(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

I think I hv the lowest MS compared to all of u. Today is my 15th day n I can only get abt 40ml fr both breasts after pumping for more than 1 hr each session. very sianz

scrumpee, dun be discouraged. I think instead of pumping long sessions. I read before that pumping more frequently and shorter duration is helpful. U try to pumping 15min each breast but pump 2hrly to see if it helps. Jiayou!

fairymoss
if I pump only 15min, I may not get even 10ml. I will coniyinue to try. Just started on motilium, hope it helps to increase supply

Anyone has a chart or information on how much we should feed our babies? As in how much do they need per feed as they grow by the week?

Brianne will suckle for 15 mins and then fall asleep before she will suckle my the ohter breast. I am trying to gauge how much she has taken and how much more she will need..

I often take a full hour to satisfy her cos she keeps falling asleep throughout feeding till my nipples are sore. she needs her feed around 2 hrs intervals, plus an hour of feeding her each time.

i am trying to rest my nipples by asking hubby to spoon feed her with my EBM to top up what ever she needs cos she is in her 3rd week and not putting on weight.

Any guidelines i need to know?

Fairymoss..

One thing i learn by paying 50 bucks at TMC on sterilising my pump is..

Usea a plastic container, fill up with water to soak your bottles and funnels then put in sterilising tablets.

i asked them to help me sterilise my bottles and funnels cos i didnlt bring my steriliser there, they told me to buy a sterilising kit.. and this is what i got.. a toyogo rectangular plastic container and a box of Sterilising tablets..

<font color="aa00aa">seabreeze,
gd to noe dat bb is recovering, u take care too.

srumpee,
dun b discouraged, try to pump, supply will slowly increase, jiayou!

fairymoss,
u can get those sterilising tablets n sterilise while on the go.

lenny,
diff bb drink diff amt, especially BF, u wun noe hw much they drink, can onli feed on demand.</font>

Fairymoss,
When I went back to work previously, I pumped 2x a day. The 1st time, the pump would have been sterilised at home. After the 1st pump, I'll just wash it &amp; rinse it with hot hot water.

Grace, i think my boy also got blocked nose... i keep hearing the mucus sound but when i peep at his nose, it's clean... and yes, sometimes i hear him cough also.. wonder if this is normal

Regarding low Breast Milk.. I went to TMC Parentcraft centre and bought fenugreek and took 2 capules a day.

But when i went back for breastfeeding consultation last friday, the midwife ask me if i took my fenugreek.. i told her i did and i took 2 capsules a day when she asked me how many did i take.

She told me, i should be taking 6 capsules a day.. 2 capsules 3 times a week till my milk supply is established then reduce to 3 capsules a day, 3 times a week.

my hubby was taught how to massage my breast.. its painful when i am massaged.. but i was told to take a deep breaths to managed the pain.

In addition, i was told to drink prenatal Milk formula for mummies as well.

now i oump on the interval of 3 - 4 hrs and i do get around 70 - 90 ml from both breasts. My left breast is producing around 10- 15 ml lesser than my right breast. if i don't pump for 5 - 6 hrs, i can get around 90 - 110ml from both breasts.my each pump will be around 20 minutes and i am using a dual pump.

You ladies might want to try.

so jealous... catching up posting... sigh why my ms so so low...

pump out only 20ml each side when pump half an hr... how long to pump?? can't seem to get my breast to be soft!!!!

Seabreeze - oh no! hws bb nw? hope go home soon ya? take care... btw what triggered u to bring bb to hospital? is it became blue? like cant breathe? Kirsten's phglem is still there but nt as bad as b4... sometimes she will cough... but other than that jus the usual mucus stuck in nose.. which i wil drop the saline and take out with cotton...

