(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

Hi mummies, I have enfagrowth sample packets to give away FOC. Please PM me

I hv an opened pkt of Huggies Dry Comfort(red)size L (abt 50pcs left) to let go at $12/-. self collect at rivervale mall (sengkang). pls pm me..

I need to go crazy soon.......

I know every job got its problem, I am not trying to run away from pressure, its juz that I cant take it anymore. Work stress, home stress and most important financially stress too....

Work stress- from my superior....she juz dun like me, anything I do doesnt seem to be her liking....if not for any reason I think long ago I will b kicked out of the ofc....

Home stress- Damien is a take it easy kid and dun bother with anything and everything. Everyday after work I need to go home n push him to do HW and learn spelling. Hw juz cant concentrate on HW. He is also damn slow in eating. My Hb also another take it easy character. Nvr supervise Damien work n always asked me to relax dun stress Damien too much....

Financial stress- Have been eating up my saving for monthly expense......

Hello Mommies!

Sorry to interrupt. Anyone iterested on purchasing aqua diapers? I have the Huggies one in S, M and L - brand new packs. I'm selling at $12 per pack (U.P. $16.80). Also have neck floats special price $15. Email me [email protected] if interested.

sperzz: how about look for new job after CNY? once the superior start picking on u, i think its tough to stay on.

kid - i also dunno how to teach kyler lor..SIL son can point his own nose, own mouth already and MIL is comparing that how come kyler cant do it... i where got time to teach leh...

financial stress - i am not any better...i have learnt to accept it le, got $ then spent, dont have $ then dont spend lor..what to do..

sperzz : cool down & relax, dun be too stress on Damien HW. Maybe majority of boys r the same, my boy too, can't concentrate on his HW & do it in anyhow way, their aim is to jus complete the task & play.

sperzz: yah, boys develop slower, they play play now, den will get serious at a later age one. give him a timetable maybe? got time to play got time to study one...

re: jobs, start to slowly look see look see. economic turning better, sure have something for u de. den when u find a better environment job with better pay, den can relive your financial stress already!

chill babe!

sperzz: think i'm in a somewhat similar situation like you, just without a studying boy... gosh, think I must start training my hb to not be so lax. most boys got this prob for concentrating. try giving him a carrot - to do something he like then study. and of cos, hb's cooperation and example in front of the children also very impt. must psycho him.

i'm also looking ard for another job but it's either too far or no calls for interview. Keep trying. You can DO IT!!

Sperzz I can understand, my son is also v v slow, everything is slow. We were saying that Ashley took all our strengths while the boy took our weaknesses. Really sian cos boys in our society is still the head of household, makes me worry how is he going to survive next time.. My hb is like yours, dun bother too much. hopefully it will b like wat others said boys develop slower and our boys can catch up. As for work, I think u really need a change, hopefully find an environment that suits u.

Sperzz: Sayang... chill, chill.. life is full of challenges... we just have to work round them. One thing I learnt, we cannot change others nor the environment, but we can change ourselves - how we perceive things & how we frame our mind.

Work stress is always there... for any job. We just need to reframe. Focus on the big picture & try to ignore the less important things. If it gets too difficult, no harm seeking a better environment where you will be happier.

Home wise is alot about communication and what is your agreed 'acceptables'. Any 2 person will have differing views, but it does not mean we cannot meet mid-way or negotiate for something acceptable to both.

Maybe you & HB can review your personal achievements & goals (yours as well as the kids), then look at your current situation & status, decide whether you are on track, whether to make changes, etc... in such discussions, you can work through your differing expectations.

Homework, depends on your expectations of D. I think it is right for parents to have expectations of their kids, but we also need to remember that they are only a child (of 5?) What did we know at that age? Did we do what we now expect of our child?

Yes, the world is a different place today, but fundamentals remain. I think children need a childhood to a certain extend. How about setting him some goals, like for every 15mins he stay on his work, he gets X mins of playtime? & he gets to choose what he wants to play (computer, toys, puzzles, etc.) Instead of leaving him with no choice (then he appears like he's rebelling when he doesn't take up our option), consider giving him choices that are acceptable to you. He will feel that he has the power to choose, & will be more willing to comply. Then u can slowly coax him to develop some routine. Once you start, you have to be very disciplined yourself and keep encouraging him.

My #1 only settled into a study routine after 3mths in P1. Then again, we have never trained a homework habit prior to P1. Ops...

Moneywise, the money management gurus teach to 'spend below your means', 'save before spending', blah blah blah... I think a simpler model is to decide between needs & wants. Rank your expenses according to needs & wants, within the needs category, sub-categorise according to whether it is more or less urgent, for the wants category, sub-categorise according to least to most costly... then rank them all in 1 list. U start by paying off/ purchasing in this order: urgent needs to least urgent needs, then least costly to more costly... this way, you may find that you resource can actually get a lot of things... of course for big ticket indulgence, set a target & save towards them...

We use some of these ourselves, not always successful, but we do find them useful. See if they work for you.

Good morning ladies!!!

