(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

ag_gal:
my hb luvs japan, we planning to go again soon! fukuoka again some more...

hmm, my hb is e 1 who sourced leh... u may wanna google japanese guest houses, but warning - can be quite ex! or try googling for other websites tat help u book onsens too...

AG:
Onsen - yeah there are indoor/outdoor onsens. Got family (can lock door)/public - same/mix gender baths. got super hot onsen, or warm onsen. dun go in on empty stomach. best 1hr after food. else you might feel faint. City area not sure if got onsen or not, cos we went onsen in Beppu and Yufuin only.

Accom - You can try this website. http://onpara.jp/app/onpara/quickSearch/?area=OA0501
Or ask mr Google using keywords like "ryokan" or "onsen"? Think it would be a nice experience to stay in ryokan and sleep on tatami (japanese bed)!

Info - U can try check out these websites too ...
http://www.japaneseguesthouses.com/db/fukuoka/
http://www.jnto.go.jp
http://www.fukuoka-tourism.net/e/hotspring.html

Sheepish:
Now I feel like going back kyushu instead. hahaha!

lonerunner,

u are going in late october right? im not too sure..actually can take anytime but the only problem is IF the vaccine she takes gives her flu symptoms, then worry that she might not recover in time for the holiday. its better that you check with your pd to see if the type of flu vaccine that he/she administers will give flu symptoms or not

the simz,

i totally share your sentiments ....going back to singapore is also a holiday for me because i get to visit relatives and friends, eat and actually tour around the attractions...in fact when i left, singapore flyer was not even completed...the past few times when i visited, i didnt have time to visit the new places. i still have lots to catch up when i go back :p

lonerunner, I just brought jovan to PD for his 5in1 jab last week and PD told me minimum is 1 week before u fly. he recommended 2 weeks prior. as sandy said, its better to take early as they may have flu symptons...so u better go soon.I still cant decide if i wanna give him this.

thanks lonerunner, as usual you are so resourceful

sheepish so far jovan got no history to poo in water but I cannot guarantee haha. I am just staying 5 nites so will see how it goes. funny hor, just 5 nites, i am so worried.

<font size="+2">Greetings from Fotographilia!

We are having a promotion for weekday studio sessions from Monday to Thursday, 10am to 8pm, at $180 for 20 soft copies edited and printable to S8R size!

Do call us soon for a booking soon!

Visit us at www.fotographilia.com

Promotion is valid till 15th of November!!!

lonerunner:
wah, u are gd lah! so resourceful... but e 1st link is in japanese, u understand ah?

haha, it's always nice to go japan! :p

ag_gal:
think definitely will feel apprehensive wan... esp if jovan is like my gal, very used to being in her comfort zone... us oso, having to deal wif tu fa zhuang kuang...

anyway, does jovan have a favourite soft toy or security blanket? dunno if u wanna bring it along if he has... we brought her piglet and cow along and she was very attached to them thruout e trip... every day, she was doing headcount... papa, mama, pig pig, moo moo... papa, mama, pig pig, moo moo... if 1 was not ard, she kept repeating and repeating... then when we got back, she refused to go to bed without them... but they were so dirty, so we had to wash them... and she cried and cried... hmm, so if dun have oso gd lah...

hi hi everyone, it has been a long while since i've posted.

have been taking a good rest for my recovery.

wah... everyone talking abt japan and trips!
i'm just planning for a short one...

haha... han also does the same, papa, mama, gong, ah ma, han, etc. see my facebook on the 'still got who' game... hehe

haha so cute the little one doing headcount for u all..

me so excited.. noel finally got a place in the CC near my place.. class start on mid oct.. so wad i need to prepare for noel school... any advise..

actually reluctant to send noel go sch.. but wan to send my maid back liao.. and me going to have my #2 next year.. if send next year i afriad he will think mummy got meimei/didi liao dun wan me... so send now will be beter.. pray that noel will like the school..

mrs lim: super congrats! must let us know is meimei or didi. envy!!! :p

for what to bring to CC check with the school. different school have different arrangements.

u're not continuing to engage maid?

