cm dilated le...

Ahnet,

In 2 weeks time, u can start indulging already, whereas for us, dat's when our torment start.

Nw almost 12hrs already for sweethalo, hw's she. Do help us send our regards to her.

bbpotato,
she still waiting leh... say cervix 6cm only... say gynae will wait till 8pm before alternative... but dunno wat alternative leh.

hi mommies-

now me in delivery ward... waterbag left 3.1cm so got to induce today... maybe after delivery will get to see jessma...
the nurse insert the pills to induce now waiting for unbearable contraction

need help here.. my gal woke up with more heat rash over her body and face.. anything rec for cream or lotion to apply on her face or body?

all the best annie!

bbpotato,
lets see if ur bb come out on sat or sun.

ya waiting game make us put on more weight n now durian seasons, everyone eating n tempting me also...

i din know bread high in carbo leh.. hmm i shall not eat rice later... just drink soup for dinner. :p
i went expo for communicasia just now and walk for 2+ hrs non stop to torture my little one.. hahahaa... let see if it helps to force my bb out tonite....

Annie, Sweethalo, jia you! All the best and just do it! Wah, all ahead of me suddenly! Good good, we will all "suffer" together for confinement! Ha ha ha! Ahnetsan, you can sia us when you are done. We will look at our red date tea and pretend it's bubble tea! Hee hee hee!

Just came back from dinner! My good friend just came back from Phuket and was talking to me on the phone! So many pple asked me how liao! So funny! Well, told bb today we will rest well and tmr play another game! Not the waiting game, but the pushing game!

annie, jia you! waiting for your good news!!

LFB, me already 'suffering' for confinement. ha. thought pregnancy has a long list of 'don't eat', now laggi more. can't even eat a cold apple, must b non chilled. and i only have apple to eat for fruits. and 2 types of veg, 2 types of meat, a few types of fish allowed in this first week of confinement. arghh....!

Mika,

oh no! Hee hee, I think I won't be so strict on myself, that's why no oldies staying with me! Hee hee. Tahan, will soon end! For me, I am more concern whether I can do massage or not! Ha ha ha!

LFB
haha good one sia... pretend red date tea to be bubble tea... actually, i've been pretending dat for the past few days too! haha... BUT it doesnt make me feel better and the red date tea is still red date tea! haha... actually i miss a nice cold heineken and a cold coke!!!

mika,
ya lor ya lor!! my mil also dun allow me to eat chilled apple! she purposely take the apple out, put in plastic container and den pass to me... and the damn apple is not even chilled lor!!!

hee, but i got steal a few sips of my hb's cold Mug rootbeer when my hb is nt ard...but sip le den scare will burp... haha so must be careful... if nt sure will haf lobang one!

tahan for another 2 wks and i'm freed from this disgusting, nonsensical confinement!!! luckily i can still bathe everyday..if nt, i sure go bonkers one...

LFB,
talking abt massage, today is my 2nd day.. gosh, it's actually quite painful lor...

<font color="0077aa">hello mummies,
congrats to all who popped in past few days. sneaking in some time to come in and say hi while alya is sleeping.

my birth story:

15 June 2009
12noon - just sms-ed a lady online to meet her to buy a cot table, plan was to meet at 4pm. right after that felt water trickling. since i was having flu and cannot smell properly, asked hubby to do the deed. hehe. he said not urine. was unsure whether to wait since i have gynae appointment that evening, so called KKH to speak to him. was advised to go straight to KK delivery suite.

1315hrs - arrived at delivery suite. along the way water was trickling like a tap, so wet the car seat a bit. hehe
was sent to a delivery room and changed to hospital gown. KK delivery rooms look very depressing with old-fashioned wallpaper. was told by nurse that even if water bag burst, can be a day or 2 before actual delivery. was put on CTG.

