(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

pinkypink and jean,

So your baby main meal is also still milk ah...my boy is also taking around 810-850 ml of milk a day, before sleep if I increase to 300 ml he can sleep trough lesser than that he will wake up lots of time, it's like not in deep sleep, but is 300 ml too much for their age ah? coz with water it will be around 340ml ler.

None of you give ur baby cereal in the morning ah? i still give him cereal every morning, then afternoon give him fruit around 1 (eg. 1 pear or apple), then 1 bowl of porridge at night. Maybe got to top up his lunch with another bowl of porridge. My boy took 1 hour to finish his porridge, how bout ur babies? is my baby doing alrite ah?

Is there any of you still interested to join Julia Gabriel's holiday programme, 31 May to 4 June. The class I am interested in joining is the mandarin one, everyday from 11 AM to 12 30 PM. 4 June we will be going to zoo for half a day. Let me know if you are keen, I am short of 1 more person to sign up to be entitled for 20% disc.

moo mum,

it's good that u're still bfeeding! my ss diminished ard 10+mth so i juz switched my bb to fm all the way then.

maybe ur bb prefers bm tat's y he's taking in so little fm! it may not be a bad thing afterall!

anyway if his wt is alrite you shldn't worry abt food intake, coz every bb has different appetite!

my boy is ard 10kg now. how abt urs?

yenz,

yea i thot bb's main nutrition still comes from milk at this age? the carbo n solids r juz to train them to slowly progress to more adult-like food rite?

300ml sounds a lot. is it like 10 scoops? i only give 5.5 or 6 scoops each time (he's now on Friso 3), with water it'll be ard 220ml. i juz follow the recommendation le. i think it's a rather good gauge on whether ur bb is taking enough.

wat's the recommended intake for the fm ur bb is taking?

we coincide his porridge feeding time with our meal time, so it's not so bad. i think he takes ave 45 min to finish his porridge oso.

any of u bought safety gate from Ikea? heard they sell the mount-to-wall type. is it good? thinking of getting 1 for the stairway coz E likes to climb stairs these days..

Moo Mum,

Have PM u the details, dunno y also how come I cant receive PM...will check out on it

Actually your baby is doing well..my baby is also around 11 kg now. For me I wean him off coz I'm preggie orelse will still continue bf

Jean,

Yes my baby is taking 10 scoops of milk + 300 ml of water at night before sleep...a lot rite...but if I only give 240 ml he cant sleep, 270 ml he will sleep but wake up a number of times, have tried for 2 nights so at the end back to 300 ml. My son is now on the transition from Enfalac to Enfagrow...according to the recommendation of Enfagrow it's 2 times 225 ml, that's y when I saw was surprised with my baby's intake.

Ya lor, sometimes when my son is being a good boy can finish within 30 mins, if he's not in good mood takes about an hour...that's why hesitating to give him porridge for lunch too stressful for me

moo mum,

blessing or not, my bb weaned quite naturally, heh. it's like he knows fm can give him more satisfaction than bm coz my ss was dropping drastically. so he switched to fm quite happily, hehe.

he's still crazy abt milk now. everytime he sees milk btl he'll scream for it. sometimes he even cries when he realized he's finished. i wonder if other bb's do tat?

what's goat milk sweet? is it good for bb? my bb oso not v big size though he can eat alot. wonder if i'm under-feeding him. but his growth chart quite ok leh.

btw when do u intend to bf until? jia you hor!

yenz,

yes i rem u're preggie tat's y stop bf. when r u due again? quite soon? btw i juz found out tat i'm expecting too.. now 12 wks liaoz.. when shld we stop carrying bb ah? any advice?

u haf helper at home to help take care of B1, since u're expecting B2? i'm thinking of getting 1 now tat both hb n i are quite tired juggling btw work n bb..

ur bb has big appetite sia.. but the feed b4 sleep is probably habitual rite? maybe try patting or singing lullaby or co-sleep to coax him back to sleep? or in my case, i use pacifier le. now he's trained to pick up his own pacifier if he wakes up at nite. jialat hor. =p

Congrats to Jean and Yenz! I'm also ttc-ing for No.2

Jean, yours is an ideal situation for me. My mom told me I self-weaned at about 15 months so I initially planned to bf till 1 year, thinking that by then he won't be much interested in breastmilk anymore. but turned out he's super clingy and every evening when I get home he will cry for latch on, I have no time to wash hands, change clothes or even pee :S

How I wish he likes milk bottle too but he rejected milk bottle long time ago, now taking milk thru magmag and doidy cup. Babies can be so different, haha.

