(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

miss candy,
Thanks for the contact for Fitti. It's the fitti premium range rite? So far no problem with Fitti do you? As CL is leaving, decided to use diapers before my maid comes. And want to find cheap and good diaper for daily use.

Asura,
Dunno lah. Just 1 day earlier, so we just leave it loh.

seabreeze:: ooo. my heart sank when i read that he drew himself crying. Hugss to him!!

sportyger:: hope you succeed lo! she used to be okay during her first month. only wake up once for feeding. I was so happy. NOW it's after her one month and her pattern totally changed. Really can be so pek chek!!

sung:: EXACTLY. just one already can kill me. Now #2, really kills me softly in the night. Sighs.. don't know how long more I can tahan. Already used all sorts of methods. hang sleep pants at the head of the cot, use pomelo leaves, or those 'ang huei' to bath her. I think i left with consulting diety haven't do yet nia. BOOO!!

Sportygal, hehe...I am reading Babywise too and I hv book 1 & 2...it is really GOOD

<font color="119911">Re: Ang Ku Kueh
any mummies got recommendation for gd ang ku kueh? tink i heard thrs one at TPY but cant recall whr le.</font>

Devil, u day wat liao? Me today day 23..this fri I am gng out for a good haircut and treatment before my gal full mth this weekend..

I already been taking medicine and apply cream for 2 and the half days and doc said need to stop bf coz the medicine and the cream is bad for baby... so when can i start to bf again? Need to wait till how days then can bf?

Serene, wat happened to u?

Re: Gerber Breast Therapy
Can only use with microwave to heat up. I checked the box again and it didn't mention any other method. And it says use as directed, dunno if soak in hot water will damage the pack or not. I guess the heating element in the pack can only be activated with microwave only. Need to apply 20min on breast before pump/latch. can be placed in bra, so u won't be doing nothing except lying there for 20min. Material feels like fabric and is hand-washable.

Pups, I salute u for taking both your kids all by yourself! U got maid or not? I'm even contemplating with engaging Devil's CL to help out for another few days after full month. My #1 is 3+ and he's very active, sleeps little, whenever I pump/latch, he would want to ask this and that and keep asking to be brought to park, cycling etc. Got no energy to bring him out, so maid would play lego with him, while I rest when didi sleeps.

fairymoss, how long can ur breast pack last?? sung mentioned that the one she got from the BP can only last for 10 mins.. doesn't seems to be nice....

Re:bbwise method
Anyone can briefly describe wat's bbwise method to make bb sleep.. as i thought my boy going to sleep throughout, he kept waking up lately again.. duh.. so tiring to keep latching him on..

Re: Cranky bb
i think my boy is getting better now.. compared to first month, but is still cranky at times... very fast, he will be 2 months old soon.. and hopefully the 3rd month he will be better.. else he will give me a hard time after i return to work.. sobz... however, i starting "appreciating" him more now as he knows how to play with us, making coo-coo sounds.. he's very ke ai as long he's not cranky. hahaha.. and I am give him compliment that he can lie on his rocker alone for whole 30mins playing with himself..

JG - no prob!! erm im nt sure whether its the premium one... but S size is the orange &amp; blue pack.. hee hee... =x

mangogal - that time the jan thread mummies found insects/bugs in their mim tea wor... luckily i didnt buy yet.. they all threw away wor... =x

Devil's CL - LOL!!! i met her yesterday kakaka .. shes really nice.. Devil, u r really blessed to have found such a good CL =) i told my hb &amp; mum le.. next time round must get her liao.. hahaha... =P oh ya, ur bb very very cute la! i like the shape of the head! super round n nice! hee hee

Moomooland, Devil,

I intend to purchase the Gerber Breast Therapy Set from bay b website . registered mail charged by website is $5. I stay at amk st 32. If ok for you to collect from me, I can purchase on your behalf and we can share the $5 delivery charge. PM me if you keen, I hope to make the purchase by today, really tiring to squeeze with my fingers everytime..

