(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

hi mrs ho, pls update for me. dr adrian woodsworth, mtA, punggol, edd to be adviced. thanks.

samantha, my friend's gynae pro natural, also lady doc, but she only delivers it mtE. very ex. want to deliver at mtA again but have yet to find a gynae who delivers there and is anti epi. have a phobia of epi cos last time had only 4 stiches which took 6 weeks to heal. i have a history of not healing well from surgery
lah. btw my bb only 2.8kg at birth.

hi mimi
oh... at least bigger than mine.. i m 5week.. only 4.7mm sac...

oh, i went for a scan when 5w+1d and the scan shows 4.1mm, yesterday 5w+5d showing 10mm.

gynae says it's growing but still cannot detect heartbeat cos too early. it's growing meaning?

i am seeing dr suresh nair at mt e. jus went to c doc on mon. he said can c heartbeat. it is only 2.4mm. is it very small?

Hey Millie,

Actually, I didn't realize until sometime back that not many gynaes are as u put it, "pro-natural" ie they prefer to perform an episiotomy. I thought they'd be more keen to NOT do one since it means they don't have to stitch their patient up AND it means the patient has a much shorter recovery time! ... I am very lucky that my gynae is pro natural then!!

I think I'm more afraid of having the epidural .. the thought of a needle being inserted into my back gives me the shivers .. lol .. and a c-sect too .. I think that's why I choose the au naturel way .. !

It's not really THAT painful .. the pain comes with the contractions .. especially the last few as the baby is pushed down the birth canal .. but it is a very SHORT few contractions then you only have to push the baby's head OUT of you ... and if done properly, you won't tear ... u MUST listen to your doc's instructions as to when to push and how much to push and when to stop .. EVEN though you feel like just pushing the baby out at one go .. which will probably result in tearing ...

I haven't seen my gynae yet ... going next Tues ... I should be around 8 weeks by then .. will update once I've gone for my appt.

I also felt very hungry all the time last week!

This week however (approx 6wk), the hunger all stop and currently feeling nausea and I don't have any appetite to eat.

Anyone feeling nausea too?

I am helping my sis to sell off a philips avent isis iq UNO electronic pump (U.P. $279) Still under warranty...used only 2times bought in Jan 08.

Give me your *best price....it likes new

Interested pls email me @ [email protected].

I just went for my scan and we saw the fetus and the fetal heartbeating at 160bpm! It is really an amazing sigh and both my HB and I could not stop smiling.

The baby measure 13.7mm and according to the scan my EDD is now 26Nov instead of 02Dec!!!!

Will be seeing her in 2 wks and she will go thru with us the test that I'll have to go for

first of all, congrats to all MTB. I am alos expecting now. This would be my 2nd child. I have a 14+ m girl.

btw, I'm from KL. Have been kay pohing in SMH since 2006. There are so much information here and I made some friends here too. Hope to make even more friends with all the mummies in this thread.

Will be seeing my gynae tomorrow but I think I'm only 5+ weeks now. So dont know EDD yet.

Hi all, just wanna ask ar, we can't squat down at this time of period? i mean 1st trimester.. why ar? cos i've been squating when in toilet or bathing until my colleague just told me i can't squat down.. but she oso can't tell me why.. u all know why?

hi mummy zeen
congrats

Hi mimi
i just went for the scan emmergency as suddenely fresh blood flow out.. gynae scanned n said bb is growing well n fine. its my womb neck lining perhaps cause the bleed..given a jab and so now i m CRIB...

the scan showed the size is 5W+4days at 7.5mm...n see a yolk sac.. no heartbeat yet...Phew!! at least baby looks fine now..

worry me like hell

hi jowinbaby,
phew that's a relief! Make sure you rest well!

LuthAdel,
wow .. that's awesome .. I can't wait to see my gynae next week too so she can do the scan ...

Shirley Ang,
I think it's just a precaution - u don't want to put added pressure on your lower tummy and back at this point in time .. try not to squat or carry heavy objects.

btw Merydith,
ya I have nausea too .. not as bad as my first 3 pregnancies .. but still have .. it becomes worse throughout the day .. and only goes away at nite around 12 midnite.

AARGHHHHH

wow. more n more new mummies. welcome & congrats ladies. =)

havin nausea these daes. argh. reali hate it. din hav tis feeling when i had my boi. guess all preganacies r different.

cant wait for sat when i go for my scan at kkh.

take care mummies. =)

Hey Jowinbaby,
Must rest more.... dun move abt tt much...

I went for my 2nd checkup le! they finally see the sac.. n the hCG level has doubled as expected.. Goodness gracious.. when they called me up, they frightened the hell out of me.. the scan shows tt it is 5.3m... the sonagrapher say tt there is a vague yolk sac... so have to rescan next week to confirm heartbeat... but my mum says tt i shdn't go... cos sinseh say no need to go... sigh... But i'm also not keen to follow up in NUH.. its a MO, n not very friendly.. didn't want to tell me the size of the sac.. when i asked, he said, its just the house of the bb.. no need to know... hmmpf...

