(2008/11) November 2008

hui Is to check for down Syndrome. Oscar/NT scan is check by the neckline thickness of the baby at 12weeks. Triple is through bloodtest. If need further investigation then is amnio test.

If you are young, doctor might skip this test, but above 30 they will recomend u to do lo.

morning ladies!... wah 1 day deen come in so many posts liao!....

welcome onboard lala n firstbaby!... did i miss out anyone?

hui, how old are u when u had #1?..... my gynea asked me to take oscar when i was having #1... i was 29 dat time....

hihi, the test will only give us a risk factor of the possibility of having a down symdrome child isit?? no exact confirmation? wondering if i should be going for it.. i'm 25yrs..

Thanks mummies .. yep, really hope will be easier this time

Jenn, ya only risk factor. My previous preggie is 27, I choose to do. This round I i will also do.

vincy, lala, ya.. do for a peace of mind hor.. just to make sure so will not anyhow think =P
the test non invasive de right? Like doing the scan we usually do?

hui,

okie, will check with hb
is it opened during lunch time? Actually, i have been craving to go beach road for the prawn noodle (used to work nearby). but can't find any colleagues who wants to travel there for lunch!
they are not opened for dinner loh...

lilian,

u r welcome. best is u can ask ur gynae during your next check to recommend the tests necessary. Triple, Oscar/NT tests are non invasive and simple. Just don't go for amnio unnecessarily. Amnio if i am not wrong is > $1000 at least for the procedure.

Lala, I try not to, even if i carry is from sitting position, cause i have spotting from week 4, last sat class I accompany her for the 1st half of the lesson. After that my spotting come back again. This week on MC.

how many week are u in now?

Welcome Firstbaby & Lala!

Re: Tummy
Wah u guys already cannot wear ur clothes ah? my gynae still confidently say i can wear my skinny jeans still 5th mth! :p I feel that my tummy is slightly bigger like carrying a full bladder all the time! may be its all in the mind. heh.

Re: Dogs
Karen, my corgi will go crazy! he will nv come back to me... in fact he thinks it is a game for us to chase him back... ur dogs must be very obedient! Val, lucky u!! i also cannot tahan my corgi's smell. but he likes to stick to me so even if i make him sit a distance away from me, he will leopard crawl towards me when i m not looking. Lovedogs, ur doggie is so lucky got so many ppl to play with.

Re: Oscar test
I heard that there is some triple test thingy. Doc will do it for u first then recommend if u shd do Oscar? true or not?

TGIF!!!!

Jenn..do for a peace of mind. ya the scanning that we ususally do but more detail,. Might spot the sex of the baby also..hahaha, my last preggie. during the Oscar scan gynae told me likely a boy. detail scan turn out to be a gal..

vincy, haha.. so it's e opposite. hmm.. then i should go for it le.. at least to feel better.. what's e neck test thingy ah? haha.. so many questions, pai seh but really no knowledge of all these things

Vincy,
I see, think you better rest more. I still carry my girl, but think better reduce liao.
Last Sat, I tried to let hubby took care of C during Music & Movement class....
Me should be on week 6. Not too sure coz Gynae has not told me leh ... You are into week 6 too?

bear,

yes, some ladies only show at abt 5th mth for 1st pregnancy.... some will show earlier. But normally for 2nd time preg, i heard will show even faster.

u know, i love corgi leh... i find them really cute...
hhmm...dog smell? me ok with the smell of my dog. in fact, he smells nice esp after his shower... or overnight, if he sleeps with my parents, they will have the lampberger thingy...then next monday, warrao...my dog smells super nice! hahahaha...

vincy,

really ah... the scan showed different genders twice? I did not do oscar last time coz my gynae does not recommend oscar. He does the simple NT scan during week 12 though.... then after that, he will recommend triple test. Then if triple test results no good...then will go for Amnio. Last preg was lucky, triple test result was good so no need Amnio. For my gynae, detailed scan at week20 was optional too. but i opted for it for the peace of mind. He referred me to a Doc in TMC for detailed scan saying that doc is one of the best in detailed scan. Dr Chang i think... or something..it was hilarious...he turned out to be my ex colleague's cousin

Lovedogs, what's a lampberger thingy? my corgi smells nice aft his shower but hor dunno why will have the dog smell aft that. may be it is their BO!! :p heehee...

So many diff tests to do! i m so confused!!

Lala, me coming week 8, I read from book is ok to carry up to 10kg. but those running & jumping better leave to yr hubby..this sat u will c me guai guai sit one corner..hahaha, u got any MS?

Lovedog, Ya 3mth i tell my IL likely a boy, then they go around telling relative is confirm a boy base on my tummy shape, turn out a gal at 5mth can see that they are so disappointed..but I very happy...hahaha

I tink Oscar or NT is the same just diff name..heehee, KKH also name as NT scan.

