(2008/09) Sep 2008

Bigtoes,
It's not true that CC won't help you to toilet-train. Erm, they won't be so hardworking to toilet-train actively.. BUT they will still do some form of toilet-training. ie. what they do is, periodically, they will send the kids to pass urine in the toilet, and then wear back the diaper. You can request for them to monitor and they will. Cos if the diaper is always 'dry', then they will know that is the time your boy is ready. Then they can proceed to take off the diaper totally. And only wear the diaper during nap time.

And again, they can monitor. if after many days of nap-time where the diaper is dry, they will proceed to remove. That's how my boy was toilet-trained, so to speak. He is only still on diaper for night-sleeping. As for poo, hmm, that is dependent on your child. Cos my boy could tell us he wants to poo from early on.

tslittleone,
you can start by bringing him to toilet every hour. or even every 30mins. yes, it's tiring at first. but u have to first let him get used to the idea that he has to pee/poo in a toilet bowl. do this when at home la. you can buy a potty for him, then reward him with a sticker when he pee successfully in the potty. That is one way. Then always praise and encourage him. Hope it helps. Be prepared for some accidents though.

Bigtoes,
Just to add, the school is actually the best place to toilet-train because there is some peer pressure. My son's cc teachers will tell him, "see this so-and-so (bigger boys) will also ssh-ssh in the toilet.. so you must try".. something to that effect. Hmm, but having said this, I am not sure if all CCC works in the same way, or it's just that my son's CCC has got more hard-working teachers. :p

Another alternative is to let our kids watch us go toilet. as in, let them see that adults go to toilet to urine/poo.. and that eventually everyone doesn't wear diaper. Try it.

thanks Bigtoes - my son's fever came down on sat afternoon. But now I am down with throat infection and it looks like he has it too cause he coughs occasionally.

Am wondering if i should bring him to pd cause he is drinking like normal and only rejects his food. And for sure he will not open his mouth for checking.

You take good care too!

Toilet training - my mum tried and my son just walks away from teh potty. nowadays when he poos, he goe sto a corner of the room and we know he is doing his business. After that, he will pat pat his backside indicating he is done. Quite a funny sight though.

Bigtoes: Autum is in a better position to comment on this. My #1 was totally toilet-trained when she started cc; and my #2 is partially trained. You can check with your cc and see how far they'll go to train up your boy.

Anyone have kids in Hungry Caterpillar @ Shun Li Industrial Park? I intend to put my darling boy into the CC there.

Anyone can share the 1st few days experience when putting your kids in CC? I very worried that the teachers would not bother about him if he cried & have so much worries on many things. How?What should i do? Really heart wrenching to leave my child @ CC.Am i a very mean mum who put put him there to let him defend himself?

Autum (autum) - wow, i guess K's CC is no where as diligent as yours!! I did ask the teacher & all she said was that they would assist if you have started at home (not sure how advance he has to be)...also our fault for not bothering earlier (can't imagine having to bring him to/fro the toilet every 30 minutes! I don't even have a potty at home - and the couple of times he wanted to poo, i have been lifting him up to the regular toilet bowl (with kiddy seat over it).
Your boy is pretty good to just need diapers at nite! K is still Ok when it comes to pooing cos he will usually tell (or u can see from his face), but most times, its already in progress...hah. As for peeing, am totally clueless when he does that! I think i need to start by getting one of those fancy musical potty from Toys R us & loads of stickers!

breadmum (breadmum) - take care ya! Hopefully just regular sore throat (that was how our HFMD started, and u cannot see the ulcers in the mouth, cos its way behind. Spots on the hands/feet don't appear till days later (or not at all - like in my case).

Shermie Koh (dolphinger) - You aren't a "mean mum" for putting him into childcare lah....lots of us mommies have already started our kiddos on CC, and some into infant care from young. They do have to go to school sooner or later anyways (unless u plan to home school) & its good that they get to interact with other kids & learn to share!

K just started CC in early May (2 weeks, then HFMD for 1 week, & today he is back in CC again)...he didn't cry at all, so don't worry too much, it might not be as traumatizing as we mommies think. Even if not, ur son would get used to it in a couple of days, and for the new kids, the teacher would keep an eye out & sit with them during meal times...so don't worry too much!

Shermie: Hey, don't say that. For us, we could have waited til next year when he's 3 to put my boy into NY kindergarten to join his sister. But hubby and I want to send my boy to cc first so that he can be more independent. In most cases, the child will cry in the first few days/weeks. Assure the child as you leave him at the cc that you will come and bring him home later.

