(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

Haha AG,

Same case as me. I also brought the hungry caterpillar & Goodnite moon from Kino. Cost me $40+ bucks bec i brought the set with the caterpillar toy. My son also seldom pick up those 2 books to read. He still prefer his old stuff

My son watching Baby Signing Time

judging from the posts here, seems like more girls likes books while boys are not so keen? keke can see our tods showing the diff characteristics...

Sandy...I tried lettg him watch when he was younger. BUt he got no interest in it at all! haha...So I only started it again recently. He is enjoyg it now and will demand to watch. There was once I tried shwoing him a different video, he was very upset and kept making alot of noise until I change it to the Baby can read video. =p

bbyyang/AG girl... I bought books based on recommendations too, and also based on what I think he will like. Books in SG very ex, so I have buying from amazon the previous times when my hubby went US. At first he also dont like. But I will keep trying to read the book together with him and slowly he will start to like the book. He cant sit through whole book still, but its improving. So I tell myself must be patient.

Talking abt watching educational DVDs, last week I played a new DVD whose title is something like "Sing along Nursery Rhymes". That DVD's super "good". Within 5min of watching, my girl's already nodding off! hahahaah! Now that's one DVD to watch when it's bedtime :p

I found another method to tire my girl out - that is to let her zoom along the corridoor on those seatable toy cars/trucks with my neighbours' kids. the only setback is my poor plants' leaves have to be sacrified somehow. these kids dun need a licence to drive.

ginn:
yeah, our tods' characteristics are starting to show! think at next gathering, maybe can hold it at a place near a library and a playgym. the readers can go to the library, and the players go the playgym! :p

Huggies ultra - $14.50 per pkt
Huggies pullups - $14.50 per pkt
Huggies comfort (red) - $15 per pkt
Huggies dry (blue) - $15 per pkt

Collection at Punggol/ Toa payoh (fri evenings & sun mornings) / Amk (prearranged) / Pasir Ris ( prearranged) / Science Centre (prearranged)/IMM (prearranged)

Please email PM me for enquries and orders.

hallo Mummies...
my baby has a fever and slight cough today. Other than that she seems like normal n v active. Even asked for more medicine after we all clapped n made a big fuss on her... hahaha

blueb:
congrats!!!
It's always great to be able to spend more time.

Sandy:
Hahaha It's funny. My baby used to call hb both "daddy" and "papa" at least 4mths before she starts calling me. I know she knew to say mama before but she just refused and used to call me jie (older sis).... until now i also dunno why.. she does call me mama now, but still refuse to call me mummy... Very funny ho?

Wahh Naomi is smart. My baby also recently starts to show interest in reading. But she never watch dvd... My cousin also told me about my baby can read. Her 2yo sons can read most of d bb can read books. Anyway, how many dvd are there? After ur advertisement n knowing many mommies do let baby watch tv, i feel i should start letting my baby to watch tv also. hahaha... Running out of things to entertain her. I am not very strict type but i have 1 prob: my hb.. LOL..

Blueb/Grace:
I read somewhere, Boys r usually slower in language devt cos linguistic is a feminine trait. But of course, different baby has different interests, like us adults also. I can't find d article that says that oredi. May be google or our dear Sandy can help... :D

Ginn:
Ur baby sounds VERY MUCH like my baby few months back lo... Just remind urself "It's a phase". I understand how stressful and frustrating right now. Hang On there!!!!

oh ya Mommies
I need a recommendation for a good sippy cup.
My daughter wants to control everything now including drinking water. So I need to survey:
1. What type of sippy cup r u guys using?
2. How is the flow of the sippy cup like? Fast or Slow?
3. How satisfied r u using it?
hehehe thanks in advanced!!!!

sandy:
naomi is so cute! haha, she says so many words but never call mummy... (sorry ah, seems quite funny to me... though i noe not funny to u) she must be like, let's keep mummy in suspense! saving e best for last, hehe...

the_simz:
haha, no lah... never read a lot... happened to be sourcing for "bb can read" mths back, so i noe... wanted to get from e website, but include shipping will be too ex liao...

overload:
if ur gal has been drinking from open rimmed cup, then u can continue using tat leh... dun need to use sippy cup liao... cos sippy cup is like a transition stage, i feel... cos now, my gal using straw cup and i have to transition her to open rimmed cup... which i'm still procrastinating, cos of e mess it may create...

da_bin:
my gal is supposedly taking 2 naps now... but recently, she has a tendency to skip e 1st nap...