I want to stop whenever I can, hopefully when he's older he can self-wean. If I get preg with #2 then maybe have to stop but I read somewhere can tandem breastfeed until 20 weeks? Anyway I dun think I have much milk, stopped pumping at 10 months just latch on for convenience.

Goat milk sweetie is compressed goat milk powder,15tablets = 100ml milk. Ref http://www.karihome.com.sg/file/faq.htm
He likes it a lot so I give as much as he wants.

<font color="119911">jean n yenz,
congratz! will b a 2011 bb!

Re: Lunch - Chinese Feasts @ Suntec (B1-061)
Date: 21 May 2010, 1pm

1. Audrey
2. Pei
3. Kris
4. Owmum
7.</font>

Congrats, jean n yenz! So exciting to have a no. 2 on the way.

Re: self feeding
Has any mummies let their babies eat an apple slice by themselves? I was eating an apple and dexter starting fighting with me for the fork so i let him hold. He stabbed an apple slice and started eating it. My concern is whether he will choke but when i presented him with diced apple, he was not interested.

Congrats Jean and yenz! I also am thinking of ttcing for #2.

powerball I used to give sunay cubed apple to eat but since i tried the bellamy's apple snacks now i give him thin slices to hold n eat. But i cut it quite thin (same like apple snacks).

Pinkypink, the apple snacks fr Bellamy is quite big right except that it is hollow as is dried. U mean for normal apple, u give the same thickness? I thinking to try to cut thin thin like abt 0.5cm for him to try.

Yenz, for the JG holiday program, we managed to get the 20% discount.. maybe you can call up Maureen in Forum, ask if it's possible to include you and your friends to get the discount as well. Edj coordinated the whole thing just before her holiday. We also signed up for the same program

Moomum, i think i m in same situation as u. Bb only takes abt 80ml via bottle so i have to let him latch. He rejects bottle at night. Tried Pediasure which meant for fussy eaters with limited success. Even chocolate flavour also not receptive. I also hoping for him to self wean

moo mum, yvonne, kris, powerball, pinkypink,

tks for the well wishes! i'm happy to be expecting but abit caught by surpise oso lah. ;)

moo mum &amp; pinkypink,

all the best in ur ttc-ing! i think both yenz n i can testify tat it's totally possible to get pregnant while still bf. coz tat's wat happened to us leh.

moo mum, my gynae didn't say can bf till 20wks when i 1st saw him, but he asked me to stop bf as soon as possible. i only took 2-3 days to totally stop. haha, fast rite?

only Karihome produces the sweets rite? don't think i've seen other brands. it's good tat ur bb likes it as alternative to milk. seems like ur bb dislikes the milk btl but not the milk itself rite? haha so cute.

powerball,

i still grate apples/pears for my bb, so it's still pretty much puree-like. maybe shld slice it for him to try self-feeding ya.

i got bad experience letting him bite fruits off our slice, coz once he bit a big part of the watermelon my SIL gave him n almost chocked. his whole face turned red, after tat he turned to me n cried. i was sooooo worried. after tat i got paranoid with too food tat's too chunky.

