(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

dj_mama:
yah lor, so difficult to make her finish her food nowadays... always wanna play - pt to toys and goes "ng ng ng"... think she at a stage where playing is more impt than eating or sleeping...

ag_gal:
e 5 spoonfuls i use all kinds of methods - force, distract, sneak it into bread, watever... then tat nite, she puked...

iceblue:
my gal is oso having some sleep issues... waking up in e nite to play... waking up earlier from her naps... i hope she'll start sleeping well again soon, whether after teething or getting back to her routine...

as for multivit... my pd prescribed some for my gal, but recently stopped cos of viral infection then now teething fever... it's liquid form, to add in her morn milk...

sheepish, think if teeth about to erupt, prob 3-4days...

Toddler stage... think more nightmare to come when it comes to feeding! Now i miss the baby days when she only drinks milk hahaha. I think i need new toys everyday to distract her so she'll eat!!!

i must start doing research on schools liao, thinking of putting her to playgroup first before nursery.

blueb:
i called workhome already and have setup an interview with one of their transfer maids. they are also recommending a ex-singapore maid (worked here before but now in Philippines already). did u get a new maid or a transfer one? did u have to pay the maid loan of $2100?

whole milk/ fresh milk:
so excited to buy tomorrow and have carys try fresh milk!

pneumococcal jab:
carys is due for her 3rd jab this month but she has cough and colds now. can or cannot go for a jab?

wow, so many mummies researching on schools already. we only intend to let carys join in a playgroup when she hits 2yr. and even then i think i'll only send her 2-3x a week.

Gong Xi Fa Cai, Happy New Year!!!

I am back from HK, and it is really cold there, on the average was ard 10-13 degree everyday and Lantau Island only at 4 degree... Xavier caught a cold after we came back from Lantau Island, luckily the day he caught the flu was the day we are flying back to SG... sigh... he cried ALL the way home on board the flight...
I think he caught the flu bug because we stripped him out in the open to wash his backside on Lantau Island at freaking 4 degree with icy cold water, because there was no changing room nearby and he had to poo there and somemore he pooed a lot, stained his thermal wear and his thighs, then we had no choice but have to wash him up... he was whining a little probably because it was too cold and u can see smoke coming up from his diapers when we stripped him, that is how cold it was, my heart really broke and I was trying so hard not to cry, really sim tia!!!! because imagine at 4 degree and u have to strip and wash your body with icy cold water.... lucky we are back already lor.... sigh...

Iceblue,
Happy birthday to Nicole!

WOW, read that so many mummies are looking for schools already, making me worried already haha, I said I wanted to start recky by Oct09 but in the end, have been so lazy throughout... I better start now!! hehe

hi iceblue, happy birthday to Nicole...naomi is also sleeping lesser nowadays..her nap dropped to 2 hours only but if we go out she sleeps more because she sleeps in the car...shes also waking up earlier but not sleeping earlier

lonerunner, 3 yo walk home alone?? abit dangerous right cos nowadays society has changed, during our parents time its ok but now, we cant predict people's behavior...and according to murphy's law, what can go wrong will go wrong so i think better to be safe than sorry...just my opinion

mibebe, if she has coughs and colds its better to recover before taking jabs. our pd also postponed her jab when she had roseola (fake measles) few mths back

mibebe, I also paid the maid loan around 2K. I think it's the same for all agencies. personally I dont believe in transfer maid cos there must be a reason why they are being sent back and of cos they have lots of excuses. but again I have friend who have gotten good transfer maid so I guess it depends on your luck.
happy, xavier so poor thing, got to wash backside with icy water. overall how was the whole trip?

mummies, do we need to bring our bb to dental? haha I am so boh liao to think of all these.

AG, my husband don't want to pay the maid loan. also, we got a new maid before from the philippines but turned out she gets home sick and can't do her work properly. so this time around we want to try out an experienced one.

hello mummies jts my preschool shopping again... couldnt sleep last night n went checkout remaining school again this morning... mummies do checkout their curriculum, menu, teacher to student ratio, cleanliness etc.. working moms gets $300 subsidy n majority can pay by babybonus..i finally made my 1st choice though school fees ex but think in longrun hope she can learn better think wat $$$ worth..got to save n work harder nw..

oh for maid issue think its the luck issue my is philipino n transfered she work w us 3yrs occasionally attitude but can work..n teach my gal..also went a school today guess wat they employ philipino as teachers worse!!!

when bb turns 18mths they go playgroup/toddler class then N1/N2 then K1/K2 ...depends whether u wan send 2hrs/3hrs/full day child care most school 1/2 day or full day about same price or $100 less

iceblue i got bb multivit w lysine i think to increase appetite once a day very cheap think less $20 used long time

Hi Mummies, Saro reporting.

