(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

meebaby,
In my prev preg, my gynae suggest to my hubby to 'work' harder (ie, sexual intercourse) to speed up the cervix dilation.. the semen has natural chemicals that can help soften the cervix and makes it dilate easier/faster. maybe you want to try? :p hee

Hi Mommies.

I am new to this forum. Been reading the messages for last few days, Looks like a very very active place.
My EDD is March 31st and will be at NUH.
Anyone delivering @ NUH?

I went for robinson's sale.. saw Avent has came out with BPA free milk bottles liao.. nt sure if any mummie mentioned here..
I bought one.. its $12 after discount..

Cheerios

welcome sangeeta

tsp.. the gynae told mee to minimise ML activities.. due to my placenta it is sort of on the huge side.. anyway the hubby not interested in my current figure.. i also no mood, all swollen..heehee..

Cheerios

Me have been following the thread whenever i do get the time too..

Afcai and Gingal congrats on the arrival of your little darlings..

Sangy
Your EDD 31st March ? Mine in 30th March and it is a princess..U?

Me now in 31 weeks 6 days.. My next gynae checkup would be 11 feb..
Will be popping at KKH.. Looks like most mummies are delivering in TMC ah

MooMooland: Ya, I try to go down and be the first few patients. Dr Adrian is usually there around 5.30pm.

Update on my gynae visit: VERY UPSET!
My lil cowboy only grew 240g and weigh 1.94kg only. His last weight was 1.7kg and that was 3 wks ago. The last 2 visits, he put on abt 0.5kg each time and I expected him to be abt 2.2kg this time. I was extremely sad and close to tears. My gynae says to monitor and see how the next visit in 2 wks' time. Sigh...must be mummy's fault, kept falling sick, appetite not very good and also not sleeping well. Now my EDD suddenly pushed back by 2 wks based on updated FL & AC...never before lor..at most +/- a few days. Really no mood now

may-,how was the photoshoot?
dianajs- u booked already? i just sign up my post natal massage with origins jamu and i got the discount 10% for studio loft packages... still thinking to keep for the LBS when my bb is born or should i go for bloom... cos my hubb dun like take photo le...

Idaarshad:
r the diapers samples tat u selling? how come comes in packs of 2 only? expiry? sorry cos wana be sure tat its ok for bb..no offence..tks
would like to get but can advise on the expiry?

sunshine - had course today. then dun wan waste take mc for only half day. so jus tahan lor. anyway boss ask me stay in office. so i slack lo. try to act busy la. but stil feel like wana sleep. LOLOL!

IDAARSHAD - i wld like to order too! 100pcs please! I stay sembawang leh. hmmm. Any other form of pick up instead of frm sengkang? a bit out =P *if nt able to arrange other form of collection nearer to me pls drop my order. thanks!

hi mummies - back from Sentosa. Was raining in the late afternoon. luckily still managed to jalan a bit. but during din time, tummy suddenly got pain. donno why. hopefully nothing wrong.

queenie - today i went amk xtra n saw they have the sofy 40.5cm one. but only 4 pc per pack @ $2.15 i think. I told my hb to take the pic so he knows which to buy when i need.

teddy - nothing to be upset. ur bb is still growing mah. they will grow more later one so no need worry. u mean EDD will be pushed back based on FL/AC? my gynae didn't say that leh

teddybaby: dont be sad...the other time on my wk30 bb was 1.6kg, then at wk 32, she was only 1.8kg...now at wk35 5 days, she is 2.6kg....dont be worried ok...based on the FL and AC, my EDD is also pushed back...but i think those are not very accurate figures...dont read too much into it...

bb head is finally down ;) hopefully she stays that way...

did ask gynae about vaginal infection, he said maybe its fungal infection, not to worry...

gave me some vitamins for finger joint pains, about $20+..spent $$ again...haiz

*sayang teddybaby*

hmm that makes me a bit worried. i weighed myself today and found that i dint put on any weight!!! i thought i did but i guess i lost it... =( jialat... hope it wldnt affect my bb's growth...

meebb
realli? avent BPA free bottle available in robinson? is the promo pack for avent bb bath + bottom balm still available? u went robinson 2day right?