Shernie,
I put my son in infant care when he was 2months plus! :p Then when I switch him to another CCC at 18mths, he cried big time. For 2 weeks. I was so upset at that time, plus i just delivered my Sept baby then.. I even wanted to pull him out. But we perservered and after 2weeks, he settled down. Now he is 3yrs+ and still at the same CC and he is very happy every day. And this is the same CC that toilet-trained him. :p

Bigtoes,
Actually my boy doesn't like the potty even though I have potty at home! he has been urinating/pooing in the normal adult toilet bowl. Initially we have to lift him, but gradually he can tip toe.. as for poo, i tell u.. for the longest time, he insist on pooing in his diaper. ie. he may be diaper-free, but he will insist us to wear diaper for him so that he can poo. This is because he poos standing up!! We had this 'headache' for the longest time. I tried to force him to poo sitting down, i refused to wear diaper to let him poo.. then he refused to poo and only poo in his sleep at night when he knows he can wear diaper to sleep. Finally I gave up. I let him wear fresh diaper just to poo!! This carried on for a long time, until one day, during CNY this yr actually, he suddenly climb on the toilet bowl to poo, all by himself! And thereafter, he can poo in the toilet bowl all the time. So after this experience with him, I know that for most kids, toilet-training can also happen naturally.

And I haven't start training my girl yet! Oh well.. think I should start her soon. :p

hi bigtoes,

hope k is better now.

hi yun and mothers in the west,
have you checked out learning vision @ Jurong East? Any feedback?

hi autum thx for the advise. thinking of waiting till vic is 2yo then toilet train him, lazy mum lah, hee. will try the method u've suggested =)

yep shermie don't feel that way. they will take a while to adjust and after that will b fine. putting them in cc is not that a bad thing, they learn interact with other kids which help in developing their social and survival skills.

hi mummies, any of u have not contracted chicken pox before and did not take the chicken pox jab? m thinking whether is it really necessary to jab if ever i decide to have #2.

Autum (autum) - ur son is funny..have to get new diapers just to poo? Maybe he likes the warm, squishy feeling of poo on the butt...hehe

Toilet training - am thinking if I can just getting a basic potty or if its better to get one of those bulky ones with all the frills to keep them seated for longer. Do these work better? Mommies with boys, are u getting them to sit & pee or stand? If they stand & pee into the potty, then higher chance of splashing everywhere no?

tslittleone (tslittleone) - I think contracting chicken pox when preggers is not an issue for the fetus. If u want the jab, u need 2 doses for complete protection.

twendy (twendy) - voted & good luck!

Have not logged in for a while and i see lots of nice picture of the children... How much they have grown up ! Just to share one of my baby as well....
4037598.jpg

This picture was taken when we brought him to HK earlier this year
So far, we have been travelling every six months or so since he hit one. Trying to take advantage of the infant fare before he turn two.. The next destination for us is Bali in August... Baby loves to take aeroplane... but it is getting harder to confine him to the seat
Hence we are travelling nearer as he is growing older....

Anyone have register their kid in nursery class yet ? I had register baby M for Ascension kindy for year 2011 N1 class.

Bigtoe, are you working in tanjong pagar area ? I drove past the other day on my way to work and i saw you crossing the road...

Jojobar (mummychanel) - Yes! Am at the Tanjong Pagar area, so it was most probably me that you saw

Btw, if there are mommies working around this area as well, lets arrange for a lunch one day?

FLIGHT BOOKING - Mommies, just did my flight booking for a short holiday with Kieran. Guess what? Turns out that as long as u book before the child turns 2, you can pay infant charges even if you travel after they turn 2 (just that they won't have assigned seat). Ours is a short trip (1+ hours), so that is fine. Cost is about $60+ vs. $300+...so if u are planning to travel after your kiddo turns 2, best to book before their Bday!

Yes indeed. We pay $120 over for Baby M to Perth, $100 for Hong Kong and $80 for Bali. All on SQ flight. That why we have been taking advantage of the infant fare.
But I thought the price is determine based on their age during the time of travel not book before their birthday !!! Hmm hmm i will call up SQ and check cos we are planning to go osaka in Nov.... if there is the case, that will be fanantic

Bigtoe, i am currently at my client side at the old temask tower. Hence we can arrange for lunch around international building one day with the rest of the mummy ?

Jojobar (mummychanel) - Yah, I thought as long as the toddler is above 2 at time of travel, then we needed to book a seat, but according to the lady I spoke with & who did my ticketing thru the phone - as long as i booked & paid before he turned 2, it didn't matter that he is over 2 at time of travel! So mommies, do pre-book your holidays within these few months!

