(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

alfafa.. that is a brilliant idea. great since you can afford

for my boy's first birthday i'll stick to a toy car.

blurgal.. poor thing! make sure you ask MIL to observe him. as long as he is playing normally, all should be find. my boy also always knock knock knock. as mummies our heart hurt more than their heads

seabreaze.. same thing happened with my boy too. pillows are no longer sufficient to keep them safe. tempted to sleep on the floor - no more falls =P

Re Lunch at Vivo.. can I + baby join in? me on leave :D

reverie.. congratz! i'm at city sq every other day wahahaa. erhmm okie who should i be cheering for? i dun think i have u on facebook

teddybaby.. my answer is : leashes. i leash his biscuit, toys, even tissue paper. as for small foods for pinching, that i just let him throw till there is no more and pick up.

Cindy,
i already sms u the details last night!

mangogal,
regarding the food in IFC, so far so good for oli leh... in the morning, babies will be given cereal for breakfast. for lunch, they will have salmon, chicken or ikan bilis with potato or carrot in porridge. the rest of the days, will still be milk.

there was only 1 week when i told them not to give him chicken due to his phelgm.

IFC
i send oli to Agape Little Uni at NTU Alumni Club (next to Biopolis).

alfafa
ya, mine is also a singer sewing machine

missycandy
go go go buy buy buy... hahaha
we got it in Courts Tampines, at only $199, usual price $499

now i'm thinking wat to get for hb... an espresso machine or GPS system? or both? cos he bought me a ring and a sewing machine

blurgal
he should be fine... my boy fell down a few times, though not very serious, cos he fell while sitting, means leaned backward and fell... i was always worried and will quickly give him water then monitor, make sure he doesn't throw up or have fever after that... and that few incidents always ended up with me not able to sleep through the night

Fireangel, how is ur boy now? hope he gets well soon..

seabreeze & blurgal, my boy also feel down from yaolan& bed.When he is 5mths the yaolan spoilt n he feel down knock his head.i saw big baluku but MIL keep saying she cant see and no problem one. baby Jo feel down in the late morning but when i reach home only she tell me. after 3days the baluku gets bigger & darker..very worried n ask MIL to bring him to normal PD cos I cant take leave. the PD say must go KKH for scanning. then they scanned and found a small fracture line at the baluku area..hb called me & i was so worried..tears automatically drop down from the eyes..then being admitted to KKH 2days for observation..

2nd time he feel down from bed when i wan to change his diapers. i turn my body to the left side to take his diapers & wet tissue and just tat seconds he sit up from the bed and fall down..cry out so loudly..make me feel so guilty..

Carters warehouse sales, will be going with colleagues on Friday after lunch time! heard that Isetan have closed sales for members??

Mummies, can teach me how to prepare porridge with chicken/pork? i tried to cook the chicken with porridge and pumpkin..but i found the porridge tasteless..and chicken is rough too..i don think my bb will chew..he only swallow..so how??

jo's mummy
wat i normally do is boil the meat in water first, then blend it really fine... for the root vegetable such as pumpkin, squash, carrots or potatoes, i will steam them first, then blend also. for green veg such as spinach, i will just chop them real fine.
for porridge, i will first soak the rice in water for at least 1 hour before cooking, then will use veg stock (which i normally prepare in bulk and put in freezer), and boil with the rice.
when it's boiling, the meat and veg will be added in and continue boiling for at least 1 hour before giving to baby... sometimes i even boil for 2 hours cos i'm using a slow cooker.

Jtho.. oh good to know Oli is doing good at ifc. i'm considering agape at kallang. planning to visit them next week - check out the place n the people

jo's mummy.. my goodness got fracture! so how now? heal already?

re isetan sales : friday is closed sales for members. open at 8:30. i took leave liao so all ready to shop wahahaha

donroxx
ya, go check it out first... i remember we went to the place at least 3 times before we decided to leave Oli there

wah, so lucky, can take leave to go shopping... i wish so too but i took leave tmr to go carter's sale :p

jtho, wow..tat is a hearty meal..ur LO is real lucky..i hav no time to do it..i only hav time during the weekends..cos baby Jo is really light sleeper..and he take short naps..he cant sit n play alone..he always wanted ppl to accompany him at the living room..so i find it rather diff to do other things..headache =(

so normally how many types of vege u add in the porridge? i only add 1 type of vege with some wolfberry and either fish o chicken meat...i also cook with slow cooker..my MIL say cannot mix too many types of vege in the porridge wor..is it true? althou i bought broccoli,pumpkin & sweet potato for her..