jus someting i received in my email and to share from babycenter

Leaking breasts and Braxton-Hicks contractions

You may have noticed some leaking of colostrum, or "premilk," from your breasts lately. Some expectant moms experience this leaking, others don't. Either way, you can rest assured that your breasts are doing what they need to do to prepare for feeding your baby.
Have you noticed the muscles in your uterus tightening now and then? Many women feel these random contractions — called Braxton Hicks contractions — in the second half of pregnancy. Often lasting about 30 seconds, they're irregular, and at this point, they should be infrequent and painless. Frequent contractions, on the other hand — even those that don't hurt — may be a sign of preterm labor. Call your practitioner immediately if you have more than four contractions in an hour or any other signs of preterm labor: an increase in vaginal discharge or a change in the type of discharge (if it becomes watery, mucus-like, or bloody — even if it's pink or just tinged with blood); abdominal pain or menstrual-like cramping; an increase in pressure in the pelvic area; or low back pain, especially if you didn't have it before

Why are my breasts leaking?
Any fluid leaking from your breasts is a sign that your body is preparing to feed your baby. What you're seeing is colostrum, a yellowish fat-rich substance that will nourish your baby before your actual milk comes in a few days after birth. Your body starts producing colostrum in the last few months of pregnancy, and any leakage is a sign that things are right on track, says Katy Lebbing, a board-certified lactation consultant with La Leche League International. "If you don't have leakage, that's normal too," she says. "It's just your body's natural way of doing things."

missycandy,

I didn't put on any weight also from the last visit. My last visit was 3 weeks ago at 29 weeks, then this week at 32 weeks, weight was stagnant but bb put on 500g. So not to worry if you don't put on weight yourself but bb still growing well.

Thanks mummies. Guess its natural for mummies to feel guilty abt their little one. My hubby also say not to worry, at least BB is growing and active. I'll try to stuff myself with more food the next 2 wks, hopefully will plump him up.

Vernice: I've been reading the avg reading based on FL & AC, so if BB growth slowed, it will naturally affect the EDD. But I guess like what Moomooland says, its maybe not so accurate and best stick to original EDD ba.

Btw, Metro having 20% off selected Avent products and also some other BB products

Fairymoss: FL- femur length (thigh bone), AC - abdominal circumference.

moomooland: did u ask Dr Adrian to recommend a PD? Wonder if we specify PD for BB during birth, got extra charges vs TMC assigned ones?

missycandy: During my 2nd last visit, my wt also stagnant, but BB put on 0.5kg. Actually if my own wt don't increase but BB growing well, I happier!

Re breast leaking:
I realised some watery discharge from my nipple juz now. But they don't look like colostrum leh, cos like water. Any mummies experience this?

i dun exp the leaking boobies but i do exp the BH, painful and painless... increased pressure in pelvic area as well as lower back pain... but i think will wait til next wk appt with gynae ba.. i stil feel bb moving and squirming ard in tummy... so shld be okie ba...

sun - ya, the vitamins better work on my finger joint pains man...cant even open air tight containers these days....

teddybaby - nope, didnt ask Dr Adrian on PD. Heard theres 1 at Rivervale mall, and another one called Anthonys Baby Clinic in hougang near hougang plaza.

just went for my check up today in my week 31. i put on 700grams since week 28.. baby girl now weighs 1.7kg, 600gm heavier from her last check up..

my low lying placenta has moved up a bit.. now at middle left.. i am a bit relief to hear that but baby was head down in week 28, now she head up and butt down.

Gynae told me bb has got 5 more weeks to turn 180deg.. else will need to be prepared for c-sect.

Caught a glimpse of my bb's face thru 4D scan, she has chubby cheeks, broad nose, broad face and lips like my hubby.

we both have big eyes.. so she also have them..

she is not very copperative.. covering her half her face... and we tried to get her to move her hand.. she bo chup and continue sleeping.. kakaakak

we noticed that the pose that she sleeps with her hands.. exactly like hubby.. too bad hubby not there with me.. only my mum went and saw the video..

emailed the pic to my hubby.. he is overjoyed after seeing the pic.. kakak

now keeping my fingers crossed that bb will turn head down in the next 5 weeks till she is ready for the big dive.

teddy, the last time I visit gynae at 31 weeks, he told me the first time our EDD was told to us is the most accurate, not the later part leh.. Maybe you could check with your gynae again on the EDD part.

pinkdemoness.. should be samples... i will ask her if there is an expiry date.. no problems as i too want the best for our babies. will check the goods when i collect.. ok for u >

missy candy.. ok .. my hubby werks part time at yishun.. if u wanna collect frm there.. i ask him.. ok for u.. so now i put u in my list for 100 pcs.. any changes let me know..

as the mummy confirms.. these are not rejected goods only that her fren closing shop..

updated list ..