anyway, i oso will choose her naptime to have priority over mealtime... cos she is ok to have her mealtime delayed, but i cannot take it if she doesn't nap and ends up cranky... like now, i'll let her sleep max before her class in e afternoon... then i'll wake her, rush to class, then feed her juz 10 mins before class... but cos she needs more time to finish up e portion i give her, she'll eat half before class and half after! she can even endure e train ride there (abt 45 mins for e time she wakes till i feed her)...

overload, i agree with sheepish that since she can drink using open rim cup, dont let her use sippy because the ultimate goal is teaching them how to drink from a normal cup. yes there will be lots of mess and i went through that too ...but eventually they will learn..before naomi asserts her independence, i started her off with open rim cup ..i had to hold for her definitely because she was only 6 mths but i tried to minimize mess by using my other hand to place a hanky below her chin to take in all the water that flowed out. by the time she wants to assert her independence and wants to hold her own cup, she was able to drink without spillage....i persevered even with mess but it paid off so dont be put off by the mess they create because they really learn through this process..if they dont try, they wont learn
in fact u are half way there already because she is familiar with an open rimmed cup
once she can drink well from the normal cup, she can drink from anything including normal straw without having to teach her..

Sandy , lonerunner ,.blueb , mibebe , ginn, ag , simz

My boy also has a lot of preference and does a lot of acting . When he wants to go out he will point to his socks and shoes and the door . He loves to play in water annd he will give orders. To us to take him . He rules the roost at home

Regarding toys I do not buy much too . U know my sons loves to play with my kitchen crockery and vessel . He will act as if he is cooking like me and will say mum mum which means food . I play with him and teach him while playing too

Sahm
Now am a sahm and am really happy about it . Nothing like. Being physically present with the kid . I was working earlier and therefore am able to appreciate this now. He always sticks me and keeps going round and round around me .

Communication
He is able to communicate well . He points out for milk food sleep play and even for water . If he doesn't like he shows a face . Lot of actions he will do . If he falls he will drag us and ahow the place where he fell and he will show his body where he got hurt . Its quite interesting to watch them

Ramy:
Seems like most of the babies are in this phase of asserting what they want and "acting out" when they don't get it! sometimes it's cute but sometimes can get to my nerves! hahahaa!

Baby can read:
Cas also can't read but she can say a lot of words already. I'm interested to get this DVD....how much is the set for this?

Mibebe,
it's 99 selling at united sq. Am heading down later to buy. Hee

ramy
it's seems like u really enjoy being around with Thooyan!! So how long u plan to stay home? I am a sahm now until 1.5yrs later. Don't know if I will still want to go back to e work force

the_simz:
if u dun wan e whole load of stuff, amazon oso sells juz e dvd set... abt us$54, got 1 wif super saver shipping - means free shipping within states... unless u wanna let zac watch it now, then buy in sg bah...

sheepish/sandy:
ohhh so no need to use sippy cup? i tot since she can hold her own cup, it'd be better cos i notice she drink more. n i also saw other bigger kids bring their sippy cups around... hmmm.. ok lo deal w d mess lo... sigh...

mibebe/simz:
i saw in wts/wtb yesterday somebody is selling $54 incl normal postage. i haven't got green lights so cannot buy :D

overload:
me have to ask hubby first also...i'm not sure if he will agree coz he really wants cas to be more relaxed and just learn thru play...

Oh ya, it's a DVD set, that's why so ex. I just went to popular and realized there's stock too! Can buy one to let ur tot try out before getting the whole set.

Hey ladies,

Hmm to share on the reading of books i think is really we influence them de ba...cos bryston use to bite on the book when i let him flip on his own.So in the end every book he pull out from the box i will read it to him....

so fm then on he is more interested in books,morning wake up walk to the box say book book...But due to the no of time he drag out the book i keep it in those storage box when he cannot pull it out.

So now is when he say book n point to the box i change to,i will bring out the book for him.Now he is trying to flip one page by one but smetime hard so will be like a few pages at one go LOL

Ad for dvd,i think the Your Baby can Read is really not bad which Bryston like it alot and learn alot from it.Point to my eye or rather poke my eye n say eye.... LOL i suffer again.... the only thing he is not pointing to is his nose i guess he haven find it on his face yet haha....

Another set of dvd that he is watching is Preschool Prep show like Colour,Alphabet,Numbers and etc....but sme ppl review that it is boring becos it keeps repeating...but i guess baby nid repetition which is why they will do it in that way bah....