Scrumpee - its okie.. jus give whatever you have.. thats what im doing too... we on par la.. hee... =)

surprisingly when i was pumping last night, i noticed that i had a few more holes opening up in my right nipple leh... when i squeeze.. i can see drops come out from 3 diff places... same for my left nipple... hmmm but only 1 on the right can squirt... and 2 on the left can squirt... but still nt much milk... hahaha... once confinement finish then il drink the milk, milo, etc etc.. i will try everything le.. nw restricted by my MIL and Mum.. duh...

last night Kirsten was super cranky.. put her dwn she cry.. carry also cry.. wah bth... drink milk also cry... struggle.. i applied the ru yu oil on her tummy... after that also cry... haii... hubby was carrying her then my mum came to our room and according to my hb, snatched Kirsten away from him.. -_-" she tried to coax her.. but after awhile she also cried again... then she put her finger in her mouth and said Kirsten hungry feed milk... i said i jus fed her... if u keep feeding her like that she wil vomit!!! so angry... so i jus snatched my bb back and told her to go to sleep then went to my room... pek chek man!!! it was ard 3am... i let her suckle on my boobs... then she struggle struggle... haii... rock her... after awhile she quieten down... then thought slept le.. put down... after few mins start crying again... gahhhhhhh!!!!! very tiring night... =| Hubby says next week let my mum look after her at night... see she can tahan or not...

Re: mucus..

my boy seem to have phlegm when he breath...=[ and mucus stuck in his nose... past two days been heart breaking hearing him trying to suckle and breathe at the same time... how?? can dig it out?? my mil wants to suck it out!!! yucks...

missycandy: Tried... breast like blue black .. hahaha i press the "rock" sometimes can clear but later back again?? dunno block or jus the duct?? confusing...
my boy like kristen kept crying and refuse to sleep in his cot... i latch him for 2 nites.. till morning... pangz liao.. my mil took him to her room... say that my hands not gd to take care of kid... sigh... i'm not that strong.. dun dare to say anything.. =[

janbebe
think you are having blocked ducts also... My breast I press liaoz also blue-black.. Dun dare to touch it liaoz... I just express whatever I can express out... I called Mdm Rokiah and she is coming to my place tomorrow morning...

Moomooland &amp; Lenny
Actually when I bought from GNC, the salesgirl also told me to take 6 per day (altho the bottle oni mentions 1 or 2).

Irene &amp; Janbebe,
I guess the muscus shld be quite common since so many bb are having it. Just tat it's very heartache to hear those sound coming from them... =( But just monitor. If no fever or runny nose, shld be fine bah.... =) Like missycandy, my bb also has nose drops from the PD to help clear the muscus.

Janbebe
Hmm...yup, you'll need to press very hard to get the milk out!!!

srumpee: sigh my ms like urs.. is it like dat?? sigh... been feeling down.. my hubby so worry ... i been thinking if i give up pumping.. am i still wanna but my boy?? sigh.. now i'm jus his milk supplier and his pacifier to bed... cant carry him without him wanting to suck..
my mil intro teats to him and now he suckle with bite!!!

Janbebe,
All of us go thru this...just relax &amp; I'm sure supply will come in. btw, when did you give birth? Forgot to mention this, try to ignore wat ur MIL say abt u dunno how to take care...just do your best. I'm sure we can all do it!! ok??

grace - ive been taking 2 in the morning..did you notice an increase in MS when you take 6? i suppose 2 in the morning, afternoon, then evening?

with mucus, can they still take jab? cos I bringing him for hep b jab next wednesday. I hear the nurse say if got fever, running nose, cannot take the jab

grace: I give birth on the 26th so today is 14th day.. sigh.. tough to ignore cos she is a very frank person who say without thinking of others' feeling.. sigh... my hubby say 2 more weeks.. but i really scare she won't leave... how?? i can chase her away.. but she really help alot too keep asking me to rest and cooking for me and cleaning the house and washing clothes...

Moomooland
I'm at least able to maintain 120-150ml each pump. yes I'm taking 2 in the morning, lunch and after dinner.

