(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

kidzskidz, so envy of your B2 leh. Can take more bottles and latch on well. My bb now has latching problem combined with my engorgement problem! Just went TMC for consultation yesterday and cleared 60%. CL helps me massaged away the rest. But engorgement do seem to keep coming back leh..

Mummies having engorgement prob, how do you deal with it besides massaging? I have a "nipple ring" around the bottom of my nipple from over pumping leh... so now can only pump max 5min. Perpectually stuffing cabbages into my bra too. With bb having latching prob, even more headache. Now I have to latch direct for every feed so can't rest much!! No time to come in here to chat too! sigh...

Oops feeding time!

kidz, i've also used pet pet for #1, after he turned 3 mths or so.. in using the diaper, got to make sure that the flap which the adhesive tape is sticking to is fully extended to cover the tape properly. But I've also noticed that with Pet Pet, the diaper tends to bead, i.e. can see gel crystals on a wet diaper... so in the end changed to Fitti Basic, which is also not bad and i think cheaper than Pet Pet after the latter raised prices.

karrie, my hb was with nanny for the 1st 2 years, and i think it was more of the yuck factor of changing a soiled diaper than not knowing how to change.. :p

jam: my boy also like tat, esp during nite time.. he can drink his usual portion in his dream, and once i change diapers for him, he becomes awake, and asks for more again!
so will usually top up with 30-40ml to test market and indeed, he falls asleep after tat.
wat happens was, he will still wake up acc to schedule to ask for milk!

i feel main thing nw is, to feed acc to demand cos they may go thru growth spurt and very hard to feed strictly to 3-4hr schedule.
once 1st month over, its easier to catch their pattern...

baby mummy: i also went to tmc yesterday. what time were you there? i also have a latching problem, this is the 2nd time to tmc for help already. first time they also helped me clear my engorgement then let me pump. i tried to take a hot shower and massage in the shower then pump and massage, pump and massage.

baby_mummy: dun use the cabbage method too much. cos it will help ease the engorgement for once. over using it will slowly stop ur supply.

tingting: fitti diapers u can mix sizes to order as long u fulfill 1 carton of 6 packs.

lilmoo: i'm also intending to go see LC next mth when i re-visit for my bb's hearing test.

marie: it's helpful to have one on one help, but still dep on our own practice at home. i find that i understands what has to be done but yet finds it hard to get it right. i emailed you on how to measure your lactina funnels.

mommy going to parentcraft for LC consult, remember to present your FBI card for discount.

Can I do a quick check with you, for those who had registered the birth cert for your child, what are the first few numbers the birth cert is at now?

Supposed to registered by 2 wks, but we haven got the chinese name yet

actually drypers not bad mah - dunnow why get bad reviews.. now i tink as many mummies cause the adhesive is tape is noisy - they changed to like the fitti premium / pampers type - goon size is bigger - managed to grab when is 14.90 per pack at gmarket - but no more promo - got the M for my elder one and s for my 4th one ... think that's gonna be the last pack of s i m using as it is bigger - animal prints which u can speak to ur child about on the diapers (it says so on the pack) when our kids turn to m size - maybe we can consolidate orders for huggies dry / comfort - i got lubang for cheaper packs....

Marie, no choice leh.. my engorgement really bad. And the soreness is so bad that I can't really pump too. Just easing engorgement alone can yield a 90ml even after bb feed on both breasts at tmc! The ladies say I brought 10 days of homework there to do!!

lilmoo, I was there at 1030am!! =) Haa we are in the same room?? It's so interesting to pump together! All apr babies wor!!

okie need to go catch up on my zzz.. now really like panda liaoz!!

Hope my nipple can heal fast fast... then can go back to bottle feeding then I won't be so tired..

Jamgal, i think bbs will cluster feed before they start the night.. like mine tends to nurse more frequently just before she snoozes for the night, and her next feed is slightly longer apart.

bb_mum: hope ur nipple can heal fast and rem to air dry b4 wearing ur breastpads and bra..

tingting & ida: mine also sama sama.. he tends to drink more in e night, up to a stage i asked my hb if bb has forgotten tat he had drank his regular feed before he asked for more!

ida: ok nt??? fast fast apply zambak!!!

gg to zzzz....... today veri tired!!!

claire: congrats on popping!!!

oh ya.. forget to share w u all...
today did illegal dealing AGAIN!! >>> SHOWERED & WASH HAIR!!!!

