(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

yeah lor...me just latch on bb. wanted to pump then no need liao. CL said she run out of personal things want to go buy, so what can I say? when my hb is ard, she seems so nice, that is what I thot of her during the 1st 2 weeks. now i think twice abt engaging her for my next bb. Devil seems to have a v nice CL, maybe I would get her CL contacts for future reference. my CL a bit high-class cuz she said most of her clients stay in landed pty and some got 2 maids at home, and 1 would help her with the bb. then CL do what huh? i hope she comes back quickly, she has yet to prepare lunch too. nowadays when she's ard, if she sees me on the PC, she would go do her things and expects me to tend to bb when he cries. or if I'm napping she would come into my room and shoves bb to me saying that she's bz so put bb here for me to "jaga".

Devil, can give me your CL contacts? what does her job scope entails? have u finished your confinement? i realise that if got mum/mil to be ard, then CL would do their job properly, if nobody else is ard except the mummy, then they would take advantage.

Devil, my CL dun wash clothes leh, bb's clothes i bargain with her to handwash else she would dump into machine. of course mine she won't wash lah. i got to accumulate the clothes and ask my maid to wash if maid is ard.
she only cooks lunch & dinner and breakfast ask me to eat bread nia. no teabreaks, and only few days ago starts to brew some tonic soup for me to take at 9plus after dinner.

sportyger, dun cry.. dun b sad.. actualli i got tis kind of comment b4.. dan i got so stressed & cried a few times oso.. dan dat time, my husb went bk to wk ler.. i cried & hug him tightly everitime he cm back from work.. he is my onli support.. coz he noe i beri stressed..

ling
same here... i everyday looked forward to hubby coming back home from work, then can confide in him or complain to him abt CL, sometimes cry then he will pacify me and hug me...

jtho,

my mum ask me to put up with CL for another 10 odd days after which she wld be gone. did u get your CL from agency or wat? how much?

fairymoss
i got her contact thru my sis' ex-colleague. i pay her $1900 for 28 days. today is her 29th day, so i'll pay her 1 extra day.

Fairy Moss, your CL not professional leh. You are suppose to rest, she's supposed to do all the work unless you wanna latch on...sounds like my fren's CL who also commented her clients all stay in pte property and have maids to help etc...are you finishing your confinement soon?

Queenie

My gal only wear a shirt, diaper and mittens too. Stimes wonder if I under-dress her :p

Mummies,anyone knows what happens to the blocked ducts if we simply stop bfg? Just curious cos I developed a breast lump which had to be removed after having my elder son. Altho doc said nothing to do with my sudden end to bfg previously, I still wonder if it's related ...

Fairymoss,
My CL is Aunt Karen, her contact no is 0166045375. She cooks and wash clothes for the whole family, including my mom and PIL if they are here, cook porridge for my girl as well. For baby clothes, I asked her to put into the washing machine and wash with my girl's clothes... Sometimes she will use her hand and wash... I only take 3 meals as she really cooks alot... I will take milo for my tea break. My mom dun allow me to take bread during my confinement as it will cause wind in the stomach and gastric pain in future so the CL never le me eat bread. But one thing is she dun do marketing. So my mom is the one doing the marketing. She will make the kitchen very clean and mop the kitchen floor everyday. She will sweep the floor and mop the floor when she is free. She also washes the toilet and our bedsheets also... Good thing is she is very pro-bfing and encourages me to give BM to baby. I find her very good and very clean... You can try her... But I am still on confinement. My confinement with her finishes on the 20th April.

Fairymoss,
Your CL so jialat. Y dun u just tell her off... I am not a good tempered person...
Can ask her to go. You want a CL now? I can ask Aunt Karen to recommend coz my confinement got 2 more weeks leh... She got many sisters... Aunt karen is also recommended by another CL, coz the other CL i wanted is not available so she recommended Aunt Karen. But you got to ask her everything before u employ her. One more thing.. She dun like to work for those who have PIL at home and they might nag at her for cooking this and that. Like my MIL, tell the CL no need to cook tonics for me. Eat normal food can liaoz... I asked the CL to ignore her. If my MIL ask y she cook, I will said I ask her to cook for me one... Just bo chap her... My hubby and my PIL know my pattern and I can be very rude if they are very very naggy and esp if they keep on nagging over the same thing... So they dun dare to say anything also...