Jean,

congrats!!!!ur baby willl be 2011 baby

my 2nd baby due 20 july another 2 mths to go...ya i do have helper at home, so since I found out that I'm preggie, started to delegate her to take care of him...even now he's still clingy to me especially night time before sleep. r u SAHM?

for the past 2 nights I have been feeding my boy 300 ml of milk before sleep...finally can have my good sleep, he slept from 10 30 to 8 am

Moo mum,

I have received your email, but now my other friend just cancelled so, still need another 1 person. I may not be joining also, coz suddenly have pubic bone pain, guess been carrying B1 too much, so hubby said maybe better for me not to be so active, since I am already entering my 30++ weeks. so sorry, but if you want to join, can still be entitled 10% off with citibank credit card, and when I called Julia Gabriel yesterday, only left 4 slots, so must act fast if u want to

Gallop,

How come u sign up at Forum? I thought Edj signed up at Evans Road? I did ask if can join your group booking but cant ler...since it is more than 3 days...but I guess I have to skip it don't want my B2 to be premature baby coz the head is already down...so must watch out my activity lor...even I really wants to join the hol prog

But my boy only eat porridge once for dinner and cereal in the morning, that's y his milk intake is so much..but he's been a drinker since newborn..drink a lot during daytime then never feed him at night, even newborn only fed him once at 3AM, then let me sleep til 8 AM

Powerball, haha glad to know my baby is not the only one. I guess it's ok as long as they are growing well and happy. I tried pediasure with little success too, but I like their ready to drink bottles very convenient when going out, my boy will drink some then we finish the rest, haha.

Apples - When we skin an apple we will let baby take a few bites first - no risk of choking that way. Haven't tried slices though.

Pinky, you're welcome! Good for you that Sunay is eating well,my boy likes adult food thanks to my hubby and my dad :|

Jean, so happy for you do you know the gender of baby #2 yet?

Yenz no worries! Take care wow you're in 3rd trimester already must take care and rest more

yenz,

10 scoops is alot sia. the recommended for my bb is 6 scoops x 3 feeds. sometimes i give 5.5 scoops, sometimes 6, depending whether he ate or snacked alot b4 tat.

but i guess if he only 'demands' tat for nite feed, u can adjust the other feeds accordingly?

yenz, I thought u din want to sign up for the holiday programme? how come u changed ur mind:p But u sure u can manage everyday since u're preggie??:p

powerball, bring dexter to join us lah - JG hol programme

Anyone has return customer discount for the haenim play yard?

Jean, i also have phobia as i have seen bb choke on apple before. But think will proceed to try with apple slices.

Marie, congrats!! Now Xander's little step has become many steps.

Wah, a lot of mummies trying for 2nd. I told my husband no plans since my bb still giving me many challenges but then again, the feeling of overcoming each challenge is very nice

KP, i shld have the discount for the Haenim play yard. U now then want to buy??? Hehehe

No money liao for JG hol programme . Saving up for a playhouse for my dogs. 2nd hand one still very ex.

Re: Ikea safety gate

Went down ytd just to find out that it is out of stock till at least Aug! They have 2 types: i) sliding, wooden, mount-to-wall type; and ii) metal, tension suction type.

i'm goin for the wooden one coz contractor recommended. initially thot of custom-making one but he directed us to this instead. the commercial ones at Kidzloft r not suitable for our stairwell, where one side is wall but the other side is the metal railing. so muz get the mounted type. sigh.

moo mum,

dunno the gender yet. maybe next appt? last appt i tried to ask the gynae n all he said was "ahh the bb is only 4cm now...". haha i guess i was too anxious la! my 1st is a boy so u know what i'm hoping for for my 2nd la.. ;p

yenz,

how abt ur B2? boy or gal?

i'm not a SAHM le. maternity benefits here quite ok wat. so i think i shld still continue working. otherwise cannot go shopping n travelling as n when i like! haha jk

er.. i'm alwiz suspicious of the gynae's counting, but he said my edd is Nov this year leh. so i'm expecting a late 2010 bb, unless it is reeeaaaal delayed. =p

marie,

tks for the well wishes! oso, all the best in ur tcc-ing!!

good tat Xander is walking! some rest for ur back. now my bb keeps wanting to walk but doesn't dare to take his steps unsupported. so poor us have to bend our backs n hold him while he leads the way!

KP,

wld return customers get discount? i bought my 6-panel at $174. can help u ask the BP organizer for disc if u really want.

