(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Kris,
what is Asura's method? i just ask my hubby to go buy fenegreek, not sure if it helps but i will try.

Sung and wintertime,
thanks for your encouragement! ya, i have gathered my pumps and moved to my room to pump instead, finally cannot tahan. The last time she propped herself up in bed and stare at me while i was pumping. I guess i also have to pump every few hours? not wait until my breasts feels full then pump? wah, everyone has MS over 100ML..mine's so pathetic. already 14 days after delivery...Sung, what are the eyes? clear them can have more milk? Wintertime,really ah? he doesnt look colicky, just fretful i think...i hope its a first month syndrome...coz each time he cries, my stress level rockets...let you know how it goes. Another 2 weeks to full month...

Miss83,
me too! the moment i took my bb home, i started missing couplehood, all the dinners and my freedom! was depressed for a bit, then not much MS then bb cries all the time. I went out for dinner on my 7th day, hubby thinks i am going mad so he told my CL that he is taking me out and that was it. it was so nice to be out (even though i was wearing maternity clothes again). you should try, just somewhere nearby with your hubby. makes you feel human again!

jtho
I also use NAN, but one day only feed him FM twice and EBM twice ..mostly I will latch on..bb poo is yellow mustard..he poo many many times...

irene
i still have 2 tubes. just worried if it will finish soon..where i should buy it again. i know TMC selling..but it's so far frm home..

i know tmc selling.. guardian also have i think but need to check with the pharmacy section.. its not put on the shelf i think

Had been MIA for a long time.
Just wanna share with u a method to clear off the blocked ducts which I have tried and it seems to work for me.
Get a hot/warm hard boiled egg with shell, covered with cloth and rub with some pressure on those ducts. They shld clear off!!
U may wanna try and hope it works for u mummies too..

these few days getting lazy to pump..usually i stop pumping when i reach 70-80ml in 10 mins..lazy to continue another 5 mins..so tired..
anyway, is ur bb always latch on both breasts?
my bb sometimes only latch on 1 breast and falls asleep..dunno whether to wake him up, burp him and make him latch the other side..mostly i just let him sleep...

today exactly my 14th day..MS can reach 70-90ml..is that good enough? u mummies seem to reach over 100ml already...my bb is still drinking 60-70ml

hi jtho,
thks so much for mdm rokiah's contact.

she has cleared my blocked ducts, and i bot the the hot stone for compression.

can i join in this thread?
my bb #2, a boy, born on 25th march 2009.
my #1, a girl , is 4yrs old.

currently, he is drinking at 90ml per feed on EMB only. no latching on cos he is too impatient!

everyday i m pumping to keep up to his feeding.

jtho - u probably nid more alone time w bb? soon u wil b able to handle no worries... initial period i did evrything for bb... my mum jus cook for me... my mum didnt even carry her til much later.. maybe becos i was monopolizing her all the time... hahaha... plus the crying... carrying... latching... from day 1 til now, i bathe her myself... its the fun time.. where i sing to her... wash her body arms n legs... splish splash... heehee it feels gd to handle her ba... anyway once i go back to work... will miss out a lot =( haiii...

pengaga - u cn try asking asura.. she tried it le.. i stil havent found it yet

miss83
u pump 10mins can reach 70-80ml, consider very good already. today i'm already 4 wks+ 1 day, i can only reach 70ml after 25mins of pumping.... *sigh*
and my bb is drinking at least 100ml each time...

hoho03
welcome. glad that mdm rokiah is of help to u. i'm waiting for her to tell me when she's coming for my 2nd session. need to get the hot stone from her also.

also, welcome to the thread

missycandy
ya, later will tell CL i want more time w bb. cos she left with 2 more weeks with me only

re: pengaga, will ask Asura later

okie la.. u all hit above 50.. my ms duno why dwindling le... =( maybe becos i really lack of sleep... nw down to 30mls per pump... both boobs okie! not 1! sad... anyway wil try whatever i can... jus express.. combine n feed... no choice...

missycandy - the more you want to pump, the lesser you will have...thats why i have stopped keeping check on the no. of ml expressed...stopped setting target, this pump must be 100ml or more etc..this way, not so stressful...

dont have dont have la..still can drink formula...anyway, how many of us drink breastmilk when we were young...i know i didnt..

moomoo - actually i dun reali bother abt the amt le.. i jus pump... then whatever i have jus store in the fridge... then combine together and feed baby... =) yalo.. have then have lo.. dun have dun have... but im lucky still have the little bit... better than none for my bb...

jtho - ooo... i asked my dad, he said malays cook it with their food.. dunno what ulam or what... then he said fry with belachan very nice... wahlao make me drool only... LOL.. becos Mdm Rokiah says jus fry with garlic & ikan bilis... Asura says its a bit tough... and im nt a veggie fan... but as long as there is sambal i can eat la.. hahahahha but i dun tink we can take too much chilli right if Bfing? =(

missycandy
ya, dun take too spicy if not ur bb will be very heaty
initially my dad scared it's some kind of vege that is not suitable for us. but now after reading about this leave, seems like it has many medicinal benefits.