Mummies who take care of bb yourselves, do you cook dinner for hb or cater dinner? I got to either train my maid to cook or do it myself when confinement over. My maid doesn't know how to cook.
afraid can't cope and MS would drop. Also got to rush to send #1 to sch in morn, beat the morning traffic etc and then to fetch him in the afternoon. If bb cry in the carseat siao liao, think I can't concentrate on driving. When I think of it, can be quite scary. Do u think it's safe to leave bb at home with maid and then fetch #1 to sch? My maid is only with us since Jan this year.

cindy ...

yar v heartache ... actually this round i am more emotional compared to when when i delivered my #1 ... i cried a few times when i think of my #1 and i feel v guilty towards him as i feel that we are not spending enough time with him and he always kanna scolded by my mum cos he is super active and naughty

oso we didnt allow him to be near the didi cos all THREE of us were down with flu at the same time ... but this week after everyone more or less recovered ... we allow him to carry didi and be near him etc ... he really seem better and stop waking up in the middle of the night to cry - he was constantly waking up to cry the week before *sigh*

Wintertime, I didn't use it that long for the whole 20min, I only put on for a few mins nia. I turn on my microwave using medium heat and heat 15sec, not that warm as compared to using another microwave which can't adjust heating intensity to heat for 15sec and this could last longer as it's hotter. U think u need to put on for so long? I think the pad should function the same as hot stone. if u got hot stone or other similar pad, dun waste money to buy.

Looks like alot of mummies are going through a tough time with cranky babies. For the past 3 days, my boy has been fussing from 9am to 8pm, keep crying once put down and stop when carried. Just when we thought he has fallen asleep soundly, he will wake up 5-10mins later. He has been sleeping less than 2hrs in the day. At first, thought it was colic, then tried all methods to soothe him. But if it was colic, he would look very uncomfortable. Hopefully, it's just his growth spurt...

Missycandy, wah..even u rave abt Devil's CL! Hmmm..u can tell by just talking to her? My CL seems nice on the phone when I spoke to her, then come liao, diao...the face looks fierce fierce, with those embriodered eyebrow and black black eyeliner.

Devil, could check with your CL if she's gg back malaysia or has another contract after 22Apr?

fairymoss and those who have maids.. care to disclose how much u r pyaing ur maids salary? philipino or indonesian.. cos i realised that my agency is quoting me quite high.. don't know if it's the market rate.. 340 for indonesian maid wihtout any overseas experience.. does tt mean tt filipino maid will deman more than 400 plus?? hmm..
thanks for hte advice on the pads...

blur ...

the maid's pay have been revised upwards ... so what the agency quoted you is the mkt rate

for indo maid ... usually need to give add $10 per month if you dun intend to give her time off on weekend

fairymoss
haiz....

Last week is my massage week, happy think that i can slim down. So do tummy wrap with dont know what kind of oil and herb and need to wrap up for next morning. In the next day i found that my tummy redness and itchy, then i asked my massage lady she said is normal coz is the dirty blood. Ok so i listen to her wrap again and again so in the 4th days i found that i cant tahan anymore liao the whole tummy was getting redness, itchy and infection so she said ok just wrap without apply the herb, because she said must wrap if not the tummy will not get flatten.
Then i think not right leh coz i use to have sensitive skin. I called my husband asked him to bring me to see doc, the doc said that is so serious infection. So asked me to stop bf once taking the medicine and apply the cream.
Really dont know why i can tahan so many days then go see doc....

tuskywollie / Grace
80ml is one side. but that is aft many hours (8 hours?) and the engorgement is very bad. so it is consider v little ms... once i pump out, the ms takes very long to come back and she will be on hunger... usually i pump only one out... leave one for her.. which is just nice or insufficient for her...
i drink the papaya fish soup too.. but do we have to drink everyday? I took quite a few times the past 2-3 weeks. Helps a little ba...

Hubby "scolded" me for emptying my breast by pumping and she not enough to drink... saying i should "release" half by pump and the rest give her... so far, i haf max 1 breast to pump out per day... ms varies from 40-80ml. so meaning i store only that amt per day...how could it be enuf when i on off go to work aft confinement...and my nipples are sore as she keeps wanting to latch on these few days... almost giving up. and i begin to wonder the theory of demand = supply...
I am considering the gerbert breast pad too...

scrumpee
she is driving me crazy till i wanna cry. everyone keeps telling me she is hungry, u dont have enuf milk. blah blah...but i perservere and try not to give her fm... till the last resort...