Talk abt mischeivous babies, haiz... my boy is also another fussy eater, DJ , guess wat, Joel doesnt even want snacks, he's getting bored with porridge now and he doesnt like snacks either, this weekend gotta go shopping for alternative foods. haiz.. every mealtime is a challenge now.He used to down 1 big bowl of porridge X 2times a day without fuss.. gone are those days. At the moment, he still loves his milk.. I wont know what to do if he starts to reject milk.

As for playgroup, im thinking of letting my boy join Edufarm for 2hr a day after he turns 18mths, any feedback on Edufarm ?

Its $175 per mth, quite expensive hor, got less than $100 options meh ??

teething:
symtoms come on-off leh, for my girl's case lah. for example, my girl's top 2 lateral incisors are now on the grow. so super sticky to me these days until I cant even go washroom! *wahhhh!!*

school:
okok point taken! Wont let bb walk home alone until primary 1 :p kekekeke .... !

mibebe:
maybe u wan to phone PD and ask. if not too serious, sometimes they'll allow bb to go ahead with jab.

saro:
I think $175 price range ok liao ... think the next cheaper alternate will be PCF. Even the NTUC run Little Skool also more ex.

lonerunner, what does pcf stand for?

Saro, $175 sounds ok leh.

I'm also looking at 2-3hr playgroup... but there are 2 near my house is either full or half day leh so which kind of school has the 2-3hr playgroup?

ginn, i searched and Edufarm has 2hr playgroup, its those under HDB blocks. You can check the below list if your place nearby has one. You can consider as 1 of your options, those full or half days are childcare centres, with subsidy for FTWM, this Edufarm does not have any subsidy.
Its one of my options cos both my place and mil place downstairs also has an outlet.
http://www.edufarm.com.sg/playgroup-locations.html

Thanks saro, my area dont have.. ok so childcare centre is the one with full or half day, no wonder much more ex... hmm. Aiyo, really need to go search for more liao.

Mibebe.... Mine is transfer maid. Her case abit special cos her previous employer was the problem n she went bk to phillipines first then come bk to sing. I helped pay the loan too n she pay me bk $300 a month. I interviewed her before she went bk to phillippines. Then after a week she came bk n started work with me. Interview v impt. Initially I shortlisted a few but after talkg to them, feel not v gd. Then this maid was recommended by the agency n I talked to her, felt she gd. Most impt I was lookg out for at tt time was experience with bb, newborn to be exact.
Ur hubby not comfortable to pay the loan first? Maybe can talk to agency if u find the maid suitable then c how they can arrange?

Sandy.... Great! Then I dun need worry abt his nutrition so much aldy
ya, he loves yoghurt, cheese, egg yolk, n everyday he will eat green veg too. N I still giving him cereal as breakfast most of the time. Smtimes change to potato or bread with cheese for variety. Hey, gd to hear tt Naomi takg cereal again! Maybe she v sick with cereal last time. I also stopped awhile before I introducing again cos Raphael been eatg cereal for months aldy n startg to reject it. But now with variety he is ok with it.
Instead of UHT milk, I gv him magnolia fresh milk, cold.. Haha...once only. Going to try again tmr.

Lonerunner... Very hard to quarrantine the human pacifier from the bb... He still wakes up for milk now. Esp these few nites got blocked nose, will moan in the nite lookg for me. Anyway I m ok aldy, surprisingly no need to c doc! So hope he jus recover from blocked nose we will all be healthy again!

Iceblue.... Happy Birthday to ur little princess!