Paulyn,
I haven't heard anything abt not cutting hair leh..

Jowinbaby.. take care of yourself ok.. and dont worry too much.. you and baby will be fine..

wah.. most of you know the size of your baby or see the baby's heartbeat liao.. so envious.. hehe.. i must be more patient ba.

i think cut hair can.. but a friend told me to cut when there is no one doing chemical processes or go to those $10 shop where there are no chemicals being used.. i think its coz of the fumes and chemicals..

Mine at 5 wks only 15 x 16 mm. Y my measurement is so different.

LuthAdel, yr Edd becomes 1 wk earlier ah.

Jowinbb, relieved to hear tt bb is fine.

Congrats Zeen.

Paulyn..i understand how u feel..i also gog biz trip to India next mon...just take care and dun drink or eat anything that is unsafe.

hi paulyn n bubblepearl

me going to bkk on biz as well. gynae gave go ahead and stand by diahorrea, nausea, indigestion medication just in case. doc adviced to drink bottled water, no street side food and do lotsa shopping. he even got time to draw a map of the best places to shop for baby clothing. so cute ;)

Morning Ladies

Welcome all new mummies

2nd Baby
Yah, now my EDD is 26Nov, We still cannot get used to the new date as we've sort of getting the idea that it should be Dec. Anyway, the earlier the better so that we can have a wonder Christmas with our little one

It was really so amazing to see the heart beating on the screen and the sound is just so awesome! We can't wait for the next appointment so that we could see our BB again

Jowinbaby,
Take care of yourself and don't worry too much. I've heard of people who bled until they gave birth and the baby is normal and healthy.

Shirley,
I think all these are tradition that are passed without much explanation. I was told not to squat, change the bedsheet or move the bed, not to sew on my bed, etcc....

Jowinbaby: Take care

Mommies going on Busines trip: Take care. DO let your bosses knows that you are pregnant. In case anything happenens, company insurance can cover you. When it comes to travelling no pantang, not a game. Be sure you are covered. MOM will not cover if it not announced also.

Pantang:
huh...can't change bed sheet???...i hav changed few times already....
i do squat too...cos need to take care of the elder one...squating is can't "siam" one...
Just hope nothing goes wrong....cross finger...

thanks for the wishes.

jowinbaby,
do take care ya. When i was carrying my 1st child, i had the same experience during my 1st tri. I was bleeding as well and kena jab and was put on bed rest for 2 weeks. I was SO weak tht time and I lost 4 kg on the 1st tri.

I couldnt keep any food/water for the 1st tri and I was pukiong 24/7. But at 4th months, suddenly I woke up feeling fresh, good n no puking. Hahahaa...so hang in there. even though I still have phobia on the experience, but it didnt deter me from having 2nd child. Cos when u are finally able to hold the little one in ur arms..all the suffering just vanished

Hi paulyn, 2ndbaby, jac, phylicia,samantha n other ladies if i miss out, thanks
Yeah.. its really a shock at that time.. Resting in bed well now.. lie on bed until i had backache.. hee hee..

Hi Jac
OH.. congrats.. u can see the baby sac n yolk. So how many weeks are you at? Paiseh.. saw u on msn yesterday nite but i m too tired to prompt you to ask how are you...OH.. u choose a good n comfortable gynae which you can communicate.

Hi paulyn
cut hair can la.. but no using chemical such as dye hair, perm etc...Hey i heard no going to dentist too.. is it true?? I got an dentist appt in May.

BTW for ladies going overseas, need to take very good care. I experienced cramp on the plane while on the way back from my trip. Though i only suspect i am pregnant at that time. Perhaps you wan to ask your gynae if there are any med such as duphaston for you to bring along? Its the An Tai med.

Take care

morning everyone ^_^ been so busy lately at work so no time to come here. hahaha so hows everyone? baby all moving happily around in each and everyone's tummy huh. hehehe

wah recently when i wana shit always take like half an hr! omg. its really so tough. do you gals have this problems?? its really tiring man. and pain!

I do wake up in the middle of the night sometimes to pee. anad once wake up hard to sleep back. so this is normal? o_O

meilik thanks for the table my gynea is Dr Adrian Woodsworth ^^

cannot change bedsheet meh? my maid just change for me wor!

LuthAdel wow ya now ya earilest than me! hehe

Jowin...i think is ok to go for dentist, but u have to tell ur dentist u r pregg.

Any1 sleeping on the floor, my bed is on the platform like japanese style. I facing problem ...the bed alway slip out of place. i dun noe whether can i push it back in place.Cause MIL ask me not to move my bed.

Hi Fabbie, me have the same problems as you too! But I worse off, me haven't visited the toilet for big one for 2 days! *sob sob* Still thinking if I should drink a cup of fresh milk (tat gave me runny stomach), now my stomach looks big & bloated...

I also have to wakie in the night to go toilet (urgent). There was one night I went 3 times! Cause I hv habit of drinking water aft toilet... :p Today, I couldn't go back to zzz land aft waking for toilet.

