(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

wahahahhaaa! saw it! really hua mao face! :p And Mer doesnt seemed happy being after being caught and stopped from continuing with her 'makeup'! hehehehehehe....!

DJ, mer is so cute...and i think elicia is right, girls are vain in nature? naomi also likes to make up.. she tries to get hold of my cosmetics and will do the application actions.she also tries to apply moisturizer and foundation on her face when she gets hold of them.but one thing im very worried about is she tries to draw eye liner by putting the eye liner pencil at her eye and draw. the only consolation is she only does that with my eye liner pencil and not any other pen / pencil . sighs...

hahaha they r all so cute n D MOMMIES ARE CUTE TOOOOO hahahahaha i think d more time we spend with them, we bcome more n more like kids also.

sandy:
:D hahaha I AGREE they r so Vain!! my baby also likes my make up brushes very very much!!! n when i make up she also want; keep on asking me for them. So i gave her my unused mini travel brush set to play pretend. Tonight just before bed time, she got "her" brush set from vanity table, walked to daddy and said "baby bruhh" (=baby's brush).... hahaha

and ooooh ooooh i SIMPLY have to share this... *excited mode* yesterday, i tied her hair for d first time. Sneakily ok? Cos she has very little hair (still look like boy sigh) n her dad is concerned that it is painful so he banned me from tying her hair. Anyhoo, I told her it's pretty n she likes it. (I got caught la, my hb untied her hair once he saw it) BUT Then today when we were getting ready to go out, she suddenly said "tie hair" n point to her hair... IN FRONT OF HER DISMAYED DAD!!! HAHAHHA long story short.... gals will be gals... n btw, I WON!! hahaha

haha.. mummies with gals, envy envy envy! There's so many things mummies can do with their daughters! My zac was watching world cup and glued to the TV with his daddy, while mumbling 'ball ball'. He saw me put on make up every now and then, but didn't see him trying to mimic anything about make-up (heng!!) So can we conclude make up is a girls' things?

Elicia
You are trying no 2 also? Then your "Amina' cannot send her back?

Mummies trying or having #2, are really my heroines! I don't think i can manage 2 with only 2 years age gap. Like what sandy said, 3 years will be nice. 3 years and after will be better!!!

My shipment from SG just reached my new home, and I am so happy that Zac is finally sleeping on his cot. The cot had been a white elephant for the past 11 months! Any mothers had already manage to let the little ones sleep on their own room?

Dear Mummies, thanks for the advice on washing hair. Managed to wash the back part of the head 1st, then fast fast carry on lap (the method used in the past) and wash top part while he screams away. Strangely, when I wash his head myself, the screaming seemed to reduce, I think he prefers 1 person to shower him, 2 may be too many. 2 days already, will keep trying the next few days and see how.

Managed to make him sleep without sarong last nite - after 3 long hours of battle! And just now, but faster coz he missed his usual nap at 10am, so knocked out at 12.30pm, hope he takes a long nap on the mattress. Fingers crossed. Need to persevere!

Your little ones are so cute! While gals like to play with cosmetics, hairclips etc, what about boys? My boy likes to play with hangers, mops, brooms, not toys! He likes laundry baskets, cardboard boxes etc. And sharp objects like screw drivers, pens, all adult things. Wonder what he will do when he grows up.

think becos I seldom put on makeup, so chi mun doesnt have a habit of meddling with my brushes. She likes to kay-po in hsework though - always sweeping using the magic clean :p

thesimz:
no such luck yet. if bb is sleeping in her own room, at 6am or 5am in the morning, she will sure walk over to our bedroom, climb up to our bed and squeeze in between us. she wants to be a big light bulb!

overload:
hohoho!!! Mummy 1, Daddy 0!

sandy:
hehehehee .... maybe the next hua mao photo is naomi's lor! wahhahahaa!

liting:
steady! you'll win this sarong battle!

Mummies, how many days does the fever take to subside after MMR? My boy so zun, today 8th nite after the jab, just now got fever le, around 38.0C. Anything I need to take note of?