Started my gal at her weekend montessori playgroup this morning. half of her classmates today are newcomers too. and as usual lah, the newcomers would wonder around in their own world instead of listening to teachers and the kids whom have been there for sometime tend to listen to teacher and do their own work on the mat.

Being the 1st time to a montessori environment, I was totally lost when teacher handed the inspector 3 jars and told us to work on it, and to put it back to where it came from after finishing with it. one has got big red beans inside. the other 2 are empty. after asking the teacher, I realised that it is actually to train a child's hand-eye alignment cos we have to pour the beans from a jar to another without spilling anyout.

Needless to say, after some successful pours, this inspector started inspecting the room, touching this and that until she came across a puzzle with removable pieces that come in diff sizes/shape. she has to place each of the shape back to their original location. To my surprise, she actually worked on it for quite a long long while like 5min+! Her usual attention span is like from a few sec to 2min type so it's actually an accomplishment to me! The teacher explained that in montessori concept, they believed that by giving a child something that they have interest on, they would work longer and longer on it as the time passes. This in turn will help to develop focus and concentration span. Wah, if this concept really works for this inspector ah, I will be extremely thankful to montessori forever man!

Anyway lets see how things go. After all, it is only the 1st lesson today!

mrslim:
Congrats on ur #2!
school - think maybe you wan to check with school on the checklist items to bring? schools usually has a ready checklist. like bring mattress sheet on monday and bring home on friday. then in the school bag, bring 1 towel, 1-2 clean change of clothes, water bottle, sunblock lotion, swim wear, milk, lunch box (if prefer to bring food from home during the initial few days) etc. these items are usually brought home at end of day, and put separately away from clean clothes. if got any special requirements/ instructions/ allegies to include in the communication book in writing.

sandy:
hey thx for ur recommandations! think I'll just call up PD sees wat he recommands! Thanks!!

ag:
enjoy ur trip! I just packed 2 big packs of diapers for my gal on a calculation of 6 diapers per day. if not enough, I'll just have to get more over there! I dun wan to take chance with the diapers. wait ganna diaper rash then not fun liao. Planning to buy her fav bread the nite before we fly so that in event she doesnt like the food, there are still her fav bread to makan in additional to milk. as the day approaches, I am beginning to think if I'd been too ambitious to have planned to go on a holiday for 8 days. duno the word "DIE" :p

sheepish:
oh .. the 1st link's in english. looks japanese rite? the first time I came across the website I also had the same impression! hehehehe ....! I cant read japanese well. So usually I copied the entire chunk of japanese words to Mr Google Translator for him to translate into english. Most of the time have to guess here and there abit cos it does a direct translation so the english is quite funny to read. haha!

gracechua:
hey it has been a long time since u last posted! where have u been?

lonerunner: been thru rounds of emotional roller coasters. share with u when we msn...
after that is catching up with the piled up work and back to my usual biz.

wah sounds like the montessor lessons are fun? for us, we just let han learnt from the CC. so far we are quite surprised...
rem there was an advertisement which a guy was trying to teach a kid to say "flower" then the kid shout out "orchid"? i was telling han "ga ga" means animal that can bite... instead he was telling me "ants".
haha... actually his vocab still v lousy, just that we are surprised cos we are not the ones teaching him those words.

sheepish: oh yah, this time round go to jap... you all must be having fun practising yr japanese?

lonerunner,
so cute, hehe....which montessori?
anyway, i will be back to work tomorrow. gonna b bz bz bz.....hmm.......i am thinking of having no 2 too.....probably helps the no 1 to stop thinking he is king, haha. ok, extremely tired, gonna slp now.

take care all and have a good week ahead.

gracechua:
haha ... Han is smart! He knows thats ants!! Good that he is picking up lotta stuff from cc! for my gal, she isnt going to cc until next year. being a super active girl with super short attention span, it's hard to teach her something as she'll get bored pretty soon and will walk away from me liao. So I decided to give montessori method a try after doing some reading on the approach. She doesnt know many words nor can vocalise things well yet, although her motor skills and skills to run into trouble with mummy/daddy(and try to get herself out of it!) are quite good. i tot that by sending her to weekend playgroup will also give her some introduction, and also to prepare her for cc life. lets see how things go.