He have been saying a few words like duck,star,ball,book,car,tree,bird,tiger probably and other words too LOL and the usual Pa n Ma and most baby sure knw wan mum mum mum mum

mibebe:
simz is right, i used to see some selling one by one. it's good to test n see whether baby likes it just in case.

simz:
so what is ur feedback on d dvd set?? :D

lili:
where were u?? hahaha poke eye!!! my baby also does that. But now she has other interests liao very weird... i tell u what.. She likes to crawl!! yeah, crawl!!! funny right? she can walk very well for 2mths oredi but she thinks it's hilarious to crawl and even make me crawl with her. and she likes to sleep on d floor and also made me n hb lie down with her... aiyoyo... this baby...

wow Bryston knows so many words oredi... how's life over there, do u go out for a stroll often? I wish we can here but too hot, even thinking of it make me sweat hahaha...

sheepish:
thread v quiet again. any more ideas? :D

wah lau ... finally manage to post. this forum kept popping some mySQL connection error.

tmw gotta rush down to ICA to re-register my IC. ICA sent me letter that I'd commited an offense by failing to register in time. jialak! this is the price to pay for wanting to look good in photo. my face just cant slim down after childbirth!!

today my girl picked up a new trick at the playground - climbed up the stairs, round and round until the top. then walked to the top of the slide, sat down, and with a gleeful grin, wheeeeeee .... off she slided all the way to the bottom! then cheekily climbed out and headed back to the stairs again.

For her maybe is very fun, but for her poor dad n mum, our old backs are aching all the way now. We never know that supervising a toddler on the slide can be so tiring!

DVD:
hmmm ... maybe I shld try getting "Your baby can read" DVD. my collegue also got good comments abt it.

lili:
oh u poor thing ... have to siam bb's pointing finger at eyes now

been trying so long to post tis...

polliwogs
hey mummies, think i may not be able to go tis wk liao... cos my gal juz went for mmr + chix pox jab, doc says side effects may not be present until e 3rd day and may last for as long as 10 days! so wanna reduce her exposure to "outside world" as much as possible... but u mummies go ahead lah!

juz to facilitate e organising, these are e mummies who have expressed interest... gracechua, hsaoj, elicia and bbyang! if morn, can oso ask gracie_gal... u mummies contact each other okie?

enfagrow
oso, juz to share tat it's now selling in cold storage @ $54.95... if got maybank family card, only works out to $52.20 after 5% rebate... do stock up if need too! hehe...

overload:
got a copy from a friend so I will try that first and see if Cas will like it

lonerunner:
cas also looovesss the slide in the playground! for her, she climbs the slide itself *doesn't want to use the stairs* and then will slide! makes me crazy! hahaha!

sheepish:
thanks for the tip on enfagrow...will buy in bulk! hehe!

Hi Overload,

Ya try to take stroll to post/open letterbox but mostly is shopping LOL....

ya lo he funny wan la suddenly like to say eyes so much n keep pointing to my eyes then like drilling my eye lo...pain man....

For me here weather getting abit siao la...spring here is smeday hot/super windy/chily de so arh all of the sudden can feel like wear the wrong type of clothes out LOL...

Sheepish,

ask u arh sg enfagrow is simi size arh?? here de umm 816g hor is 19bucks USD but usually i have coupon so smetime can get it at 14bucks. nw u say 54 plus i m like... 0.0

as usual,v busy w work no time to post at all.

AG,
Ive pm u. thks for sharing the house rules!

simz,
thks for answering my qn on how to survive in foreign land
actually i was trying to ask how to survive when we r facing problems especially in child care and personal emotionally support. whenever im not happy or stress, i always 'chiong' to my siblings and dad house. they r my support!

Lili,
perhaps u can share some tips how to get morale support when u r in foreign land. ppl surround u r unfamiliar too u and how to build up networking. when u need help, who do u speak to?

sandy,
my gal nvr sit thru when watching baby can read dvd since small. as far as i know those words show in level 1 &2 if i read them out, she knows what the words are. she can point and act according to the words i said. like hi, she'll waive 'hi'. i say cat, she'll make a funny cat sound., kick, she'll go find her ball and kick. i say 'sleep' she'll chiong to her bedroom and point to the bed. if i write, without saying the word, dun tik she can recognise. hahahaha.....

educational dvds:
apart fr baby can read, i oso bot baby einstein, elmo, winnie the pooh, mickey mouse, baby genius whole series, chinese classic story, 'Shan Zhi Jin'.

sheepish,
din know maybank is having additional discount at cold storage! the staff shld've asked me if i have the maybank card or not.