<font color="aa00aa">jtho,
im using avent all the while n its quite gd, mayb u can try.

valentine,
i tink u asked the wrong person, i din mention anythin abt asura's method.

irene,
i tink ebm can store in fridge for 48hrs. freeze for 3mths.</font>

Kris
u mean Avent Bottom Balm?
i have also, but i thought that is for prevention only?
once nappy rash happens, need to use Desitin liao...
before it happens, i told CL to use the bottom balm, but she just damn stubborn, thinking she's the most experienced person on earth. now nappy rash so serious, then she say dunno why my bb skin so sensitive leh... so angry

jo - ive brought bb out few times.. becos need to go see PD... hee hee... faster go faster come back.. scared need to change nappy no where to change... jus nw brought her out becos went to order cakes n ang ku kueh for her full mth... lucky she slept thruout... if nt i panic... took bus there but nt very far la... came back took cab becos started to rain le... actually for drinking milk im nt worried becos i prepared the powder &amp; water... bring along.. its the changing diapers... dunno where i can put her dwn to change... thought i have the changing mat... if go to malls its okie.. but go market... or hdb areas... how huh...

i think the confinement food ive been eating becoming heaty for me leh... im starting to get sore throat le... then dry cough.. haii... dn my nose is starting to clog up... oh oh... plus lack of sleep contributing to me getting headaches on and off... =( i was so tired that this morning after bathing her ard 9, i passed her to my mum, passed her milk and i went to my room n knocked out totally! got up ard 12... hahahaa

moomooland
only if i can get Mrs Wong to come and talk to my stubborn CL

my next confinement, i will surely not get a traditional confinement nanny liao... just got to know TMC have confinement nanny service. more expensive but at least all are medically trained and know how to use latest gadgets. my CL doesn't know how to use my steriliser and bottle warmer... grrrrrrr

jtho/ misscandy,
Can PM me Mdm Rokiah's number also? I think I have blocked ducts too... My massage lady said is blocked ducts.. Tried to massage it but still got some parts very hard...

Misscandy
My CL is Aunt Karen. Her number is +60166045375.

hi mummies:
got treated by mdm rokiah ystdy but my ms still lingers at 50ml only tdy n its 19days after i delivered liao...but the thing is 2nd pump also 50ml...n both sides also... ystdy she also manage to create fountian effect on my boobs n say i have plenty of milk n no signs of engorgement just a little blocked... haiz... i really dun wana let bb drink fm n solely on bm...i do latch him twice a day but normally on 1 breast(30mins) n he'll fall asleep, only when he wakes up after i pull out the nipple, then i will latch him on the other side but only last 10-15mins...really envy those with so much milk...i took so many glass bottles but yet to use them cos i only manage to pump 50ml n give bb straightaway plus top up with 50ml fm...

pinkdemoness
jia you! i also like u... somemore i already past 4 weeks, MS still so low. each time i pump only 60-80ml. but i haven't give up. let's jia you together

i just told Asura that i'm waiting for the day when i can feed bb fully by latching on... if this day comes, i'll celebrate

jtho - i'm sure u will get to celebrate
jia you jia you
btw, u use bottle warmer? Is it useful? I am getting one as i thought it is v good for warming up milk fast before each feed. Which brand r u using?

pinkdemoness - i'm sure mdm rokiah says u have plenty of milk u will have plenty of milk...once she removes the blocked ducts u will do fine
i had a bad case of engorgement initially too, but after massaging, the holes become clearer and more milk will flow out...jia you

Re: Nappy Rash Cream
I bought the Drapolene cream but my CL says no good...tot it was recommended...she wanted us to buy the blue Desitin cream instead and now we r using that for every diaper change. I bought the Drapolene cream initially as i heard from Mrs Wong that Desitin may be a little too strong for babies. But anyway now we r using Desitin.

jtho
I'm sure tat day will come...just tell urself u can do it.... =P

Pinkdemoness
Just pump every 3 to4 hrly to tell your boobs you need the ss......i'm sure it'll increase slowly.....*jia you*

pinksorbet / Grace
thank you for the encouragement!

pinksorbet
i'm using Avent bottle warmer. it's not very fast compared to the traditional method of using hot water, but i just feel that it can make the milk more evenly warm. if using hot water, i dunno whether the milk is evenly warm or not.

how is everyone doing? long time din post.. seemed the topic now is mostly on breastfeeding.. i really envy those wif plentiful supply.. today my baby is 8 weeks old and i finally come to term that i belong to those with hardly/little supply... i tried everything.. motilum.. fenugreek.. organic mother's milk tea.. din work... so i resigned to my fate... anyway my mum said i grew up with S26 at one week old onwards and i am fine...

re:diaper cream

i had been using densitin but my galfren recommended A+D ... also from states.. and i find it very very good.. it won't leave white residue like densitin and even if u changed to a new diaper 4 hours later... u can see that the layer of cream is still there... it is very moisturising..ointment and clear in color...densitin is very thick...

for those mummies whose babies are colicky don't fret.. my baby's colic miraculously disappear after one month.. be patient..

