(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Wow Joyce, I really envy your energy. Only the first few days and you are doing so many things. I remembered struggling during the first few days. Maybe because you are very experience, that's why you can do so many things.

juju:
Mother's instinct! you can do it! just have to get all things ready b4 u start undress ur bb.

When u know u can't relay on pple, you have to diy! Relax and take a step at a time! Practice makes perfect!

joyce,
ya, intend to let mil go back after confinement. so must learn.

baby may,
u need to learn & get the hang of it before CL goes off. dun wait till she leave.

just 1 question, do u all actually expressed bm out & feed by bottle?
So fan cos for my #1, i latch her on until ard 2 mths then i let her use bottle. She used for abt 2 times & rejected bottle all the way till nw shes 19mths using spout.
When i delivered my bb#2, i asked thomson parent craft, she actually said its not adisable to start bottle during the 1st mth...
Any advise mummies?

Twinkle mums, think u missed my post. But pls do help me update too!!

Given EDD - 12 May 2009
Actual EDD - 30 april 2009
Week at delivery - 38 weeks
Gynae name - Dr LN Sim
Birth method - Natural W Laughing Gas
Hospital - TMC
# of current baby - #2
Weight at birth - 2.642kg
Gender - Girl
Name of baby - Cassandra Lim

MumMy Kian:
Maybe you can start introducing bottle at wk 4 to wk 6, starting 1 bottle each day.

That's what I did with #2, he was bf till 22 mths, switching btw bottles & bfg has no prob for him!

I will be using the same approach with this bb too!

hi Joyce,
thanks for the advise. Yeap i will try bottle feeding her when she is abt 5 weeks. cos it was really tough for me during bb#1 as ive to bring bb everywhere i go as she doesnt take the bottle.

Congrates on ur nb. just saw the chart & realise ur bb is only 5 days old!

hello ladies..been busy still not yet read the past few days posting..will try catch up soon and join in the topic..

hello ..Twinkle mums,

pls do help me update too!!

Given EDD - 21 May 2009
Actual EDD - 10 May 2009
Week at delivery - 38 weeks
Gynae name - Dr Michele Lee
Birth method - C-sect with GA
Hospital - TMC
# of current baby - #1
Weight at birth - 3.4kg
Gender - Boy
Name of baby - Aaron Tan

Confinement:

my CL drive me crazy..1st day late , 2nd day found out she sweat alot feed baby sweat,bath,change baby also sweat.. 3rd fall sick ,4th day tel me my baby bottle not enough use (i got 4 bottle),tel me baby safe brand pillow no good..stil alot of rubbish..make me feel like givin her 2 big slap and kick her out of my hse...

Hi! Congratulations to mummies who have popped

Breastpumps:
I have a medela mini electric but dont find it very very effective in expressing milk from my breasts. Very noisy as well.
Another Avent manual pump which is very effective in expressing milk but tiring... and slow... got this cos was returning to work and had to express milk in the toilet.
Now, using medela freestyle (imported set - so no warranty). Only spent about $550. This set is wonderful - quiet, gentle on the breasts, battery could be charged so pumping is done anywhere,even when u are having your meals. Handsfree! so I can come online while pumping
Thumbs up for this set! (so far so good, hope it wont fail!) PM me if you need the contact of the forum mummy whom I got the set from

Bottle-feed:
Why cant we introduce bottles to baby during the 1st month? Afraid of nipple confusion? honestly, I find this very stressful for any mummy who wants to go on total breastfeeding and baby is not latching correctly. Maybe i am lucky or what, i am not too sure but so far, I heard many mummies, including myself with babies who are not confused at all. They are able to switch from latching to bottle feeding (sorry, not trying to contradict anyone here, just thought of sharing my views here).

mOOn, Sallen, MumMy KIan - noted on your update.

GraceofGod, can I have the contact of the forum mum that you got the Medela Freestyle from?

wah.. Tinklesmum- ya still awake?

Hi mummies- i got discharged early.. Wah.. Stoning away man. Dun understand why bb cant seem to sleep well.. Very fitful sleep.. Meaning wake up once in a while to make noise.. It's so... Tiring... Zzz

Sallen and Baby May, it looks like the 3 of us are so unhappy with our CLs. Indeed, they are like stumbling blocks to us...

I tell you, I really regret engaging one this time round (should have ordered confinement food cos I have a maid to help me). She is so lazy with a maid around, super unhygienic (my kitchen is in a mess eversince she came along and my maid has to clean up after her).

She wastes money all the time (keeps saying there is no food in the fridge, but let me tell you, it is the opposite!), keeps wanting to go to the market. And when she goes, she just grabs anything she wants even tho I give her a shopping list! And I tell you, the amount of sauce she uses is amazing. My 1 bottle of soya sauce can last me months but in these 2 weeks, she has already finished up almost 2 bottles!

She wastes my electricity and gas (brews soup for 5-6hrs till we ask her to stop)

She doesnt know how to care for baby (baby cries means hungry, seldom checks baby's diapers, always carrying baby, baby's bottom still dirty after she changes her)

She spends so much time in the kitchen cooking (still cooking is lousy! My hubby is not fussy about food but complains big time!)