My MIL even said to CL that she wants to bring my BB back to JB to take care for a few days and bring my EBM, but she told CL that my hubby is ok but I will never agree...

one hand again cos feednig her

grace,
wow i can never get 150ml in 15min. that means 7min each side only? i'll be v happy if i can. i ususally need at least 15min per breast to get up to 150, then the rest i really have to squeeze my breasts dry. and to complicate matters, my ms is extremely unbal b/w the 2 breasts. left side usually yields min 110 to max 160, but right side b/w 50 to 80 max. and i have to spend more time on the right to get that amount. so in reality, not equal amount of time each breasts

winter,
i lazy mommy. only pump 4 times a day now plus latch her for a few short min here and there, esp while waiting for bottle to warm. maybe that's why i have min 200ml per pump. in one day avg abt about 900ml. you guys are so much more hardworking. pei fu!

queenie,
youe mmom v funny leh. how can fm b better than ebm? hehehe

if you can latch then yah it's better cos bonding + fresh ... no nutrients lost due to freezing n warming, but in reality v hard to sustain for long cos mommy cannot rest n can't do anything else.

as long as you don't leave your ebm frozen for too long, and try not to heat up the milk too much, ebm should be fine. certainly better than fm.

sportyger,
sayang

don't cry. alot of people esp the older folks don't have EQ one. i'm sure she didn' mean to belittle your efforts. don't b too stressed either as it might affect your ms.

jtho
i also donm't know how come. maybe the constant nursing (direct latch) for the full 1st month helped to increase my ms cos i have never pumped more than 5 times. bur\t i really really squeeze them dry .. takes betwn 40 to 60 min sometimes.

aiiii day time i v hard to cht cos she doesn't sleep in the dy one. but night time she will sleep soundly for 12hours then wake up for feeds only. once fed n burped she will zzzz again. got to go liao cos my little boss refuses to be put down

ya.. jtho.. but i cant complain to her abt my mil.. coz dat his mum.. wahhaahahhaa.. i can onli tell him i beri stress in no MS..

Alfafa, i rem reading one of your previous post where u mentioned that u have some sort of schedule for ur gal .. do u mind sharing it again as i am also trying to institute something after my CL leaves?

Hi Jo,

Think you are too nice. I will normally shut them up if they give stupid comments..

I donlt care who they are.. my own parents or even in-laws.. Not happy then dun see their grand daughter lor.. else.. so desperate.. go F*** and produce a baby then feed their own baby their own way..

I am already stressed enough.. if don't encourage then Shut their trap man!

Jo,

My parents know me.. so they dun interfere.. i did spoke to my mum.. explaining to her the difference between now and olden days..

what is used cannot be used now... etc.. so she understands.. As for my dad, he has never interfered with what i want to do for everything in my life.. he just told me.. every decision i made, i have to be responsible enough to face consequences.. be it good or bad..

Can you belive it? my in-laws suggest for us to bring baby to see TCM.. out of nothing.. Brianne is not sick or anything.. really NUTS!!

actualli i do realised we faced almos same problems.. my mum is doin confinement for mee.. but my mil wil owaes popped over & luk at my mum cook.. she realli stressed my mum.. dan for mee.. i dun hav enuff BM for bb everitime bb cry.. dan i wil sae her.. bb juz drink nia..

heh managed 2 put her down so pumping again ....hopwfully she can entertain herself long enough for me to get the momentum going aaaaaaaaiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii such is my life now

ann,
actually my girl just seem to knock out during the night time. always for about 12 hours. but that means daytime it's really bad for me ... she seriously doesn't sleep/ at most nap for 30min usually. once a day she would nap for one to two hours that's all. then that is when i have to rush through my chores n things i want to do

having said that, i think it helps that

(1) we black out the bedroom where she sleeps at night i.e. complete darkness. i even covered the aircon light w stickers. anything within her vision where she sleeps in the cot is blacked out. then in the morning i will bring her out to the living room which is bright n has no aircon.

(2) we really swaddle her v tight during her bed time.

think it was a combination of factors that started her sleeping soundly at night ... after that it becomes a cycle ... daytime no sleep night time sleep/ my hubby is happest sia but bad for me lor cos i'm alone w her during the day

Jtho & lingmama,

I am not saying that diplomacy is ruled out. i would be tactful first. if they go overboard, then they will kena from me..

Queenie,
same as you, i only let him wear diapers but got swaddle him la.. daytime swaddle the tummy only, night time then with hands and legs.

moomooland,
i just drank one cup of coffee today.

sportyger,
ignore your MIL, 80ml per pump consider not bad le.