Jenn..they scan the thickness of the neckline of the baby to provide u the risk factor of the possibility. The bigger no. the better.

hi all!

lilian, i see, raffles is gd, u will enjoy yr delivery and stay there

haru, look for stray cats? then u win liao! haha! i had wanted to bring stray cats home but parents (last time) and hubby (now) dun allow.

re oscar
i think i only did triple test during my 1st preg. it also shows some result on DS rite?

Hi Ladies, aiyo.I really cannot catch up with the thread...everything is going so fast.

Hi lovedog, I heard about the famous chicken rice stall in pervis street but I dun know the name of the shop. Do you know the name of the coffee shop or is it a restaurant?

Bear, Wow you are a freshwater ecologist....cool..I still remember bringing my school children during their science field trip to labrador and changi beach during low tide to see some marine creatures...it was fun.

Ho dreamyjo, these few days, I was feeling giddy so I took the shang biao you and apply on my nostril to relieve the giddiness...but I so worried as I dun know if the ingredient is safe...so went to website and they mentioned that peppermint, mentol, campor is not good for pregnancy...aiyo...now I dun know to apply or not..maybe ask gynae tomorrow.

Karen,
So happy for you that you finally see embryo, I will be seeing my gynae tomorrow for my second visit and to do a scan again..hopefully i can see the water bag and the foetus...*cross finger*

Wendy,
I am also super thirsty too..guess it's normal as I read in the book that it is due to some hormonal changes. have to drink at least 8 glasses of water everyday....but can replace with juices if it is too plain.

Babyzel,
Curry fish head sound tempting...but I am really confused and have no idea what can I eat an what I can't...sigh...like curry and spicy food..these are my fav and I am avoiding them because i have no idea if it affects the foetus....can somebody enlighten me?

Haru,
My friends told me their gynae ask them not to see too early as it will be wasting the ultrascan money if cannot scan anything..they normally advise during week 6 to do first ultra sound.

Hi ladies, got some questions to ask. what is MS?
My boobies are really sore, is it normal? When I see all of you talking about tom yam, curry fish head etc..really make me drool...all these are my fav but I not sure if it is okie as some people told me to avoid spicy food, curry, spices, fried food, intestines, seafood...sigh.....And worse, i don't really eat poultry so seafood is my meat intake....now cannot eat...i am going crazy....maybe just be a fishatarian.....
I just keep avoiding and only ate soupy stuff, rice, vegetables, steam or stirfry..

so torturous!!!!

Amore, I should be able to give you my info and data once I have seen doc tomorrow for my second visit!! so excited..can't wait.

Lovedog,
Talk about prawn noodles, There is one famous and delicious prawn noodles near my place..super shiok...but ever since i knew i am pregnant..can see but no touch.....

hiya all,
would love to join you guys. preggy with my number 2 now. currently 6 weeks. Edd is ard 24 Nov 2008. My number 1 is now 15 months old girl.

Vincy,
ic ic..thanks

AMore,
when i have #1 am 24.

Lovedogs,
ya is open for lunch.. they onli open in daytime.

Re: OScar/Triple
Guess wil give ot a miss this time also.. coz my gynae wil measure the bb neck for me and he do it almost everytime i have my scan to double confirm..

hiya blessed mum, i would love to share.
but hor i feel every pregnancy is different and very excited about this new little one in mi too. hee hee.....

Hi hui,
Wah.super young...i wasn't married yet at that time....good to be a young mum..the age gap will not be so far apart.

Hi miderina, Yup every pregnancy brings out something new..i believe yours will be a total new experience

Blessed mum,
i eat anything when am preg.. dun care @ all..keke..sore boobs is normal..dun wori

Milderina,
can give me ur gynae name n hos u goin to pop? haha me alwaz buy things but now i stop liao :D

Lovedog,
Ya i will have to start walking my dog when i'm into my 2nd tri if not my dog will be imbalanced. Later jealous of bb cos got bb he cannot go out. i think he knows i'm preggers cos super protective. Won't let me out of his sight, super sticky. When i go hug the toilet bowl, he also stand at the door to watch me...til i'm done.

Blessed Mum,
Like ur nick. U sure will be 1 blessed mama. I'm not sure if curry is gd but as long as bb dun reject and dun eat so often think it's going to be fine. I've got 1 colleague who abt 8 mths peggers now. Her bb love spicy food, she only got appetite for spicy food.

Bear,
I think u may be those slim slim one , anyway every individual is diff.. as long as bb healthy.

My gynae gave me brochures on thalassaemia screening and oscar test. Suppose to read and discuss during next thurs appt. Anyway if gynae recommend me to do the tests then i will just do lor. Play safe also.

lovedogs,
strange but i am surprisingly calm even tho my appt is tom. hubby is a lil excited tho.=P

edde,
ya, my HDB area has quite a few "resident" cats and there is a lady that feeds them cat food. so they all look nice and healthy. i even give some of them names, hehehe.. but hubby tease me and say that they are upset now coz i see them but can't sayang them..=<

Hey hui,
u are sucha a young mummy!!

