(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

ling
my supply also cannot meet my boy's demand. now every feed, i give him 70ml EBM then if he wants more, i'll prepare 30ml FM. i dun want to heat up more EBM cos sometimes he just take another 10ml or 20ml or none. my EBM is too precious to be wasted cos i only pumped around 70 - 90ml per session. sometimes, only 40-50ml, esp when i'm tired or too stressed.

ahhh...i just spilt 10ml of my MS...accidentally knocked it over when transferring to another bottle......=(

Missycandy
Oh..in the day must wake bb up for feed??? hmmm...ok lah..till now my bb will take his milk over 3-4hr interval!!!

Grace,

I read that must wake bb to feed only if bb sleeps more than 5 hr in the day. 3-4 hr no need to wake bb.

miss83
just back from seeing dr allyson as dr lilian is on leave. here is the vaccination package:

5 in 1 package $440 (5 jabs)
6 in 1 package $440 (3 jabs)
Combination vaccination package $440 (4 jabs)not sure about this package
12mth+15mth+18mth vaccination package (1 year old package)$310:-
chicken box
MMR
5 in 1 booster

we need to pay when we start the vaccination ie $440 as for the 1 year old package till bb 1 years old ie $310

non standard is rotavirus need 2 dosage
pneumococcal jab each $165; nos of jabs depend when we start

ivy..
thanks alot dear! u still remember to update me..
so 440 for 3 jabs only? and next visit when bb is 3 mths need to pay again right?
will u be taking 5 or 6 in 1?

I'll be taking rotavirus together with the 6 in 1..dr lilian lim advised me to take when bb is 1.5mths. rotavirus is optional..are u planning to take that too?
how much is the consultation fee?
and which one do u like better? dr lim or dr tan?

miss83
dr lilian ask me to take 6in1 so is 3 jabs for $440.
dont need to pay when bb is 3mths. only need to take up another 1 years old package when they are 1 year old.
yes, i am taking rotavirus and pneumococcal too. but may not take rotavirus together with jab. will discuss with her cos i want to minimise the side effect of taking jab.
today consultation fee is $36 after SBI discount.
i still prefer dr lilian cos i find she is more approachable and friendly. maybe i knew her for 3years already.....

miss83
for vaccination package i dont think need to pay consulation fee anymore. she will check baby everytime before jab.

<font color="aa00aa">jtho,
i seriously cant stand ur CL lor, i wanna slap her. whr got ppl use dettol on bb, its so strong. bb less den a mth old dun need shampoo lor, as CL hw can she dunno all these??? if im u, i sure scold her like mad.</font>

ivy
oh i see..understood!
did dr lim tell you that taking the rotavirus together with 6 in 1 will have side effects?
she advised me to take together coz I plan to bring bb to indo..

miss83
i personally prefer to hv all different jab to take separately no doubt doctor said it is ok. as for side effect, if baby is not well after taking jab it is easy to no the causes that my personally view.

my girl have red dots on her head, i worry its will spread to the whole head. my jab is on the 22.

I just finished a session with Mdm Rokiah this afternoon. Wow!! Really got fountain of milk! Just one look and she said that i hv blocked ducts. And the way she massage is pain free too!!
So happy to find her contact from this forum.

All the while I tot my supply qty is only this much but there were so much milk during the whole massage session. I was so surprise at how wobbly my breast became. Will try later to pump to see what's the diff before and after massage.

Caca, thanks for her contact.

Mummies who thinks that they have low supply: PLS CALL MDM ROKIAH!! U may be surprised at what u hv got.

Seabreeze, hope your bb can go home soon...

BB sleeping - my gal refuse to let me put her down leh...sigh..dunno how...last time my boy dun have tis problem in his first month leh...

mucus - jus now there there was a big pc of nose shit at the tip of my gal's nose. Wheni wanted to clear it, she sucked it back in with a deeop breath. aiyo...

janbebe- it's OK to suck out the mucus. My SIL did that for my boy last time and also recommended by PD.

jtho- aiyo, your CL is terrible! Dettol is too harsh for bb and toddlers leh...

Jab - for 6in1, shd we bring bb for jab at 1mth or 1.5 mth?

jtho - wa... initially my parents askd me bathe bb at nite so cn slp better. aftr readin article diamdiam liao. lol! she really think ur bb is water bb wor... nvm la... hope she goes off in a amicable manner. eh rmber when ur family comes to speak to her u carry ur bb dun let her carry... =p

eh aftr u try the pengaga tell me nice or nt lol..

grace - lc told me day 3hrly feed. wake bb. at nite if bb slp, let bb slp. wil auto cry for milk. heh

And during the whole massage session, my BF was flowing away like nobody's business and my bb boy was in the same room being fed FM by CL. So sad!!