Only word to describe >>>> SHIOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i du have zambak.. but ok lah he cried out loud while still latching one me

wa liaoz... still illegal.. how come the rest dun realize u are so freshhh.. kekek

aiyo.... den must rub rub.. hope both are feeling beta le...

ha... cos i geh geh scratch scrath here, complain here, complain there, as if nothing has happen lo.. :p

any mummies up at tis time???

Ciarie (vulnerable), I just got up now... also pumping milk... reading till my pumping overflow. now hand are sticky

Ladies, I am gearing up for my bb man yue tis SAT. Doing my own 1st mth packages... Think I will start mt biz from there next time. Cheap & good! Ha ha.

But tis time round, I don't feel like having the celebration. Cos bb still having Jaundice and cold. Sigh!

Talk abt illegal dealing: I do that every day. But wash hair 2 day once.

Drink cold H20 n eat ice-cream somemore.

IDAARSHAD (idaarshad),opps! how no bump.

queen
re: anyway of making him drink more and stretch the timing between feeds
Is impossible! Your breastmilk will tend to be more watery during the hot weather and your baby will definitely get hungry faster.

About the pacifier, I don't give pacifier to my baby as we will miss lots of baby cues! Ofcos, there is benefit to mummy when a baby given a pacifier, easy to take care and will cry less. Do keep this in mind, later part also facing difficulty to wean them off!

re: diapers issue
iris,
Agreed with you! Our baby not only use for a week or a month, they will use till 2 years old or maybe more than that
Try to explain to her the amount save in long run! Or maybe you can suggest to her that, baby use pamper active for night and day time use other brand.

bonbon,
I will use Huggies Dry Comfort for nite. This method goes well on my 1st baby and seldom cried for wet diapers only cried for feeding

<font color="ff6000">Wow bbmum, yr breasts so engorged even after so long. haha Lucky baby, abundant supply of liquid gold.

Marie, I don't know how you are going to cope but after confinement lady left, I realized that I have no time to pump anymore. Miss all the help I got from CL. I basically could just sleep, eat, pump, play with bb &amp; spend time with hubby. Now that she's away, I need to do everything plus the laundry myself.

Very sad to say that my breastfeeding is not very successful. I am almost fully on formula milk now. Bb's feeding schedule gets very haywired when I latch bb on. Been lazy to pump since CL's gone so I have been latching bb on when I feel engorged but my milk supply is very limited so bb always cries for more about 1/2-1 hr after being fed.

After that, I don't know how much formula to supplement her with. So I end up playing the guessing game, sometimes giving her additional 60ml, sometimes 90ml. Always not accurate and then I waste a lot of formula. So expensive somemore.

Latching on is really so so so convenient but it's so sad that my supply is so limited. Now I only latch her on in the middle of the night. Need to stock on formula already. Thankful for KP's lobang..</font>

Emo
Yes, my mum told me the same thing - during confinement cannot stand and drink water. Is so convenient to drink in a standing position, after finished then just go
I will sit and drink whenever I remember
50% - 50% chances of sitting :p

<font color="ff6000">Heard from CL that drinking while standing up will cause incontinence but don't understand how this theory came about also leh.

I am going to sleep already. Stayed up till about 1 plus to search for bb information online. Baby woke up for feeding at 5am, 7am &amp; 9am. I have transformed from being a late riser to a super early riser leh. Amazing how a bb can turn my life upside down. I normally wake up about 7 plus now.

Oh ya, although baby is almost fully on formula now, my neh nehs still 'tear' when baby cries leh. Very very achy and then nipples will start to 'cry'.

Okay, goodnight.</font>

Rose Ling
Here you go!
1) Nepia Newborn - $0.25 per pcs
2) Pampers Active - $0.34 per pc
Audrey,may I know what size you're referring to?
SizeM, 68pcs

3)Huggies Dry - $0.22 per pc
Audrey,may I know what size you're referring to?
SizeM, 80pcs

4) Fitti - $0.21 per pc
Marie,may I know what size you're referring to? Is it the same one LovJ is using?

hihi... have been a long time since i login
I delivered my gal on Good Friday, 10-Apr and have been coping with the daily routine of feeding, pumping, eating and resting.
finally got the time to login.. but find it so difficult to go through what I've missed out.

Hi everyone, just to let u know hor, i called petpet to ask for samples but they only give out for fitti and not pet pet..she says now stock is in for Pet pet NB diapers just that havent start distributing...

