(2008/11) November 2008

lian, u saw mine right?
i think their services improved. we had no probs at all. it was crowded on the day we checked in but we were attended to quite quickly. i was pretty impressed when i mentioned we hv 3 adults, everything in the room came in 3 sets w/o us asking. even the phone and TV were personalised.

jes, yup yup saw them!
oh, so their service did improve, thats good...
Toking about TV personalised... Tat time i went MBS, when we went into t room and on the TV, it shows another guy's name on the screen. Then a while later, one young man knock on our door 'reminding us' its time to check-out.. Apparently their system wasn't updated promptly the check-in and out
glad_gal, i thought u and hub just back from a relaxing holiday?!? So fast planning one more ah? hee...

triangle,
wah...your mil so nice to u! AMC cost a bomb leh!

my mil also bought a whole set juz b4 we have our own place & she gave us 1 of her old stainless stain giant pot.

told me she has no use of it since there r only 3 of them in the family.

biggest joke coz there r only me & my hub, 2 person, how to use such a giant pot.

my sis borrow it for her confinement b4 i nearly threw the pot away LOL

JJ, HA! I too got a old giant pot from MIL. Its those green painted type. She brought it over during my confinement. Our MILs sooo nice hor!? =p

lian...sob sob...LOL

at least your case is not bcoz your mil bought a new set of AMC so pass u an old giant pot wor...

so u still better than me LOL

Kiki: You make it sound so easy!!

Lian: Never hurts to dream of the next one rite haha... That's what motivate me coz I like to plan ahead...Thinking of a short family trip during my matern leave end of the year..

AMC: I also got a wok fr my mum. She is big supporter.. Wld go for their cooking lessons on Sun too. She always say I don't make gd use of it :p

JJmom,
hmm...ok only leh. she is more nicer to the elder DIL.
same as u she brought the whole set for our 1st house, too.

JJmom & Lian,
Haha.. My MIL oso brought over her old giant pot(green painted type) during my confinement. So that CL and boil the Da Feng Cao for me.

Wah... wat is this AMC pot huh? I'm quite suaku about such things. Is it good? Really expensive? Where to get yah? Cos my mom and dad like such stuffs.

Glad_gal,
I always used the 24cm deep pot to boil soup for my gals. it's really good! no addition of water is required. u shld make full use of ur AMC pot.

Soho,
wow..so nice pics. feel like booking 1 room now..... heheee

Soho,
Is that the Fmaily Deluxe room? The one that comes with the loft bed + Sofa bed in additon to the king bed?

Really regret did not make booking for next week since I'm going to USS. Haiz... maybe next time bah.

Lilian,
Yah... school holidays start next week. I'm bringing my gals to USS on Friday. The next day, Satruday, they are having their Grand Opening ceremony. Sure lagi crowded and more people will rush for that. So to avoid the crowds, I opted for day b4.

3Jems,
AMC are Stainless Steel Pots but heavy lor. the whole set will cost ard 2K+ if i'm not wrong. My mil used to be their agent and she bought mine 10 yrs ago when we have our 1st place.

distributor in SG :
Allied Metalcraft Company Pte. Ltd.
Singapore 159 555
Block 217 Henderson Road
#01-10 Henderson Industrial Park
Tel. + 65 - 27 873 88
Fax. + 65 - 27 426 33
www.sg.amc.info

triangle,
u misunderstood liao lah...

my mil bought the new set of AMC for herself & passed us 1 of her old giant pot for our new place!!!

vy diff from your hor LOL

wah...your set of AMC already cost Ks! your mil still nicer to the elder dil? bought her a car?! heehee

triangle,
i bought my 2 AMC pots & pan myself, a much smaller set, juz 1 big pot, small pot & a frying pan.

mine also vy under utilise LOL

only use pressure pot to boil soup & double boil tonic once in awhile nia.

both my mom & mil have the whole family set with lots of other barang barang from AMC.

they also hardly use...chey!

waste of $$$ & space lah!

Angel,
Wah piangz... $2k for pots? Tat really ex leh. I'd rather invest and buy diamonds for myself instead. hheheheh. Thanks for the contact details though.