Lenny, totally agree with you... luckily my mom is pro-bf. dun have MIL so no one to comment on it..

Irene,

Its not just My MIL.. my FIL also.. he has this MIL syndrome even though he is a man.. which means i literally have 2 MIL to deal with.

Faint man!

alfafa, i think your ss very gd leh. if no milk, no matter how long u pump also cannot squeeze out that much mah. mine 2 side combine yields 150-170ml and I would take in total 15-20min to pump using single pump. after latch on, would pump out around 90-100ml. i start to get some hard lumps at the areola wondering if it's blocked ducts but if i latch on and massage while bb feeding usually wld clear. but if pump, then can't get it out so easily.

Devil, my CL is leaving on 22 apr if not wrong, one day before my son full month. I delivered on 23Mar. Whatever I correct CL, she dun take me seriously. She would use her experience and her popularity with her rich clients to tell me that she's right. I purposely bought olive oil for her to apply to my son's dry, peely skin as recommended by Mrs Wong. she used once then chucked it aside, said want to use J&J bb lotion. Just nice got a sample bottle, so let her use.
if not, she would pester us to buy one. then bought so many packs of cotton balls for cleaning eyes and face, she also dun use, use my bodyshop organic facial cotton instead and used up very quickly!!! told her cotton ball is sterile must use, she said she dun like cuz too small and she said all her previous clients let her use facial cotton also no problem.
actually this CL is recommended by my neighbour. she has not used her before but her friend used her 2x for her daughters, so I thot gd, who knows. She charged me 2k for her service.

Ann,
oh yah for night feeds I never "interact" with bb. I don't make a sound only eye contact cos can't be helped. I only talk, play and ka-jiao her during the day,

i also say

i like lenny n devil character. hahaha

i not so fierce la. whenever my mil asks me to follow confinement rules (cos i never do confinement) i will just decline firmly n flatly but w a smile... she also gives up. heh heh

she asks me to eat this eat that n if i really don't want to i will just say "bu4 yao4, xie xie". Think she doesn't know how to handle someone who declines flatly. hehehe

hey not bad leh ... managed to get 120ml in 18min fr my left. Now comes my right .. aii the hard one.

a;lamak bb starting to "complain"

yea! finally someone who drinks coffee here..hi five irene!

drinking coffee doesnt make the bb 'ling jing' (aka alert) right? it just means more dehydration for the mummy? as long as mummy drinks ALOT of water, tat shd be fine?

sportyger - 80ml is alright...dont be too bothered about ppls comments

SG/wintertime - hows everything? havent heard from you in a while...

what happen to prosper?

Lenny, wat's the reason given by PILs that they want u to bring Brianne to see TCM? Hey, my PILs also like yours like to give funny comments and remarks and certainly like TCM a lot! But gd thing they dun really care for their grandson so hardly visit, all the more better else I would be driven up the wall by PILs and CL!

Alfafa, u are a very systematic and organized mama. can imagine my hse would be upside-down if I'm alone to deal with little monster. my CL is leaving a small night lamp with variable light intensity on in the bb's room where she co-sleeps with bb. whenever need to change diaper, she would turn the dial till very bright. is that why my bb hardly sleeps in the night? Initially dun have this night lamp provided for her, and I want her to on the light at the walkway leading to the bb's room and let the light shine into the room whenever she needs to change bb diaper etc, but she said need to give her night light so we gave her one lor. whatever she said, we provide. she also on air-con cuz she complained v hot and we let her be, cuz afraid no one to help me out if she leaves. but she takes advantage of us.

moomooland, coffee dun make me alert.. so should be fine ba.. one cup only.. dun drink more than one or 2 cups a day.

for those feeding ebm or latching baby, what you all intend to do when going back to work? continue to pump day n night???
I worry I will be very tired if I need to wake up to feed and pump.

alfafa, what to do? i just close one eye and everyday I look forward to the moment that hb comes through the door. if cannot tahan, would call up my mum to complain. my CL likes it that my maid is ard, cuz she can order her to prepare dishes!!! she would ask her to peel this and that for her while she supervises or do other things and after meal, she can just leave all the dishes for my maid to wash while she can yak on phone with her other CL friends in sg. my maid would gong gong do the chores so sometimes i would purposely ask my maid to play with my elder son in the room so that CL cannot order her ard.

fairymoss,

i also dun know why la.. FIL say this to hubby over the phone. we just receive his phone call on last weekend morning out of the blue..