Irene
Can. Bb took his 2nd hep B jab yesterday....No worries

Janbebe
14th day nia....slowly my dear!! jus continue to pump more regularly (3hrly) &amp; drink more fluids/soup etc etc. Maybe you can talk to ur hubby to talk to ur MIL....

ftmummy: thanks for mdm rokiah's no...

devil: haven't make any appt yet.. will call her later la... er can check wat is her rate?? ex or not..

re: fenugreek
I've got the boil with water type!! sigh dunno how to use it ?? anyone know??

lenny, the nurse manager told me to buy the box from fairprice cuz they charge ridiculously at TMC. i decided not to sterilise with tablets cuz will stain plastic yellow n so i only use hot water to pour over the breastshield, as for bottles, my mum help me sterilise n bought enuf for a day use when she visit me.

called up the director of nursing to give feedback, she said we can buy our own microsteam bag n use TMC microwave to sterilise pumps but again the microwave is not dedicated to this purpose so some ppl might not find it clean enuf to use. but to me, if I got #3, probably would make use of it. anyone tried the medela micro steam bag before? issit gd?

grace: really u think so... my ms sometimes ok sometimes very lousy... sometime can jus leave the pump on and nothing comes out... hahaha then sometime not bad got at least 15ml.. but my mil say so little where got enough !!! so she feed FM.. intro teats and pacifier now... i can feel my boy suckle diff liao... more pain kept telling him to be gentle ...

re: sleeping pattern

Do ur baby drink and sleep... any active period?? my boy seem to stay awake at night more so we trying not to let him sleep... but seems so heartache to wake him up when he sleep so soundly..

Those who have used Mada Rokiah's service, can PM me hernumber and how much she charges per session? Thanks much!!!

janbebe
My boy dun really like to suckle me now cos milk flow too slow for him. He will suck for a few seconds then spit out. I don't latch him anymore, just pump. I started to take Motilium and some chinese herbs to increase MS today, if it works, I let u know.

We are in the same boat leh..

janbebe, come to think of it, your MIL is not bad afterall. She's just frank and blunt, but she does help alot based on your description. I think it's hard to come by MIL who's willing to doing confinement for DIL. My mil is a classic eg. she's just living few blocks away but only visited once since the day we came back. neither did she cook any tonic for me during my pregnancy nor bring any food for my CL to cook. all the food that we are eating are all bought by my mum who lives in another estate. think of her gd side n those who got worse-off mils than yours and u won't be so unhappy. cheer up, ok?

what is fenugreek seeds in mandarin? where to buy the seeds? supermarkets have or not?

fenugreek raw must buy frm the indian shops... they wil sell.. =)

janbebe - dun worrie so much ba... it takes time to be able to look after ur bb.. some babies need abit more time... still early =) jyjy! babies will always prefer their own mummy de... jus that maybe the position u hold him uncomfy? try to coax him... sing.. sayang.. hug... walk ard with him... sometimes they jus wan to look ard... Kirsten does stop crying at times when we walk ard the house... she likes to "look" ard... dunno she can actually see or not.. hehe... a bit of rocking does help as well... if all else fails.. u might wan to cry... ahhaha =x when I cry, she stops to look at me... then she goes to sleep... -_-" they can sense ur emotions... when u r angry or frustrated they also feel it... so they cn be more edgy... take things slow okie?

Seems like alot of BB have mucus. My BB oso has mucus, last night he seems to have alot of phlegm in the nose when he breathes. But I dunno how to get it out for him, he looks so poor thing trying to breathe so hard with the phlegm. How tomake him feel better? got nose drop from PD, but dun seem to rid the mucus...

missycandy - its true! when you cry, they stop crying and go to sleep. i remembered when my auntie (aka CL) left, i was feeling quite emotional and cried when i was alone with bb in the afternoon. My girl did not bully me, and slept hehe...

today my right breast was sore on the left side...can only manage to pump 20ml..dunno what happened..my left breast is okay...can pump 60ml..do u think i got lump? should I call mdm rokiah too? already tried to compress and massage...felt better but now seems to be sore again..breast not engorged, it's soft..it's just one part near cleavage feels sore..anyone experience the same?

Janbebe
Be confident but at the same time...just do your best...giving little is better than giving none!!!!

