(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

hi alfaalfa....i have experienceing cray sleep patterns since my second tri its like a yo-yo. i sleep like 3-4 hours for few nights in a row. after that there another few nights is like good 7 hours and then back to sleeplessness again. guess. it is all part of the game.

Alfafa: 6/7 hrs of sleep quite gd le. Me been surviving on less than 5hrs sleep on avg a day for the last 3 wks. Insonmia. Either take me a few hrs to fall asleep or I wake up a few times a nite and can't get back to sleep. My gynae says normal, haha ask me to watch tv if can't sleep

heard tt eating durians do help in increasing bb's weight cos is very "bu"... hb urged me must eat at least once or twice b4 giving birth.. me only ate once for my #1 so dun noe whether true or not... maybe some mummies can try if they r concern w their bb's wt...

I just called SCBB, they said if the cord blood we donate is still avail, it will costs $2600 and if we use others' cord blood, it will costs $26k leh...any mummy can also share your findings to verify if they have increased prices?

alfafa,

Wah... u long time never log in and having monologue! try log in when we are ard, then we can chat..

Idaarshad

I have transferred the money to u already.... : )
And Mummies since i am pretty new to the post can i find out who are the mummies giving birh at KKH..
And I also remember that u guys have a table that updates all your EDD and etc can someone add me to the list too if possible...
My EDD is 30th march 2009, KKH, Dr Benjamin Tham, It is a princess.. and hmmm her name is gonna be Julia...

Strethmarks

I have been faithfully using elancyl.. But still got strethcmarks lei.. Think it is in my genes la and nothing can be done abt it.. Sighz..

Young Coconut

Read from the thread that some of you have started to drink it.. Is it good to drink it? What are the pros and cons ah?

Sanitary Napkins

Me got the sofy brand 40.5cm pads too ! Think that should be protective enough ba..

KKH
Any other mummies have given birth at KK before?
Me will be taking B1 and is there anything that I dun need to pack for the hospital bag?

Gingal
How is little Jerrlyn doing?

Afcai
HOw is your Prince doing
Hope all is fine for both of you !

May

Can i just check with you.. me went thru your hospital list.. The tummybinder you mentoned is it the one for c-sect delivery?

hi diana ! u will realise that during the weekends and nights, this thread is not that active... hee hee... most of the mummies come here during their <font size="-2">working hours</font>!!!! =X

anyway, welcome! hee... think its been awhile since the table has been updated... think Kome has the mastercopy =)

Dianajs,
I bought two.
Farlin one for normal delivery also can use. So that tummy will not be so flabby. If I am not wrong it is $39 and selling in Kiddy Palace.

Intend to invest on one OSIM slimming belt. Went to see that day. They have 2 different kinds. 1 for normal delivery which comes with magnets and help slimming cost $98. The other one is for c-sect, got more support at the back area and for slimming, cost $88.I intend to get the latter one.

misscandy
thank u.. will pm kome to see if she can add me in the list ba.. I see so most mummies come in during their working hours ah no wonder th thread seems so quiet and during weekdays the threads are so long that i take forever to read... hehe

May
Oh i see the tummy binder is for slimming effect ah.. I bought a tummy binder in one of the BP organized by one of the mummies... Dunno if that wlll work...

Weight gain
I envy all u mums for did not gain so much of weight.. Me in my 32 weeks now and to date is have gained a whooping 17kg !!!! Sighz..
I had to go for the GTT due to family history of diabetics and also my weight gain and thank god I dun have gestational diabetes..

Me cannot wait for my next doc's visit to find out if my princess has put on weight.. So worried abt that

It is such a nice feeling to post in this thread. Gives me an avenue to solve my doubts and mke me les kanchiong for the big day !

Dianajs,
I saw that binder BP. Was thinking of want to get or not. End up will choose these two lor.

I am in wk30 now gained 11kg. Hope to see my princess growing too. I want a big baby cos my 1st one is big. Last check up is Wk27 and she is only 1.1kg.

May

I see... Your first one is a gal too?
Heard from my galfrens that if it is a gal their weight would be normally lesser than boys...

Well just have to wait and see ba and continue eating haha.. I really dunno how I am gonna shed those kilos..

Asura, hee...tried my luck and really got someone at SCBB to answer my queries.

Afcai, just read the archive and your birth story. Wow, really drama, am glad for you that your delivery was quite smooth! Do take care of yourself so that you can take care of little afcai too. =)

Want to buy some dresses at ASOS. Any mummies keen, pls pm me for more details so that we can share delivery.

Exchange rate: 2.2509. Will be higher if credit card is charged higher. Closing at GBP100, hopefully by Mon 2 Feb. Distribution by normal/registered mail. Using International shipping. Accepting everything except huge bags/ jeans/ jackets/ shoes/disney/perfume

dianajs- i haven book cos still persuing my hubb for the shoot.... he say want to use for LBS when bb come out together...

:tummy binder
is it advisable to use tummy binder in the hospital ? hear that can only use at least 5 day onwards .. then if put at hospital is it difficult to BF?

siohchong,
I get the nurse to do it for me leh. They are quite helpful. The binder only goes up to near ur ribcage area. Or I should describe, below breasts area. So still can BF. If dun put, u will find walking around with flabby tummy.