starbright:
oh no ... it's monday again! haiz ... and I just finished doing the hsework and ironing! life is great without this terror around! she has just been sent off for a 4D3N "resort" stay with my parents since mil is away on holiday and I decided to spare my mum the inconvenience of coming down to my hse daily. Now hb and i are waiting to see if this terror will wake up and insist grandpa to drive her back home later at 2am. haha!
oh she just got enrolled in cs montessori at tiong bahru plaza. nearby my hse. great for this lazy mum too. haha!
#2 - actually I feel that it is good to have #2 so that #1 wont grow up to be the queen/king of the hse. But the tot of starting all over again (the sleepless nites, the 1-2hr feeding, diaper changing etc) makes me want to faint liao. hahaha! But still, I really hope to have my #2 soon. chop chop hit quota liao and then close factory. :p

hi dropping by! Time flies, our kids are going to terrible 2 soon!

saw the talk about no. 2 is going on, as well as travelling
hope that those who wish for no. 2 will have your wishes come true soon.It is not easy to start all over again! Violet is very cranky and hard to take care. Very frighten liao. Lucky, I already have two, so no need to think of so much.

For travelling, cannot ah, I am very frighten of my cranky girl, must wait till she is older.

Btw, violet is doing fine, she is very active and bossy, just that I think her speech is rather slow. She can only say words so far, can't talk in sentences yet leh. Next year, violet will be going to playgroup too, but not only totshouse nearby my in laws place. wow montessori is expensive, lonerunner.

Hi lonerunner, gracechua, sheepish, blueb, catmomo etc, long time no chat.

Anyway, quite stress as like most of your kids are able to count, talk etc? Mine is still in her baby language leh. Stress. I send her to zoo phonics weekly program to learn to speak more. Just started, but got even more stressed, cause the kids there already can talk so much!!! Hope my girl can catch up with the rest soon.

Btw, I no longer keep facebook, so you may not be able to find me there anymore.

Do feel free to drop by my blog:http://ido.per.sg/theincredibles/

shiok shiok not to have the little one around. hb and I finally had time to enjoy a 2px dinner at last! it has been ages since we were able to do this but we missed both the little one now. haha! Also good lah. can complete the work brought home from office. tmw I'll be going up to my parents' place to visit her.

kkf:
hey nice to hear from you again! And nice to hear that little violet is doing well!
montessori - this playgroup costs only $140 per mth for 4 playgroup sessions of 1.5hr weekly. No money to send to a proper Montessori preschool. haha!
My girl doesnt know lots of words but is at least slowly speaking up now. Most of the time she's like violet still speaking in her bb language. To her dad's greatest dismay, she still cannot call "papa" yet. :p Most of the time she'll managed with calling her dad "die-die" :p Hope that by going to playgroup she'll be more inspired to speak up more after interacting with all the jiejie and korkor there. I'm still trying to talk nonstop to her when she's home with me. This helped to improve her speech. thx to the mummies' recommandations here!

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Just suddenly thot of dropping by here.. Just to say HELLO to all! Sandy, grace,kkf, DJmama, thesimz...etc! Hope you all have been doing well! take care!</font></font>

wow its great to see you back, kkf and iceblue
hope everyone is keeping well
and yes, the terrible 2s are here

kkf, no stress...to each his/her own best..she develops in her own pace and she will amaze you in no time
thank you for sharing your blog

Hi all! So coincident that I just come in after a long time and see kkf too! Hi kkf! How have u been?? Miss ya! No more fb? Nvm...will follow ur blog! Thanks for sharing! I have saved it under My Favorites already =)

Terrible 2s...
Just last week, for 2 days straight, Raphael was behaving more stubborn than usual, ignoring my instructions totally. For those 2 days, I really thought : oh dear, TT is here sooner than expected!!!!!

lonerunner: yap, it's good to have some lessons.
just that my weekends are reserved for other things. :p
wah honeymoon weekend for you!

kkf/iceblue: wow! it's super long time. welcome back!
kkf: it's good to have 2 soon. but no luck for me.

u delete yr facebook a/c?

iceblue: do come back often leh... join in the chit chats. :p

terrible 2: is really terrible lor. when han wants something...
he can sit there and cry and cry until cough and vomit.
then my mil will go "give him, give him"
super jia lat...

