(2008/09) Sep 2008

Lim (xuanmommy): dun have to worry. Cos I heard for 2nd and subsequent pregnancies, tummy shows faster than your 1st one. So it's normal.

I just watched Discover Home & Health, and they got an episode on the gender of the baby. Turns out the ang mos use the Chinese Lunar Calendar too to predict, and it turns out 80% are accurate! They match the results with ultrasound.

Another method to try is the wedding ring test.

I tried both the above and it said I'm expecting a boy! *happy* Prayed for boy! But honestly, I'm happy so long as my baby is healthy and strong! =)

Those MTBs who're interested can find out more about gender prediction at:
http://www.babygenderprediction.com/index.html

Jus yday, my daughter insist me to carry her then i say cannot cos mummy got baby inside. Then she sorta understand & obediently hold my hand. But smtimes she will play roughly wif me & press my stomach then I will scold her..

Anyway most of the time, she sticks more to my hubby. They say gal always stick to daddy & vice versa, do ur think its true?

I also prefer boy, shazz!! But if gal also ok lah...

Where is porky?? I think she is seeing Dr Woody today, want to know how is the scan...

storeberry: my PIL "casually" mentioned that they're wishing for my baby to be a boy too, cos they already have a very adorable grand daughter. So got a bit of pressure from in laws. But Hubby and I wants a boy cos we have so much fun playing with our friends sons. Well, the girls are more dainty and quiet and they usually stick to their mummies when we have gatherings. So we like the idea of a boy ... hee, but am prepared for them to be active and playful. Then my friends were telling me, that girls can be active and playful these days too! haha ... shows how much we have contacts with little children

Hi Shazz
yalor, my gal is definitely more of a tomboy n chor-lor type, plays very rough n runs very fast, behaves like a boy at the playgounds...totally not dainty at all hee...

Hi xuanmommy n hippie
my gal opposite, refuse to let me carry these few days...i dunno y also.. so sad

babyatom: your girl sounds very perceptive and understanding. Perhaps she grasped the concept of you being pregnant and got a baby in your tummy, hence didnt want to hurt the baby by making you carry her. *hugs*

big toes & xuanmummy,
me also eat pineapple tarts. Both my mum and MIL say it's ok cos it's cooked already! Yay!

hi all mtbs,

Was reading thru the posts and realised quite a few experienced mummy here.. Got a qn here and would like to know ur advices.

I'm in my 1st trimester (abt 5th week to be exact)and have been having spotting since yesterday. I am a bit worried as this is my 1st pregancy. Though I have see my gynea and he had asked me to increase my dosage of hormone pills, but the spotting still coninues. Anyone knows if bed-rest is necessary or anything to avoid?

Thanks for all ur advices in advance.

any1 like me still no signs or symptoms leh, except the test is a positive. my previous pregnancy got nasea, bloated, etc. now i 'm quite worried, cos my 2 m/c also no symptons..

Hi Lydia,
It's good to have a complete bed rest, try not to walk too much oso. If yr spotting is serious, restrict yrself by walking within the hse, do not exert too much force n try to relax. I had spotting for my 1st n current pregnancy. For the 1st one, quite serious, my gynea actually gave me hospitalization leave for a month at home n bed rest. Meanwhile dun worry too much n enjoy, very soon yr 1st trimster will be over n looking for the 2nd honeymoon trimster!

milkmilk,
me also no symptons..will get mc meh ? dun scared me ler..

me tested again 2 days ago, the line is darker so i hope my hcg is rising.
ME going to see gynea next week

very sore boob consider symptons?

Jappooh
Forgot to add earlier, last time round i had a negative urine test at 8 weeks, only positive at 10 weeks...so depends on time of test/day.

Thanks Jaline!! I'm so glad that able to share my experience and to talk with so many mtbs in here cos I don't really have pregnant or mummy frens to talk to..

Hi Lydia

Yup. my gal is 18 months nw..