overload,
my gal nvr used sippy cup. she can drink fr a normal cup after few practices. the inital stage was in the mess, water everywhere. then the funniest thing is she can tell me the floor is 'wet' 'wet'.

baby can read:
actually im a bit confused, maybe 2 schools of tot. like schichida, flash pictures only. no words until they r 2 or 3 yo. i tik they're focus on brain devt and memory link instead of teaching bb to recognise the words which tis shld be at the later stage.

just to share:
Young Parents May issue, a special section for 'Brainy Kid'. they share wat toys, books, and food tat made ur bb a genius. i havent finished reading.

toys & teaching tots:
ramy is right! no need to spend $ buy too many toys. ask our mummies here, how many of our tots here give good ROI on the toys we bot.

i read Heidi's book 'wat to expect the toddler year' she oso said no need to invest in toys cos they wouldnt have interest in the particular toys for long, so she suggest either borrow or exchange w frez. she said playing is oso part of learning. when we do sth and tell them, is oso learning.

hi mummies, anyone looking to sell away cot ? Asking on behalf my friend, she needs a 2nd cot to put at her mum's ..

Toys : Actually, our babies prefer our (adult) toys like : REAL laptop, REAL remote, REAL handphone, REAL cooking untensils, we buy all kinds to toys but in the end the have more interest in our toys... haiz....to owas have "new" toys, i let my boy play with the empty tissue box ( he loves to pull out tissue pc by pc and tear it into bits ) cereal box , with cereal inside, shake shake got sound... hehehe
to make him ake his own toy remote, i pretend to use his remote and put inside the remote control storage... hehe... i guess they like our "toys" bcos the keep seeing us "play" with it :S .....

saro,
i have one almost brand new play pen! not sure ur frez interested in playpen or not. i got lots of new and lightly used stuff wan to sell away.. moving house soon.

New items:
Avent 260ml x2
Pigeon Juicer bottle x 1
Bath tub with non-slip board
New clothes (new born to 6 mths) from Gap, Zara, Oshkosh

Lightly used items:
Graco Play pen (used less than 1 week at nanny place)
Preg-prego highchair
Pigeon sterilizer for 2 bottles

Deedee,

umm actually my hb in airforce so here also hv Singaporean living together. I think when hb work together n intro wives very fast hv own network le hehe... So my moral support are the frens I made over here n beside I'm those mr super shy type la. Once open my box I nvr stop communicating ba lol... Sme mummies can b my witness ho lol

sheepish,

thx thx tats is a gd price then for tat size I suppose can last approx one mth hor?? My tis tin can only last me two wks top very Ho liao lo lol... Despite bryston only drink twice of fm n one fresh milk

I got my new IC! Ganna interviewed by an officer for several minutes and write 'statement' before can proceed to counter to make my IC. super malu. luckily no fine or jail term or anything like that. phew!

then while I was at counter capturing my thumbprints and etc, I witness a middle age foreign chinese lady kicking up a big fuss at the counter ppl at the corner counter some distance away. apparently she has gone there without proper original documents but still insisted ICA to issue a new IC for her. When the counter ppl rejected her nicely and told her to come back again with the documents, she threw tons of verbal and racial assults at the staffs who to their credit, still can speak gently but firmly to her that they are not processing it. when she finally stormed out of the place, everyone in the crowd shook their heads. She tot she can treat spore law like dirt. siao. I would like to see her does that in her own country.

mibebe:
oh yeah, my terror tend to 'walk' up the slide instead of the stairs too! I noticed many kids in the playground do that. maybe it is shortcut for them but poor mum and dad have to pick them up and direct them to the proper way up. *oh my poor back!*

toy exchange:
actually my collegues, boss and I have been doing exchanges for toys/DVDs/books etc etc. those with older kids and have things outgrown are then passed down to us who have younger kids, then when they outgrown, we'll pass them down to collegues who have even younger kids than ours. quite useful actually. our kids get to have more stuff to watch, play, and we dun need to fork out a single cent. then when they outgrow, we dun need to find storage boxes .. just pass them over to others who wants them.

saro: totally agreed. han has a toy laptop which he doesnt really fancy. but he is super interested in ours.

hehe... was at the baby expo last weekend, ended up buying a whole range of book set for him. it was ex lor, hopefully got time to let him go thru.

lili:
yah, 1 tin can last abt 1 mth for my gal... she drinks 3 times a day, 180ml each... so not so bad, 1 mth abt $50... hehe...

woah today many posts lo...

lonerunner:
lucky you, i dun have anybody to exchange toys~

re buying toys
i agree most toys do not give adequate ROI but some toys do. Why dun we share what toys worth buying and what r not?? I really hate having those useless lying around.

