(2008/11) November 2008

JJmom: Wow..that's a lot.. and LV every month?? I just got a call from LV to ask if I still want to take up their vacancy. But hb and I would reject coz their school fees are quite high at $700+ after subsidy! Esp for a small indoor area...

JJMom,

Just to clarify, my impression of LSK's fees is that pre-nursery is higher than Nursery level. And fees for nursery to K2 is the same throughout. Our girls will be at nursery from 2012, am I right?

Lian,
Yup, just done with the home assignment.
Haiz, call it maternal love bah. I'm tt kind that need to make sure my kids had their blanket when they are asleep before I'll go to bed.

JJmom,
That is a steep increment of $150 per term. Are you considering changing her kindy?
I'm pretty lucky as my kids school fee is $450 per month. After subsidy, it's $150 and I'm paying $300 for 2 kids full day childcare. Just increased $85 per pax 2 month back and currently paying $500 for both full day cc. My in-law said that is the cheapest she has ever heard off.

JJmom,
So long you are happy with the kindy and nat is comfy then the increment is worth it.
Nat is in full day cc? My friend is still sourcing for 1 with comfortable price range, yet to find any so she park her kid temp at My 1st skool. She said tt is the most reasonable price she she find. Haiz.. everything is so ex these day, including school. Was telling hubby, I wonder how the next generation gonna survive so we better save hard and leave some money for them.

tamade.... cant remm my SingPass password again.. %@%^$&^%&*

snnowy
my gal also grit teeth one.. yes sometimes v loud.. i asked around and seems its quite common so i'm not too concern.. yet..

snnowy,

if you know abt any update of your relative, do share ok... very very heart wrenching and I sincerely hope the family can find back their 2 kids very veyr soon.

i still remember many years back hor...there were 2 primary 6 boys in Singapore just disappeared from thin air. till date they are still missing. Some rumours along the years said saw 1 of them without limps begging in some part of thailand or something... it is really evil for those adults who can do such a thing. Hope there is retribution!

Wow! Your CC is really cheap! which CC? full day?

I am paying about $1300 AFTER $600 subsidy (for 2 kids mah) per month. Coz fees are almost $960 per kid before subsidy. I thought this is quite normal for those mid range CC. Sometimes also very heartache...eg if cough, i will stop them attending for at least 3 weeks... so will be heartpain but still have to pay the fees. hiaz

Peanut,
Reset either at cpf website or go to any cc to get it. Now, they do issue immediately at any cc.

Teeth gritting,
All along Nini has tat habbit or only recently? Mine was only recently and yes, it is real loud that smetime in the middle of night, I can be awaken by it. If it normal then guess I'll leave it as it is.

Btw, went back to my mum's place 2 weeks ago. Your new place semm almost ready soon. When are you collecting the keys? Excited or not? Soon you'll have your own nest.

snnowy
i know.. but v inconvenient stil hav to make a trip to a cc... sianz..

My gal gritting teeth for quite some time liao.. but not every night la.. However if it gets serious ie too often and too long then mayb shd raise up to doc.. but i tink e only way to stop is to use a teeth guard.. its uncomfy and dun tink a kid would allow u to put that thing in

Kash,
Yup, heard of the news and there was a special report on it last year. It was rumoured that the kidnapper of the case could be 1 of the boy's step father.
When the media interviewed 1 of the missing boy's parents, the father mentioned that they didn't drea to move house, just in case one day, the boy comes back... the woes of a parents.

My kids are full time in Wesley CDC - development centre by Wesley methodist Church. So far both me and kids are happy with it, cos other than religion aside, they also incalcate values to them.
The teachers also keep me inthe loop of all bog/small matter in regards to them, like how much serving they had for lunch and tea and also their menu for every month. Even when Lyn haad those urine accident after she was off diaper, the teacher would wash her pants, called and informed me. They are very responsble and so far I'm happy with them.

I never know that cc can be so expensive till I had kids. My cousin was just complaiing to me about education fees in sg when her boy's 4 hours PAP kindy cost about $200+ per month with school fees $110, speech and drama class another $60, month outing to various places can easily add up to another $30-$40.

lilian,
I'm here ... update on Lucas. Since Wednesday, I started to give goats milk and Pediasure chocolate separately, goats milk in the morning and pediasure chocolate at night or vice versa. These few days he really did not complain abt stomach pain. His stools are hard as usual. I will continue this way ... but both are heaty one ... so will decide to switch to which milk powder permanently.

Helloo mommies...

Long time never do any posting. How's everyone?

Snnowy,
OMG! I read your posting on kids going MIA in China. So scary siah. Already I dun dare bring them to China cos so much food scare in papers recently - fake eggs, milk problems, etc. Then now got kidnapping? Terrible! I can't imagine the guilt, sorrow and worry those parents have to face. This type of tragedy either makes the couple stronger together or it can also tear them apart. Sad for them.

On another note... Wow! Your kids CC fees is really cheap leh. Currently I'm paying $700 (after subsidy) for baby J's fees. Hope the CC dun raise price.