Looks like I have to postpone the sarong battle as he needed the sarong else cry and cry...haiz.

hi gals..... i have my name card photo taken liao. go biow my facebook profile pic.
haha... one of the nice nice photos since wedding photos.

and they are super efficient, within an hr "gao tim" for 3 persons. and the girl is having super good service, cos we are late as we rushed there from work. yet she's still willing to entertain us and even stay back to finish the job.

my friend was saying i look fat... i say bo bian cos i'm fat. haha. still havent managed to lose the extra that I put on due to my condition.

my mil was teaching han to "shake hand" yesterday.

and just now we went for a family gathering.
think cos han just learnt the new skill, he keep extending his hand out for a hand-shake. like so pro like that.
super funny.

one of the things that must go after becoming a mum - World Cup!! No more midnite matches! urgh!! I am quite jealous of hb. He just announced that he will be catching the 2.30am match online. urghhh!!!!

liting:
just give more water and sponge if necessary. he'll be ok in a day or 2. before next jab, u see if u wan to give him gripe water daily few days before jab. This method works quite well for my girl for most jabs lah. then after jab wont have fever.

gracechua:
hehee ... Han's so cute! :p must take a photo of him shaking hands! :p

Liting. My pd said fever will develop between 1 and 5 days after mmr vaccine. If fever arise after 5 days post vaccine, it's not related to mmr. Give him more fluids, paracetamol and sponge to bring down temp. If fever persists for more than 48 hrs without any symptoms then better see a pd for advise. If there's cough n block nose then the fever is caused by the flu. If it's a viral infection, rashes may appear approximately 4 days after fever. But I still feel that it's better to see a pd if he still has fever after 2 days. Take care.

Liting,
Ya.. my boy also had the same fever episode last week. It was terribly high that we were quite lost. Luckily for Sandy and Sheepish advice. Haha.. hope he will recover soon!!!

Lonerunner
Hee.. watched together with hubby!!! If chi mum wakes up, just take turns to attend to her?

Grace
Your photo looked pro! Looks like you are all ready to embark for your 2nd career! Jia you! Jia You! Jia you!

Hi Sandy, I brought him to an indoor playground - Go Go Bambini on the 7th day, thinking he is out of the danger period after the MMR jab, so now not sure if he fell sick after the 1.5 hrs of play there or because of the jab, I thought I read from some of the posts here that fever will start from 6 - 8th day after MMR? Maybe I read wrongly. Ya, will observe, if still got fever after 48 hrs, will bring to see pd. Thanks for your advice.

Lonerunner, I thought gripe water is for stomach wind? Someone told me it is for infants with stomach wind and I have stopped giving him since 8mth or so. We gave him 2 - 3 small slices of yang shen boiled with water before he went for the jab, I think for 2 days before, then 1 or 2 days after also, but still fever leh. So far, he usually will have fever after each jab. You mean your gal never have fever after each jab ah? Then, next time, I will try your method. I think the last one jab is at 18th mth, then 6 yrs, old before going into Primary 1 right? Cannot wait for all the jabs to be finished.

The_Simz, so your boy's fever came after the MMR? How many days?

liting:
gripe water has cooling effect supposedly lah. u see if this method works for ur boy cos diff bb reacts differently. We have to keep trial and error to see which method works. But as sandy said, fever after MMR usually sets in within 5 days. So it could be he has caught something from the playground or something else and not affect effects of MMR. may he recovers soon.

thesimz:
yeah I was thinking of that alternative leh. But after considering that we wont have any stamina to attend to this hyperactive girl the next day if both of us stayed up to watch, we gave up the idea. missed my England match early this morning. But luckily din watch lah. The stupid goalkeeper let in own goal after England was leading from 4th minute. Heard from hb that lotta "OH!" exclaimations were heard from outside the window after the goal was let in. So he's not the only one in the blk watching free online telecast .... hehehehee ...

thesimz: thanks! thanks!
haha... after close to 20 yrs, career change. :p
but i'm glad!

world cup: haha. i havent watched one match yet. but already heard super much comment on England match.

The Simz, my boy slept in his own room since he was an infant... heeee ... so now he still sleeps in his own room in his cot. Except once when he was sick, i slept with him in case i gotta wake up...

Talking of make-up, my boy didnt play with my make up but he rummage through my storage and found some hair clips, he take and want to clip for me on my head... pengz ... must have seen me doing and copy my action ! heee

Dear mummies, my pd at Kidslink at Sembawang closed her clinic and went to Singapore Baby and Child at AMK le, I was formerly with Dr Koh with SBCC but as distance was too far, so saw Dr Goh at Kidslink, but so unlucky, she closed down and went back there instead. Now, not sure whether to go back to her again or go to Kidslink at CCK where I am now at near my mum's place. CCK Kidslink, my mum don't like as he last time treated my boy oral thrush at 4mths by asking us to hold his arms up while he checks his mouth and my boy was wailing loudly away.

My boy's fever was hovering around 38C yesterday, even after medicine, but this morning, after fever medicine, finally came down. My mum suspected sore throat or what as she feels that now his fever comes down under effect of medicine, so suggests I bring him to pd.