Lonerunner, wah, share with us when Chimun's reaction when you go see her tonite!

I left Mer with my parents for the whole of this week too. HB started a new job and can no longer drive us to and fro everyday, so we r not bringing her home on weekday evenings again. On Sun, I bribed her with a series of things, starting from a banana before we left the house, then to the library to borrow her favourite book, then I read the book to her 6 times on the way to my parent's place. Upon reaching, I asked my sis to give her a bottle of her fav meiji milk which I brought along.... then my mum gave her raisins after that, as we were abt to leave.....and I got my sis to read her the fav book again. Hahaha.... this girl hor, had such a satisfied look on her face leh. Like she was so blissful....grinning contentedly.... until I kissed her and said bye.... for a split second she reached for me.... then on second tot, she let my sis bring her to the room to read her book. LOL.

Later that nite I called over and was told she simply play and play until bedtime and went to sleep without a fight. Haha...

But last nite was a diff story. I think by morning she caught on that we r not tkg her home. So ytd when we visited, she held onto me the whole time. I had to be within her sight. In the end, we had to sneak off like thieves when my sis took her to the toilet to wash up after dinner. Hahaha.... And I could hear her shouting for me repeatedly. Sigh. Feel so bad for "abandoning" her. Tonite we r going to bring her bk and wake up super early tml morning lor. Hope this week faster pass, then next week I will be home with her all week whilst my parents r on holiday liao. LOL.

Terrible Twos - Mer has been pretty assertive recently too. She started to behave like she cannot hear me, when I tell her not to do something. Sigh. i would end up literally shouting and she will proceed to do the offending thing like I wasn't there at all. FAINT. But usually, I will then say: Ok, mummy will leave you in the house and go out if you cannot hear me. Then fast as lightning she will do whatever I told her to instead of the opposite. Hahaha.... Wonder how long this can last tho?

Then nowadays she also needs to eat her meals with fishballs leh. Its fishballs, fishballs every meal every day. Can die leh. Now I see fishballs I wanna faint. Its fishballs for meals and raisins for snacks. Cham.

KKF, nice to see you here again. Dun worry abt Violet, Einstein was a late speaker too! Mer also cannot string many sentences. And most of the time, we have no idea wad is she babbling abt anyway. I just babble with her lor. I think its so funny and so fun. WAhahaha... she babbles, I babble back, she looks puzzled, I am equally lost. Wahaha....

Iceblue, how r u? Super long time no see~ Come in more often and update us on your girl la~ She must look v pretty now! How abt sharing a recent pic?

lonerunner:
haha, e extent of my trip din hit me until after we came back and started sharing wif frens! so it may be a gd thing tat u feel e apprehension now before e trip begins...

oh, it's an eng website? okie okie, i'll look more carefully...

wah, e montessori playgroup so cheap only? not bad ah... is it cos got subsidy for working mums?

grace:
think my hb's jap all returned to sensei liao, we used eng nearly all e way!

kkf:
nice to see u back here!

my gal is oso developing slowly in her language lah, considering she is 1 of e older babies... yah, i agree tat it's more stressful if most of their peers can oreidi speak well... so i'm glad tat i still hear from some of u mummies tat ur babies are juz saying words and babbling in bb language... tat day, my gal said for e 1st time... papa, sit... papa, sit... i was so happy, even though she was not calling me and i felt indignant afterwards tat she called papa and not mama to sit... haha...

but anyway, my gal oso cannot count, recite e numbers or say e alphabets... juz so u noe and can be encouraged tat not all babies can speak well yet! hehe... actually, think it's really more impt tat they are healthy... although it's cliched... cos my fren was juz sharing wif me tat she knows someone whose child may be deaf... so really, smart or not becomes not so impt liao...

grace:
yah, my gal nearly cried till vomit too a couple of times... but think she knows no use after once tat she regurgitated some of her food in her cot when i put her in to nap and she cried, so she din do tat again... she'll still protest, but i juz ignore lor... cos i ever read somewhere if they noe we are so scared of them crying till vomit, they'll learn to use it against us and to get their way... dunno how true lah...