Dianajs,

Welcome to our thread. The master copy is with Kome, remind her to update when u see her posting on monday..

If ur stretchmarks are still red, u might want to get the clarins SM cream and try. So far, those who have red SM, say the SM fades after applying the clarins one.

Update from my gynae visit yesterday..

I lost 800g and bb gained 350g. Gynae say bb's weight is still alright, absorbing from me though i am sick but i can afford to eat a bit more to let her gain more.. i guess.. i shall go bu when i recover bah.. now bu might end up prolonging the already very long spell of coughing. So in my gynae's records i have gained 12kg as at wk32 but if i use my own weighing scale only gain 11kg leh... humm... guess 1 kg not a very big deal bah.. hee..

Update from my gynae visit today..

Now at 34wk4days have gained a total of 17.55kg OMG!!!! Sighz... My baby princess her weight @ 2.5kg. Then my gynae asked me to cut down rice, bread, etc. Eat more veg &amp; fruits. After meal need to go walk walk. If not need to have c-sect delivery if the baby to big.

Hi all..
i've been missing for 2 weeks...went for holiday

hope u all doing well..
so afcai and gingal gave birth already?? woww...congratsss!!!
I am now going to 33rd week, will see gynae on tues..hope bb weight is fine..last visit was week 30, bb was 1.6kg

re: peanut
really?? we cant eat peanut?? I already eat alot...i love eating satay with peanut sauce..
but both me n hubby never have history of peanut allergy..so is it safe?

re: sofy
i bought laurier 35cm...so sofy is 40cm long...but is it convenient?

miss83,

how was ur holiday?
am sure ur bb is fine. I think peanut is ok, just not advisable for those with allergy history or skin problems. I avoid cos my husband got bad skin problem.

vivien,

i think i won't spend money on maternity wear at this time.. we are almost due liao and economy is do bad.. these are wants, not needs.. in addition.. its in GBP..

thanks for asking

afcai...wah so good u like no nid much effort to push yr bb out...hw i wish i can be like u...pray hard nw bb will be gd, dun let mummy suffer too long. =)

mummies..went appointment yest'd...aiyo..i've put on another 1.3kg within 2 weeks...reaching a total of 15kg soon...tink its due to CNY goodies ba..and poor bb din really gain alot...100g+ nia..bad mummy..at week 35+ bb weighs ard 2.4kg..still seeing gynae in 2 weeks time instead of 1 week wor..hmmm..

miss83..i bought mixture of 35 &amp;40.5cm de..to me i tink the longer the better...more protection... hee..

lenny, no problem.. actually i confess I'm buying normal clothes, not maternity ones, thinking of wearing them after delivery ;p Long time never go shopping, cannot resist..but it's true la, these are wants, not needs. If can resist, best not to buy. =)

Re: Peanut
Peanuts are high in proteins..it's good to eat but think if don't have skin allergy shld be ok..
I just had black sesame glutinous rice balls in peanut soup...I also like rojak with peanut =P
I also take Skippy Peanut butter spread..with the chocolate.. Sounds heaty hor I took since 2nd trim liao..So far i'm ok loh *touch wood* Drink lots of water..

Think if want baby to have the most nutrients and to gain weight, think right now we shld eat more meat, vegetables and fruits.. Carbo like rice and noodles.. it's mostly for our weight gain and not really for baby..I still eat rice and noodles but i'm cutting down liao and eat more of the high protein and calcium food to plump the baby up..

But no worries mummies.. Seriously, i feel that big sized babies doesn't mean they are healthy and vice versa for small sized.. The healthy range if i'm not wrong is about 2.6-3.2kg..??
Well according to the old aunties' sayings, bigger sized baby easier to take care.. I guess just do what you can to eat healthily (Frankly speaking, I find my diet getting quite boring liao.. sort of eating for the sake of eating like dat..used to snack alot and didnt eat proper meals but now no choice cant do that)

I was a 8-pounds baby close to 9-pounds.. Hmm from my experience, I always fall sick when I was younger leh.. don't think I'm that healthy loh

SG - me put on about the same as you, coming to 15kg..bb is bigger this time round, at wk35+, she's at 2.6kg, a good 800g increase from wk32. ya, will be seeing gynae in 2 weeks time...not many 2 weeks left...has your bb head turn down yet? mine has, its a relief i must say...

I was on <font color="ff0000">MC</font> for the past 3 days; dunno why stayed at home during CNY also can catch flu virus. This is the 2nd time during this pregnancy. So sickening...
really hope to recover asap.

asura
thanks..
my holiday was fun..went back to indonesia and bought alot of bb stuffs there..very cheap compared in sgp..can get bb clothes only for $1 or $2, bought some pampers too (less than $10 each..dunno in sgp how much)

re:shopping
i miss shopping nice clothes for myself too..
cant resist to buy one..but its not maternity clothes..i plan to wear it on my bb full month

idlecat
me too caught flu twice during pregnancy..
maybe our stamina is down when pregnant..hope u feel better soon
rest more and drink water

miss83
ya loh... dunno why whole day okay then out of sudden start to have running nose even when not feeling cold. Then become sore throat and cough. Worst is fever next. U take care too! must be in good health to deliver.