Any gd pd to recommend in CCK area? I saw in other threads about Baby Bear Clinic in Woodlands, 50-50 comments about him being gd.

so many posts!!! took me 1hr to read all that i missed!!! hehe!

like other mummies, this mummy also like to asks questions to cas over and over again!

mummy: where's ur nose?
cas points to her nose and then to mummies nose

mummy: where's ur eyes?
cas points to her eyes and then to mummies eyes

mummy: where's ur teeth?
cas points to her teeth and then to mummies teeth

mummy: where's ur ears?
cas points to her ears and then to mummies ears

mummy: where's ur tummy?
cas will lift her shirt and point to her tummy

mummy: one...
cas: two, tee (3), por (4), pi (5) *claps hand*

mummy: six...
cas: beben (7), ey (8), nay (9), ten!! *claps hand*

hey mummies, can i check whether your baby sleeps through the night or still wakes up for milk?

Kylene can wake up twice for milk, but her intake throughout the day and night is quite little, she can only manage to drink 150ml.

I am trying to wean her off night feeds but scare she very hungry.

whitegalz:
cas doesn't wake up for milk anymore. her last milk intake will be about 9:30-10pm before she sleeps and her next bottle will be around 6:30-7am. but cas drinks about 180-210ml per feeding. maybe kylene is a small but frequent drinker? if you really want to try, if she stirs at night, just pat her to sleep or if you use pacifier, then give her that first.

Whitegalz
My son used to wake up in the middle of the night for milk until one fine day, i gave him the cold turkey. From that day on, he didn't wake up for milk anymore. Now he's having milk in the morning, noon and before he sleeps, about 180ml each time. If she has enough food intake in the day, shouldn't be hungry at night?

Liting
Hope your boy had recovered when i am typing this msg. It's never easy for parents who had a sick bb..

saro
Oh ya.. i remembered your son had a nice nice bedroom. Haha.. I am stucked with my son. He's so jealous of everything. Daddy cannot hold my hand, cannot kiss me goodbye. This morning, when daddy was kissing me goodbye, he rushed over and kiss me on the lips. Eeeekkk!! Thought of throwing him into a room so that he will not be so possessive.

can I checked if anyone was a strep B carrier during pregnancy? My friend was a carrier and she's very worried. Is it true that if she is to take the antibiotics now, the bb will be immuned to the bacteria? She's wondering to take the anitbiotics or not.

the_simz:
my gal has been sleeping in her cot since birth... we shifted tat out into her own rm when she was 3 mths old... but before we sleep-trained her, i was having difficulties putting her to bed... so she did sleep wif me for a few days...

saro:
at least he din try clip them on his head!

whitegalz:
my gal doesn't wake up for nite feeds for a long while liao... think kylene is waking up more of a habit now rather than hunger... cos like wat the_simz said, she shd not be hungry if her food and milk intake thru e day is enuff... babies at tis age shd be able to withstand longer hrs wifout food liao, esp at nite i feel...

hello simz,

is she due yet or delivered already? usually if the mommy is tested positive for strep b, they will either be given a course of anti biotics prior to delivery, or given anti-biotics intraveneouly during labour. the purpose of the antibiotics is to kill the strep b that might be present so as to prevent an infection that might be passed to the baby during a vaginal birth. however, the baby will not be immuned to the bacteria since it is not a vaccine. anti biotics only kills the bacteria...but if shes undergoing c-section then less worries because the risk of infecting the baby is higher for vaginal birth. hope this helps..

Sheepish and sandy
The gynae didn't explain to her what's strep B. The nurse called her to get the med. She did all the research online. Think too much information are available that makes her lost.

Sandy, she's in week 33. Is it too early to start the antibiotics?

simz, my hb say its not too early and i guess her gynae would not just give her medication if its not the right time..sometimes the more information we gather, the more we worry...all the best to your friend

mibebe (mibebe), the_simz, sheepish, then how much food ur baby eat a day?

I am not sure if she is eating enough, her two main meals are 1 bowl of porridge each, cos she got no teeth, i nvr let her eat rice etc..

at first i thought is habit, but twice a night seems very hungry.. me, hb n MIL are quite tired by this hungry gal..

I have tried night feed of 200ml, she can finish but at most last her 5 hrs.