<font color="0000ff">Nice to see you all so active here, must admit im really lazy, as in i dun think i can catch up the post here...
alot of ppl having number 2 alrdy? congrats to those mummies!

think been quite some time since i load my gal recent photo in FB, hee ok will go load some soon.

sheepish,

its true...if they realised that it crying till vomit wil not work, they will stop using it but if they see that crying till vomit lets them get their way, they will be reinforced

terrible 2s:

im also getting a fair share of treatment from naomi even if she is generally well behaved..to prevent frustrations, i usually stop her from doing something by removing her from the situation (e.g. climbing up stroller without supervision) rather than verbally ask them to stop. cos at this stage, most of the toddlers will somehow ignore whats being instructed to them or in fact do the opposite (the more you say no, the more they will do it). so by removing her from the situation solves all frustrations and she stops..its physically tiring although it prevents shouting warfares n possible meltdown moments lol..hope this helps

sorry tat i din reply msg promptly as i hav been sooooo busy at work. im currently in states and now is none of biz session so i excused from the meeting to come in here.

re speech:
my gal is oso using one word most of the times. occasionally will speak 2-word combination like ‘go out’, ‘make milk’, ‘no more’ etc. sometimes out of sudden she will say basic sentences like ‘baby drinks milk’, ‘sis, make milk’. However, I am not so concerned about her speech as long as she understands my instructions and questions, picking up new words everyday, says many single words, point to the picture when I say the words, communicate w me nonverbally thru pointing or grunting.

I saw an article b4 regarding speech devt below 2yo. A child who was the 1st in her playgroup to use words may not be the 1st to start linking words together in sentences. In fact, a child who was relatively late to speak might accomplish this 1st. toddlers who r physically precocious – the early walkers, climbers, jumpers, ball-throwers, are late talkers; they put so much of their energy and concentration into physical exploits that they hav little left over for verbal exploration. Once they get started to talk, the late talkers often quickly develop mature speech bcos they’re older when they begin, they may have better pronunciation, a better intuitive grasp of grammar and a larger vocab (which was quietly building up all along).

Lonerunner,
Yup, I missed Melbourne so much and finally I have a chance to revisit the place again. I am so looking forward to the trips.

Sheepish,
Ive tried internet shopping and give them my hotel info but it was not accepted. Most of the companies can only deliver to a valid residential/office address as many hotels do not accept parcels from delivery companies due to security reason. Until now, I haven’t had a chance to step out of my hotel to see what are outside of the street.

DJMama,
I used to sneak out like a thief like what you did if my ger refused to let me go when I sent her to my sis house whenever I go biz trip. But then I realised this was wrong as she’ll feel insecured (at night she screamed for mama) and worry that mummy and daddy have gone no one will love her anymore. Everytime I back fr my trip, she glued me and didn’t sleep well at night cos she worried

terrible 2s:
my gal seems to have this as well. as usual when we dine out, i'll clean the utensils provided by the restaurant. tat day she refused to let me clean and snaped away the spoon and threw the spoon to the opposite table. wakao... nearly hit the person head!

another one. we were at toyrus. the toy is in the box and usually we cant open it. she passed me the toy box and said 'open'. i told her we cant open it. she just sat on the floor refused to go and cried loudly. i was so paiseh.

DJMama,
sorry, din copy my reply fr MSword properly. cont'd...

DJMama,
I used to sneak out like a thief like what you did if my ger refused to let me go when I sent her to my sis house whenever I go biz trip. But then I realised this was wrong as she’ll feel insecured (at night she screamed for mama) and worry that mummy and daddy have gone no one will love her anymore. Everytime I back fr my trip, she glued me and didn’t sleep well at night cos she worried mama will go away again. On my last biz trip, my sis told me my girl was standing at the door around 7pm to wait for me to come home and she looked sad and disappointed. So, this time, I tell her the reasons of my away and assure her that I will pick her home as soon I back to spore and I will miss her terribly. I also tell her we papa and mama love her very much. I waived goodbye and gave her a goodbye kiss b4 I left.

Ah...deedee.... hope that you are coming home soon to your girl and hb! I know how it feels to be so far away from them....especially miss our bb de lor.... sigh.