Since we are on the topics about my boys, I just want to give some of my 2 cents worth of thoughts on this. If you can, go and get this book called "Why Boys Are Different: And How to Bring Out the Best in Them" by Dr. Bonnie Macmillan. Whatever headache you have right now or it is going to happen the future will be explain in this book.

There is a reason why boys are like that now and they take it serious later. It is part of our genetic makeup and you can't simply change it overnight.

Since boys like to play, perhaps like what Ni said, give timetable is a good idea. For example, we can stress it this way whereby if he studies 30 min, can play 30 min. If his spelling all correct, can play 1 hour and etc... Let the boys see the result of their effort and he will be motivated.

Again, it won't happen overnight. We need to find out whether our boys are visual, listener or the doer type. I have a friend whose son is a visual-doer type. Every now and then, she will receive calls from her son teacher to the extent of going to school and see her son form teacher is a norm.

However, she doesn't blame or scold her son for his action because she understood his character. So what she did everyday is to re-teach her son in the visual way. Don't ask me how and where she finds the time to do all these. The point she was trying to stress to me is that boys are just different from girls.

Lastly, this friend of mine holds a don't know what Master or Doctoral in psychology and she specialized in children psychology. Last time used to work in SGH (I think so) in the Children department. So I guess her words definitely will have some sense for us to think upon.

HI,
I've a problem trying to do the milk transition for my bb. Have tried 2 brands NAN and currently GainIQ, tried both partial switching but it turns out that after complete change, she will get diarr. Anyone of you faces the same problem? I guess if I were to go to a PD, they will conclude that she is lactose intolerant
Any advise? Now I'm still putting her back on Nan2.

Sperzz
sorri, in hurry juz now, typo error...

i mean:
i checked the 2008 old calendar, 25 Dec 2008 is lunar 28 Nov lei.. my son born in 20 Dec 2008, lunar is 23 Nov.

anyone having trouble getting your toddler to sleep? JH doesn't want to sleep even though can see he is tired! both in the day and at bedtime at night. esp night cos he will want to play and will cry and cry and cry...

dazed : Adler oso the same. Last time he used to sleep @ ard 9+pm but now, he can "tong" until 2+am or even later. He will cry & cry pointing @ the door wanting to go out.

dazed: i dont have this prob...when kyler wants to sleep, nobody can stop him...sit also can sleep. but he sleep quite late too. usually 10+

dazed & laugh: Juvius also refused to sleep at night, wants to play so normally i will let him crawl and play for a while, coax him to sleep...i don like him to sleep so late...

mercs: thought you wan kyler to drink gain iq..

ni: supposingly i wanna change one..then heard that gain got constipation problem...then so far kyler dont have problems with mamex...so after consideration and also cost factor, i decided to stick to mamex lor..
should be $10 each ba...

willting: i consider alot before changing and i really go and read labels..and called up mamex..then i decided to continue with it lor. cos so far kyler has no problem with that...as for the benefits..perhaps i just give him extra from other sources ba...

tdy is 十二月初十, finally shyan's turn for lunar birthday. my mum cooked some mee-sua and eggs liao. later gg to feed her those :D

sperzz: u ok or not? dun worry lah, after cny slowly find another job then quit. takes abit of time to find, but eventually u will be able to find one. be positive. i also broke liao. been using my Retrenchment benefits to feed myself the past few months, and the RB is nearing zero liao. 3 more weeks to CNY, i dunno where to find money to bao-angbao leh... cos i haven't gotten my first pay yet, gotta wait till near mid feb

now i'm just trying to get ard.. hoping for pay day to come soon...

So disappointed. It was my first time buying clothes from bulk purchase and the size is too small for Ashley. I already took the 1-2 yrs old size but it's too short  so she looked kind of funny. I think next time I just stick to buying on Internet sites, wasted my money

Hi morning mummies,

Thread is moving very slow huh.

Jan Jan, yesterday is " Shi wu" right?

I feel very guilty, totally forgotten to celebrate Ashlyn's Lunar birthday.Am trying to figure out her lunar birthday date,already throw away last year's calendar.. seems like today is the day. I hope my calculation is correct.Jan, Is Shyan born on 10th Jan. Mine is 11th Jan. I hope i am still on time to cook Mee Sua.

Jolene: Yen was born on 9th Jan & her lunar birthday was 28th, so I figure Ashley's should be today ba. Go on cook your mee sua & play your game... have fun!

just went to kidzloft, their sack & seat now only $20 cos storewide 50% off. me bought safety gate... cannot tahan JH keep crawling to the kitchen!

Jolene, remember not to put anything in the mee sua cos mee sua itself is already salty. i only gave shyan one mouthful. haha.. and her mee-sua has been pre-boiled and soaked to get rid of salt :D

dazed: we never coordinate properly. i went kidsloft too. i think i was 1 hour earlier than u

cherryale: huh? the clothing too small? aiyoh.. i have been buying from bulk, so far only kenna clothing too big cos dunno how to estimate the size. but most of the time ok leh... maybe their cutting too small i guess