another thing to note regarding sending babies to IFC... the vice principal did honestly tell me that babies will tend to fall sick during the first 3 - 4 mths, but after that, they are actually stronger...
i couldn't afford to be skeptical about her words cos i simply had no choice... but so far, oli was ill during the first 2 - 3 weeks due to a prior illness (viral infection) that started in oct... just hoping that he will be fine from now on...

jo's mummy
not true that my baby is real lucky cos like you, i can only cook for him on weekends... he's in the IFC during weekdays...

i normally put 1 meat with 1 veg in the porridge, sometimes i do add 1 more veg but will mix 1 green and 1 root with the meat... i tried to give him pork + squash + spinach, and it's quite delicious

dunno whether is it true that cannot put too much vege in the porridge... never hear that b4

hey donroxx, me too take leave on Friday(half day) to go Carter's sales then proceed to Isetan at Tampines for the sales..kekeke..

for the fracture, the doc say is just a fine line..will auto heal back to its original when he is growing..and he don advise to scan as it is not good since he is just 5mths tat time..now is doing well..already inform MIL to observe her n call me if she finds baby Jo has fever or vomitting..

i find it a routine for me to always ask the same question to my MIL when i reach home. I will ask her wat time is baby's last feeding & last nap..did baby pass motion today?sometimes feel paiseh to ask also..like keep checking..i ask abt the last feeding so tat i can count how many hrs each feed..my MIL always feed baby every 3hrs althou i told her to drag 3.5hrs or 4hrs..bcos now we increase his milk to 180ml.

ya, i find my boy don like to watch cartoons..he is only interested with the advertisement..i really envy those mummies whose LO can watch cartoons/TV..at least sth to keep him sit still..mine cannot sit still for even a moment..

jo's mummy
oli also needs a lot of attention... but since he attended IFC, at times he still can play on his own... so wat we do is bought the 100 balls from toys r us and throw into the playpen to entertain him...

jtho,a mummy of 4 advise me to give bb codfish+pumpkin so tat he will not easily fall sick..

for spinach, i havnt try..but how much to buy?how long can keep the spinach? can buy from ntuc?

talking abt playpen..my boy is relly notti, he now wan to climb out of the playpen.he will hold the playpen with support of the arms(hang on the side) and step on the wall of the playpen. really worry he might fell out of the playpen!!

jo's mummy
yes, codfish is good for baby
i've also given him codfish already.

for spinach, it's advisable to get organic ones... i don't know if you can get from NTUC, i normally get from four seasons market in great world city. i will buy 1 bunch, and just give him the leaves. normally we adult will finish the remainder cos he will not be able to finish all the spinach and i dun keep the spinach for more than a week, and i dun cook it first for freezing. i give fresh spinach.

my boy is also attempting to climb out of playpen nowadays... but of course he is not able to. dun think he will fall out of the playpen, but do keep an eye.

Jtho.. if i can find someone to look after baby, you will see me at carter's sale too. but that seems unlikely at the moment =/

Jo's mummy.. is there a any reason why cannot put too many veg into porridge? i been putting lots of stuff - carrot, peas, pumpkin, apple, spinach, broccoli, etc. spinach (eng chai) i usually keep 4-5days or throw once the leaves look sad.

re cartoons.. my boy only watch tv when there is singing and dancing. other times dashing around in his walker. looking for ways to keep him occupied too.

sorry to intrude.
have a good lobang here. need to confirm fast. please pm/sms 90011 110 me if interested.

rainbow hydrocleaner E2 (latest model)
usual price $3424 now $2800
only 3 sets available
8 yrs warranty and full accessories with receipt
there will be 1 person to give 1 hr demo - teach u & yr maid.
$30 per lesson if u forgot in future

it is very good vacuum cleaner. can effectively clean the bed/bolster/floors/cars. able to vacuum the mites n dust very effectively. good investment if you have kids at home and worry abt their health.