My baby is cranky so far in the days only for the past few days. however, i realised she is drinking more frequently. last time she used to drink 4-5 hours interval during the nite. but last nite, she woke up for milk at almost 2 hours interval...

Oh when she cries and i try to carry her, it makes it worse. she cries louder and keep moving. Hubby is better. CL and maid are even better in carrying her. this makes me feel even horrible. i am just like a mother cow to my bb!

She can latch on for more than half an hour on each breast and half the time is weak suckling... and when u wanna pull out she fiercely suck again...makes my nipples very painful..sometimes she is not swallowing her milk too.. dont know she just wanna be latch on or is hungry or what.. lost..

blurblur, my ex-sg (2yrs) indo maid getting 350 with no off-days. previous maid from myammar 320 no off-days n no experience. my fren got a filipino new maid also 350.

Fairymoss
How come u din get ur maid to learn fr cl? i got my maid to observe and learn fr cl. i told her bef i deliver. she either jot down or make sure she rem. so far after training her a few times on cooking, she is still manageable on general cooking. food taste still not too bad. btw, she has 4 gers in philippines. so household chores and taking care of bb is not too hard for her. My maid with me since dec. she can be quite blur at times and gets gan chiong when nervous. i wont leave her alone with bb. so i will get my mum to come over to oversee the house and the bb when i go on and off to work.

blurblur
we got our maid from a c toh. he is a very nice old man. we paid S$320 + S$30 sun off in lieu for her salary. diff agencies have diff way of "loaning" the coming to work $.

fairymoss - Devil's cl is very gentle... quite motherly pattern... hee hee... devil speaks well of her.. then i went up to pass her milk bags... then spoke to the CL as well.. she is very genuine... probably also becos devil is those No nonsense type... LOLOL!!!!!! =P

reverie - wow ur bb cld sleep 4-5hrs without milk ahhhh ive never had such luxury! my bb is 2-3hrly... currently she is on 2hrly again.. jus wondering if i cn try to increase her intake abit so she wun cry for 2hrly... at night very xin ku leh... after feeding.. change pampers.. pat her to sleep... then i wan to sleep... close my eyes awhile then time to feed again... DIAO...

last night she kept on fussing after feeding ard 3... so i put her on her bed, pat pat pat pat cry cry pat pat pat cry cry.. plugged in pacifier... pat pat cry cry spit out pat pat ... put pacifier again.. pat pat cry cry pat pat cry cry... pacifier keep spit out then i put back.. pat pat... LOL... it lasted until 5plus.. time for next feed... in btwn i tink i managed to rest abit... everytime i heard her cry i jus pat n put pacifier... ahahahahaha!!! i didnt want to carry her.. plus can tell she wan to be carried becos the cry is not those loud wailing screaming blardy murder cry... its those short types... needling for attention... if she really went into the loud screaming type then no choice have to carry... hubby actually wanted to bring her out to living room to sleep on sofa... but i told him No.. its becoming a bad habit... he has done it a few times le... i told him have to stop.. cant always do that let her learn to sleep on her bed... so hb went back to dreamland... leaving me in baby cryland...

anyway, am going cosway pt later.. kekeke.. dunno wan to bring bb or nt.. see how..

sung,
I am not so super. I only handle 2 kids at night and over the weekends. But my hubby can deal with the older one very well, so that's a great help as well. Only during times when the older one insist he wants only me, that is when it gets very tiring. However, at night, I take over caring for the baby all on my own because my hubby seems to be falling sick and I want him to rest as much as possible to let his body's immune system fight it out. Super shack.

Cindy,
I know what you mean by one sleep, one awake! It happened to me over the weekend. On Saturday I was so short-fused from the lack of sleep that hubby keena from me. Who asked him to nua in front of the TV when I was running around the house like a mad woman trying to get things done.

SeaBreeze,
Try to give as much attention as possible to your #1. Mine was also very insecure at the beginning and was very sadden by the fact that he had to stay in his grandparents' place when we were still in the hospital. Although he didn't know how to express himself in drawings like your #1, he actually asked my auntie when my parents brought him along to her place if "I can go home to daddy and mummy's house from here?". I cried when I heard that being related to me! He was also pushing back his bedtime by a lot which I suspect is cos he wants to spend time with us.