Last week, my hubby and I wanted to seriously terminate her service but I decided to keep her cos whatever it is, she is still an extra pair of hands to help around, esp. since my maid has to care for no. 1.

So sian to have engaged someone like her!

Yeah, GraceofGod,my CL also likes to go NTUC. She went almost every alternate day until we ask her how come she cannot buy for more days. She says she cannot carry too heavy. She spend about $50 per trip for fresh food and take about 1hr or more per trip. This is on top of what she ask my MIL to buy. She will ask my MIL to get from wet market while she goes NTUC. My MIL just brought 2 chxs yesterday. Then yesterday she told me she is buying chicken. So I ask her whether my MIL 2 chx is enough. She says that is for me because it is kumpong chx. She will buy from NTUC for herself today. Then I ask her how long does one chx last. She says 2 days. I can't imagine I eat half a chx per day by myself.

I am now trying to contact parentcraft to see whether they have CL on a week by week basis. Then I can terminate my current one and continue with Parentcraft one. But not sure of the procedure to terminate.

good morning ladies

adrienne, maybe ur bb is adjusting to new environment.. she will be better in the next few days.. jia you and rest as much as possible!

re: bathing
ju, have fun bathing baby
my hubby had his first try yesterday -- kalang kabo but our baby din cry and watched his daddy with a frown :p i will try next week before my mum goes back to my sis' place.

my mum commented that of her 4 grandchildren that she helped do confinement, my baby is the most "daring" -- won't cry after take off the shirt and put in the tub. Haha, she said must be coz i always go swimming when i was pregnant :p

re: pumping
liewb, me also dun hv much output when i pump using avent manual in my 1st week... maybe i dunno how to use it correctly but i decide to delay pumping till 6 weeks... will see how it goes -- will try to rent an electric pump to try, too.

re: massage
any mummies here tried mdm ida? i m in my 3rd week of confinement and yet to start my postnatal massage... dislike my tummy leh -- hope it is not too late...

Morning adv_sports.

Yeah, you have fun bathing your baby.

I have done about 7 sessions of massage. 3 more to go. May extend for another 2 more sessions cause very relaxing. My tummy is still wobbly (like 3 months pregnant) too.

I was latching my baby on for about half and hour at 615am when he wake up and cries for milk. He fell asleep at 645am. A while after I put him at his baby cot, he wake up crying. The CL feed him with 85ml milk at 7am. At 8am, he wakes up crying. CL says to feed him again. But I says only 1hr ago feed him. I brought him to my room at 8:30am and after latching for half an hour, he is asleep now. So I decided to let him sleep in my room for a while.

CL is outside on the phone, but I don't care what she do as long as my baby is ok.

hi mummies... I'm sooooooo tired... Didnt sleep at all coz tasha was fussing the whole night... I literally could die... Tried everything but nthting works...

morn ladies..

adv_sports...i did try to pump the other nite when very engorge but to no effect. think i'll wait awhile too, wait for supply to stablise. 3rd wk of confinement is not too late to do massage, most ladies if do c-section can only start after 6th wks.

tinkle mum...hv you check out the jamumassage.com website? their response time is quite fast. i wrote to them last nite and hv already gotten a response.

baby may...same same, i've been latching on & off since 5.30am this morn. little fella just keep falling asleep every 5-10mins. my CL is also not the greatest, not very experience. she's more like my cook, so far, except for bathing, i'm the one taking care of baby. plus this morn, she only woke up at 7am. i'll give her the benefit of the doubt this time but if it happens again, i'll tell her off.

Re supply of breast milk, pls avoid "Cabbage" at all cost ... reduces or helps to dry milk supply.

Instead, try to drinking half ripe papaya cooked with fried red fish soup ... and take lotsa of black glutinous rice and red dates tea.

As for breast feeding the baby, we try to keep the 2 hours interval, in between can give baby water intead.Too much milk feeding either bottle or breast will cause baby's tummmy upset and that is why they cry ... and stop crying when we let them suckle, cos comforting, not because hungry ...

hope it helps. i am waiting patiently for my 5th, edd 23rd may ...

Congrats to all mummies out there =)

adv sports!
same same..i tried bathing the baby last 2 days. Everytime I bathe her.. she looks damn scared! hahahaha BUt she look so relaxed when the CL is bathing her. hahaha I must really practise more!

baby_may, haha, my tummy also like 3 mth preggy :p hubby likes to joke that didi is inside -- gosh he wanna go for #2 when #1 haven't settle down!

liewb, my bb also doze off after 5-10min -- i will keep her awake for another 5-10min by tickling her ear lobe and cheek. heard that best to feed on 1 B for more than 15min so that bb gets to drink hind milk...

re: bb's round tummy
hubby is a bit worried abt the round tummy of our bb... is it normal for bb to have that? seems bloated to us but my mum said it is normal??

adv,
i'm using ida, 5 sessions finished as of today. hubby commented face & tummy dun look so round liao. quite like her massage also.
bb also cry less when ida bathe her.
yes, normal for bb to have round tummy... will go away after some time, can't remember how long though...

adv/baby may,
did not manage to bathe bb today cos mil hanging around & nagging me to take breakfast. hope to try tmr.

adrienne,
tasha could be jus fussing. 1st few nites, my jodie also keep crying for nothing. only last 2 nites then start to be a bit more peaceful. still to improve.

mummies...

help...