Sleeping Pattern
According to the older folks, if baby can sleep, let them sleep bcos it's oni when they sleep then they'll grow!!! hee~~ So dun need to wake them up for their feed....Well, it's oso good so that you can rest esp in the nite!! =P

miss83, maybe you have blocked ducts.. try massage it...
mine is on the right breast, right side... i press hard... painful... but need to bear with the pain to clear the duct.

janbebe
you're welcome. so many mummies asked me for Mdm Rokiah's number until i dunno who i gave to

re: fenugreek
today went to buy fenugreek from GNC, the sales person told me actually can take up to 9 capsules a day, 3 capsules at breakfast, lunch and dinner.

last night, sent bb to Children's Emergency at NUH. his nappy rash is too serious, until his whole butt is so raw. i see already so heartache. no wonder he always cry whenever we put him down on the mattress. his condition is so bad mainly bcos my CL uses too much bodywash on him. then she still very stubborn, when i ask her to use the Avent Bottom Balm to prevent long time ago, she said no need. then when we start to see a bit of rash, she started to use Desitin Creamy but said that Desitin Original is better. after i got the Desitin Original for her, and after applying for a week, the condition got worst so she said dunno why my bb super sensitive.
so now i think back and i remembered when she first arrived, she used my Dettol handwash to wash bb's butt after he pooed a lot. then after i commented, she switched to J&amp;J top to toe wash for his butt. and during bath time, she will use Kodomo baby wash, 3 squirts for his little body. all these stupid practises of hers are the reason for my bb's rash bcos the body wash cause bb's skin to be too dry. i told her bb's body so small, no need so much body wash and water, she said like that then nice smell and clean mah...
i had enough of her already. today actually is her last day, but stupid me extended her for 2 weeks. i confided in my family and they said they will come to my place tmr night and 'sack' her for me.

moomoo - ya... we must unleash our tears.. then they act like angels... LOL... was really quite funny thinking abt it... she looked at me... Ooo her mouth... then went to sleep... hahahaha...

jtho - oh no! actually i read that 1st 6 weeks shld not bathe baby daily wor... i used to bathe bb every morning since come home.. but after reading the article i stopped... so now i bathe her every 2-3days... days i dont bathe i jus wipe her... for ur CL.. if she tries to put up a fight or ask for compensation, ask her to pay for the hospital bill for ur baby!!!

grace - at night if they sleep then can let them go without the feed... but day time that time the LC told me must wake them to feed wor... night time nevermind

missycandy
my CL bathe my bb twice a day somemore... as if my bb is running all over the place getting himself so dirty like that.... grrrr!!!

missycandy,

is it? i bath my bb everyday but with water only. never even add the bb wash.
Haiz.. regret buying drypers.. the adhesive actually startle my bb. i got 100+ pcs... heh... got to remember not to use at nite.
GooN is too big for my bb so would leak a bit... also got lots left.. hopefully my bb grows bigger soon then can wear.

just had my 2nd session with Mdm Rokiah... again see fountain even though just finish 1 pump session when she arrived. means still got so much milk trapped inside which not pumped out. this time i also see that my nipple like shower rose, spraying milk out like when we taking shower

she bought me some 'pengaga', will take it tonight and tmr.

hi jtho,

can i noe hw much Mdm Rokiah charge?

my pro nw is i can onli pump out e most 60ml which doesnt meet my girl's milk demand. i pump &amp; she drink.. dan i gotto rush to pump again b4 her nex feed.. so tirin.. esp wen i c my milk is not gg ani further up.. haiz. =(
at nite, i juz latch her directly.. but stil she not much MS..

jtho
you ask mdm rojiah for 2nd session is it becos yr breasts are engorged again? I m tempted to call her but mt breasts not engorged, just that my milk supply very low.

ling
Mdm Rokiah charges $58 per session. u should give a try, she might be able to help u.

Srumpee
i asked for 2nd session cos i want her to help me to check any more lumps and also to open up more 'eyes'. i never felt engorgement before.