Simz, my gal also sleep in her own room n cot since birth. Ur boy so cute in a way so possesive of mummy hehe

whitegalz, is ur porridge very watery or thick grainy? If watery may not be enuf. Hmm think u can try rice leh, mayb add a bit more water so it'll b softer. Now that they're walking n more active, they prob need more solids.

paiseh, the post was posted by whitegalz... i repeat ah..

mibebe (mibebe), the_simz, sheepish, then how much food ur baby eat a day?

I am not sure if she is eating enough, her two main meals are 1 bowl of porridge each, cos she got no teeth, i nvr let her eat rice etc..

at first i thought is habit, but twice a night seems very hungry.. me, hb n MIL are quite tired by this hungry gal..

I have tried night feed of 200ml, she can finish but at most last her 5 hrs.

whitegalz:
my girl restarted her early morning feeds anytime between 4am to 6am and will finish all 180ml offered. She used to drink up to 330ml within a span of 2hrs before she KO for the nite last week but these 2 nights she stopped at 200ml before she slept. I just have to wait out this phase.

thesimz:
hahahaa ... throw him into a room! cute mummy! :p
Oh I tested positive for GBS last time so during labour, my gynae put me on antobiotics. But end up I still have to deliver via c-sec.

saro:
yeah ... agree with sheepish ... at least he din try to clip the hairclips onto his hair! hahahaa!

fave:
wow ... ur bb has no teeth yet?

mibebe:
hehehe ... cas is so cute!! good to teach cas these tricks. I'd been trying to teach chi mun these but todate, she has more talent trying to do inspection and take things apart as compared to learning body parts.

whitegalz,

seems like kylene needs more solids cos now they need at least 3 main meals a day. naomi doesnt drink at night but she eats 3 mains plus 2 snacks per day. since last 2 weeks dont know if its growth spurt or increase energy demand, shes eating more..cereal twice a day, and rice twice a day. maybe like what ginn says, can give her soft rice ...put more water when u cook her rice.

ginn, how are you? haven seen you posting for awhile.

lonerunner,

chi mun is also very cute lor...little inspector hee hee..u can go through the body parts daily with her and make it a fun way..for instance if teaching her the head, u can headbutt her tummy to tickle her...when i teach naomi the elbow, i will use my elbow to tickle her and very fast she knows where the elbow is..but one headache i have is whenever she hears bellybutton, she keeps poking and digging her bellybutton..pd ask me to stop her so i stop asking where her bellybutton is. heh heh what tricks did ur little inspector do today??..

oh mommies,

i did a very crazy thing yesterday..i brought naomi to watch shrek 4 in the cinema because i saw her watching the trailer very intently..thank God she sat through and watched the first half, slept for 45 mins, woke up and finished watching the rest of the movie..this is my first movie after 16.5 mths..

whitegalz:
my gal's meal schedule:
10am 150/180ml fm followed by cereal/yogurt wif fruits
1.30pm porridge (cooked using abt 3 fm scoops of uncooked rice plus veg and fish/meat; split into 2 portions, e latter fed abt 45 mins later cos she refuses to take everything at 1 go)
3.30pm 150ml fm
7.30pm porridge/rice/pasta/mee sua (if porridge/rice, it's abt same amt as lunch; if pasta/mee sua, depends on "feeling")
9.30pm 180ml fm

Hihi sandy, am good thanks
yeah haven't post here for a while keke sometimes when I wanna post during day, my gal demands entertainment haha then by night too lazy n tired keke oh yeah my gal also seemed to have growth spurt now, eating more frequent too but I'm happily feeding while this phase lasts!

whitegalz:
in tat case, can ur gal actually finish more food if given? if she can take more, give her more lah... be it porridge or milk... can give her healthy snacks like fruits, cereal and yogurt too...

sandy:
u are brave! think i still dun dare bring my gal to cinema... dun wan everyone to stare at me in case she starts to whine!

Sandy:
WOW WOW!!! Salute!!! Naomi is really guai lo... I also have not been to any movie since baby was born... but definitely dun have ur courage hahaha...

hello mummies, I am off these 2 days and going to the zoo later.hope the rain stop by then.

hey sandy, what snacks you feed naomi? My Jovan doesnt eat a lot for his meals so I stop giving snacks completely so as to make him hungry then he will eat more rice. One thing I realised, he only eat a few spoonful(max 5 tspn) of rice for lunch. for dinner, about 10 tspn of rice. I think for lunchtime, he didnt use much energy cos he usually woke up from his morning nap and didnt exercise much. how much rice does your kids eat now?

oh whitegalz, I started off giving my boy our normal rice cooked from rice cooker but I think its a bit too hard for him. so now, I steam a small portion of rice for him with more water so its more soft. I think he prefers that.