Check with you all har... any one of your kiddos are sleeping late every night? Baby J has been sleeping only at about 10+pm for almost 1-month liaoz. Previously she will play with me in the room and doze off by 9-pm latest. Now she keep playing and refuses to sleep no matter what I do. Even I swtich off the lights and lie quietly beside her, she will roll about, hum and worse... whine and whine. Till about 10-pm then fall asleep. Haiz... any one going through same thing? My 2 older gals were not like that leh.

3jems
could it be J nap too much in the day?
my V has always been a super late sleeper. her earliest bedtime is past 11pm. usually is close to 12 or even past 12. i suspect she napped too much in the CC liao.

Jes,
Dunno leh... could be. Cos their CC nap time is from 1-pm to 3.30pm. But then again, she has been going to CC since Jan and she still slept at 9-pm. Only recently then start to change sleep pattern. So pek chek every night.

peanut: my girl also grind teeth almost all the time..sigh..so afraid wil hurt her teeth..

Jes: my girl sleeps at 10pm - 10 plus every nite for a few yrs liao...quite normal she wake up early somemore.like 7 plus or 8 plus..10pm quite normal. Bcos they are quite big oredi, sometimes daytime also skip naps.

Soho,
My gal also sleeps at 10pm - 10plus and wakes up early, about 7am plus. Last time my 2 older gals were not like that. They slept earlier like about 8.30pm-9pm.

So it's normal yah. Haiz... but it's really frustrating for me cos now I no more maid. So would prefer her to sleep early as I gotta rush thru the clothes washing and housework in the evenings after work. *eerrks*

soho
mine sleeps late but she wakes up late too, sometimes she wakes only 9+ or 10+ am. so its ok with me so long she doesn't feel tired thru the day.

3jems
why dun u let her play by herself or watch TV or ask hub to watch her whilst u do yr chores? this is what we hv been doing all along when I need to do some chores in the evening.

hi 3Jems,

my 2 kids also sleep ard 10pm as we reach home only at 9pm. They wake up at 8am or 8+....its quite sad as I have to rudely wake them up every morning as rushing to send them to cc as I have to work.

so i see quite many tods sleep at 10pm .... i wish i can get my kids to lights out at 9pm. But there is no way i can make it....no matter how i rush, earliest to reach home is 8.30pm....how to lights out by 9pm?

how's ur job?

3Jems:
Weekdays, my A1 sleeps by 9pm (sometimes we try to get her in by 8.30pm) & A2 sleeps by 8pm (used to be 7+ but I shift it to about 8pm so that he wont wake at 4-5am). Weekends, we let A1 stay another 0.5-1hr later.

3 Jems,
How's work for you?

Everyone is telling me that as kids gets older, they sleep and nap lesser? I dun know how true.

Both my kids sleep around 8pm/8.30pm latest. Only on Sat, they gets to sleep in late like 9 - 10pm. But on weekdays, they wake up at 6.30am for school.

Kash,
Guess you dun have much of a choice, since you are picking kids up from your mum's place only after work. But when you wake them up, are they usually happy or grouchy?

Any mummies been to Universal studio with their toddlers before? Saw on another thread the rides mostly for adults (unlike disney). So I guess not suitable for preggie mummy and toddler..?

In that case, is there any other things to do there..?

Soho,

There is a height requirement on the rides. So depending on the height of your child, some may not be suitable.

All rides are not suitable for pregnant mummies. So only can view shows.

p.s. I have been there as a customer so I din look at the requirements in details. But this is what I gathered from walking 2 rounds around the place

Kash, Snnowy
Thanks for asking. My job is ok. I'm no longer in hotel line. Just doing simple admin. Pay lower but at least I get more time to spend with my gals cos no more OT.

Fifi, Soho, Kash, Snnowy, Jes,
At least I feel comforted baby J is not the only baby sleeping late. Haiz.. Really dunno wat to do to make her sleep earlier. Then my hub got no time to look after J in the evenings cos he gotta coach my older ones in their school work. Somehow they tend to listen to him more in this aspect. If J is awake, she will run about and disturb the 2 jie-jie's. Hmmp... sometimes I am so tempted to tie her to baby leash and make her stay beside me whilst I do the housework. Then at least I get some work done and at same time, she cannot run off to disturb others. *lolz*

soho, u can visit USS website. They got list all the rides requirements. With t super hot weather these days hor, I think dun go better lah. hehe..

My K also wake up between 6:30 to 7am. Sleep at 930pm. Nap 2 hrs in the afternoon.

Snnowy, fifi

i envious leh...ur kids can go to koon so early. I can never make it. Even if I rush like a mad woman, my hb likes to drag one...he keeps playing with my boy....then even if I lights out for my gal, she will complain she cannot sleep as her brother is too noisy...

They sleep in their own bedrooms but as I keep their room doors opened, still can hear loh...

earliest for me is lights out at 9.30pm. But sometimes, they take a while to fall asleep.

At times have a hard time to wake them up in the morning. it is really tough.