Jamgal, i saw doctor at polyclinic this morning, also brought baby to see doc cos head like soft and some bumps cos of vacummn, doc says isaac is ok but i got infection lor! See lah, dr adrian never se me properly..i told him infected liao i think but he says its ok..aiyo...!

rose,
your diaper listing very good leh.

any1 doing one for FOC diapers/milk powder sampels from suppliers? ;p

ida,
no worries lah.
hope ur bb head dun hv bump hor, *hugz* to him!!
btw, ur fb up oredi?
wat's the url again ah? thanks!!

jamgal,
my boy din poo ystdy! hmm... my CL also didnt do the 'ng ng' thingy every mrng leh. unlike my previous CL for my #1, she will 'ng ng' very loud so my gal will poo in the mrng. must train from baby ah... i told my current CL to do, but dun know she got do or not... sian sia...

pat,
dun stress... is ok to give FM.
i'm also having prob wif BF coz ss very low. so mainly supplement wif FM. so long bb gets fed, is ok lah. my #1 on BF for 2wks only, then all the way FM liao coz my ss din increase - pump whole day can only give 1 feed. u say pathetic or not leh... anyway, my gal nw oso no prob lor.
jia you ya!!

re: CL
my CL use water like is my ah kong's reservior... she turn on the tap to max everytime to wash/clean/refill water for boiling... then i thk she boil like 7-9 big kettles of water daily! she mops the kitchen twice a day, wash our clothes almost daily even when i told her no need since only a few pieces (my hb, #1, mine &amp; #2) = her own she handwashes daily and sometimes my #2's nappies she also handwash them. hence she'll be in the bathroom for at least 45mins and i can hear the water running!
at nite, she turn on the aircon!! and this mrng i just realise she only switch it off at 630am leh. wah piangz... i saw she put my boy on the bed after feeding and the aircon is blowing directly above! i complaint to hb and asked if i should say something... hb said is ok since our boy oso sleep in the same room.

sigh... am i being too strict &amp; stingy??
my pay oredi cut 10% for few months liao and with 2 babies, expenses sure shot up one lor. thot wana be a bit cost-effective but end up; seems like spent even more...

sorry for my grouses!! just feeling money is flying out my pocket super fast lately!!!

<font color="0000ff">Kittybride:</font> Aiyoh, your CL really wasting water leh... Looks like mth your utility bill wl be quite jia-lat...

<font color="ff0000">Rose Ling:</font> I find urine indicator a waste in NB size diapers coz just feel the diaper can tell how full oledi, somemore bb wl usually announce veri loudly when diaper's wet or soiled
. Btw, Nepia and GOO.N are same quality tho GOO.N's a bit thinner and the cutting also slightly bigger. Already Nepia is like same thinness as Pampers. Anyway, these are the better brands w better absorbency too so good to use @ nite. Daytime can use the cheaper ones like Drypers, Huggies Comfort, Fitti, etc. Fitti is fine to use @ this stage since we're changing diapers 4 bb frequently. Bt later you'll notice that the pee smell can be quite strong i.e. the gel can absorb pee ok (nt as gd as Nepia, GOO.N etc) bt dunno why end up the smell is nt absorbed like the other brands. This is my experience after using 2pkts of L size on B1.

<font color="119911">Quality vs Price:</font> NB's skin stl delicate and needs time to toughen up + NB is pooing and peeing so often. Thus my personal choice is to go for quality 1st in the sense that the inside of the diaper must be soft + the gathers too i.e. cannot be too tight, shouldn't cut into bb (this can also mean time to change to next size of diapers... My only challenge is finding is the right fit to prevent leaks coz the gathers around the legs can be too soft, loose, etc. depending on the brand of diaper.

<font color="aa00aa">Ida:</font> Circumcision is done for hygiene 2 - esp in our kind of tropical climate it's more impt
Advantage of doing @ birth is there's no truma (compared to performing it on older child) esp as bb hvn't fully devt understanding of pain yet. Surgeon fee was abt $400 bt I can't rmbr the OT fee, etc. Wl chk and let you know. Procedure was performed by a urology surgeon fr Gleneagle @ our Mt A PD's recommendation (that's aft we told PD we wanted the procedure for B2).

<font color="0077aa">Milk Powder Samples:</font> I usually pick up the different milk powder or pharmaceutical brochures while @ PD and call them/send form in to them if they list that there's some sample or freebie given. Bt milk powder samples are only available for 6M ups as our MOH has guideline that breastmilk is best for NB and thus milk powder companies cannot give out samples for 0-6M stage. Also gd reason why it's so expensive to purchase 0-6M formula -- they hv less income as they sell less...