I'm 1 week away fr my EDD. woke up early this morn bcos of contractions. Just had a bloody discharge. But I dunno how to time my contractions... what should I do now??

first_born- why dun u call ur gynae? i'm sure the nurses would be trained enough to guide u on wad to do.. if u can't get ur gynae.. don't worry!

I guessed may have missed outmy update

pls help

Given EDD: 8 May
Actual EDD: 8 May
Week at delivery: 40
Gynae name: Lisa Chin
Birth method: eCsect w epi after 18 hrs
Hospital: Glen E
# of current baby: nope
Weight at birth: 3.21
Name of baby

grace: will try if nipple crack/bleed again... thanks

porky,sk: bought ameda lactaline @ 388 yesterday...

my yield today @ 10am: 50ml ... slight improvement
but I still supplementing fm... baby kept crying / fussing and cannot stop until given formula...

my hubby is overseas. will be back in 4 days... I am so depressed... was very emotional yesterday...

first born, I went in at the first brown discharge also... ended up w 18 hrs labour...if pain is ok then try to time ur contractions... 5-10 mins then go hospital...think I got double charge for trying natural and csect...was in the delivery suite for 16 hrs... and ot for 2....

ameda electric pump quite quiet... did not wake baby up even if I was expressing in the same room. hide in one corner though... : )

hi all moms.. nd some advice on formula milk...I dun hv enuff milk for my 2 hungry boys..any recommendations on formula...too many in the market now, dun noe which ones to get..
Kinda sad that I cannot meet their demand.

Also, do they need to drink water when they on formula? I still wanna give them breastmilk...do I alternate feeds?

Thanks..

Liewb, I just latched baby again at 1030 to 11 till he sleep again. Don't know whether he has enough to drink cause his mouth always so small. I am pumping milk now to supplement his feed later. I will try to latch for daytime when I can. My CL just went NTUC. I realised that she is very free today if I latch baby on, cause I see her listening to her walkman and talking over the phone the whole morning. She is really just a cook.

First born, why don't you record down the time that each of your contractions start. The interval will be between the start of the previous contraction and the current contraction.

baby may,
ya, good to have mil. but also got its cons...
家家有本难念的经...
i will learn how to bathe bb asap, intend to let mil go back after finish confinement

Hey gals,

Long time no "see", I am alone taking care of baby now,coming 3 weeks! Sometimes will go over to my mum's with baby. Proud of myself that I actually survive in a way with 2 furkids in the house..

Anyway,to share my experience here:

Re: bathing baby

Try singing to yr baby during bath,maybe he/she wun be so tensed up. My MIL always tell baby we are going for a swim! Somehow that calms my baby down and she does not cry during shower and seems to enjoy it! I sing nursery rhymes to Chelsea every morning. hee. Oh yeah,rem to pad water on baby's chest before putting the baby into the bath tub.

Re: CL

Baby May,ask yr CL go and sweep mop the floor. Mop finish go and scrub the toilet..LOL. Housework is part of CL's job scope too!

Graceofgod,
haha YES CONFINEMENT NANNIES are like that!!!
My current confinement nanny also. Waste my gas, my water & Food!!!
U got to tell them off!!! i did!! i was pissed!!
She on the tap full blast while washing the plates, bowl... Cant she jus turn it off 1st, when shes done then on it to rinse?!!! Maybe they think our water is free from mountain la!
Gas: ya like wad u say brew things for many many hrs!! until my pork goes sooo soft already still brew. Maybe she thinks im teethless wans to brew till my pork goes cotton!
FOOD!! MIL bought expensive pork, she put 1 whole chunk of pork meat to boil soup (instead of using pork rib) then throw the whole chunk away.
Haiz... worst was!!! she was recommended by pple. thought shes good. ended up i got to teach her hw to wash my bb girl! starting she wipe my girl bottom from backside upwards!!!!! Argh!!! hw can!!! ltr my girl UTI hw!?
The eyes she uses 1 cotton to clean both eyes with tap water somemore. Nv clean my bb toungue until i tell her so. Urine liao never wash my girl bottom jus happily change a new diaper only! Take frozen food from freezer & never wash with dettol b4 handling my girl!!!!
WAHHHHH SORRY mummies!!! im so pissed too! Freaking lousy CL & payin 2k! argh! thanks god im left with 10 days only!!!

hoonie,

My Damn CL doesnt do housework!! She makes my maid cook 4 her, change my bb bedsheet n hers, fold clothes for her too! *fed up*
So mummies if u have a maid at home, they will take advantage of them!!!