Yes, actually explaining is good. For long biz trips or times when I know I will not be able to see her over a few days, I will explain to her and tell her that I need to work and I will be back. Normally I get her a little soft toy and tell her to hug the toy when she misses me. And when I come bk, I bring a big soft toy for her, and tell her its because she has been a good brave girl and did not make a fuss when mummy was not ard. So far, on all my trips, she will also go to the airport with me and then we spend some time running ard in the airport until I need to check in. I will kiss her and say bye properly and tell her how soon I will be back. Normally she will watch me go and actually, I am the one that end up crying! LOL.

This time round it was abit diff la. She has not been staying over at my parents place for almost a year now. So she has grown to expect that we take her home every nite. We tried to prep her the weekend before so she knows why, but sigh, she had been especially sticky lor. Part of us also observed its not insecurity but more that she does not want to change the routine. Like its some matter of principle. Haha. So we had to try to find a way around. Anyway, in the end, we brought her home last nite and woke up super early today. Hopefully my mil will be able to fully take over by the end of next week. Then no more shuttling back and forth and we will have her with us every nite without killing ourselves by driving up and down Singapore all the time!

Now contemplating if we shd bring her bk tonite or actually not go over at all until Fri. HB seems tired from all that driving and having to adjust working in an office again! Come to think of it, our life was really shiok when he was working from home lor!

When will you be bk in SG? R u going to the SSO BB prom? Which other mummies are going besides Lonerunner, myself and Saro?

sheepish:
oh, u are referring to that website? I tot is the Japanese hse website, which is the first of the 3 consequtive links! miscomm. haha! Yes, that website is in japanese. Can use google to translate.
montessori playgroup - it's a weekly weekend class. tats why it is cheaper. Every sat for 1.5hr only. No subsidy for working mums cos is not cc

djmama/deedee:
guessed wat? chi mun gave me the "Oh, so u are leaving without me again" when I left for work from my mum's place this morning. felt a bit guilty abt leaving her there as I typed this now.
And then hor, my mum is now having 2nd tots abt letting her come home tonite after the 4D3N stay cos she will miss her grandchild. aiyo. I told my mum wait at nite my gal dun wan to sleep keep crying for mummy then it wont be fun if need to drive her back to my home at 2am. haha!
Luckily I din promise my girl that she'll come home tonite instead of tmw now. Else she'll think "mummy broke promise" then die liao.

sandy:
naomi is very kuai leh. So good! Even after I plucked chi mun away from stroller/cot etc situation that she was trying to climb on or get herself into, she'll want to go back and do it again. If dun raise voice to scold her, she wont abandon her quest one. haha!

terrible 2s
thanks sandy, for sharing! i do realise i am raising my voice a lot more lately, haiz... will make a mental note to juz remove her from e situation...

deedee:
oh, really? hmm, but amazon delivers leh... oh well, anyway... hmm, try to get out of e hotel and do some physical shopping then! :p

lonerunner:
haha, yah lar... miscomm... no wonder no matter how many times i go to tat website, it still looks foreign to me!

hello kkf, this is so funny. I went into your blog and saw my photo in your gal's class. My boy Jovan is also attending zoo phonics class at Tampines since Sept. Now I know which is your gal. I think last week, your hb accompanied her for the class rite

hey mummies, Jovan recently started to feel shy with strangers. This started when I brought him for trial art class on Sat and he had paint on his face. then some aunties were laughing and he knows so started lowering his head till chin level. then on Sun, I met my friends with her gal for dinner, he also lowered his head so so low. gosh, and he knows them lor. Hope this will not be for long.

AG_gal, haha, sorry leh. i didn't know that pretty lady standing there was you. now then i know! nice meeting you on saturday!!! my girl was a terror!

Deedee, thanks, it made me feel better regarding your post on late speech. i agree, violet is faster in motor skills than her brother, and she speaks late, while her brother is faster with speech, and slower in motor skills.

blueb, lonerunner, djmama, sheepish, sandy, gracechua, rainbowzstarz etc. thanks for welcoming me back! hope to learn more from you all! Interesting topics going on, but can't manage to catch up. sigh...too busy with kids falling sick, and my teaching. sianz.

gracechua, yah, deleted my facebook due to some issue with students. so do visit my blog for updates. hahaha.

