(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

st,

I have been told not to mix FM with EBM, but I am just wondering, if we feed one after the other, in the end both also end up in their stomach around the same time mah...hee hee it's my logic lah :p

Thanks irene & sportygal. SO far ok. Just yawn non stop and headache after noontime.

Jo: Oooh.. it's white one. I'll try to go and find.

scrumpee: Me too. But my reason for quitting is so that baby won't be closer to maid. But I doubt I can handle baby day and night all by myself, plus housework plus pump. So I don't think I will be SAHM. I'll just have to kan de kai that my baby may be closer to maid.

Mummies... what brand nail clipper or nail file do u use to cut baby's nails? Any tips?

I bought NUK nail clipper from TMC. But once I accidentally cut his thumb. Bleed and bleed, and he cried and cried. And I also cried with him cos I was so scared. Til now I phobia to trim his nails but his nails are getting longer, frequently scratch his face with his nails.

Last time when we rock him to sleep, my maid will cut his nails while he is asleep. Now that we use the swaddle + shush/pat method taught by Tracy Hogg, can't reach his nails anymore when he is asleep cos he is being swaddled.

lipstar, best way is to cut his nails when he is asleep.
I'm using safety 1st nail clipper. Some mommies here swore by the pigeon scissor i think.

Do you all still swaddle your babies? I only do half swaddle at night only.

lipstar,
yes, she outgrown.
when maid going back, she is 2yrs plus. we told her auntie flying home to look after her son. my ger is ok.. she can even tell the maid, ooo u r going back to look after ur son.

i find that as long as bb dun slp with maid, its fine.
but once they too use to the smell, trouble smells for u too.
also try dun let the maid bottle feed or bath the kid.

i find that anyt to do with eye or skin contact, its best parents or close family members do it.

whatever it is, our kids will forever be ours.

when maid leave, 1 or 2 days, the kid may not get used, but they will def. outgrown.

dun worry.

lipstar,
ya, cut their nails when they r slping or drinking milk.

irene,
my boy love to be wrap!
he cannot slp when we pat him without wrap. his hands n feet will be flying everyw.

no matter how hot the environ. he still wan to be wrap. haiz..

but when he slp on tummy, we let his hands out.

hoho: *gulp* *disturbed look* I put baby and maid at in-law's place from monday to friday. Maid will bathe AND sleep with baby. Hubby and I will go there every day after work to play with him and put him to sleep. Friday night then bring home. Sunday night bring him back to in-law's place...

Sigh.. i guess no choice lah.

lipstar,

hmm i got frds who go over to slp at caregiver's place (inlaw in ur case) for some nites.
or can bb slp w ur mil?

anyw, dun worry ok..

lipstar i bought scissors to cut the nails... if im nt wrong its also NUK de... its easier leh... =)

grace - ooo.. but for me when i run my hand thru my hair is more then few strands lor... so sad.. haiii.. thought i wldnt get so affected by it.. guess i was so wrong!!! arghhhhxxxx!

hmmm... my mum is helping me to look after kirsten day time... and sometimes at night... in july will be 2 nights a week... becos i need to work nights as well... so far kirsten is okie leh... dont see much difference in closeness btwn she & my mum and she & me leh... when she sees me still smiles n laughs and plays... and wants to stand... and stuff... hmmm... but can see that she talks more with my mum & me than my hubby and my dad... with us she will talk n talk n gurgle... with my hb & dad a bit more reserved... hubby also asked me lor.. hw come laugh with me but nt with him...

hi mommies..

any1 interested in dim sum buffet 1 for 1@ marriott next tues 1230hours? annmelody have booked a table of 10 pax.. interested pls pm me..

1.annmelody
2.mangogal
3.sassybaby
4.queenie

thank u !

Hello, back at home now. Really cannot log into the forum from office anymore.

Prosper
Yes, quite like it as of now. My boy also no problem sleeping in yaolan during daytime and night time on mattress.

Missycandy
My son suckle his thumb till got sound somemore and his thumb all red. Think he suckle too hard. He won't sleep at night if i don't let him suckle lor. He did not vomit.

Missycandy
The shampoo i might want to order 1 set to try out too, you want me to collect together for you? I also stay at serangoon north also, so she might be living nearby or who knows she might be just live below my block :p .