Lilian,
I bot 1 set of pots and wok from CK Tangs last year. Costs about $200+. Quality is quite good cos it's non stick... but the coating is special type. Not those normal teflon. So no matter how hard the maid scrub, the protective coat stays. Even then when I bot the set,,, I also felt damn ex liaoz. hahahah...

Lilian,
I guess so... but I still heart pain to pay sssoo much for pots. My hub 'scream' also lor. hahhaha

Aiyohz... my gals did badly for their mid year exams. But they did try their best especially my #1, so I'm rewarding them for their hard work. Hope will hv good weather.

3jems: Yes its the deluxe king room with king bed, one loft bed and one sofa bed (enuff for 1 toddler, 1 adult Max.)

U can try calling them to check availability, 2D1N quite sufficient, as its a good experience for toddlers, can try out their american breaskfast buffet at Fiesta which offers quite nice bfast ie: pancakes, nasi lemak, waffles, live egg station, lots of breads, yoghurt, fruits, porridge, noodles, juices, milks, cereals for the kids, salads, cheese & crackers.

I eat until can skip lunch.

lian,
tat's the only cooking set for our place. Only 1 pressure pot, 1 pot & 1 pan & its gng to last us yrs & yrs.

think i paid slightly less than $400 for the whole set.

ah lian: my DIL looks so adorable at the wedding dinner!

ah jes: i agree with ah lian, only voice out about other staff if u r part of the mgmt. unless they specially come & ask u your opinion, knowing u worked w her before.

ah glad_gal: wah, go for holiday during maternity leave, how to BF?

3jems: our kids so lucky hor, do like tt also can go for holiday. when i was their age, if i got less than 90 for any exam, my mother wld "feed" me kuay teow. now, she says cannot scold kai. what is this, manz.

soho: good trip! enjoy urself before ur sleepless nights start again.

olwen: Yes...going to be real busy soon. How did you cope with water retention on leg and feet? Mine is pig trotters...will drinking 100 plus help?

soho, hw many months are u now?
Do u intend to send your girl to CC to try out again soon? Rem last time u said she wasn't ready yet

morning!

olwen
wow yr mum was really strict with you... tats y u turned out to be a LLB leh! hahaha
oh well, i really said something to the mgmt re: the potential employee. i just said 1 thing - that she was sacked. then i think they went to do a check with her ex-firm... and so she didn't get employed with us. am i being too bad?!

finally went to book a holiday y'day - gold coast in jul! something to look forward to.

lian
we're going F&E, got a farm trip but no stay in the farm, plus visits to 2 worlds. cost abt $1.5k for adult, and slightly more than $1k for V. ya lor, downside is aussie $ is ex now

LLB is law degree

Good morning, mummies!

Lian,
Saw your HK trip pic. So nice. Wish I can make a trip, too. With aly in Primary school, my traveling are now confined to school hols. So unwilling to pay extra just for peak months. K look so grown up now!

Jes,
GC-nice. Let me know if you need infor. re. GC. Send me a pm or sms as I don't log in often. July will be cold. Gotta pack a good jacket for V. Good time to pick up some summer sale stuff from DFO n Harbourtown, n Toysarus. June is their stock take sale.

Olwen,
How's work? Having fun?
Kai doing ok in school?

Morn everyone.

Aly_nat,
sob-sob... Me too. Can only travel during peak periods - school holidays cos my 2 older gals in primary school. Worse, the airfare or pakcage tours are not cheap for them. So now hv scrapped trips to far away destinations like downunder, states, etc. I miss Melbourne after staying there for close to 5-yrs. Wanted to bring my gals there especially Janar to see if she can remember anything.

Jes,
At least you din hv to say anything much. Good way of highlighting a potential problem worker.

another 4 years later, everyone here oso can only travel during peak months

olwen, wah, u steady leh! U must trust your mum!

Olwen: Haha...prob just bfeed on the go! When G was abt 3 mths, I also brought my pump along to sentosa, coz didnt want to affect my ss. But a bit le cheh lah...