But after giving him full attention in the evenings (cos baby was sleeping most of the time in the first week anyway so she stays in the cot on her own) for a week, we can see an improvement and not only he is back to his normal self, he wants to sayang mei mei too!

fairymoss,
No, I don't have a maid. Which means other than the kids, I have to do my own housework! I do have a part time cleaner who comes in once a week to do the mopping, toilet washing and ironing. However, daily chores like laundry, I still have to handle on my own. Good that hubby is good with my older boy who is 2 years 5 months now. But I do need to make time for him too. At the very least, I go through his bedtime routine with him... milk, brush teeth, read story books to him and put him to sleep... before I rush to bath and start my sentry duty for #2.

For dinner, hubby will ta-pau for himself and me.

What about packing your maid together with you when you go pick up #1? That way someone can help you manage the baby when baby cries.

bb crying:
Most of babies here cry out loud and non stop. I dunno if my baby is the same? she dun cry much (touch wood). She is quite good to handle as when she is hungry, she will only soft cry on off. But if she is impatient, she will cry a bit.

few days ago, she made hb and me cant sleep from 10pm to 4am. put her in the laolan, swing from 10pm to 4am throughout. she is not crying but only erh erh sound. once pacifier drop, she will erh again. i told my hb next time dun give pacifier, if not we got to pick up her pacificer everytime.

there is only few times i heard her cry real loud is when she shock from sleep. think she is having a bad dream

Pups, same. My hubby sit in front of comp whole day! Really fed up at him too Ahah. Ask him change bed sheets he say next wk. Super nua. cannot help out one! Men! And Aiyo. Your #1 also so poor thing. Same loh. So whenever my #1 is awake I have to play with him... Its really tiring me out.

misscandy,
wow ur bb same as mine, once pacificer drop will ask for attention. quite tiring. maybe u can try put in laolan.

i only put in lanlan when she has difficulty in sleeping. If she erh a bit in cot, i dun care her. i let her erh until she tired then she will sleep.

Bringing bb out:
yesterday brought bb out in shopping mall with hb. i cant imagine bringing bb out alone. i scared i cant handle

RE: sleeping
I have found a way to "hypnotise" my boy into sleeping .. doesn't work all the time but quite a high success rate but only applicable if he is not fussing; sleepy but eyes wide opened - i use my fingers to stroke down from his forehead towards his nose. By doing so, his eyes will close! have to do it a few times though. If he is fidgeting and struggling then this doesnt really work though my husband succeeded once and he was quite amazed.

Reverie Island
Understand the pain of sore nipples, my nipples bled during the 1st week. U need to take note of bleeding nipples or else your baby will be sucking your milk with blood without u knowing which had happened to me. Once my boy was sucking and I noticed some red liquid, I quickly pulled him away and saw that my nipple is bleeding and both his lips smeared with my blood, like vampire. Yeww!!

Cranky baby:
I did swaddle my baby when trying to make him sleep. He is ok in the day but starts getting cranking at night, sometimes pek until the whole face is red and cry until breathless, so no choice got to carry him for a while although I am trying not to carry him, don't want him to be spoiled.

Popping by after MIA for sometime...Had my massage last wk, so not much time left to do other things. My first session was painful....everywhere she press me I'm in pain, basically, I'm in quite bad shape. My masseur is really quite gd, she can identify my weak areas and my tummy is alot flatter than before she came.

Cranky baby
My baby 3 wks old now. These few days during day time, either a.m or p.m will be cranky. And since he don sleep, he gets hungry easily. Also starting to want attention &amp; people to carry him. Aiyo, like that how? My CL leaving next Mon...I'm starting to get worried. Tml going to start to hands-on to bathe him, today observe only. Been very tired and let CL do the job these few wks

Anyone mummies who have c-sec bathing BB on table top instead of sitting on stool at the floor? How to do find this arrangement?

Anyone of u latching BB in sleeping position? Any tips to make it work?

Re Gerber Therapy
sorry, no time to go thru archives, can someone fill me in on this one?

