(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

jowin,

ya i going on 7 nov go for 4days 3nite.
Yes bringing both my kids and my PIL joining as too. i 1st time going phuket so not sure..But i am staying quite far away from patong so traveling take time. I hope to make full use of the resort though cos both my kids like to stay hotel and resort one dun like to go out..haha

Where are u staying? Booked the resort and airtickts already?

Chantalle,
I skipped the outdoor theme park cos most of the rides she can't take either due to height or age limit. So if go land up is either hb or I take the ride (no fun leh). But the indoor rides she can take (with an adult) - well she was amused with it.

The heated pool is in the indoor area near Mary Browns...
There is oso a nice temple (with the 18 levels of hell thingy) - got free shuttle from the hotels to go there (if u are interested)... ;p

Me goes to HK in Dec (eh... w/o my lil girl thou). ;p

Snowger, that is very helpful info! Thanks for sharing! What? Nice temple with 18 level of hell thingy!!??? U consider that nice??? Lolz! I haben heard of that before lei will go and check it out. WOW HONG KONG!! i love the food there!!! Will you be checking Disneyland out? Give your review ok? Wanna know if ocean park more worth the visit or Disneyland is better. Intend to bring Cay there when she is little older. HKG not very kid friendly place i feel. There is alot of walking to do in HKG and places are hardly accesible by strollers.. and yes.. its very very crowded. So yes, u made the right decision not to bring ur gal. hehe..

hi jappooh
Yes, i booked my hotel n flight.
Stay at Marriot at Mai Khao.. its very far from patong too .. I got the voucher for the suite.. so we stayed there lor..

Let me know after u back ok??

I m abit worried especially island hopping, not sure if its the same as Krabi type. Will rent a car to self drive there.

Hi chantalle

Chantalle,
I dun think I will go disney leh but I would surely wanna bring my dotter there when she is in kindy or older...
I might check out ocean park thou... ;p Let u know aft I'm back!

The temple is call Chin Swee Cave Temple. There is a shuttle bus there from one of the hotels... I say nice cos at the highest area (if got no fog) can actually see some nice views lar... ;p

I got blog abt my trip highlights i.e. the rides, the pool and the temple. I din go the strawberry farm cos the cable car was closed for maintainence for 1 day while I was there... ;p
http://snowiesnowiegal.blogspot.com/2010/06/trip-to-genting-day-3-chin-swee-cave.html

jowin,
post leh... I wanna see... Even thou i dunno if I will EVER go back to Genting... lolz... bad experience the last round. totally freaked out by the First world hotel...;p

Awww.. Snowger! Your blog is totally awesome!!! Seems like your gal really enjoy the genting trip. What's up with First world Hotel? I have never stayed there before. Only went to Resort hotel.

Yes Jowin! I wanna go visit strawberry farm too.. can i have a sneak preview before i go? Haahaa..

jowin,

when i go genting i stay theme park hotel family suite. Big and clean and nice lar and come with bath tub.. haha

Why no theme park hotel?

I must say when with kids i wont wan to stay 1st world. Usually no choice then i stay 1st world loh.

Resort is nice..

Why ah? Nobody wants to stay First World? When i do the booking, i was told First world is full, that is why i have to stay in Resort. hey Snowger, was that Transtar that you travelled with to Genting?

Chantalle,
I took Five Stars in the end. Was comparing Grassland and Transtar as well... ;p I think Five Stars was slightly cheaper (I signed up during the fair). My colleagues say I am mad to pay $120 per pax to go KL... ;p

I am a spoilt brat... When I travel, I stay in 4 stars and above. Let's just say the hotel is very old (I wanted a queen bed and they gave me a twin), the sound proofing sucks (I can hear kids running down the hallway, people talking next door, etc), hot water is communal style (i.e. like pasir ris chalet), the bath shower is fixed on the wall (sprays my hair wet wet even when i dun wanna wash my hair), no safe deposit box, the room was super cramp... Tv was pathetically small. U gotta beg for soap n stuff (dunno why my room dun have). If u wan baby cot oso got to call them bright and early in the morning n keep toes cross that they have one for u.

It's full cos it's the cheapest! And most of the gamblers prefer First World cos my MIL siad the larger part of the casino is actually in the mall just below first world. The outdoor theme park and indoor theme park is easily accessible from there too...

haha jappooh.. cos my mum stayed b4 and said its not " clean".. lol.. heard many stories liao..

Hi chantalle
The photo is my girl Ashlynne in pink

i dun like 1st world too.. like snowger said, its really for gamblers.. and its cheap to book..