I have also been guilty of drinking soft drinks and cold icy drinks :p Esp after hot lunch, super shiok :p anyway, wanted to know if any mummies here know where to buy sterile milk powder disposable bags?

asura79

Thanks.. will try to pm KOME on Monday.. And will also go buy the clarins SM cream to try it out ...

Softdrinks

I am guilty of drinking coke too.. Whenever got the urge will try to curb it.. But in the end wil give up and take a sip of it and pass the rest to my hubby.. hehe

Brands chicken essence

One of my colleagues was telling me to take one chicken essence once a week.. Would keep the enrgy level up especially now that I am extremely tired due to sleepness nights.. Is it okie to consume the chicken essence.. Is it too heaty?

moomooland..hee at least yr bb is nw more than 2.5kg..haha..mine like poor thing onli gained 150g within 2wks coz i tot my bb wld also weigh ard 2.6kg. my hb says coz the mummy keeps eating unhealthy stuff...but seriously..my 3rd tri, i really gt no mood for proper meals..only feel like snacking + cold drinks &amp; dessert..maybe EDD nearer gets tensed up easily so eat something i like will make me happier. *full of excuses*..me just went for "kopi" session..haha..had brownie ice cream + chocolate milk + banana shake..but din manage to finish the brownie..too full liao. hee...

re: soft/cold drinks, think becoz lately weather is warm and our body heat increases..tats why we crave alot for cold drinks..super shiok. even plain water, i also leave my bottle in the fridge for awhile..and drink it cool..can helps to quench thirst and super refreshing. =)tink so long nt those super icy drinks shld be alrite ba.

SG..
ME too! Really eating for the sake of eating.. no mood sometimes i think of the next meal i sianz..
I think i'm eating chocolates almost daily.. "happy food"..
Nw 3rd trim I felt more tired than hungry..In fact really feel like just eat desserts and small bites after that nothing else..nw don't really eat like hungry ghost liao..haha..
Your "kopi" session sounds yummy..!

Must tell myself to persevere..Nw think of confinement and the food that comes along with it I wanna *sobz* boring food again...

Cheerios

meebaby...u also ah? i tot i into some kind of despression..hahaha need stuff like chocolate, dessert n cold stuffs to make myself happy. hee..at least nw i noe i'm normal. yah nw no mood for proper meals..infact nw is my hb who decides wats for lunch/dinner..coz i really have no cravings for meals..only noe i need nice cold drinks/ dessert after tat. =0 hopefully bb will be ok..

i heard during confinement, we'll gain weight de...coz if we bf we need "nutritious" food..dunnoe when we can slim down wor..sigh..but for the sake of bb...bor bian..after tat then slim down ba..see can at least bf for 4mths...

moomooland...forgot to reply u..yup my bb head's down since week 31..hopefully he won't anyhw shift liao..but last 2 check up can't see his face wor..sigh...

Re: bb "big" movement during 3rd tri...i got ask my gynae hw come bb movements getting rough..coz i tot 3rd tri..bb will move lesser due to space constraint. Gynae says coz bb is trying to shift his head down position..tats why trying to move wheneve he can. hee...hearing this, hw i wish i can help bb move..like poor thing so cramp inside still need to find his way "there". haha...

Yea its very depressing not to eat sinful food.. Esp I enjoy rich good food like chocolates and stuffs.. Yup, same here sometimes i need sinful food to make me feel happie too..*sign* I'm not a saint mummy haha..

Yah loh, confinement food that is "bu" = gain weight.. Boring confinement food plus gain weight is double whammy to depression..
And during bf, have to take the breastfeeding powdered milk like Annum etc also leh..
I'm going to so ban powdered milk for a LONG time after bf is over.. *shudders* Quite a torture to me drinking that for so long..

Cheerios

idlecat
hehe thanks alot for the link
im guilty now. coz i have drinking coke very regularly.... :x
i better get more bananas to eat.

SG...

Yah, sometimes the movements quite rough, was suprised thought more or less baby has constrained space aldy..
The baby must be feeling very annoying and "pek chek".. haha and somemore with that curl up acrobatic stunt in the waterbag.. haha think we'll have pins and needles doing that..

Cheerios

meebaby...i also drink powdered milk during 1st tri and i realised i gained weight very fast...so scary..so i stopped and i take low fat fresh milk instead..hopefully some confinement food we eat liao will increase milk supply than taking powdered milk wor..btw, my sis told me gt pills for more milk supply..dunno works ornot. =)

hee...yah dunnoe bb will be irritated or nt coz of space constraint and sometimes they "moving" really hurts wor..super huge stunts by them lor..hee..

queenie..i also gt craving for coke..but so far during cny haven drink any..no chance to haven any yet..but i do drink green tea. haha...

Re: banana...wah din noe banana gt so many denefits wor..