<font color="aa00aa">jtho,
ur CL reli too much leh. i tot since desitin dun help, mayb can look at avent, diff skin got diff reaction. if all these dun help, c if organic nappy rash helps.

misscandy,
i oso over heaty at my last confinement, i drank less of the longan tea n drink some water, else body cant take it. its gd to nap, not so tired especially at nite.</font>

jtho, my CL and my gf says that the one in blue is better.. but the one i am using now is the purple original one.. thinking of switching to blue one after this one is used up.. alternatively, u may consider to apply calendula cream on ur bb butts.. tt's wat my sil do, but expensive to constantly apply calendula cream..

grace, ya lor.. need real hard work. btw, my boy also has mucus too.. he can't sleep well at night.. turn on aircon, he can't breathe well, but turn off aircon and on the fan, too warm for him..

sung, hahaha.. i hope i will get the same amt again.. I thinking of getting a hot stone from her too. but i can only wait till next wkend cos this wkend mdm rokiah is not available. wkday also cannot cos i alone with bb.. is it very troublesome to heat up the hot stone prior every pump?

valentine, ya.. no worry, think bb lacks of security now. things will definately get better after full month.

pinkdemoness, don't give up yet... let's work hard together. my boy is coming 7 wks already and I am still working hard on my MS, thou many a times, i wanted to just give in to FM.. let's motivate each other together!!!

hi mommies
managed to login for a while since my little monster is sleeping. My BB oso colicky last week, but better after seeing PD. But this week, we went back to see PD again he keeps sneezing. PD says he might have sensitive nose so have to take med again. Poor thing so small have to take med.

Breast milk SS
I can only managed to have time to express 2x a day each time is 80-120ml (both breasts) Dun really have time to pump regularly since have to look after my cranky and impatient BB.

Desitin cream
Been using the blue one since BB's home.

Now my problem is I cannot sleep when BB is sleeping. I cant sleep even when I'm very very tired. Now got really dark circles under my eyes, look cuter than a panda bear!! Dunno how long can i stand without sleep. I can only sleep in the morning when my MIL come over to help me look after BB and I have to drink DOM to help me sleep. No DOM cannot sleep too. Haiz... how how how??!!

im falling sick... sore throat.. and nose getting runny... jialat.. hopefully will go away... full mth is this friday wor... ahhh...

Kris - i dunno why day time i cnt nap leh... i tried but i keep tossing n turning in bed lor... haii...

jtho - im also waiting for the day i cn fully latch.. hahaha.. but its okie if it doesnt come... =)

btw, do u all clean ur nipples? with what???

Missycandy,
Do take care.....take naps whenever possible (altho it's easier said than done!!!) Actually jus lying down will oso be good!

Cleaning of nipples
If i'm not wrong, jus use plain warm water to clean it when bathing. Do not use soap!

Wintertime, Pinkdemoness &amp; all mummies,
We definitely will be able to do it for BF-ing.. =P

misscandy, I also can't nap, it's too hot!

I clean my nipples with cotton wool and water.

Nappy rash - I use the nappy cream everytime I change bb's diapers. Also using the blue desitin as highly recommended by my previous CL and frens.

MS- this afternoon my MS dropped to half. I think cos not enuf sleep and also impatient. I jus pumped while going thru the posts and told myself not to look at the pump and output. My MS went back to normal :p

Jtho
Do just continue to use Desitin to apply on your bb at every change of diaper. This morning I look at my bb's butt, the rash is still there (still raw) but much better than yesterday (coverage area is smaller liao).....

Bluebell,
I agree tat we shld not focus &amp; look at the ml when we are pumping. Yesterday evening, when i was trying to make bb sleep, I pumped in darkness and I easily got 150ml within 15mins (seldom get this amount with this timing). =P

missycandy,

Ya, i brought him to the PD too.. But I was thinking of shopping, lunch w frens eh.. haha.. dunno if he's strong enuff to go out. I don't want to b home 24 hrs, 7 days!

missycandy, just clean the nipple and areola with cotton ball and water can already.

minnie24, ask u ah, how u drink DOM when bf? I got many bottles and I heard drinking DOM is gd but dun dare to drink and can't find a suitable time to drink cuz latching bb on every 2.5-3hrly. How long does it take for DOM to be excreted out? How much to drink each time? Direct drinking or must dilute or add to food to cook? will "mabok" or not?

re: falling sick

my bb was hospitalised last week due to the flu &amp; cough ... had to do suction to remove all the mucus and i must say although v heartache but his condition has improved alot ... now waiting for the running nose to go off only

now its my turn to fall sick too ... having running nose so what i do now is that i mix my longan water withe water ... dilute the drink + drink more

re: diaper cream

i use desitin creamy all the way ... its really good =)

Seabreeze,
How come your bb needs to be hospitalised?
Having fever? My bb oso has the muscus sound but dun see runny nose (just administering with 2 types of nose drops)...&amp; hear him coughing once in a while. Wonder if the cough is bcos of the mucus.....