I posted some links to activities to share, in case you are looking for activities to do in June with your kids too

G is in kindy so he is also having 4 weeks of holidays so racking my brains what to do esp on weekends as he would prob stay at home most of the time during these 4 weeks.

http://www.singaporeartsfest.com/kids-art-village

http://www.singaporeartmuseum.sg/exhibitions/details.php?id=71

http://www.nparks.gov.sg/cms/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=397

mummies with older kids,
need ur advise on Girls sch and mixed sch...
any pro and cons if i were to send my elder gal to girls sch instead. i need to deceide asap before the sch holiday start.. the PV will closed end of jun for next yr P1 in-take.

alynat
thanks! will pm u if i need more info. i hv been to GC but its 10 yrs ago! now u reminded me abt harbour town, damn good sales! coincidentally i went in jul at tat time too.

3jems
and my "reward" for highlighting tat potential employee is... im to assist that boss until we get a new hire for him -_-

lian
so we hv to make good use of these 4 yrs to travel at non-peak.

jes, actually our kids are too young to fully enjoy overseas trip.. They probably can't remember things after a while. Pri sch age is just nice hor..

lian
quite true too.. but then again, we feel bad if we dun bring them anywhere.
after we booked the GC trip, V seems excited as she kept holding on to the GC tour leaflet and mumbled "want go see spongebob, yayayayaya". funny gal.

lilian: ya thats preciely what my husband says, too young needn't bring them too far bcos next time no memory over these trips.

For me I only remembered trips when i was Pri 6!

glad_gal, haha... bringing kids of this age overseas can be a veri tiring job! Everytime must carry carry... When in the children dept they refuse to leave. But when we adult looking at smthg from our dept, they scream to get out.
hahah..well... at least thats what happened to me during my HK trip :p

Eh, my aly till now can remember her Tasmania trip when she was slightly over 3. On the same trip, we visited Melbourne briefly, but she couldn't remember a thing about Melbourne other than the cold cold beach where we waited in the dark for the penguins to come home. She enjoyed Tassie very much. The entire trip was planned ard her.

Jes,
I saw Fox sale at Compass Point atrium. Got a small selection of kids winter wear. U may wanna check it out if u need something for V.

Tri-angel
Me a bit bias about girls' school, possibly becos I was from one, and I enjoyed the "sisterhood" formed during schools days. My dd1 attended a mix school when we were living overseas, and upon return, studied in a mixed school for about 1.5 years. She was a bit apprehensive prior to her transfer to a girls' school at the start of this year, but now she says she dun wanna go to anymore co-ed school. Hehe, my secret goal for her is to make it to a all-girls secondary school that I'm eyeing for her.

I think whether co-ed or not, is secondary. Important thing is that you agree with the schools' mission, and the values they impart to your child. Some parents view academic achievements as priority, while others may prefer a more holistic environment. Just my 2 cents worth.

aly_nat,
abt only girls school, how abt the girl vs girl relationship?

both those 'too good' kind & the bullies kind?

my hubs is rather against the idea of all girls school as the 'trend' is indeed rather 'open' these recent yrs.

with the girls openly 'pak tok' along orchard road not caring of the looks they generate from others.

ok, not tat i m against girl-girl relationship. i m actually quite open abt this, having close friends who r in this kinda relationship, i respect their choice.

but of course, if my gal can have a 'easier' relationship, i have lesser worries lah LOL

JJmom,
Yes, quite a common sight even during my time. I can only say of those that I know, they "revert " to normal once they left secondary school. As I am fully aware of such happenings, I do discuss such issues with my 9year old quite openly, and impress upon her our biblical beliefs and teachings of "relationships".

At primary school level, none of this problem, I think. If exclusive relationship issues comes up at primary school level, whether is it the "girl-girl" or "boy-girl" relationship, I'll be alarmed.

Aly_nat,

actually i'm more worries abt the "girl-girl" relationship. feel more retrieve aft hearing fr you that it is not a prob at pri level.

most important is the academic & achievements u have mentioned. and my hb also mentioned that the teaching method might be different on girls & boys. teachers can be more focus on single gender as they dun hv juggle both sex.