Btw, i am at Fuji Xerox Tower, so just down the road from u. Lets see who else is available for lunch?

but i just booked for my boy for a trip in nov. asked to pay toddler price, which is 70% of adult prevailing price. same price as his sister who's turning 4 yo.

twendy (twendy) - Twendy, where are u guys going? If its a longer haul trip, then its worth getting a seat for your boy. I was intending to pay child fare too, but the SIA lady noticed his D.O.B. & said I might as well fly K under infant (sharing seat with me) - i wasn't aware that it was possible too, since he would be 2+ in Dec...

we paid infant price for a trip to japan in july. toddler price for a trip to bali in nov. think the july trip, without his own seat, will be very "tiring" for us!

Hi Twendy

Which part of japan you are going ? I am also planning to go japan in Nov. Can share some travel research ? Which hotel will you be staying.

I will be going bali in August during the national day vacation as well !

Bigtoes:

u mean u didn't know it's so cheap for infants below 2 to fly? That's why we've all been taking our infants abroad before they turn 2

I've brought my 20 mth old sonny overseas 4 times already, 3 times by flight, once by car.

But low fares aside, do note that for larger and heavier infants below 2, although u save greatly on his fare, you might have to suffer thru'out the flight as you need to strap him onto you for most part of the flight...you won't want to leave him to saunter up and down the aisle, cos of regular turbulences. When there is turbulence, you got to strap the fidgetry infant back onto your lap again. So it's super tiring for the parent who wants to lower the tray table to eat, or to watch a proper movie! Also, if your son is very big and tall, he might not even want to sleep inside the bassinet, which was what happened to my son.

Hi Koras
You are allowed to bring laptop on the budget flight. Bring along lotsa of their fave DVDs and music CD. ALso, I downloaded a lot of kids game and songs in my iphone. It helps to distract them during long journeys.

Bigtoes,
I am checking SIA and the website mentions that a booking made before an infant's 2nd birthday will no longer be eligible for the infant fare if infant departs on or after this day.

wow, so the thread topic now is on travelling. I'm also planning to travel end of the year. So it's true I booked the ticket be4 they turns 2yr can get infant price even travel after 2yr?

When I was on a return flight from biz trip 1 week ago, there were many infants on the plane. The mummies were so busy entertaining their babies and toddler. 1 of them was crying for half an hr. Reali can't imagine if my boi was on the flight, I shld be busy like the rest of the mummies too..

Wonder hw mummies here managed ur little kiddos on the flight?

So far, my boy love to take flight. We alway take the day flight as i read somewhere that never take an overnite flight with a baby. The rational is that if the baby is not able to sleep on the flight throughout the nite, his sleeping pattern and schedule will be upset. So far, i have follw this rationale closely and he only take short nap on flights... but we entertain him throughout the flight loh. Bigtoe, i call up SQ and ask.. they told me that the infant ticket is eligile only for kids below 2 based on the travelling date... Hence no rush for me to book my japan trip now... We purposely schedule our bali trip 1 week before my boy birthday to enjoy the infant fare....

Flos (flos) - Yes, i know its 10% of full fare before they turn 2, but didn't know that u could book before their 2nd Bday & still enjoy the 10% fare if they travel after that!
And yes, I only booked the infant tixt cos we are flying to Langkawi (1+ hours away) - no way I would do that if it was for a longer haul flight!

Cordelia (evan_gigi)/Jojobar (mummychanel) - I am not sure why the SIA call center lady herself recommended that Kieran fly as an infant, knowing clearly that he would be 2+ in December. I asked her again, & she said it was allowed....not sure why the inconsistency? Maybe they OK this for Kris Flyer customers? Anyway, the air tixt has been confirmed & issued, so if they make a fuss at the checkin counter, then i would make a fuss too! In anycase, they benefit cos they get to sell another seat at full price, rather than 75%, and they get 10% more for my seat.

snowyee (snowyee11) - Hah...its precisely that we are afraid that K would fuss on the flight (not so much cry, but insist on not seating down & walking up/down the aisle, or going up to random strangers & talking to them), that we have not brought him onboard yet!

snowyee,
I think most babies cry due to pressure in the ears. It can be pretty painful for babies so during takeoff and landing, good to have a bottle of plain water or snacks ready.

Bigtoes,
Maybe Krisflyer customers hav more privileges.
Remember to reserve your seats in advance so that you can request for middle row with 3 seats if the flight is not full! Have fun :D

Hi all mummies...

Having a playdates in the east (Bedok Res) on 12June 2pm ... Up to date think there's 4-5 toddlers...

Any mummies like to join?

jojobar,
agree with your rationale. i also ensure my boarding time doesn't coincide with his feeding times. Else, he can fuss like hell when we're clearing the customs

snowyee: yes, some babies will cry and cry...But luckily mine didn't! just standby his fav snacks and his water tumbler so that his ears don't hurt.