Ag_gal, I want to get prom tickets too, but sold out. hard to get, always sold out fast. btw, next saturday, won't be bringing violet for zoo phonics as it is her brother's birthday, so bringing them to chalet. headache how to make up for the lesson as the staff there said can only make up on weekdays. think got to waste one lesson $$.

lonerunner, the montessori school so cheap? wish i have one cheap one here in sengkang, but dun have leh. my boy is currently at cherie hearts, already costs $500 plus per month after subsidy.

Ive finally back to SG on sat morning. this trip was a total 'failure'. no shopping, no sightseeing etc. i wanted to do last min shop at the LA airport then i was totally dissapointed (only DFS and newstand).... haiz! i only got a cute backpack for my girl. that's all i buy from LA.

lonerunner,
what montesorri teach in the class? $150 is really cheap. my girl is now with Pat's school for weekend class 1.5hr oso. she has attended 3 lessons so far. this is the best as compared to all other classes she has attended previously. i like pat's is bcos they have mini swimming pool, outdoor playground, well-established curiculum and only 8 kids in a class. i'll move her to half-day once my gal is ready.

DJMama,
you bring Mer to airport everytime u travel? tat's really sth that i wont do cos i know my gal's pattern... so better not. Mer is such a well-behaved girl. btw, have you found your maid? the Philippines govt wants to impose a min wage of USD400 for Filipino maid along with 4 days off a month. i wonder how it will affect my current filipino maid.

sheepish,
oh i see... i'll do online shop at amazon next time. those items i wanted to get are direct fr merchandiser.

ag_gal,
i think the tots at this age either they r shy or no shy at all w srtangers. my gal is opposite of ur boy..... not to worry too much as i believe this will outgrow.

kkf,
i was like u earlier on worried abt my gal's speech until i saw tis article. anyway, they'll be fine and eventually pick up the language at the fast speed. prob at tat time we want them to stop talking a while to have a peaceful moment! haha....

I need your advice fr all of you. my gal has never sat on the buggy since after she started walking. how do i make her guai guai sit on the buggy? our last trip to zoo she refused to sit on the buggy and i carried her all the way from the start point to end point....
she refused to let anyone to carry except me. i can't carry her all day long when we go for holiday in HK and Mel.

sheepish I havent go holiday yet, gg on 5th Nov. deedee, which pat school is ur gal attending?nice meeting u too kkf, yeah the replacement class is only on weekdays so waste of $$ unless u take leave.

deedee:
I love pat's too for the lovely teachers, environment and curiculum, but it is too costly @ nearly $1.5k per mth for me to put her into its full day programme eventually. Maybe one day after I strike ToTo and 4D top prizes I will put her there immediately. haha!

montesorri - they dun go by curiculum. Their approach is towards working on child's interest. They believe that a child has a self directed development so they'll let the child work in a prepared environment to pick up and learn things. the teacher is there only to observe and guide them. this style seemed to suit my girl. When she's attending class, she seemed to be enjoying what she is doing and can sit down to work on the items for a much longer time. but it's only 2 lessons so far so it might be too early to see the impact. lets see how things go. I'll worry how she will fit into the regular timetable in primary school when the time comes. haha!

buggy - I gave up trying to make this terror sit in it. Thinking of if I shld bring her carrier to taipei instead. But she is refusing to sit inside whenever I wanted to bring her to market on sunday. i scared if I just hold her by the hand she can be easily pulled away by bad ppl then will be very 'fun' liao.

kkf:
it's a weekend 1.5hr class. Not a full day montessori cc. tats why the price difference.
But there is a montessori preschool near my hse. The last I enquired some mths back they are charging like $850 before subsidy so the rates isnt too far off from Cherrie Heart. But of course, different schools in different location have different charges. Maybe tats why.