I also tried Mdm Rokiah today.. A lot of milk too.. Wah, like fountain flowing during the massaage.
But the funny thing is when I pump after the session (a few hours later), the volume is still the same lehz.. No increase.. For those who have tried her, when did u see an improvement in your volume?

hi mummies, looks like Mdm Rokiah is really good at fixing blocked ducts, just curious, when you have the session with her, how does she relieve the engorged area, let you lie down and let the breast milk go to waste or stand up, and keep EBM?

i am interested in her service, can someone provide me with her mobile no., thanks!!

moomooland,ivy
last week when I went to see dr lilian lim to check on bb jaundice, I was charged $48..when I showed my FBI card, the staff there just took note of my FBI number but no discount. she said dr lim already gave me discount. normally consultation is $50-80.
how come u just paid $36?

think the health book shd put whether you're FBI/SBI member right? so the discount would be applied automatically? correct me if i am wrong..

moomooland
yes, there is discount for FBI/SBI. 10% discount. when you shown them the card, they updated it into their system.

miss83
i was told that also when i first visit, the staff said the same time to me. her consultaion is between 50 to 80 but for follow up visit maybe 40 depend how long is the consulation

moomooland
i think they will only ask for the health book when u do the vaccination. for other consultation matter, just show the appointment card. so remember to always produce ur FBI/SBI card when paying.

mummies, everytime when your baby woke up in the daytime, even when he/she took 1.5 hr nap, or even 1 hr nap, do you feed your baby? And if so, do you feed the full feed he/she normally take?

My CL insisted that my baby hungry whenever he woke up, even if the nap is 1.5 hrs late.. I hate the possibility that she's stuffing him with the EBM even when all he want is just a cuddle.. how do you tell if he wants a cuddle or is really hungry?

if my bb is hungry, he usually put his hand on his mouth..then we know that he wants milk..
anyway, if ur bb is really hungry..he will drink your EBM very fast..
but usually i feed my bb every 1.5-2.5hour (EBM or latch). sometimes he also just suck one breast only and falls asleep..

Jo
after Mdm Rokiah's session, i didn't see improvement immediately. and i think we need to be very hardworking to compress and compress then slowly will see result. i saw a slight increase the following day, abt 10ml each pump.

moomooland
during the session, i lied on the floor and the milk just go to waste
no choice. but depending on situation, cos i understand that Asura managed to save some EBM during the session.

Miss83, sometimes my baby just woke up and started crying softly, so I suspect that he wants cuddling.. Prob is sometimes I'm expressing milk, and my CL has history of stuffing my baby with as much milk as possible so that he'll fell asleep and dont disturb her. That was once she fed him 100ml when his intake is only 60ml and he vomitted. That's why I'm thinking that sometimes it's due to cuddling..

Think once CL is gone, really have to try TBF only, where got time to express milk? sigh..

Kris, bluebell,
ya, my CL is so terrible. then just now she said all other babies she looked after also no problem. dunno how come my baby got problem. when i told her baby not to bathe so often, she asked me who said one! then i just shut her off by saying 'DOCTOR'!

Vivien
i agree. after CL gone, think got to TBF. like now i'm expressing, my bb is fidgeting and i cannot go and see wat happen to him

jtho - tks!

mummies, when you engage the malay massage ladies, did she massage the breasts to relieve any engorgement, i am just figuring out how different is Mdm Rokiah's session as compared to the malay massage. i had my malay massage + breast massaging + tummy binding for around 1 1/2 hours, how does Mdm Rokiah's session compare to this in terms of duration?

Jtho, ya, and we'll feel so bad esp when baby crying out loud right? It doesnt help that my stupid CL dont like to cuddle babies, she's the impatient sort and always propose feeding to shut my baby..

Moomooland, Mdm Rokiah checked my breasts for any blocked ducts and as the other mummies mentioned, I saw 'fountains of milk' flowing out.. Really feel like telling her that I want to take bottle and store my milk first, hee... Now before expressing milk, I use hot water bottle to warm the blocked ducts before compressing to 'soften' the blooked ducts. Then when I pump, I find the flow more smooth and more volume at times... I tried the normal body massage and they only massage your breasts but wont clear your ducts lah..

Asura, how much is the hot stone ah? Thinking of buying too cos the hot water bottle turns cold very fast..