KP,
just a word of advice... the haenim playard... my boy likes to sit in there and play but now since he is walking and wanting to run now, he is spending les time in there.. only my nephew who is 8mths stayed in the playard and even then manages to crawl out!!
so see if it suits your boy's needs..

jean, yenz,
congrats .. very happy to hear the news!!!
yenz, i think you are due soon right?? like in juuly?? sorry i'm soooblur at times...

and happy TTCing mummies!!!

jean,
i'm also looking for safety gates to close of the stairs in my house!!
found my boy on top of the stairs while i just turned to get something ... relaly scary!!
went to kidzloft but most dun fit... was told need customisation...
prolly will go try IKEA soon...

powerball, Keene latches twice during the day, but if we go out then he doesn't want to latch.. think outside world too exciting for him to waste time drinking milk
He has cereal for bfast and rice for both lunch and dinner. He'll latch again before sleeping, and like moomum's baby will also wake up to nurse in the middle of the night.. think I'm his pacifier, been trying to get him to take the pacifier but no luck

How about Dexter? Think he latches a lot more than Keene ya?

I'm on for peekaboo next week

yenz, I signed up for evans rd, just that the pic that helped us was Maureen and she's based in Forum, that's why I said to call her to find out if you n your friends can join our group registration.. Moomum, if you're interested to join, no harm asking Maureen, see if it's possible to join our group booking

sorry i left out the details,

area of stay is bedok...

pt-helper/cleaner to help do housechores
prefer to come during wkends
$$/hr between $10-$15.

those with recommendations do pm me.

pravina,

Ikea safety gate OOS till at least Aug le. Don't go now..

joei,

Tks!

Btw wat was the learning ctr u mentioned to me during bb bash again? Shores or sth? Haven't got time to look it up le.

And u know Pat's Schoolhouse is juz outside my hse but i think they r way too packed. Did u also waitlist F there?

There is 1 other learning ctr opp my fren's hse, oso v near my place. Am thinking of enrolling E there le. She said it's called the preschoolers' learning ctr or sth. Very generic, so i dun think got waitlist. =p

When do u target to enrol F? i hope i'm not too late..

Jean,

I know 10 scoops at one goal also seems a lot to me, but he's been on it for months and no vomiting so i tot just let it be for the time being
my 2nd is also another boy...but urs is end of the year baby hor..most likely it's a girl..I also hope for gal, but at the end another boy...guess will be slimmer sooner coz boys are more active than gals

Moo mum,

I think you can try and call for the pic that Gallop mentioned, coz I know over at Evans Road, there is one chinese one that is not friendly and inflexible, I prefer the malay lady, but dunno her name

KP,

Ya I know I may not be able to take it, but I am in dilemma wants to let my boy enjoys but I think cant sacrifice the B2's, so I guess at the end hubby said not to think about it again first hahaa

Pravina,

Yes, I am due soon in another 2 mths time and haven't prepared anything for B2 too relax liao

Gallop, he latches a few times per day (after meals, when wake up and before bed) but i suspect my ss v little so he needs to latch more often. Sometimes i think he latches more for comfort though. Then he does not take well to bottle so very difficult to stop bf.

RE: Peekaboo Wed 26 May
1. Powerball
2. Gallop - wed ok w u?
3. KP??
4. Audrey???

powerball,

can change peekaboo to fri? Then i can join too!!

Oh, I am thinking of letting M try chocolate pediasure too. She doesn't like the vanilla or strawberry flavour!

Jade has been eating and drinking very little for the past few weeks, I'm really at a lost.
Started her on Pediasure (Vanilla), but not exactly very interested in it.. One day I will throw away at least 1 or 2 bottles of milk and most of her porridge, how mummies?

She has lost weight somemore.. Last time went to weigh her, she is just 8.16kg, I think she is the lightest April baby..
PD just told me to start on Pediasure, nothing else on how to improve appetite.

I envy those babies who have good appetite leh, wish Jade was like that..
now see her so skinny, not cute already

<font color="119911">KP:</font> I hvnt rec'd another promotion email abt Haenim pdts so nt sure if e last one I mentioned is stl valid. I'll email them &amp; update u.