1330 - gynae happened to be at KK so came to see me, checked that i was 2cm dilated and having contractions 1 in 5 minutes according to CTG but i didn't feel a thing. tried to look out for the pain, and finally realised it was the gnawing pain at the back. hubby was told to get me lunch before they put me on oxytocin, as after that cannot eat. estimated will deliver around 10pm.

until 1600hrs - watched tv with hubby and still laughing. wasnt feeling much pain but being on my back all the time was making me restless.

1630hrs - contractions started getting closer together, 1 in 3 minutes and pain was getting more intense. practised deep breathing to tide each one.

1700hrs - gynae came in to check on me before leaving for his night clinic, i was still only 3cm dilated so was offered pethidine injection. i refused and instead asked to start on gas instead. was given gas mask and told to breathe deeply 20seconds before each contraction. but since i was having a cold, this was very challenging. still i did my best.

1730hrs - cannot tahan so asked nurse for pethidine cos pain was too intense and i was thrashing with every contractions. told hubby
to switch off the lights and tv in the room, just lay on bed and wait for each contraction. asked nurse if i could get up and walk about because it would get the pain off my back, but since my waterbag burst, they cannot risk an infection so was told to stay in bed quietly. pethidine can only be administered if i was still early in dilation so had a VE check - only 3cm. dear God, this is going to be a long ride. but i didn't know what was further to come.

1745hrs - pethidine was injected to thigh. kept thinking it might help a lot, but also worried because if i deliver within 3 hrs, the effects can transfer through placenta to baby. but was in too much pain to think so far. after the jab and until 1845, i kept using the gas mask and just go rigid each time there was a contraction to try and minimise the pain - actually supposed to relax then it wont hurt so much but i cannot think already.

1930hrs - soiled myself after an intense contraction and nurses came in to check. VE was done and baby's head was already at the opening so was told not to push even when the urge to poo came. gynae can only arrive at 8pm after his
clinic. after that, kept pooping bit by bit with each contraction because i cannot resist the urge. was told to keep legs open so baby's head can come out but all i felt like doing was curl up. forgot all about the gas mask and deep breathing.

1945hrs - nurse said if i felt like pushing just push. gynae still not in yet.

2000hrs - gynae finally arrived and they started prepping for the final stage. was told to take deep breaths and push - but it's almost impossible. forgot all i learnt in class about sitting up and holding my thigh in, deep breaths and count to 10 for each push.

2012hrs - finally after 4 pushes within 5 minutes (and my final request to gynae was if he can vacuum/forcep her out because i kept saying i cannot push), she came out of me (literally) like bobbing feeling like that. heard her cry and my 1st thought was: GREAT, NO MORE CONTRACTIONS!

Baby's name: Alya Mysara
DOB: 15 June 2009 at 2012
Weight: 3.1kg
Length: 49cm
Head circ: 33cm
Delivery: Natural w/o epi

after that gynae stitched me up and baby was handed to me within the hour to try to breastfeed but of course nothing came out of it. was sent to the ward 2 hrs later and in general i was coping well.

for the 2 nights in the ward, i wanted to do total breastfeeding but initial latching was wrong so nipples were sore from the nipple sucking (should be areola sucking because newborn have small mouths and need help). on 3rd day, lactation consultant came and gave really good advice:

- pinch the areola with nipple in the middle and drive into baby's mouth
- must do massage - very important to prep yourself mentally
- if baby start to suck on nipple/loses a good latch, FIX IT before it starts to hurt. tug on her lower jaw to get her to release the nipple hold and stuff in more areola

i cried on the 3rd day before i saw the lac con because nipples were sore so i nursed for only 15min and allowed nursery to cup-feed her supplement for past few feedings. however, i was told not to feel bad. something good came out of it because she was passing motion well (largely due to supplement feeding) and help prevent jaundice. at discharge her level was 88 which is okay and today at 99.

re BFing: so far i think my supply is kicking in and im feeding her every 3-hourly. she poo/pee normal. only problem is with my sore nipples cos she sucks hard and dont think my latch is right-on. any ideas on helping me with this? i just feel like walking around topless..help!</font>

ahnetsan, ur massage lady is $35 per session is it? how is her binding? my massage lady go overseas and will be back next tuesday. wondering if too late for me to wait for it will be day 8 for me..?