Saro, at least Joel still loves milk. Mer hardly ever finishes her milk. Unless this v impatient mummy, let her go hungry for abit lor...then the next feed she will whack all in one shot. But that happens so rarely man. And my mum refuses to change teats. she is still on teat 2 for avent. Sigh. If my mum knocks me off my temper this coming pay day hor, I am going to throw away all bottles and teats and replace with new bigger sized ones and see what she is going to do abt that. LOL. Doubt it will happen tho... :p

Hmm... I m thinking of sending Mer to a playgroup class when she turns 18months but the problem is, shd I let her go to one near my parents place? Or near my place? Actually, I think I shd find one near my office in the early morning.... send her there, go to work, then get my dad to come n fetch her when the playgroup ends hor.... wahahaha...then after work, I will go bring her home....sounds like a great plan to hv her home with me everyday.... LOL....

Tonite we went to Zhou'e Kitchen for dinner... and Mer made sure I had no time to eat for myself. she was going Mum Mum Mum throughout the whole meal. We ordered tofu, fish, Pipa duck and fried duck rice... and she had everything... I think she loves Pipa duck leh... no wonder I had such a massive craving for it during preggers... after she was done eating, everyone was done eating also....so mummy had to eat her leftovers...and guess what, Princess Mer needed to get out of the high chair or scream her lungs out....so mummy had to scoff all the leftover food in 3 seconds and scoop her out to walk around and PR with other unsuspecting diners in the restaurant. Slave to these babies us mummies are.... Then again, whose complaining la... LOL

blueb:
oh ya, I forgot u are raph's human pacifier! :p
not giving bb beef yet cos her mum doesnt take beef and her dad isnt likely to cook beef for her or finish up her leftovers :p so it's no go for now :p

djmama:
hahaha ... agree! I am also slave to my bb! hahaha!
teat - u wan to try letting Mer use teat #3 while she's home on weekends? so that she can get used to it slowly? I did that previously when mil refused to change teat. then slowly I changed the teats at mil's hse one by one until all became #3 :p so mil has no choice but to use #3 after tat :p
hahaha ... if ur workplace isnt too far, and ur parents hse is near ur hse, then that may not be a bad idea so as to have Mer home every nite.
It's really nice to be with bb. I like to wake up to see bb smiling merrily at me in the morning (only when she's in good mood, sometimes at 4am - too early!). bb likes to wake me up either by giving me a noshadow kick rite into my face or stomach, or by ringing a bell rite into my ear while looking at me with both eyes big big juz 15cm away from my face *mummy, I want my milk to be served NOW!!*

Spent one mad morning at the market today....tot I'll be nice and invite my BIL n wife to join us at the market for bfast since they r gg bk to London next weekend.... I ended up with my BIL's wifey and MIL... sigh... So, no control over there....we headed out at 9am....we din get bk at 11am....despite the market being SO CLOSE and us driving over...

Then had to spend another 30minutes making Mer nap so I can faster go cook her porridge for bringing out later to my MIL's relatives place late afternoon.... so shag now!!!

Lonerunner.... we do not live near my parents at all....and my office is kind of in between my place and my parents' place... sigh... if only I get the BTO at Dawson and the estate can be move-in-able within these next 2 yrs! But fat chance of that happening lor... it wun be ready till 2016.... by then, Mer can go PRIMARY school liao... Faintz....

Had a mini accident at the MCP at TPY CTL ytd... some idiot fixed a reversing camera on the FRONT of his car...and I didn't see it while walking past it....so I walked right into the damn thing, swiping the whole of my thigh across with the metal thing jutting out. Am feeling so sore on my thigh now....sigh....its still looking red after one night....and I got a feeling its going to develop into a nasty looking bruise!

gd mrn all mummies! oh no tdy is the end of my 1 wk break! had great time wif baby, but have fair share of her naughtiness...trying al sorts of funny thgs lik putting bread in ear, shouting at top of her voice n drinking bath(soap) water... tink i alwys scold her till she ignore, until i get daddy in, well he's her fav, so her face changed, look dwn at bathtub n dare not move, once daddy scold her.. wah tears cm dwn liao... think she vry sad..cos her fav daddy scold her..omg kids!

iceblue:
today is also end of my one week break. tmw go back to office liao. very sad, but all good things must come to an end.