Blessedmum,
preggie cannot eat prawn mee?? *sad*
i think MS is morning sickness. i dun really hv it too. just e sore boobies. and bra getting tight at the cups, gota hook at the last one for now.

babyzel,
ur doggie is soooo sweet!! i am sure it brings a smile to your face when u see him waiting at the door even as you hug e toliet bowl.

hui,
mi too leh, i cannot resist buying things leh. everytime ask my self to stop but now i find a whole new reason to buy more stuff. wakakakkaak......

my gynae is Dr Chen Chern Yen and Hospital of delivery is Mount Alvernia.

Milderina &amp; Blessed mum,
actuali already miss my target.. my target to be a mum @ 21.. i married when am 18+ coming 19.

Thx lovedogs, vincy, bear, amore.

This thread gg so fast.

Mildy.. so nice n happy to c u here. Congrats on yr No. 2.

Hui, u are so young.

blessed mum,

i dunno the name of the coffee shop leh...i tell u hor, if u go along beach road...u will not missed it as it is just at the corner of purvis street
how come since u preg u nvr eat prawn noodles? I ate a few times already at a stall in arcade. During my last preg, as my office was along beach road, i had the prawn noodles at least once a week leh... i had lots of crab too during my last preg. Coz after preg, u need to stay away from seafood for abt 40 days for normal delivery. hence, i ate a lot of seafood prior birth :p

hui! wah!!! u r so young! 21 years old i juz graduated from uni only...havent start to earn money to pay back parents yet :p

babyzel,

ur doggie sounds soooooo sweet leh... they are so lovable and loyal hor

bear,

u heard of lamp berger, bel air ? they are like some aromatherapy thingy.... my dad is a fan so he will have it on every night. then as my dog sleeps with him in the same room, he also got the smell on his fur...hence, he smells nice
heehee...

milderina,

welcome! i think i saw ur thread in BP before

haru,

try not to touch stray cats coz they may carry a disease (can't rmember the name) which may cause blindness in babies. i used to feed stray cats too then when my gynae warned me during my last preg, i stopped feeding and only admire them from afar.... however, if u have a pet cat, then it is ok. coz cats only get the disease from being in the gardens, soil etc... so normally stray cats do their biz in the grass, trees areas hence higher risk. However, for domestic pets, we keep them clean and vaccinated so no worries

wah Hui, that's young to be married.. hahaz~ i feel old liao, married this yr only at 25.. then again, it's gd for ur kids too, not much age gap..

babyzel, ur dog so sweet leh.. mine will only keep barking while i hug e toilet bowl =P hahazz..

tis thread is running so fast. couldnt catch up.. am today feeling better.. can eat well.. hopefully headaches dun come later..
so happy to see so many nov MTBs here.. &amp; i have not decide on which gynae &amp; which hospital.. i shall update ur later on. ^_^ seems like chinese sin seh's medicine is working..

TGIF!! hurray...

Lovedogs,
haa.. mayb am "ripe" early.. start working at age 15 now in working soc 10 years lia..haa

Jenn,
not old lah.. 25 y o to get married is consider young lo.. is ju that i married extreme early nia..

Jenn> i am oso newly wed last yr end. haa.. same 25 yrs old.

Hui> u're really married super young tat time.. how old is ur hb?

vincy,

hui,
ya lor, i always wanted to have a lot of kiddos, but mi hor not very young now leh. i guess the most i can go is 3. plus financially also must b stable lor.

Alibaba,
great that u feel better.. this morning i vomit too hard my head so pain leh!..

Vincy,
3.. 4..?!!! no no! no $ ah.. 2 is enough..

i kept feeling hungry non stop leh. anyone got the same symptoms as mi or not huh? my stomach like never full one, but when i eat i wan to vomit................hungry also wan to vomit, eat also wan to vomit. very confuse. wakkakakakaka............

Hi alibaba, hope you are feeling better and recover well soon.

Hi Haru, dun teased me la haha...my frens all tell me, saty away from seafood, crabs etc...eh eh...it's like taking my life off man..but for the sake of the child, no choice..but i guess
after joining this forum...maybe i can closed one eye for a while and eat spicy and seafood etc...hahah

Babyzel, thanks for the compliment. Yup indeed this baby was a miracle to me and hubby so i named myself blessed mum....
So is your baby gonna call zel?

Hi Hui, wah..you sure one cool mum man...My sister for married at age 18 and got her baby at 19...
Hi Lovedog,
hmmm if you can do it so can I...okie I think tomorrow I will have prawn noodles...maybe just tell hubby i only got appetite for prawn noodles and he will give in..*SLY GRIN* hahah

Today's Lunch Menu:

Pig Trotters
Soya Bean Curd
1 slice of Honey Dew and Papaya
1 Agar Agar

kekekke.........my hubby getting these for mi now. suddenly got cravings for soya bean curd. dunno y.