<font color="ff0000">queenie</font> - how's today gathering n shopping?

how much is the marriot lunch?
I am keen but i suppose to have massage that day. KIV me 1st then i see if i can postpone my session

Fatfish is gng too, Queenie, add her name

Hairloss,
2 or 3 stands are nothing lor...mine is comb hv 8 to 10 stands, so sad...
I bought this korea brand, shampoo, conditioner &amp; hair tonic, altogether 96 for 3 bottles, hope it helps

<font color="0000ff">irene
how much u bought fr robinson? there's only 1 model available in local issit? coz i saw fr ameda webby there's few models...
u mentioned hold across mean each hand on each flange?

pei
icic... some mentioned cannot keep EBM not more than 48 hrs... best to frozen all EBM and thaw the milk when needed to feed bb... tis way, u wouldn't afraid will exceed either 36 or 48 hrs...

st
issit?? which mean i give EBM (5oz) first then straight aft tat follow up by FM (1oz) huh? wondering will bb confuse by the taste anot as they juz drink EBM not long ago...

hoho
u using ameda pump too?? btw, the super shield fr mumfairy will stick to breast huh? u try it out b4?

lipstar
i'm using pigeon one... the one with short tip... so far so gd, i'm quite comfortable w it... mayb u can try out...
or u can try cutting his nail when u feed him bottle... u can ask yr hb to feed him while u cut his nails... currently i'm doing tat, norm bb will concentrate on drinking n let u do watever u want... hope i'm not wrong =p
u still swaddle yr boi huh... i stop doing tat aft 1st mth...</font>

Queenie,

u make me drool man... i cannot eat seafood le.. first reason is my wound, second is Brianne's eczema cos u bf.. lotsa yummy dim sum got prawns or dried shrimps or crab,,

Latest updates: my apologies mangogal .. kekes.

hi mommies..

any1 interested in dim sum buffet 1 for 1@ marriott next tues 1230hours? annmelody have booked a table of 10 pax.. interested pls pm me..

1.annmelody
2.mangogal
3.sassybaby
4.queenie
5.fatfish

thank u !

vernice
eh if i nvr rem wrongly is $20+ per pax ..

sun
ya for me i will be bringing. except annmelody she will be gng w/o her princess.

lenny
kekes.. ya i rem brianne's eczema.. hmm since that case u better not join us unless u wanna risk it.. actually bfing best not to take too much seafood too i heard. i think i go but wont overstuff with seafood.

i think i buy at $299? Can't remember le.
I use my left hand to hold the bottle of the pump which is on my right breast, then supporting the left lump with the part between the palm n elbow. Hope u get what i mean.

Queenie, how i wish i can join but i'm working leh... If not can pass u the avent stuffs.

<font color="aa00aa">irene
i got it!!! thks!!! there's only 1 model on sale right?

queenie
i chk w my mum whether she can help take care my boi for me... if can, i'll love to join... update u asap...

anyone try mdm rokiah post natal massage pkg??

<font color="aa00aa">
hoho
how u find the pump? u'll recommend to yr friends? so the shield is gd? where u get it n how much? do u know there's only 1 model available in local? coz i saw fr ameda webby, there's few models wor...</font>

hoho,

really handfree with the shield &amp; strap ?
If i squeeze/massage the breast during pump, will the strap still able to hold it tight ?

Just started work yesterday. As i left my place yesterday, felt really sad that i will not be able to spend so much time with my little one. Really worried that my boy will not be as close to me after i start work. Being trying to adjust to the new routine of going to work and then rushing home in the evenings. My company just shifted from orchard to Ubi! Although my new office is really nice but i really missed all the lunch time shopping.
Mummies who started work, do you all feel disoriented? I've been feeling so groggy that i even left my pump parts at home today. Had to rush home during lunch.

Re:lasik
I went for lasik 3 yrs back at national eye centre. Think it is the best decision i ever made. Extremely liberating without specs.

sun - i bought the ameda lactaline from isetan at $350....but now my valve has been broken twice and the funnel has cracked on me....i had to change the valves and the funnel....i guess i may have been too rough with it as i always press the funnels hard against my breasts while trying to unblock the ducts...be careful while washing the valves tho, as they tear easily.

Re: Back to work
still trying to get used to the tired, new and busy routine of having to wake up early to pump, doing so at work and then go home still have to pump..it seems that my life only revolves around work, pump, baby now. Would love to go to the gathering too but then i have started work so not possible for me....

meerkat - i understand what u mean by u r worried yr boy won't be close to u after u start work...i have the same thoughts...right now my mil is taking care of my boi....after work i try to spend time with him but i find like time is so short since i have to find time to settle down when i reach home after work...by then its either too little time or that he's already asleep...sigh...i guess i will jus spend more time with him over the weekends....

ooo... im interested in the lunch.. but if i go wld be without Kirsten... becos im working halfday.. i get off at 1pm... by the time i go hm n bring her out wld be 3-4 le.. lol! can put me KIV? the 20+ is the price after 1+1 ah?

pinksorbet,

I am also using Ameda lactaline. Where can we go to get the valve and the funnel? I want to get some to standby in case mine broke!!

sunshine,
hmm recommend ah..
act. i find psi better, can drain the breasts better n fsater.
OK i bot a very old model yr2003 psi for $70, i find it gd lor.
ameda lei, the suction is not so strong as compare to psi.

avent is another gd choice, the suction n stimulation is real gd.

if looking for dual pump, why not try this avent?

i m using their single electric pump, works well for me when i go out.