Actually at genting, all are within walking distance.. not really very far to walk.. how big can Genting be???? =P

jowinbaby,
Genting is not v big... But when u put a Pri 1 kiddo n a Kindy kiddo loose at the theme park... Booking a hotel just above that area is a better idea... ;p

Chantalle,
Yes, u are lucky... If the Transtar is not fully book, u can be as lucky as me and Cay will have a seat! My ride up to Genting, I had 5 seats! Cos the bottom part of the bus was EMPTY! haha... so the little dozed on one of the chair... ;p

Jowin,
First World Genting not 'clean'? tell me some of the stories ler, hehe... i stayed there 3X i find it ok juz tat the room is too small & i really dun like the toilet... so cramp!

and there is strawberry park at genting? wow, din know abt this at all even i been there many many times already, must go there next trip... think daniell will get crazy seeing strawberries as he luv it very very much, hehe!

I love the weather in Genting but somehow everytime on our return trip (getting down from Genting) it was always horrible for me. I would feel really shitty....like wanna die on my way down and it will take another half an hour or so when we are on land level before I felt better. Anyone of you have the same experience?

Going up no issue but coming down part has put off many ideas of heading to Genting for me. *sigh*

Luthadel,
feel nausea & giddy on the way down from genting?? me always feel so but only on the way up to genting (even worse if going to Cameron Highlands), the only solution for me is I MUST DRIVE on my own, if i'm in a car as passenger i will feel like dying, hehee... maybe u can take motion sickness pill b4 coming down?

Hey Maureen, confirmed you on FB! Thanks!
Jowin -- Please please.. can add me? I wanna see pics! Thanks!

Adel, do you drive to Genting on ur own or you take coaches? For me if we drive on our own, my motion sickness is quite bad too - no matter up or down. But the last trip i went on those large comfy coach, its not too bad. Just make sure you eat well before your trip (not too full though) and try to sit at the front of the vehicle.

Hey Mummies, sorry i am very suaku here. First time going on a long trip away from home with Cay. When you ladies travel with your darling, how many milk bottles and teats do you bring? How do you wash the bottles? I am thinking if i need to bring the bottle cleaning detergent and brushes. What about Milk powder? Do you all bring a small tin or pack in those small milk containers?

Maureen, can bring stroller onto the coach right? When clearing immigration custom, what is the procedure? Do i have to lug all my barang barang and stroller along?

Jess,
Ya, very strange right? Going up no issue at all but when I have to descend....jia lat liao. One of my doctor friend suggested that I may have some form of altitude sickness.

Adel, wait till u drive up to Cameron or Frasers Hill. The winding n narrow road is even worse!
Chantalle, u definitely must bring all ur stuff down for custom check so try to bring less. Haha.. U going alone with baby or with other family too??

Zachmommy - I am going with Hubby and Family. 5 of us. Sianz when i think of packing stuff, i think the nightmare is when return from the trip have to do all the laundry. Coping well with morning sickness so far? Dun be too stressed up at work ok? Not good for baby

chantalle, touch wood but no morning sickness so far..stressed up at work? I alr not on talking terms wif my boss liao. Just go with the momentum lor..lol
finish the project and get the $$ and say goodbye! Pay me more $$ oso will not wanna work with such boss anymore.

Sorry to interrupt your thread.

My gal is successfully toilet trained recently, and I hv excess diaper stock to clear:

Pampers active baby diaper L(60). Cold storage selling 2 for S$38.45. I'm letting go at 2 for S$35.

Drypers weewee dry diaper L(48) and XL(40). Cold storage selling at S$14.20 each. I'm letting go at S$11 each.

Collection at Sengkang Compass Point.

Pls pm me if keen.

Hi Chantalle
Added u. Sorry, i m so busy lately to check this thread ..

Hi Jess
Its just one of the story encounter by my mum.. She checked in with 3 of my aunts and felt rather dim, spooky and hair stand.. But there was already fully booked, they stayed on.. So at night, they returned to room and really the feeling is bad like as if ppl are staring at them.. I think they rather played at casino and stay outside until morning although very tired.

So next morning, they requested for a room change. The receptionist surprisingly agreed immediately with no question asked and changed them another room. hahaha!!!

Actually such " feeling" i can understand manz.. cos i felt it before.. very spooky one.

Hi Chantalle,
Sorry for the late reply cos I just came back from KL.

Eh, the question about stroller. Yes you can bring. Just fold it up and the driver will put it in the luggage compartment. When entering, at the checkpoint at Malaysia, you'll need to unload all ur luggage... I can't rem if I lugged the stroller along thou...

As for teats and bottles just bring 2 to interchange n the detergent to clean the bottles. For 'sterilisation', just rinse with the hot water available can liao... :p

Adel,
I also felt the spinning effect while coming down from Genting but didn't feel so much while going up.

If you hate the spinning feeling, u can try to go up and down using the cable car instead... cos it's a straight line decent. I heard from my MIL that she prefers it cos dun get dizzy...