Well, I can start...d ones that we own that worth buying r like a 100pcs of wooden blocks that has this shape sorter top. got this fr toys r us. i think this toy will last her quite long. or at least can teach her many stuffs. she can sort d blocks very well oredi, she can take out/in d bucket. recently we started teaching her colours using it, she can identify red n blue. she can build d blocks. for 100pcs, it entertains her longer than other toys.

I'm sure some mommies here also own the triple fun exersaucer that we excitedly acquire for our 4mths old (OMG it's almost a year ago). I must say i am very happy with this one too. It was idle for a while but now back as one of her fave.

and small toys that i am very happy with r d wooden peg puzzles by melissa n doug. and also those rings on spindle thing...

oh just recently my daughter also like to play kitchen. (those mini wok, plates, egg etc) i think kitchen toys will also last for very long cos i remember i still play with them when i was 8 or so. i used to play with my boys cousins but some mommies might not wanna buy this for their boys haha...

and what not to buys r those small small thing that costs 15-20 per piece. I used to buy those when she was younger. Has to wait for 2nd baby to appreciate it again (for a month or so) haha...

sheepish and lili:
got to buy 2 tins of enfagrow 1.8kg per month 4 cas! very ex!

lonerunner:
its nice to hve colleagues who u can exchange toys with!

overload:
4 cas the most worth it toys r her musical ones like piano and guitar and she loves her balls *even daddy's basketball*

Overload,

Xavier loves kitchen playset *faints*
he went to my sister house to play with my nieces and that could keep him entertain for quite some time, we brought him to the kids dentist and then there was this kitchen playset inside a chicco playhouse, and he refused to go home after playing inside, hiaz, i was even contemplating buying a kitchen set for him, but drop the idea as it feels so guniang lor haha lol

xavier likes all kinds of balls, so one cheap ball can keep him entertain for quite some time, like the ikea one keke, or buy from kiddy palace those one big bag of colourful balls for 20+/bag only, can keep him well entertain for quite some time... he loves balls so much until one day, he said "ball ball" when he was sleeping! omg haha
on top of that, i think i would recommend the fisherprice laugh and learn playhouse, he had this from 6mo and this toy keeps him well entertain too, i also like the haenim big blocks as he has lots of fun playing inside

i thought its better to buy smaller tin of milk powder for fear of contamination? i always get the 900g of enfagrow and i have to buy 4 tins a month too! lucky its cheaper than enfalac, haha, and so far seems like enfa is quite popular yah

happy:
haha Xavier is so funny. Like to comb hair but very chor lo. Very macho n likes balls but also wanna play with kitchen set hahaa...

eh i read somewhere actually it's ok to buy dolls for boys also. so i guess kitchen set is fine. but i think depends on individuals ho.. haha...

i was very close with my boy cousins. One in particular is 6mths older than me so we used to play everything. from kitchen set to robot and all the bang bang police with guns, dress up with make ups n dolls... we both end up ok haha there's not even the slightest tomboy in me and not a slightest femininity in him hahaha...

hmm... do u think it's a bit too late to buy FP play n laugh playhouse? i also like it but exp lo... i am also contemplating on whether the little tikes type of house also worth d price... any mommies here have one?

saro: i think u r very smart to mix baby's remote with real remote... hahaha... my baby plays with broken remote n my old phone too. they're hers but she always wants ours... faint.

overload,

lol, really can pengz right? I wonder he is macho or feminine hor hahahaha
but he really loves the kitchen set very much, i really had to drag him out of the playhouse with the kitchen set at the dentist! omg haha

eh, the FP playhouse is expensive, but what i did was, actually i had a jumperoo then, so when he outgrow the jumperoo, i sold it at 25% off and bgt the playhouse at 25% off during Robinsons sales, so its as good as i pay the full price of the jumperoo but he gets to enjoy both jumperoo and playhouse and get to keep the playhouse hehe, cheapo hor :p

i think its ok, because my nieces (3yo & 7yo) come to my house and will start playing with the play house, so i dont think its too "young" a toy for them... this house is very good, it has a peekaboo window (it says open/close when u do the action), mailbox (it says u got mail), door, doorbell, light (it says lights on/off when u do the action), key, shape sorters, clock, numbers, ABC, daytime/nighttime, balls chimney, flower, some roller toy and a little "stool" like shape which xavier loves to stand on, it would keep him entertain for say at most 10min before he gets bored haha :p