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Qtty….</TD><TD>Total Price </TD></TR><TR><TD>1..</TD><TD>Idaarshad</TD><TD>100</TD><TD>$25.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>2..</TD><TD>LovJ</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3..</TD><TD>Coralmarine</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4..</TD><TD>Marie Kwek</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5..</TD><TD>Pravina</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6..</TD><TD>Yvonne Yeo</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7..</TD><TD>Ciarie</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>8..</TD><TD>Pups</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9..</TD><TD>JamGal</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10..</TD><TD>P3pp3r</TD><TD>100</TD><TD>$25.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11..</TD><TD>Asura</TD><TD>100</TD><TD>$25.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12..</TD><TD>Tiny M</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13..</TD><TD>Dianajs</TD><TD>100</TD><TD>$25.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>14..</TD><TD>Yan</TD><TD>100</TD><TD>$25.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15..</TD><TD>Denizz</TD><TD>80</TD><TD>$20.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>16..</TD><TD>MissyCandy</TD><TD>100</TD><TD>$25.00</td></tr></table>

Jasmine, queenie, moomooland is right.. the cny promotion is better than the SBI rebate of $450.. tt's y i took up the cny promotion.. 2888 before total 100 bucks rebate (FBI 50 bucks and referral 50)
maybe u will do your cervical check next visit. i think y my gynae check for me cos she realised that my bb head is down and is very low near pelvic floor. tt's y she did a check on cervical to see if I m dilate or not.

Teddybb, don't be upset.. get urself back to healtth again and eat properly. your bb will grow well in no time..

lenny, so cutes.. can get to see ur bb's face features.. glad tt your placenta has moved up.. don't worry, u still have few wks to go, maybe next visit, bb's head will be down.

The last that I went for the doc's checkup was on the 18/01.... Baby Gal was only 1.368 kg.. My gynae said that although it is average weight still need to be monitored.. I just hope that she puts on weight during my next checkup.. Me so worried...

Idaarshad
Thank you for replying to my PM.. Will transfer the cash to u in the morning..

BH &amp; Leaking Breasts
So far my breasts have not been leaking.. I was thinking that it was not normal and began to massage them.. Stupid me ! Stopped doing it immediately after I read somewhere that it would cause preterm labour....

As for BH... Ya me have been experiencing too. It is weird feeling..haha .. Nature's way of getting us ready for the actual day i guess

Baby's Hicupps..
Last nite I felt them... It is so cute ! Told my hubby abt it and he was like how can baby have hicupps in the water filled placenta... thot i was pulling his leg. haha

pink demoness... since i got such a huge no of orders.. the person will send to my place as soon as i collect monies frm all mummies.. checked for for u..

expiry is march 2010 for the diapers.. let me know ok

IDAARSHAD - by when cn get the diapers? cos maybe my frn also want to get but she gave birth le... wld like to add on another 50pcs for my friend.

good nite diana...

missy candy.. will collect soonest already as i have quite a huge order.. once all mummies pay me the monies. he is delivering to me now.. since so much.. add on for u...

mummies can sms me at 81703429 as o werk ot till nite tmrw..

Sangeeta and Dianajs
welcome to our thread

vernice
thanks gal. tink i have to go other ntuc outlets in wdls to try my luck liaos.
even the minimart below my hse doesnt carry sofy brand at all.. pengz

teddy
ya don be too sad about it. meanwhile u juz keep urself healthy eat well slp well. and wait till the next antenatal visit?

moomooland
got vitamins to tackle finger joints pains one ah? aiyo.. why my gynae nv give it to me..
he told me is like tt one. . .

wintertime
thanks !

wow long time never come in. COngrats to Afcai! OMG so many premature births nowadays. I wonder if it has anything to do with our lifestyles and stress levels. In anycase, I am so happy for you. Congrats once again

Skimmed through the tyhreads and saw some queries on SCCB. Thought I'll share my experience. Just met the SCCB rep last sat at my gynae's clinic and threw alot alot of questions at her.