Long time din log in, so many mummies hav 2nd baby oledi! Congratulation! N congratulation to those pregnant mummies.

hello ladies!! i am back from Genting! Ding ding ding ding ding.. i am addicted to the jackpot ringing sound! Trip is overall quite awesome if not for the rain! Its freezing cold! Transtar is really very comfortable.Cay enjoyed herself very much and thank all mummies for the travel tips!

Snowger, sighzz.. its a pity. I did not go to the strawberry farm as it was raining. My hubby's family is not very keen as well. *Pouts*
So end up we hang around the indoor theme park and casino. Rest of the day we went KTV, bowling, movies, drinks and buffet.

Cay is totally amused with the kiddie rides! Her favourite is the Carosel Horse ride!

Chantalle, yesyes.. Ashlynne do not want to get down the carosel.. in the end, mummy have to queue and queue for her..lucky still short queue...hahaha!! Great u enjoy your trip

Chantalle,
U got go the splash pool in the end?

Which is the Carosel Horse ride? Is it the up and down + round & round one? My ger din really enjoy that one... Cos I think she felt dizzy aft a while... :p

but she likes those rides that go around the indoor theme park type... (maybe cos she was still quite young then)... :p

Snowger - Nope no splash pool for Cay as well! Coz the weather is really cold and MIL scolded me when i say i wanted to bring Cay for swim. I told her water is warm blah blah blah... but got tons of nagging from her.. Bleahzzz.. so did not go in the end. Next time will secretly bring Cay there withput MIL!

Ya - carosel is the merry go round with the horse. Haha.. ur gal is so cute she gets dizzy? I enjoy the ride too as a kid. Being a mummy is so fun! I am entitled to relinquish my childhood moments.

Thread is very quiet these days.. all mummies planning for little ones bdays?

hi mummies.. sorry to disturb

i have 2 tin of 1.8kg Gain IQ to let go at $52 (NTUC selling $62) and 1 tin of 900g Gain IQ to let go at $28 (NTUC selling at $32.95). All expiry is Oct 2011

letting go as my boy has changed to pediasure

collection will be at buangkok mrt.. pls pm me if u r interested.

Hey mummies in HR, or any mummies care to give your view on my situation?

I am currently looking for a new job. I saw an ad by a US MNC and applied for an exec position. I was called for an interview in early Nov and was called for 2nd interview the week after.

Last week, i received an email from the HR as follow:

Hi Chantalle,

I would like to share that we are very keen to bring you in as part of us.

We are in the midst of obtaining headcount approval from corporate and will update you very soon.

It has been a week already and still no news. Do you all think i should write to the HR and ask the status? When the HR says that, how likely will i be employed? I really like this co very much and would want the job badly. Sigh.. current work matters all in a huge mess coz i got no mood to work anymore.

Does anyone ever order cakes from ecreative before.

I need to get some review as I'd like to try order from them for my son's 2 years birthday soon.

Appreciate any review.

Does anyone ever order cakes from ecreative before.

I need to get some review as I'd like to try order from them for my son's 2 years birthday soon.

Appreciate any review.

Hi Chantelle,
I m in HR, when the company says this is becoz the coy needs to get approval from mgmt b4 committing to the candidate.
But I m surprised that the coy emails to candidate rather than call to make a verbal offer. Since it's been a week, pls email to the coy on updates.

Hi mamaboomz
I have nvr ordered before but my fren has ordered from eCreative several times for her kids' birthday...
It does good picture drawing (if u have cartoon theme in mind) & the butter cake is nice & tasty.

hello tattybear! Thanks! Got reply from the HR already, They are confirmed hiring me! They need to get my payslip, but my company never issue payslip!

Wow, been like mths since I log in here. Alot of interesting news.

Congrats to Kath and bubble on your pregnancy.

Joanne,

Went to phuket in Aug, overall quite ok for kids. Did went island hopping , but not too far island. Total went to 3 islands, awesome , the seawater really very clear and u can feed the fish inside the water, remember to bring bread if not no fun liao. Foodwise still ok for kids. Dec dunno monsoon season anot. But I know they have a water theme park there which I din go though. We actually hire a private van to bring us around coz 10 of us in the group, more convenient.

I wanted to bring my kids to genting too, last went there was like Faye still in my tummy time. But worried if take coach, dunno how well faye will behave. Coz when taking plane to phuket, she was like moving , jumping, quite tiring, cannot stop one, only when she's sleeping then I can rest abit.

HK not very child friendly, alot of steps in MTR, quite terok if bring kids and stroller. But recently my frn inform me to be very careful if going HK disneyland, coz his SIL lost her 2 kids there, missing , cannot find. So do be very careful