Vivien/Jtho,
I oso faces the same prob. What happen after CL leaves? At least, now she can help to feed bb EBM while I pump. Sigh..I still gotta learn how to bath/burp my bb. Diaper change still need improvement.

Currently, am TBF though once a while in the day time, will bottle feed. From midnite to 5am, there will be two bottle feed by my CL. When she leaves, I may have to do one bottle feed at midnite and BF thereafter.

Vivien, i thot my CL oso try to stuff my bb with as much milk as possible. But may not be true cos bb knows when to stop. Just have to tell your CL to burp your bb after a certain qty has been drank.

moomooland, all my EBM was wasted as Mdm Rokiah massaged me. So heartache!! Luckily I placed a waterproof sheet on the mattress.

<font color="119911">moomooland</font>,
my bb already 2mth 1wk 4 d liao still cannot slp soundly esp at night. I already had sleepless night man...he also woke up every 2hrs for milk.

<font color="119911">missycandy</font>,
tot DOM very sweet one....

<font color="119911">sung</font>,
that time after my DnC, i was on antibiotic. that antibiotic cause me to lao sai for a wk (more than 8 times per day). doc said the medicine ok for bf. think my bb also poos every feed then. so far, now, he only ppo every 2 days.

but u still need to pump out to stimulate milk flow right....(pump then wash hand and feet).

jtho,

I never save my milk during Mdm Rokiah session. She asked if i wanna save any. But i told her my freezer quite full... heh.. then after the session she tell me wasted abt 200ml milk. heh..

jtho - thanks for the infor on the warmer...i'm planning to get the avent one too...but my fren was saying warming up the milk is fast thats why i thought of getting it....beside me quite blur scared milk too hot for bb so can use the warmer to do the job for me....and yr CL is too much...where got ppl use dettol on bb....i hope yr family will succeed in "sacking" her...

Re: Baby jabs
I was asking the nurse at the PD whether 6-in-1 jabs will be too strong for bb...seems like quite the same with 5-in-1. The difference being 5-in-1 jab excludes the Hep B jab which has to be administered seperately, hence resulting in more "pokes" on the bb....

Re: mucus &amp; phlegm in bb
My bb has lots of phlegm in his throat too and his nose is abit blocked too...sat night he seems to be coughing so we brought him to see the PD on monday morning....the PD gave cough medicine and nose drops for my poor bb...the nurse was saying onli if bb coughs more than 5x than give him the cough medicine...

I find its hard to differentiate whether he's really coughing (mayb becos of the phlegm) or cough jus cos he choked (which seems to be more common now)....haiz...tmr will bring him for the BCG/Hep B jab (he hasn't even had his first jab yet! he's now 23 days old already) but if he's not feeling well, cannot take jab woah...

Asura
hehe... i thought u did save ur milk during Mdm Rokiah's session.

btw, how do u still manage to pump after ur CL left? i just wonder even if we can continue to pump, we will not be able to stick to the schedule that we set, right? cos bb's timing so erratic, dunno when he wants milk, when he will sleep, when he pee/poo...

dear mummies,
anyone interest finding out more information for home base infant care @AMK blk ave 10

kindly drop me an email at [email protected]

reasonable price, confirm caring care taker, non smoking family.. flexible hours...they provide night care as well

moomoo - for me is opposite ah.. burping baby is the challenge! bathing is no problem for me. im still having a bit of problem burping her. sometimes can. she stil does the merlion. hai. then 1 hr later i jus prepared for her to cry for milk lor.

anyone has any fool-proof way of getting babies to burp? I always have difficulty getting my son to burp and after my pd said that one of the reasons why some babies develop colic is cos they are not burped well, i am now real worried and quite obsessive abt burping.

thanks in advance for sharing : )

hey Ann,

I've tried various ways for several weeks now and by far the most effective and consistently successful way is the baby WAY over the shoulder method. This was also sworn by both my mom as well as my jamu massage lady. I used to do the bb-sit-on-my-lap-leaning-forward pose but it wasn't satisfactory - either took too long or no results. Ever since I adopted the shoulder pose, my bb has been giving me loud burps all the way, and way faster too. Even my hubby who was initially sceptical and resistant (he was worried for her neck) is now a convert after he finally managed to burp her for the first time. BB burp is unmistakable one. It really sounds like a burp just like us adults. I only manage to get that with the shoulder post. For burping purpose, her head has to be way over your shoulder, it's not the same as how you would carry bb over your shoulder. Make sure you watch her neck though.