my ameda is a handsdown, i think only 1model, i saw 1 only in robinsons n mothercare.

yes the shield n strap can get fm mumsfairy.

since u r ok with rental, why not rent psi or avent to compare bef. buying.

sinmey,
hmm, it wun drop la when u massage.
basically u r usng ur neck to hold the bottle, so ur hands r free.

pei,
u should order fm overseas spree now.
cheaper.

hoho - i agree w u...suction for ameda is not v strong...that explains y my funnel broke cos i had to press it hard against my breasts for a better suction! haha!! ya i love my avent manual....hehe

pink,
haha, u must hv press hte funnel real hard till it breaks.
although i use the mumsfairy shield, i oso need to press hard, till my breasts got the funnel line. keke.

psi is not bad, i dun need to press the funnel, best part is the ameda tubing can attach to the psi, heng for me, no need to buy medela parts. keke

1.annmelody
2.mangogal
3.sassybaby
4.queenie
5.fatfish
6.kris
7.jo
8.vernice(tbc)
9.missycandy(tbc)
10.sun(tbc)

thank u !

irene
hmm i think mommies like u who returned to wrk a lil hard to meet up during wkdays liao. nvm we shall arrg a gathering that falls on a wkend in future! oh ya where shd i go and collect the stuffs frm u ? we discuss again via sms/msn/email !once again,. thanks alot!!

lenny
wow in that case is quite serious for u n bree.. better abstain from such food. ok next time we choose more breastfeeding-friendly food during the gathering. i was told that csect shd not eat those food during 1st 4 mths. juz bear with it. hopefully bree's condition will improve as time goes..hugs!

kris
noted.. added u to the list. wow. cant wait to rec my loots. hahaha.

sun
noted added u to the list plus TBC.
hopefully u will be able to join us..

missycandy
noted added u to the list plus TBC as well..

if u wan bring kirsten out another way is u can get ur caretaker to meet u and pass her to u lor. hehe price wise shb be after 1 for 1..i have to check with annmelody again tml. let u noe tml then ..

good nights!

missycandy,

The price per pax is $36+++ and one for one promo...so it's $36+++ for per 2 pax. It's buffet with 32 different dishes...free flow!!!!

It's booked in advance for a week. that's why I booked a table for 10 so do join us....should be fun ! But gain weight dun blame me as me also be eating lots....haha

I very bad...today Queenie, mangogal and me went swensen's and we finish off 4 main dishes and a regular earthquake between the 3 of us!!

KRIS,
If you collecting the wetbags, can you collect mine as well. I only have a Jungle Jam not ready yet. Maybe you can collect from Joann my orders- whcih i order directly from her...if you coming??? Thanks lei.

vernice
added u to the list plus TBC too.. kekes. forgot to tell u hor.. tdy i nv bought anything.. haha.. but damn shiok.. eat swensen eat until my tummy going to burst. plus that servings of donno how many scoops of ice cream. it is my first time of eating ice creamS w/o thinking of the calories. lol...ok shall go BP section shop ship liao.. nights nights

Oops....
Something tells me Ryan is rejecting the frozen EBM....how???? Should I continue to give?? Or what should I do? Didn't have this problem with Megan!! He's a really choosy naughty boy...

Hi!!

Am back and completely jetlagged along with little A. So am coming on forum to update a little.

The Sophies are here! Will pass to you at next gathering or Babyigns workshop. You are also welcome to pick up from me at home. Last resort is to send by mail.

By the way, I got an e-mail from the Singapore distributors of Sophie. Just to make it clear, I was only helping the Mar mummies buy Sophie. If it helps, I will only buy for the mums who I know personally. My offer to purchase them from France is not open to just anyone from the forum.

So if anyone else wants it, they can contact [email protected] . Quoted from their e-mail:
we would like to offer you a good discount on the Sophie the Giraffes, if you and your fellow mummies collate the orders, process the payment, and distribute it among yourselves.

<font color="119911">queenie,
if u collecting frm irene, can help me collect n i get frm u during lunch? txtx.

ann,
will help u collect when im collecting ours, mayb next monday.

grace,
mayb u can add frezen bm wif those in the fridge so dat the smell will not b dat strong.</font>

Both of us are so jetlagged... still awake... only 1 pig already snoring in bed.

Just browsing through some of the posts. Quite a few are having issues like fussy eating, sleeping etc. Really impressed by all the effort put in by the mums here.

When I was at the IL place in France, some of them commented that we were fussing over Baby A too much. They said that babies are meant to cry sometimes. So I relaxed and let them look after her for the afternoon. She did cry a little but was very well behaved after that, smiling and cooing a lot. I wonder now if I have been over-protective.

Salut Pumpkin Seed!
ca va? u're back in SG!
i'm still stuck here in France... this time round really looking forward to go back... maybe it's bcos of having to look after Oli all by myself that's why i am missing SG and my nanny