Anyway, it's a good sign! I read from a book that if your uterus is growing well, it will push against your bladder hence the feeling of wanting to go toilet.

Paulyn & Fabbie
well, I was told not to change the sheets myself "pantang" that the baby will be affected etc.. So now, my husband will change the sheet and I'll go down for a walk. I rather follow than to regret if anything happen than I kanna blamed. :p Best is to get someone to do it for you.

Oh yah hor, Fabbie now my EDD earlier than yours! hahaha

Hi Snowy

Try taking Vit C pills or Yakult or Vitagen. Else is drink 2 or more cups of water in the morning after waking up. This shld help ease big job in toilet.

feeling so so sleepy at work now.. nothing much to do to keep awake...so bloated after lunch.. ZZzzzz... finally its friday today!! woohoo..

i went to modern maternity yesterday and bought pair of pants.. they are having discount now. nice for work. material is soft and comfy too. if i were to wear it now, the gathers behind not so nice.. must wear with longer top. my pants are all getting very tight and its hard to breathe after lunch and dinner.. you gals??

re : changing bedsheets
heard that pantang before but i still change bedsheets myself since bb#1 only cos my bed the type that does not require me to lift up the mattress.

re : constipation
i have opposite problem...lotsa runny stools. sometimes can go 2 or 3 times in a day. not worried cos 1st pregnancy also no constipation throughout. dr adrian adviced no dairy at all so did not drink milk throughout my preganacy. can only drink hi-cal soya milk. maybe that's why my dd still don't have a complete set of teeth at 21mths...did not give her enough calcium.

phylicia
think i must start wearing maternity pants also cos stomach gets very bloated like 5mths pregnant towards the evening due to gas. every time must unbutton my pants on the way home from work if not too tight.

millie, how many weeks are you? i feel very bloated at night.. when i wakie in the morning.. i feel fine.. my jeans are unbuttoned since lunch. but i quite happy with my purchase but not ready to really start wearing maternity clothes yet.

as for the interesting bedsheet issue.. erm.. i think that now that we all know.. then we should not do it anymore.. but for those that we did b4 we knew.. guess wouldnt coz grievous harm.. erm.. its not like we downed many tequila shots.. so gals.. no worries ya dun think we have directly harm has hurt our little babies by changing bedsheets.. cheers

Sorry to interrupt. I'm from the March 2008 MTB. Am clearing my cupboard and I have anti-stretchmark cream to give away - Mustela Stretch Marks Double Action (200g). Have used only a small bit of it and I would like to give away for free.

Please email me at [email protected] if you would like it. Self collect at my home which is 10 mins walk from Kembangan MRT. First come first served. Thanks.

Hey Luthadel:
thanks for your concerns. I have been indeed very busy at work and really tired! The night nause is kicking in. Retching away plus bloatedness lor!
Nov is also a nice month!! Sweet november!! In fact that's the month of my hubby's birthday!

Fabbie: I also very irritated with the constipation thingy. So I keep taking vitagen or prune juice. Seems to work.

Jac: I am also at NUH. Which doctor are you with? How come see MO? I thought you have private entitlement? BTW, which clinic are you seeing?

Hi Samantha,

Today wasn't bad but crave for potato chips..ate the whole packet.

Have no appetite for other food. Don't know how leh.....

Wow LuthAdel,
your baby becomes a Nov baby hee. So how many weeks are you now?

Hi Merydith
Well I'm supposed to be 7wks4days today but my scan indicate that my BB is 8wks1day leh. So still confused lor but at least BB is growing well.

I'm feeling so bloated now, I just popped a button off my pants yesterday!

Hi bunnipet,

I went to NUH cos I'm had to rule out ectopic pregnancy, due to the v bad pains i had... but they have subsided since i started takin my chinese meds... I'll be switching to KKH.. likely to choose Dr Benjamin Tham.... recommended by my clinic Head Dr...

Me also feel v bloated.... like feel months pregnant like tt.... sigh...
Do you guys have a lot of gas, after your meals?

Thanks Fong. I'll try it out tmr. : )

With regard to some pan-tangs, I didn't know about the change bedsheet thingy too. But my mum did give me a few words of caution (more pan-tangs for us MTBs... belive it or not:

- No hammering /renovation in the house;
- No shifting of furniture in the house (esp your bed);
- Try not to cut up a whole chicken on your own (get the market uncle to do it).

My mum also told me not to exert too much strength during the first trimester, since I have spotting.

hey merydith ..

don't worry, your appetite will pick up. Mine isn't that great either .. and I just feel ill at the sight of VEGGIES. *puke*

It will pass once the 1st trimester is over .. then you can stuff yourself with piles of healthy food. For my previous 3 pregnancies, I had such awful nausea that I lose about 8 kg in the 1st trimester ... but each time, my gynae says it's ok .. our bodies have reserves ...

this evening I felt like having nasi lemak for dinner ... so dragged my hubby out to eat. poor man so tired .. that I had to drive ... hahaha.