Ahnetsan,
ya, I was told can be painful! Colleague warned me that the binding can kill! But I want to do it badly! I am like a hippo! So besides breastfeeding, losing weight is my next top priority! Hee hee!

Wah beer ah? I long give up, cos after excessive drinking beer for a few years when I was overseas, I cannot take it anymore! I don't mind a glass of red wine though!

*sob* i'm also suffering from confinement... this cannot eat that cannot eat... each meal is only vege, steamed/fried fish, sesami ginger fish/pork and a soup... i'm losing weight way too fast... din gain much weight for myself during pregnancy... and now i'm reducing to just skins and bones... luckily i'm not confined at home... these few days i've been making quick errand trips to the malls near my house... so still can buy some snacks to eat...

caramelle,
I'm not sure KKH have any parentcraft, you may want to bring your girl to TMC or Mt A to seek for help, they will observe and correct you the way you latch.

Annie,
Jia you

Btw wonder is sweehalo delivered?

innocentwar,
your confinement is better then mine, I got only one dish each meal and I kana nag even go to hospital to latch my boy.

EC_mom... WHAT?!! only 1 dish for each meal?!! how can like that? this is the time where we need the balance diet and also to eat more to recuperate!

caramelle,
congrAts to ur newborn!

have u tried dfferent positions? i realised if i use football hold for my breast which nipple is maller and shorter, it hurts less..
as ur milk supply comes in bb, bb dun need to suck so hard, hence will not be so painful..

for sore nipples,sapply niple cream and buy brest shells to protect/air nipples..
can apply some of ur milk to ur nipple..

innocwentwar,
my mum said cant eat vege till 12days and now bb jaundice very high so have to cut down on bu and ginger so only one dish each meal, sometime mum will boil soup.

EC, KKH have lactation consultants and Im thinking of going tomorrow or day after to ask them monitor the way i do if correct or not..

that time when she came to see me in ward, she was very enthusiastic and animated, and i felt very rushed..dont know why. maybe cos i was due to discharge and i was very tired cos kept BFing on the bed and with the wound below, i like very uncomfortable...

will try to find more time to update again soon..nights everyone

maybe this few days keep running to hospital, I might cought some cold, now my body feel so 'cooling' even I wearing a sweater under the sun.
was telling my hb this time I must do good confinement as it is last time liao, but now think hopeless already. my leg, fingersand back are so painful.

caramelle,
understand, my first time also the same, no mood the hear what the lactation consultant say cos too tired and my nipple was sore and bleed.
Try not to stress yourself, you need to rest your body/mind and take more fluid to have milk.
You rest well, tomorrow or when you feel you are ready, bring your girl to show them and ask their advice.

Hi all moms

Not sure if you can remember me. I have just delivered today at TMC at 1502. Here is my birth story:

17 Jun
2130: Started to feel contractions so decided to bathe and prepare ourselves for the admission just in case

1030: Contractions seem to get worse so HB and I drove to TMC to check if labour has started

18 Jun
0030: Nurse confirmed admission is required so HB went to check in

0130: Nurse asked if I would like to use Epi so as to allow body to relax and help with dilation process. Dilation is only at 2cm at this stage, so agreed to use Epi

0500: Nurse came in to check on dilation, which is still at 2cm (my God!). Meanwhile contractions are not as frequent as I would have liked

0900: Gynae came in the morning to check on dilation, which is still at 2cm (!!!). I am quite depressed with the lack of progress, luckily HB has been a rock behind me. Gynae suggested breaking the waterbag and drip stimulants to hasten the process

1200: Gynae checked again, and now dilation is at 4cm. He predicts I will give birth by 4pm, so fingers crossed

1345: Surprise surprise my dilation is now 10cm which means that I can now push for baby. Nurse and HB began intial push with me

1502: After at least 30 pushes and more than 1 hr, gynae was called in and we all started the final push! At 1502, baby is bornt! I was relieved and very tired from the ordeal. The Epi needles and drip really made me very uncomfortable during the whole process

The entire labour is so tough (18 hrs!) and I was so relieve after the whole process. Praise the Lord!