They don't collect from us for free and go around selling our bb's CB for profit lah. Not like this. They are a non-profit organisation, funded partly by the government. Not linked to the government though. Actually there is a high cost to collecting, testing and storage of CB ... so while they store these CB for free, non donors (e.g. as in non blood relatives of the said CB) will need to pay $25k to USE the CB. The money subsidizes the cost of maintaining the facilities for everyone else. Donors (e.g. your BB and blood relatives) can use it at a fee of $500, provided it is still available lah. Actually I can't rem if it is $500 exactly ... roughly a few hundred lah. Very forgetful these days so pls excuse me. She also told me that since SCCB started they have successfully assisted in I think 16 transplants, about half are overseas cases. NONE are for blood relatives let alone used by the donor him/herself. My figures are a bit fuzzy (really have lost half my brain cells since preggie) but the percentage is about there lah.

Basically the point she is making is, it is highly unlikely that your bb can use back his/her CB. More likely for siblings or for parents. It is not just SCCB that says this. Public banks and hospital groups from US, Canada and Europe also say the same. Don't know lah, like what one mommy pointed out, they (public vs pte) all have their own agendas.

E.g. say the child #2 need to find a match for transplant, then we need to tell the transplabnt physician that we have ever stored #1's CB before, whether in public or pte. Then the physician will access the records at the said bank. (Accessing is FOC lah, SCCB won't charge for that. Note if you donate to SCCB then there is a chance it might not be available anymore.) So if physician says whatever is stored is an excellent match of a certain grade (they have different grades one), then good for you. A transplant takes place and SCCB charges $500.

However, there is a high chance that even the sibling's CB is not a GOOD ENOUGH match. Physician might find a way better match through local/ global public banks. Then of course, physician will recommend using the better one (lower risk of rejection). If found through SCCB, you need to pay $25k to use that CB.

hope this helps.

Me now 35week 3rd day. Just finished a McDonald Hot Fudge Sundae. Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

actually I'm really fuzzy on the nos. Wanted to come in and post on last sat itself after the visit but never got around to it. So pls take the actual no quoted with a pinch of salt e.g. can't rem exactly how many hundreds of dollars, think it's $500. Also agar agar recall 16 cases done so far. the salient points stay correct though. Blood relatives meaning immediate family.

If other mommies can rem their meetings with the SCCB rep, pls share.

Actually my gynae says it is good that I donate. He has two nieces that gave birth in recent years. One donated, one pte banked. He himself though, would have pte banked.

Really to each his own. Pte banking is also a good idea, that's why hubby and I were in a dilemna for some time, esp since you can pay with your CDA account. But in the end we decided that rather than pay so much money to safeguard so little, we might as well use the money to buy better insurance coverage i.e. cover more and heavier.

Oh yah, she did pre-warn me that SCCB is extremely strict in CB collection. Must meet very stringent criteria. She explained the medical reasons behind them .... understood the reasons there and then but now for th elife of me just cannot rem. My brain cells got replaced by ice cream mash. :p

So it;s true they end up throwing away a fair bit. They throw because they find the CB not good enough for use anyway so no point wasting tax payers money to store (note, they are not directly linked to govt but they are partly funded by govt). If you are not comfortable with this then beter go pte. Actually my hubby likes it. He says at least they are strict, cos he reckons pte banks will of course give maximum allowance since it wants to profit from your storage. Whereas a public bank is less biased since it is not out to profit from you.

siohchong/dianajs,
I haven't book leh. Going to call tmr. Not sure if they open on sun for photoshot or not. Was hoping to get 15 or 22 Feb.

RE: Donate Cordblood
I dun intend to store but hope can donate to save other pple's life. How do I go forward to do it ah?

RE: Hospital List
Here's my list, but for your info, I am 2nd time mummy, having c-sect at TMC. So some items are not included in my list.

mime_msexcel.gif

Hospital and Shopping List 2009.xls (32.8 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Teddybaby,
don't be sad. Most important is that BB is healthy
Doesn't matter how big or small your BB is at birth as long as he/she is within healthy range i..e from 2.6kg and onwards. After that the genes take over. My fren gave birth at 39th weeks to a 2.6kg baby girl. Less than 2 months later she is 5.4kg! So don't worry too much about the weight ok?

Update:
last sat was my 34.5 week and baby girl's weight was 2341gram. It has been a week since and I'm guessing she should be roughly 2500+. that means I am ok to give birth from nexy week already. In fact, my elder sis gave birth to her 1st &amp; 3rd child in her 36th week. I am secretly hoping to give birth early too. heh hehe

Any moms who had already been through C-secs? Can share the recovery experience? i.e. is it very painful? I had three moms who told me they had hardly any pain post delivery. So tempted to take this easy way out. Am slowly but surely panicking now as the date draws near. The thought of baby coming out from my vaginal makes me wants to faint.