Orr .. cos I saw one edufarm near my mil's hse. So I kpo went to check it out lor. I'm still eye-ing a gym class to flatten my bb's batteries out :p But dun think bb will be ready anytime soon leh. in the meantime, I'll flatten her batteries out at home first :p

hb just took bb out to suntec to buy her swensen cake for celebration tonite. And I'm worried. after I reminded hb to feed bb at end of 3hr interval, hb said must lengthen her feeding interval to 4-5hrs. I nearly fainted. I hope they will come home soon before the 3hr interval is up so tat I can tank up bb.

arrrrghhhhhh cant finish reading, my baby keep on walk here and there as if she is so pro n then fall down... mommy's having heart attacks...

sheepish:
i like what ur pastor said about aggressive healing and aggressive love... hehehe n i like ur sneaky methods on feeding baby, very much like me hahahahha but not very successful here... sigh...

lonerunner, iceblue, sheepish, lili:
Re: baby refuse to sleep..
my baby is back to sleep late again, after a few successful lullabies... she'll sit up and exclaim "walk walk" then fake cry til i let her walk around... she tot she's so smart, walk so fast and keep on laughing... actually walk like drunken lady and we have back ache supporting her using d walking assistant... sighhh... hope she'll back to normal soon.... what about ur babies' stories at night?? share le...

Hi overload & mummies,

My lil chap sleeps late 2! Earliest is at 10.30pm!!! even when i switch off all the lights in the room, he will direct his arms to the room door and wants me to take him outside to ensure the entire house is dark! must show him that everyone is aslp then he will try to sleep...!!!

lonerunner,
I'm looking forward to taking my boy to gym class too! any options so far? i took him to little gym for 1 term and i must say he enjoyed it but i stopped for this current term. But thinking of sending him back there for the term that starts in march!

blueb:
we found 2 transfer maids that we think is good. 1 is from the agency and 1 is from my sister's friend (they will be moving to AU so giving up the maid). both has finish paying their maid loan so i don't have to worry about that anymore ;-)

gym class:
i'm also thinking of sending cas to a gym class when she turns 18mos...

"spy" camera:
anybody got a camera at home where you can view your bb anytime, anywhere through the internet? we are planning on getting one...my friend recommends the d-link one...but we want alternatives

SY:
talent plus playgroup looks like it caters to children 2yrs - 3yrs old ah? the website seemed to indicate so leh ..

hsaoj:
welcome aboard!
there are many places with gym class for tots. more popular ones are like little gym, gymboree, JWT etc etc.
But i feel if given the choice, it is better to choose one that is near our hse for convenience. Most impt is that our bb must enjoy the class and learn something from it.

Or u might wan to check out www.kiasuparents.com? There is a thread where kiasu parents discussed on playgroups/playgym etc for tots

mibebe:
hehehe .. dun have.... check out at Sim Lim for inspirations? :p

overload:
my little gal doesn't sleep late, but she wakes up in e middle of e nite crying... takes a while to pacify her... then after we put her on our bed to sleep wif us, she tot it's her playtime... from crying, becomes smiling... doesn't wanna sleep, juz keeps tapping or kicking me... if we are facing her, she even digs into our mouths and eyes... then after a while, we have no choice but to put her back in her cot since she cannot sleep wif us... she'll then guai guai go back sleep...

yah, in fact i printed the list u shortly after u given us the url. Called a few but mostly dont have. haha. Will continue calling tomorrow when I am free. keke. U mummies are stressing me!!

wahahahaaaa....!!
my bb is not even ready for any programme even if I'm interested to send her to any class. So I can only kpo and read read look look lor.

and to my horror, I saw the primary school just infront of my hse has balloting for last 2 yrs!!
*SY even more stressed liao :p*

btw see the kiddy abc link

http://www.kiddyabc.com.sg/our_programme.htm

good review from various sites ... main complain is abt the space.

lonerunner: y u nvr go shop wif them?
overload: hmm my gal alwys been sleeping late..haha cos i consider 10.30 pm late.. last time she slep arnd 10pm.. aft tt stayed lik 10.30... nw 10.30 feed her actly she sleepy liao but once i put her dwn aft rocking her n humming song to her she flip over n try get up agn ...she is tryg to keep herself awake wanting to go play..so nw she wil drag until 11pm then really sleep.