HB told me he has been very impressed with me during the entire labour, and was quite heart-broken during the painful ordeal. But having seen Peter, it was worth all the effort!

me now in normal ward.. show contraction but no pain at all.. sian got to wait to see how it goes..

congrats to mommies tat pop... oh so sweethalo also popping kekeekeekee

Congrats bbPP on e arrival of bb Peter.

Annie, try to grab some rest now to prep yrself for e big push later.

Wonder hw's Sweethalo nw? Has her bb boy arrived?

now is 4.23am...

started to have spotting &amp; bleed when i pee... tummy felt funny &amp; pain &amp; i cant sleep at all

called nurse &amp; she said cos i had the pill insert in me it showing syptom tats my cervix has weaken.. so now me wearing my sofy pad... if later bleed alot then got to call my hubby &amp; gyne .....

thks u mommies for the well wishes...

LFB- it yr turn today.. induce really got to wait so long &amp; i still havent get the unbearable pain..jialat

updates from sweethalo!!

baby finally arrived at 1227am this morning after 22hrs of long labour. he weighs 2.76kg, 51cm length... delivery mode is natural with epi and vacuum.

both baby and mummy are well and fine.
Thanks be to God.

congrates to sweethalo!!! 22 hrs is indeed very long... xin ku le!

bbPotato and Annie, Jia You Jia You! both of you should be able to see your little darlings by today...

for those who have catered confinement food, can share who you cater from and how's the food? I wanna order confinement food liao... if not i'll be starved from my MIL's cooking... i still feels hungry after each meal... her dishes definitely does not provide enough calories for me to maintain my own body and also to provide enough milk for my gal... hubby have given a go ahead to eat whatever i want!

<font color="0050b3">Good Morning Ladies! I got good news! We are not going to Korea anymore! YIPPY! My Hb went to talk to one of the Lady Superior and she understands our situation! Hence she advise us not to fly there and she will help to schedule more Site in Singapore for my HB! I felt relief! Thou wasted quite alot money on Daylon's Passport and PD visit but its all good now! Yeah!

Congrats JESSMA, DOLLY, BBPP, SWEETHALO and BBPOTATO - Welcome to MOtherhood! Rest well!
Jia you to ANNIE

BBjun <font face="symbol">®</font> Those tiny white pimples are "NI KEE" which means milk spot! Try not to let your nipple touch the bb face
Then you can use small warm wet cotton roll to clean the face...

bbpotato and annie,
both of u jiayou ok!! continue to update us with ur live report.

caramelle,
yeah my ML is $32 per session... done 2x le so far..today will be my 3rd day with her.. but after massage, aching in thighs, stomach and hands... binding nt bad... i lost 1.5 inch on 2nd day... haven weighed myself though... she says i shld haf lost at least 2kg le... think nt too late ba... i started like 10 days later only wor...

bbpp,
congrats to ur baby Peter!!

blurmom,
dat's great news!!!!!! den wont haf to lose contact wif u for 3 months!!
im so happy for u..

My boy has arrived @ 835am.

Labour is short, around 2hrs.

Bb weight: 2.96
Bb head cir: 34cm
Bb height: 49cm
Name: Arik Jerrell
Delivery: Natural with laughing gas

wah bbpotato,
ur labour very short leh!!! so envy!!

congrats on ur baby arrival!

wow, another mummy with no epidural! cool mummy!!

Thanks for all your congrats!

Peter is 51 and 34cm, weighing 3.185kg.

Congrats to the other moms who popped and all others who are popping.. God bless!