please see this link for ppl's comments.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=next&topic=353635&page=664820

donroxx, im not sure if can mix so many vege o not..lets ask other mummies ard...normall we buy dinner or eat outside, MIL alone take care baby so no time to cook..me when reach home bath for baby already 7.15pm..so too late to cook..tired also after whole day of work..tats y don buy too many vege..if not wasted if throw away..

blurgal
ordered before for my dad's bday...
my friend just ordered for her daughter's 2nd bday...
not bad, cos the cake is not too sweet

blurgal, my SIL bought me cakes from ecreative for wedding..but i found it not nice..so many creams and its not cheap..

i would recommend Pine Garden. Their cake is nice and price is ok.

btw, if you guys interested, i have another one place to order cake, and the chocolate mousse is really nice... (to be honest, this is a venture by my nephew and his gf)... but really really honest, the chocolate mousse cake is very nice

can check them out at http://www.adapt.com.sg/

frankly I dun find ecreative v v good ... would prefer pine garden taste over ecreative.

if you are looking for design ... then i would recommend http://auntyyochana.blogspot.com/ ... her designs are very nice and customised to your requirement. Taste is ok lar not horrible ... average cake but v v pretty

jo's mummu & donroxx

thanks for your concern. he's much the same but temperature is a little more down today - so far hadn't needed to give him anything for that since last night. am keeping my fingers crossed he can finally be dropped off tomorrow if his temperature continues to be under control!

blurgal, I had ecreative for my #1 first bday and I think its so so only. His second bday I ordered from aunty yochana, the one sea breeze mentioned and I say its so so so much better. I love the cake! So for Trishelle first bday, I will get from her again Most likely, or might try aimummy.

alfafa,
U can consider Bintan for short getaway.

RE 1 yr old bday
Wowowow so many mummies already plan for their lil ones..think i better start planning too!

I have an unopen friso 900g to let go. Exp date oct 2010. $20. Collect at marine parade. If no one interested, i'll hav to throw away in the end..bgt it but baby still prefer old milk.

Missy..
can you send me the link on the Ribbons BP? thinking of making some leashes for Bree's toys that she kept throwing them off when she is on her high chair at restaurants / cafes..

Donroxx..
i saw your post about making toy leashes.. any advice on where can i get the little "machine" to punch in snap buttons?

Alfalfa..
on Tuesday to inya's palce i am ok.. actually will be good for me to know who are the SAHM in our thread that don't mind venturing to the west, hehee...

If the weather does not allow us to swim.. just a good cathc up session will be good too ya?

Re: buying blue chip for bb's first yr and each yr till she comes of age..

THAT IS A VERY, VERY GOOD IDEA** oh man.. really take my hat off u!. only u can come out with such ideas.. will talk to hubby and if we can do that.. hehe..

Inya,
Many thanks for the invitation... I need your advice on the recipe of Korean Cinammon tea.. bought the ingredients but haven't got to try preapring it yet.. kekek.. might as well consult you before i waste all the ingredients.. *wink*

Seabreeze..
Lunch at Vivo City on Monday, 21 Dec.. I am ok.. will bring Bree along. might have to try feed her lunch.. haiz.. mommies who are there..might have to see how she cry for murder when i feed her.. *paiseh*.. be prepared.. i might just dig a hole and hide myself

Mommies
Re: first yr celebration,

Most likely we will opt to have a quiet one.. just the three of us (me, hubby and bree)

haven't decide where to bring her.,. i am itching for Bali so i can source for artifacts for my home while hubby is considering korea.. where she is made.. er.. more meaningful? kekeke

Promeganante..

Wah.. LONG LONG TIME NO HEAR FROM YOU WOR... heheehe

hope you are keeping fine.. thanks for your feedback on feeding solids..

kinda giving myself a break now.. have been stressed over Bree due to her rejection on solids..

Missy..
i have not think of rice.. is it ok? cos bree only have 2 incisors emerging out of her lower jaw.. its not fully out yet though.. i am afraid that she will choke.. i tried giving her a small piece of honeymelon.. the very soft one.. she choked and vomited her feed.. scare the daylights out of me..