Re: baby hiccups.
Yah I get it a lot. Hahaha very cute. I didn't know that means BB is learning to breath. How lovely a thought.

Re: breasts leakage.
Mine don't leak per se but I notice when I gently squeeze my nipples and aerolas a clear liquid comes out, sometimes whitish. One side is much more ready than the other so I was a bit concerned that my supply might be unbalanced. Thank goodness after I cleaned (got rid of the flaky white stuff) the "less productive" nipple, it is now also oozing colosrum readily. Very happy about it. Have been telling baby she will have food when she comes out.

Re: hubby and bb movement.
hubby missed most of my bb's movements too but then my baby moves sooooooooooooooooo much that even though he missed most he still managed to witnessed several of her acrobatic movements. She also respond well to daddy's voice. Can tell that my hubby is really pleased to be able to rouse her to play.

Re: nursing bras. I bought two cheapo non underwired ones at a neighbourhood store for $13.90 each. Free cup size, only have chest size. But ok leh. Fit comfortably plus still can accomodate breast pads. Also bought a cheapo front bottom down dress type of PJ for $12.90. In hindsight I should not have bought it cos my sis just passed me 3 sets. Alamak. Any mommies want to buy the one I just bought (brand new with tags) at $10 pls pm me.

May,
give SCCB a call. They will do a quick phone check with you first, then at around 32 weeks they call you back to arrange a face to face meeting. Can be at anywhere e.g. mine was at 34 weeks at my gynae's clinic itself. There they will take about 45mins to go through details with you and hubby. They will also pass you the form &amp; tags that you need to give to the delivery ward nurses at the point of delivery. You can still back out at any point, right up to delivery day.

http://www.scbb.com.sg/

it's scbb not sccb. paiseh I kept calling them sccb

actually I was 50-50 towards pte and public for all thesaid reasons. But what tilted the balance was $$ issue. If it isn't because I got pregnant during my resignation notice period (wanted to take a short break to conceive, who knows God bless me much earlier than expected), and hence bo bian, became an accidental SAHMTB, I might just choose to go pte since a few thousand dollars is not much to me at that time. Suddenly lost 60% of household income is no joke. Now even spending extra tens of dollars I need to think thrice. :p

Both have its merits.

wow gingal,
your little jerlynn is really pretty. Her eyes are like black pearls. Stunning! Can't wait to see Afcai's pics too.

Rats, think I wolfed down the Mc Hot fudge ice cream sundae too quickly. Now feeling a bit sick.

Can't sleep either. Any mommies find that they are getting by with very little sleep? I have been sleeping about 6/7 hrs everyday since mid way 2nd trimester. Only once in a while do I get 8 or 9 hours sleep. aiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

so far no Stretchmarks .... crossing my fingers. Hope never to see them! Put on 13kg to date, 35week 3 days. Maybe even 13.5kg :p

it;s all because of the stupid CNY.

aiyaya I'm awake I;m having a monologue by myself. Tragic.

I'll go check out the BP &amp; for sale threads

pinkdemoness
wha.. so late u haven slp ah..

alfafa
thanks for the clarifications about scbb.. at least nw i noe is not 25k for donors..

in e middle of the night u got sundae hot fudge? yummy... my slping pattern is different each week. somedays i only get 2-4hrs slp. somedays i slp thru out like over 12hours. lols.
BP not much sales leh.. very boring

morning mummies
woke up early like any other working days, and can't get back to sleep again. now doing babyplus.

sangy
i will be delivering in NUH. my EDD is 24 March.

Sorry to interrupt mtbs/mummies..

i bought a obuba nursing wrap www.obuba.com
before CNY, but baby dont like to be covered when bf, thus decided to sell it. used only twice in the car...bought at $37 selling at $28 self collect at sembawang...if posting need to top up $2 wait for a week.

then also giving away my confinement warming shampoo and body wash that bought from littledreamers...used less than 5 times, still got alot. self collect at sembawang pls.

Please PM me if interested.

hi mummies jus wondering.. what does it mean by set of baby clothes? what does a set consist of? am trying to pack hospital bag...

IDAARSHAD - so if we transfer to you nw by next week can get the diapers?