3Gems,

U changed job since the last we chatted? think back in July/Aug last year? where is ur office now? U dun have maid anymore? Yes, the toddler can be very distracting. Unless u can try to get ur hb and 2 elder gals in a bedroom and close the door...then u have J outside with you? possible?

Kash,
Yup... I changed jobs since we last chatted. Due to family and maid issues, decided to give up my hotel job once and for all. Then I can 'concentrate' more on my gals and house stuffs. I also got rid of my maids. Dun want to hire any for as long as I can tahan. So far so good. I feel my house more peaceful cos no chaos and problems from the maid.

Haiz. My hub and gals did try to be in bedroom, but cos no proper table and chairs, it's kinda difficult cos they have to bend over those small tables. If my place got 'extra' room for study area will be good. Unfortunately, my so-called maid/study room is now more like a store cum ironing area. I got too much stuffs and it's impossible to convert that room to study room. Headache.

3Jems,

u are a "wei ta" mummy to give up an interesting/challenging job for a more stable one. can understand loh...

I know this is not very good...but possible to turn on cartoon in 1 of the bedrooms and ask J to watch by herself in the room?

Kash,

aiyohz... thanks for the compliment. But I not wei-da lah. I guess as mommies we all make sacrifices here and there for our lil ones. *winkx*

hhmmm... tats a good idea. Maybe I can 'lock' her in the kitchen with me. Then can use her portable DVD and play some cartoons whilst I clean up. I'll try tat tonight. heheheh

3jems: I went to their site bit disappointed as I scroll the map, and the various sections of the USS, many rides kids have to be at least 100cm+ Then dunno frightening rides or not LOL...

Wow, you can do without a maid? I finding it tough, cleaning, cooking, entertaining kid..today oredi can faint my kid never take noon nap dinner time i oredi knocked out in bed haha...

USS
im going on 1 may. we booked a 3D2N stay at RWS

btw, i think there's some promo going on for USS tickets. 20% disc for using mastercard, can book online or on site, promo ends 27 May.

3jems
just u and yr hub juggling 3 gals, gotta be tough! yr inlaws or parents helping out at times?

Kash:
I try to lights out at different times. #2 first then #1. If not, we will get them to sleep 1 in the room, 1 in the living room. Fall asleep le then carry the 1 in living room into room. I guess it helps that my #1 loves her younger bro alot. She can say "didi cry, papa you go carry didi".

Soho,
Yah... most of the rides for older kids. But guess I'll still bring baby J cos it's free entry for kiddos under 4-yrs. So no loss if she cannot sit the rides. Only thing is that me also gotta miss some of the rides lor. *sob-sob*

Soho, Jes
So far I'm managing quite alright without maid. Been maidless since January loh. Currently our schedule is something like this -
Weekdays: Bb J goes to full day CC. #1 + #2 both in Pri School AM session. My dad will jagar them after school from 2-pm till I get home. He will help me to settle their lunch and he also cooks dinner for us at my place. After work, I'll rush to fetch bb J from CC, then after dinner do laundry, vacuum floor and general cleaning.
Saturdays: part time cleaning auntie comes to do mainly ironing and clean kitchen. I'll vacuum, mop, do thorough cleaning for rest of house including wash toilets. hub will chauffer #1 & #2 for enrichment classes.
Sunday: Go church and rest day.

Fifi,
So cute leh your gal. Can see she really sayangs her didi. Not like my older gals... haiz. Everyday sure squabble over something. Last time when they younger not like that. But the older they get, it seems like they squabble more. I dunno how to make them stop. Haiyohz. Headache siah.

Soho: So u can only go for the shows at USS... Like their 4D shrek show but other than that yeah not much esp since u preggie! Went once when my boy was not yet 2. Think he only went for 2 kiddy rides :p

Kiki: Ha your turn left rocks! :) just went fir detailed scan... Having a girl girl yay!!

3jems
really peifu you, still can do so much hsework with a hectic schedule everyday.

gladgal
wow seh, the turn left-right does seem to work leh.

Glad_gal,
Congrats! so nice to have 1 boy and 1 girl.

i'm so envy u, fifi & kiki...

Jes, Nut, Lian
rem turn RIGHT for BOY BOY! ok? heehee

Jes,
hahhaha... still ok lah. Cos I'm lucky got my dad and especially hub to help out. Anyway hub is the one who insisted no more maids. So he better help lor. Else I sure 'strangle' him. But in the beginning, it was really tough to adjust being without maid. Now I'm not so stressed when the house is not perfectly clean. Can still live with it. But I'm still fussy over areas like the kitchen, bathroom and floor. Those places I make sure to disinfect and mop/wipe down daily. Boh pianz leh. I scared of germs & bacteria. hahahaha.

Tri_angel,
eehh... I also envy those got 1 girl and 1 boy. Wish I knew about this turn Left-Right thing earlier.

Then again, I believe there's a reason why God chose to give me all girls lah. Maybe he feels I'll be a super fierce MIL. *lolz*

3Jems,
same here. i wish i know the turn left-right thing earlier ,too. if can guarantee turn RIGHT will be a BOY! i will sure go for #3.. heehee