I told hubby, dun try to be funny with me and get me pissed. nowadays got a lot of TCM quacks also.. No sickeness also tell u got sickness..
i dun want bb to be on medicine for the rest of her life.. think a few wires are disconnected in their brains liao.. Xiao!!!

irene, u finish confinement already? if so, i think can take coffee bah. even during preg also can take but limit to the same no. of cups as when u are preg, else too much caffeine I think would also pass to bb thru BM?

last night during the 2am feed, i pump after latch on, alamak, so tired and struggling to keep eyes open. so I really admire Mummies who can wake up to pump at night. after the pump, i couldn't sleep at all till 4am, then 5am, bb woke up again for milk. @_@

anyone knows when is bb growth spurt? my milk monster has been demanding for milk more than usual and is unsettled after feed. Wonder if it's growth spurt and when it usually start and last how long?

Fairymoss,

Just finished my lunch, and just realised that the herbal soup that My PIL bought for me got Dang gui!! Shit man!! Preach to me as if they so knowledgable about herbal stuff.. BF cannot eat Dang gui la!!!

Wah lau.. i had a hard time trying to establish my BM supply le..

after 2 mouthful of soup.. i refused to drink liao, only eat the black chicken meat

yeah, i heard from mrs wong cannot eat dangui, as it would decrease MS. my mil also like to ask me to drink dang gui soup cuz bu xue and they dun believe when i tell them cannot eat during BF. Mil replied me that last time everybody also take dang gui and everybody also got MS. *faint*

So long nvr post. I have been feeling very stress and depress dunno why some how feel like crying. Evny mummies who have gt lots of BM after I just seems to have very low supply so sad and stress as hubby bought the medela was so ex in the end like I oni use for few times than nw adays I dun pump le its like wasting time lor pump like 1 hr onli can get less than 20ml for what . I onli latch baby but everytime after latch gt to give her formula haiz.Reali feel like giving up BFing but on the other hand already spent a bomb buying BFing stuff. Felt like I am so useless whatever things I do Also cannot do properly.Plus no one I can tok to onli can come here and tell u all. If were to tell hubby I stress he will say stress wat there is nothing u need to think.Sometime reali wonder issit I think too much.

Lenny , Devil
U all so power lor at least dare to like tok back me always onli can keep everything to myself dun dare to tok out but guess I quite blessed le as mil is helping me and whatever I do she wont say anything and will also encourage instead of saying rubbish.But again becos house gt my little girl my #1 and also my hubby cousin which make me and my mil like so busy whole day I also hardly dare to ask mil take care of my #2 as she is so busy already so I hardly have time to pump gt to give up.

Sorry mummies for been so long winded.

Lenny
Ya just hope my mood will quickly get stable.Else everyday like thinking rubbish useless stuff.Make myself more depress onli

fairymoss, wah.. ur CL seems to take advantage of you.. my CL very nice, still mop and sweep floor everyday, washes both me n hb's clothing and bb's clothes too.. all 3 meals are included and she will warm a bottle of chicken essence to me every morning.. on top of tt, of cos all bb stuff she will take care.. i will only jaga when i m free...

alfafa, it's cos we don't have much MS, tt's y need to pump more frequent to induce more milk.. hahahhaha.. 900ml har.. soo envious..

lenny, hees. ya lor.. how come ur PIl can bring ur bb to TCM.. nothing wrong no need to go lah..

moomooland, well, i am still loitering around this forum, jus tt i seldom post online.. only onlilne when i bfing or pumping.. so u will see my post at wee hours.. hahaha

caca, don't worry darling.. come on in and chat with us.. don't be so upset abt bfing.. the more u stress, the lesser your MS.. just relax and if in the end, it's really so tiring, u can jus top up with FM.. no worries..

Wintertime
Thanks Ya I have been toping up with formula since day2 thats y I very angry with my mummy keep saying I no BM than baby hungry keep crying but they dunno baby can live for 4 days with colostrum. Hiaz

mummies, my mil insisted me to let bb wear long pants lor...coz all the kpo aunties say so. sian....my bb nw gt rashes...must be very hot. i also wan to let my bb wear diapers only..but they say bb legs purple nt gd. all the aunties very kpo..

moomooland, me still surviving haha...i'm hoping bb to grow up faster...hee

caca, dun b sad k...u see me coming to 2mths liao also can't tbf...we just try our best lah. diff. pple diff. body...who noes watever u gave to yr bb is really of high quality no nid so much vol.?? cheer up.. =)