Hi mummies, thanks to all for your advice. I think my boy's fever has gone down as for more than 24 hrs, I never give him the fever medicine, temperature did not shoot up. But last evening or rather late afternoon from 4pm to about 9pm,temperature was erratic, funny to have one ear measuring 36.9, the other ear measuring 37.9, and then 37.6, then 36.7, my Baun thermometer is new, wondering which other could be more accurate. He refused the Terumo thermometer for the armpit, funny, last time he will let us measure, now, he will move away once I bring that out, even when he is sound asleep, the minute I gently touch his arm, he knew I wanted to put thermometer under his armpit and simply refused to let me. Anyone has same experience?

According to my mum, last time doc told her when my bro was young that temperatures for all human beings tend to shoot up at 8am, 12pm, 5pm, so if it is slightly higher than normal, not to worry, so I din give medicine after 4pm yesterday when the temp up a little.

Whitegalz, my boy also at most 5- 6 hrs, then need milk, still erratic schedule, if drink at 12am, then next feed around 5 or 6 or 7am, if drink at 10pm, then need milk at 4 or 5am. He is also on porridge, I think he lazy to chew, so we make the porridge more coarse, but still soft and I still see him swallowing before chewing. Even fruits,still puree as he will choke if we let him bite as he tends to swallowing after biting.

His meal schedule:

6 -7am 180ml FM(depending on nite's last feed, will vary)

10 - 11am 180ml FM (sometimes if he wakes up at 12pm, or last morning feed at 8 or 9am, then 12 plus or 1pm, will be porridge)

1pm - 1 bowl porridge with grinded veg, meat, fish in the bowl

3.30 or 4pm - 180ml FM

6.30 or 7pm - 1 bowl porridge (same as lunch)

10pm - 180ml FM

Last week, before his fever, he also like little growth spurt - can finish 210ml, but these 3 days dropped again due to fever.

I don't usually give snacks - only pinches of bread when he sees us eat but there are still many things that I din let him eat for fear he will not want to eat his porridge which is without any seasoning.

But I have a problem, he cannot self-feed yet, not even hold his milk bottle, so I am worried about him going to childcare where he will not get personalised attention. Even water, we have to spoon-feed him. He drink milk must have something interesting in his hands, else he will refused to suck.
I must have spoiled him with all the king-like treatment, now have to suffer the consequences.

He cannot even tell us he poo poo, except will whine when it is too long after poo and we din realise it.

REally worried how he is going to survive in childcare.

BTw, mummies, are u all worried when your bb sleep alone in their own room? in cot? Now, don't they know how to climb out of it? My boy has been sleeping in the same room as me since born, very stressed as difficult to do "work", but I am worried about him by himself.

Wah, Lonerunner, 330ml, that's a lot!

Sandy, Naomi is really such a DEAR! Envy u!

Ag gal,

my snacks for Naomi are fruits, cheese , yogurt or 2 tbsp of ceralac. I don't buy biscuits for her. Before her growth spurt she eats 2tbsp of rice with ingredients n soup (comes up to 3/4 bOwl). Now it's 3 tbsp (comes up to 1 bowl)

sandy, ur tbsp of rice is uncooked rice?

kylene snacks alot of fruits n bread in the day, but we never really do it in the snack time. Just adhoc, as and when she passes by the dining table, she will demand for it.

ginn, my porridge not grainy, i will cook for a long time until the grain melts. cos i dont like grainy porridge, but i think my rice i put too little liao..

As for her porridge, only 1 tablespoon of uncooked rice plus meat n vege to form 1 bowl. She can finish up one bowl each time. I tried "guo tiao" and macoroni, but she dont like and will spit out.

I think i will try the rice method, if not, I will increase the rice and follow sheepish method, feed 45 mins later. I think my rice too little liao. haha, no wonder she is hungry at night.

sandy, kylene has difficulty standing or sitting still.. i have to chase after her most of the time and the worst thing is, her voice is very loud. When she calls us, I think the upstairs and downstairs neighbours can hear her voice. Really envy u, Naomi is so so guai since young. Really an angel baby leh...

whitegalz:
cas drinks around 720-800ml of milk, 3 solid meal, 2-3 snacks (fruits, yogurt, bread).

lonerunner:
teaching her the body parts one at a time took a lot of my patience! hahahaha!

sandy:
wah salute naomi for behaving in the cinema! i dun dare bring cas or else we will get evicted in the cinema! hahaha! she loves to watch the "how to train ur dragon" trailer but when we let her watch the full movie, she got bored instantly! lol