oh ya btw she is treating her cot bed lik playpen ..so she see she wants to go in, so b4 she sleep she wil make noise want go in, so we hav to put her in let her do swaying walking swinging stunts then she willin to cm out drink milk

my gal surprised us this aftn, i was busy arnd wen sudly hubby say 'she knw hw to get dwn herslf(frm sofa)'! i was so surprised cos we nvr taught her tt(mil also no teach her tt cos she was surprised wen we told her wen brg gal up). she did it quite well turning over n moving dwn then standing straight! kids! im amazed!

over this wk , my gal's routine has smhw fixed routine liao im glad abt this.. but no 3 meals for her.. anyw so far i nvr giv her 3meals(lik porridge).dunno is it bad..but at least she's having her nap well.. well i hp she stil able hav tis schedule for the next few mths.

baby routine:
7.30am wake up(since birth stil same)

8.00am - feed her milk
play , music(karaoke, dvd. sm bread
11.00am- feed milk , then she will have her 2hrs nap...gets up abt 1.10pm
2.00pm- porridge
play , sm fruits
5.00pm- milk then nap for 1.5hrs...
bath..
7.30-8.00pm- small bowl of porridge or cereal
10.30pm - milk n sleep til mrn

Morning mummies! I'm overjoyed to announce ... last nite bb took 3 very wobby steps like a drunk lady unaided on her own!! wowwwww!!! ok. it's really time to buy footwear already

iceblue:
no time to shop lah. for past 1 week I'd been seeing stars n circles in the sky ... head very dizzy. something in head went unbalanced. So took the opportunity to rest whenever I can.

nicole's bedtime still early leh. my girl went back to midnite bedtime again. haiz. last nite by the time I finished my pump n etc, she's still happily playing in the bed with 2 eyes big big. I then decided to slp in order to get her to slp.

2 days more to bb's 1st birthday

SY:
ya, that school only got outlet I think ponggol area. might be abit far from ur hse. dun worry, sure got play group somewhere out there one. just need to take some time to locate.

congrats lonerunner! Haha my gal loves to walk with us holdin her stil.. We haven attempt to let go let her walk hersel. So far she trained her self few steps in cot n play pen, when she let go both hands n took few small steps Haha b4 she collapse.

Halo, my boy b-day tomrw.

May I know did you arrange a few stuff that represent different occupations, for your kid to pick? I only know Calculator, Book, scissors but not sure their meaning.

Can anyone provide info?

Gong Xi Fa Cai!

was on leave since 12Feb back to office today... will read archive during lunch time.

just wan to update abt my ger cos so many happy things happend during the cny. she has finally learnt to walk by herself without support on the eve of cny eve. she is happily walking around everywhere and refused to let me hold her hands and carry her.

she has oso learnt how to use spoon to feed herself, feed herself milk and fall asleep on her own...

now i realised the more times i spent with her the faster she can pick up new things.

oh yah, she was overwhelmed by too many new faces at my grandmum in law house and everyone wanted to carry her. the same nite, she was mumbling and do the 'gong xi gong xi' gesture while sleeping. so funny!!!

preschool:
din know must register early... parents r really kiasu. was thinking of sending her to Learning Vision at Changi Biz park near my office and i can send/pick her. fee is abt $1k. must quickly call them.

whole/fresh milk:
may i know the reason of giving whole/fresh milk instead of FM stage 3?

egg:
so far my gal loves egg but not the hard boiled egg. i made omelette or sramble egg with mushroom, onion and fresh milk. egg is smelly if put cheese is even terrible. dun tik bb will like it bah.

toast:
i read it somewhere but dun know where. white bread is tastier than wholemeal. they suggest to introduce white bread first then wholemeal to bb. if toast, must serve immediately other wise will become harder and difficult to swallow.

annabel karmel bb/toddler food recipe book:
suntec is having book fair last fri but not sure if the deal is still on. i bought her book at $10 only... all books are selling at $10 and buy 7 get 2 free.

Hey lonerunner! Thanks for the welcome and advice! =) Congratz on on your gal's 1st steps!!! =) u muz be extremely happy to witness it! will keep a look out for play gym around my place though i think where i stay abit ulu lar... R u a stay home mum?

Iceblue, thanks for posting your schedule! my son's schedule mostly the same except he doesnt wake up so early! thank goodness! keke

Re: Footwear,

I saw some really nice shoes for girls at Forum, the shop is Blossom. Dunno if comfy, but nice!