Am waiting for my medela PIS to come...hoping shipment will arrive b4 CL leaves. My fingers and hands are in pain and feels disintegrated from using Avent manual...cos I have too much MS and take a long time to pump to empty. My masseur also says to becareful as I'm right wrist is showing signs of Carpal tunnel syndrome.

pups, i think u are superb enuf to me to handle both kids at night. I won't be able to do it without hb ard.

was thinking of packing maid + bb along but maid would need to prepare my lunch and my elder's lunch, so if pack her, then she won't be able to do hsework. from my place to my son's sch is 15min drive if smooth traffic, morn can be as long as 25min. dilly dally including bringing son into his class etc would take a while so i calc approx 1hr to and fro sch per trip the fastest. will see how by then, hopefully after full mth, bb is more manageable?

Cindy,
To be fair to hubby, he is looking after #1 a lot. I was annoyed with him for nua-ing in front of the tv with #1 instead of getting things done during the time when #1 is willing to sit on his own to watch his programme. We were actually preparing to go out that day and he could have changed #1 first, pack his water bottle etc.

fairymoss,
No no. I can't do without hubby around to help also!

hahah pups:: yea, they don't have the initiative to do things. each time i ask him to do things, he say i naggy. but it's so obvious to me to get it done, he still needs to be told what needs to be done/.

sometimes I feel like wacking the Sh*t out of my husband also

*makes a face and goes back to her chores* back later

p/s Pups! Wow, really amazed by you.

re: hubby

think sometimes we have to tell them EXACTLY what to do then they will lor ... when i was at the hospital ... all my hubby does is to complain to me abt my #1's behaviour which pissed me off and i had to tell him off and the wake up call for him was when my #1 started to exhibit behaviours which shows his sense of insecurity + i had a v bad outbreak of rashes on my neck which is typically triggered by stress (for me) ... then he realise that he need to put in the extra effort to help

so he brought my #1 out for haircut + dinner and playground on Fri + play and nap with #1 on sat &amp; sunday so that i can have some rest ... in turn my #1 is now more manageable and doesnt behave badly like last week where he would cry at the smallest thing last week ... which almost drives me crazy too!!

seabreeze
**Hugs Hugs for your boy. Do spend more time with him...**

mangogal
Me today day 23. Same as you... My gal popped on 22nd March. Can go out before full month? Me also want to go for hair cut. My hair like lion queen now..

Fairymoss
At least your boy ask u this and that only.. My gal took my pump, bring up her shirt, and wants to pump milk from her little nipples... Haha... And when I said baby hungry, she will lift up her shirt and ask me to pass baby to her. Buai tahan...

My CL will be going back to Malaysia after completing my confinement.

misscandy
yeah... Luckily I got a good one, else my in-laws and hubby will said no more CL... Thanks! Maybe coz she is being flushed out together when with the water when water bag burst.. Haha...

Vivien
Think I not joining liaoz... I dun have microwave leh... Thot can use hot water to warm it up. Pai say...

missycandy, prosper
Ur give pacifier liaoz... Is it good for baby? I am trying my best not to give pacifier to her.. Her cries are terrible and worried will wake my #1 up when she cries in the midnight for milk after CL leaves..

Teddybaby
Wow! I salute you... So much MS still can use manual pump... Very tiring... I cannot make it using manual pump, using the Medela PIS.

vivien - any idea how many of us are interested in the gerber breast pads? i am staying in hougang, so if there are some hougang-ers then i can help with the purchase as well...

Re:Formula
Anyone can help me with this? I just purchased a big tin of NAN HA1...jtho u also using this formula right? is e powder yellowish in colour n taste slightly bitter? cos i used to use NAN PRO but its white n tasteless...wonder if its spoilt? the powder(NAN HA) dun look loose too...

devil,
i also dun like the idea of giving pacifier but my hb insisted. we only give when she is too hungry cry for milk. if bb cry too much will cos wind in the stomach so to stop her from crying, we tuck it in her mouth.actually pacifier is gd cos next time bb will grow out teeth very fast.

teddybaby - some of us are interested in getting Gerber Breast Pads (they are to be microwaved and applied on the breasts as a hot compress).

Devil,
your gal so funny

Going out and haircut
I am still in confinement but I already went out few times. Last Thur spent 5 hours in salon doing rebonding, colouring and hair treatment and on Good Friday, spent 4 hours shopping in Vivocity. So shiok!

Ivy, basically babywise method is using feed, wake(play) and sleep. Means after each feed, you must make your baby stays awake for a while before you let her sleep. Then the last feed at night, you dont play, just feed and then sleep.