Cordelia: I feel that window seats are better for toddlers...Recently, I booked the aisle and centre seat, so my boy couldn't see the aircrafts out there clearly. He was bending over to the lady passenger sitting next to the window and trying to catch a glimpse of the planes out there!

bigtoes: oic
that's a good thing to know! I have a wedding in Europe to attend in Oct, so maybe, just maybe can book before Sept and still enjoy the 10% of adult fare?! keke..

SQ will also give ur toddler a birthday cake if u request for it. My son got his 1YO b'day cake when we flew to HK on his exact birthday.

Interesting on the inconsistency of SQ policy. I am gold kris flyer member and i did not get that as well.. I should call up and check again..

Oh my trick on the plane take off is to give baby the goat milk sweet ! It work for me..
and window seat is better for my boy as he enjoy seeing out of the window...

A&A&A (2as) - the art pieces are pretty cool
So far the only thing i have from K's CC since he joined a month back is a Mothers' Day card.

Flos (flos) - A trip to Europe would be about 10-12 hours! I think it would make more sense (comfort wise) to just get a child seat?

Jojobar (mummychanel) - I am seriously not sure why there is the inconsistency. Perhaps the lady really got it mixed up? Their phone conversations are all recorded in anycase, so if its really an error on her end, at least there is proof!

Hi Bigtoe,

You might want to double check cos they can be pretty sticky with it even if you have the proof as in the recorded phone conversation (which i doubt there will be bother to dig it out to prove themselve wrong). Dont let anything spoil your holiday. To be frank, it is quite a hassle to bring the baby for travelling ..hence you want to make sure it is as stressless as possible. Kicking up a big fuss at the check in counter will bring on so much stress on the holiday already. Anyway, i was looking at SQ website to book for nov ticket to japan, there is a help sign "button" to click beside the child and infant ticket. It does state pretty clear that even if you book before the 2nd birthday but if the departure date is on or after, the booking is no longer eligible.

Just my two cents worth...cos i am kiasu kind just want to ensure nothing can go wrong in my vacation...

Cordelia, flos, jojobar,

Thks for sharing your experiences. Yes, i guess hv to bring Pierre favourite snacks and drink lots of water when taking off and landing. =)

Big toes,
Also thought of goin langawi. BTW, hw much did u pay for the airfare for an adult ticket?

jojobar, i will be going to hokkaido this july. doubt we have the same destination in mind. my HB did most of the planning & booking, so i have no idea where we are staying and what we are doing there :p

Jojobar (mummychanel) - hmmm, I guess you are right.
Just abit pissed that they have such internal inconsistencies. Will contact them to double check - the tixt are cheap anyways, so like u said, better settle this than argue at check in counter!

snowyee (snowyee11) - I think tixt are $300 each? I used frequent flyer miles for both our tixt, so not quite sure of the pricing. Btw, if u are looking for a nice hotel, try Andaman Langkawi which is were we booked. http://www.theandaman.com/
My sis stayed there before & it comes highly recommened

Bigtoes,
I guess the ticket is around that price too. Yes, heard of Andaman Langkawi be4. Looks beautiful with good view and nice place for relaxation.

Autum (autum) - yes, thanks for asking & we are fully recovered. Hopefully K doesn't get infected with another strain of HFMD anytime soon!!
Bak zang - wow, quite alot of work! I did it once a long time back, helping my mum to wrap them, but alot got distorted! hehe...

snowyee (snowyee11) - Have you booked your hotel at Langkawi yet?
Meanwhile, i wrote SIA asking for clarification on the child/infant tixt, still waiting to hear back.

♥Mamyvelle♥ (mamyvelle)- is your 12th June playdate session still on? Would love to join, but have stuff on that day already. Let me know when is the next one, and enjoy!

limay ... yea still on... but currently total of 4 mummies/daddies only

Any mummies like to join us? this sat 12june 1.30pm at bedok reservoir...

Flos (flos) - OK, SIA called me back, very apologetically & said no, have to get child tixt as long as the child is >2 at date of travel. So you do need to get a tixt for I when he flies to Europe in Oct.

They are tracing back on the call to find out which call center operator this was & make sure the mistake doesn't repeat again. So yes, I need to top up for the difference. Have never been a fan of SQ's service & this once again proves why!
Imagine if I didn't check back - would have been such a hassle at checkin!

dmbb (dmbb) - hah...that was my precise thought. Have not topped up yet cos the guy said they are still investigating & would get back to me. Who knows, maybe they would offer to waive the difference so I don't go round complaining to everyone about this? Not alot anyways
Or maybe even upgrade to business class (but fat hope! Unlike other airlines, SQ hardly ever gives free upgrades!)