Did a brief search in google. there is a MMI and Shekinash montessori. Think there might be more around?
http://www.modern-montessori.com/presch_centres_sk.htm
http://www.shekinahmontessori.com/programmes.htm#pre
Or u can go kiasuparents forum to check under the montessori or SengKang thread under preschools section

sheepish:
haha ... confirm it will look foreign cos it is definately foreign! wahahahahaaha!

deedee, maybe u r right. haha. when our kids start talking, like my elder boy, they will be talking non stop. haha.

think all kids are like that? my girl also doesn't want to sit in prams. sianz, and I and my father in law took turns to carry her too when we went to the zoo last weekends.

Patschoohouse is good, heard my colleague said so.

lonerunner, thanks for sharing. but dun think will send my girl to montessori. I am going to send her to tots house only, those neighborhood one cause nearest to my in laws place, no choice.

lonerunner,

im also a fan of montessori methods that's why im enrolling naomi in a pure montessori school for pre-nursery coming next june. but only until she finishes nursery. for kindergarten, i will switch her to traditional prep level to prepare her for P1. are you planning to let chi mun go all the way montessori until P1? as much as i love montessori methods, the fact that they dont use curriculum and worksheets might make the child unprepared (both mentally and emotionally) for traditional teaching methods in the primary schools where they focus on test papers, worksheets etc. i also took quite a few months to come to this decision because i favor new methods of teaching (e.g. montessori, progressive, multiple intelligences) as they encourage learn better through doing and playing rather than stressing them to complete worksheets. but unfortunately, the primary schools are still using traditional methods of white board teaching, giving assignments/tests and really competitive in terms of academic performance. so somehow i want to prepare her for the traditional method. but i do agree that montessori methods really captivate the child's attention and interest

kkf:
hey try go pat's schoolhse to take a look at their teaching approach. I like the way they celebrate life. Makes each child so special in each own way. I'd learnt lots from my last visit to a pat's school hse. *reads - steal teaching ideas!* opps .... :p

sandy:
wow ... I din realise that u are a fan too! That makes 2 of us here! Think naomi will definately enjoy her montessori time come next June! Keep us posted then!

yeah, both our concerns are the same regarding montessori. I spent a huge amt of time researching before I decided to send her to montessori learning environment. Hence I'm still debating if I should let her continue montessori all the way until P1, also taking into consideration the logistic, fees and distance to school.

On the other hand, I am also thinking that since formal education is going to take up some 10 over years of her life, maybe it is ok to give her more time in montessori environment until P1. then let her take it from there onwards. after all, learning is not all abt conquering worksheets, memorising answers and passing exams only. there are more to life than that!

In singapore, most montessori schools are actually partial montessori. it is believed that the primary reason for this is due to the high emphasis in education by singaporean parents. As you also said, montessori methods dun use curriculum and worksheets. Might be harder to assess the skill competency of the child and prepare them for the necessary exams in this mad paper chase singapore culture.

Much as I have doubt over the ability of child to fit into primary school, I have also read debates/researches that suggested that montessori influenced kids grow up to be more confident, more interested in lifelong learning, and perhaps, faster in picking new things up as a result.

One of my bosses' children were in montessori preschool. He felt that it helped alot, esp his younger child who is the more 'headache' one when comes to studying. His elder child who is the more academic type is constantly ranking among the top students in the level. His younger child is hovering around the mid % of the level. He is happy with his 'investments'. Thats why he strongly recommanded me to send chi mun to the same montessori school where chi mun is having weekend playgroup classes now.

Some years ago, I used to disagree with him on sending a child to a montessori school but after seeing the impact it has on chi mun, I told this boss that I am taking back wat I'd said to him previously. haha!

So quiet....just a quick qns, does your baby snore? Sarah snores like th blocking the wind pipe...hmmm....I feel that it is distubing her sleep...

hey gals,

wondering if ur kids face the same problem.

kylene perspire in aircon room during sleep.. alot of time the pillow is wet with her sweat.. does ur kids sweat so much even in aircon room?

she wears short sleeves, sometimes with hole that kind and knee length shorts in aircon room..

hi whitegalz...sometimes sarah only feels abit wet around her neck when she sleeps in air con room....hmmm, Is Kylene those kind scare hot not scare cold kind...but until pillow is wet is abit jialat..is the air con blowing her direction? maybe the air con ventilation is not good...hmmmm...