**Slap myself for giving her that cube and realised that honeymelon can only give after 12mths old**

Hi blurjen,

great to see u here.. i think bb Nicole is thriving well ya.. seen her pics on FB..

she is really adorable.. hehe.. i remembered her whe we went for the "supposed" trial.. kekeke

but at least she will still take fruits and cereal sometimes.. My Bree.. Haiz.. and sh eis very petite now..

Blurgal.

my Bree also fall off my bed 2 days ago while i was trying to put on my contact lenses..

i am monitoring her now.. no bumps on her head and her body does not have any swelling.. i am kinda worried..

so far.. she is ok.. still blabbering alot.. these few days, she is always sleepy.. though no vomit or chocking when drinking water..

i don't know if its cos her nap been disturbed by phonecalls from hometown for my mom about my grandparents' situation..

will monitor her again.. i am really worried too

lenny, when it's time for her, i'm sure bree will cooperate. trishelle is also very petite. in fact, she is even smaller than Bree and she's older than her by more than a month! hehe!! if you still want to try, u can try codfish porridge, that's the ONLY porridge tris eats, other than the pigeon porridge (while i don't advocate that, it truly helps her to know that there is appetising food around, so she won't fear what's going into her tiny mouth).

It's a pity i can't join you in any of your activities next wk though i stay in the west and it's school hols for me now, cause my #1's having a holiday break from school for 10 days! goodness, already shuddering at the thought of him wrecking havoc at home and communicating in his non-understandable language.

hello hello mummies, long time no chat!

New job has been fun but busy! I still haven't gotten over feeling 'cheated' as I was told during interview that December is quiet period. But the fact is I am busy to the point that I normally eat lunch at my desk. It's a nice kind of busy though :p

Just browsed through last 3 pages of archives and wow lots happening! Miss being SAHM when I can meet up almost any day. But do organise a few on Wednesday so I can join in!

alfafa, such a lovely idea to bake!! by the way, any idea what happened to the rest of the fabric I passed to you? After rekindling my passion for crafting, I might need them in Jan. Made a scrapbook for my mum for Chrissy and wrapped some pressies with festive fabric. Small start but am excited already wheeee....

Am off to France (again) on 20th so if I don't come in again, MERRY CHRISTMAS and HAPPY NEW YEAR to all gorgeous March mummies!

Fireangel.. good to know your boy is doing well. hope he will be back to his normal self soon

RE baby first bday cake..
i booked the lady who did my wedding cake already. now wondering what theme the cake should be. hmmm..

Lenny.. are you referring to the metal fasteners? i found them at spot light. they sell this thing that looks like fat pilers that you can use to secure the fasteners. alternatively they sell fasteners with the T shape metal thing and you use a hammer to whack whack whack. i'm doing the hammer method and it takes some practice to get it nice n straight.

donroxx, me too wondering wat theme for the cake as Jo don watch TV or cartoons..

blurgal,Pine Garden's cake is really nice..mayb u can try to buy a few slice cake and try which flavour u like.i would love their lychee flavour..

pumpkinseed, Merry Christmas & Happy New Yr to you too...enjoy your holiday back to France..

Lenny, if u wan to give Bree fruits, u can use spoon to shave the fruit so tat i will be a small thin layer of fruit instead of cube..everyday i will give Jo apple..we will share 1 apple and he enjoy chewing the apple with his lower 2teeth..i will show him how to chew and he will imitate..

Lunch at Vivo:
I might be able to join in for the lunch. Hee hee cos my office nearby. Let me know the time n venue, ok?

Lenny, hee hee dun worry la, my bb also scream when i feed her thats y i always dun dare to bring her out n feed her. I normally feed her at home then in the end i got so little time to bring her out. sian.....

Re: Birthday Cake
I already engage aunty yochana to do my cake hee hee i v kiasu cos scare cant find a good one.

jo,
Porridge, I just use the soft bone from pork use slow cooker cook for 2 hrs with those so call Xin mi (New rice) add in vege, pumkin, potato when porridge turn soft. Before his meal than steam the threadfin fish with a slice of ginger to remove whatever fishy smell, mush the fish and add into his porridge. I will add a bit of chicken mamai. My boy love it. Now he taking twice porridge a day. He can take 3/4 bowl sometimes can almost finish a bowl with 2-3 spoon left, he will show sign that he got enough and don't want anymore if he is full.