Most of my frens r singles, so same like u not much mummy/preggie frens..hee..

xuanmommy, lc, no lah. i'm scared off by my own bad experience. jus need some assurance if its normal if no signs?

oh.. phew... think should be ok ba.. Gynae said some have not much sign one.. while some morning sickness until dun noe where.. but hor I must say those without sign one, will feel a bit insecure if bb is doing well in there...

I am in my 8th weeks now and like hippe say, my tummy also very very obvious, wanna denied also cannot...ai yo, 8 weeks only, but like ppl 4 - 5 mths.

i oso dun hv any sign except stomach cramp n tiredness... dunno why today my cramp is very bad.. is this normal?

hi xuanmommy, pls add me.. EDD 9 Sep, TMC, Dr Joycelyn Wong

1st trimester is always the most fragile. So its gd to take lotsa rest, dun over exert yourself...

wow precious, ur EDD date veri nice leh.. i was hoping for this date too.. :p

Dr woody say he saw my BB ! i am not having an empty sac ! so happy ! the 1st gynae got the dates all wrong....i am only 5 weeks now. cos i ovulate later. EDD end of Sept. Dr woody is indeed a nice doctor. he keeps telling me that my BB is fine. not to worry. alto cant see heartbeat, but he say comes back another 2 weeks sure can see de. hehe. he say if any bleeding or emergency can call his hp. so cute. finally feel relieve now.

Congrats Porky! I think you should let us know the gynae you went to see so as to advise our friends not to believe everything that gynae says!

Hi Porky, congrats!!! I am so happy for you!!! Yipee!!! And take good care of yourself and enjoy this pregnancy!

Shazz, I also enjoyed playing with my cute, active nephew which is why now I want a boy, thought will be more fun... Usually girl very "den", sometimes canot stand it.. Kekeke..

Lydia, my gynae also asked me to increase dosage for my hormone pills but today still have spotting even though I am resting at home.. Haiz..

Porky: congrats! Am so happy for you! The 1st gynae ought to be shot! He almost denied a bright child entry into this world!

Precious: It's normal to have cramps now and then as the uterus is stretching to accomodate growing baby sac and baby. Take note if there's any bleeding though, which you should see gynae asap if that happens. Enjoy your pregnancy! =)

Wow porky... it must have been a great relief for u and hubby... so happy for u. Aiyo i believe a good gynae v important... everything he says will affect us de...
Congratulations!

Hey Porky!!!
I was waiting for ur posting abt ur gynea visit!!!
Kekek.. i bet u must be overjoiced!!!
I went for my 1st visit at week 5, and yeah, i onie see a sac nia and was told to return 2 weeks later which i did. And true enuff, i get to see the heartbeat and even hear the fast throbbing heartbeat!!! So ur turn will come too!

Good for u!

porky porky,
congrats!!!
Will sure to heartbeat 2 weeks later, trust our doc

ur 1st doc what name har ? maybe put his name here then mtbs will be aware

Precious,
me also have strong cramp for 1min or so and on and off for 1 to 2 days...
Guess is uters expanding bah

Me now only monitor got spotting anot before my 1st gynae visit next week

BTW
GONG XI FAI CAI !!!
HAPPY MICKEY/MINNIE YEAR TO ALL MICKEY/MINNIE MTB

sob sob.. me too!
I am very bloated and I used to be able to suck in my bloated tummy at times. But now its getting difficult and I am only in my 9th wk!! Was grumbling to my HB last nite abt my fat thighs cos I am oredi short and fat. Cant help but wonder if i will look worse off than humpty dumpty! ;-(

hi crayonshinchan,

i have seen 2 gynae liao..The 2nd one say if bleeding stop after the jab and pills then still have chances. Now look like my baby is gone..

So upset..

Dun let me affect all the mummies.. Wish all have the smooth journey..

jappooh,

I went through it and i know how it feels.

But like how all gynaes will tell us, if the fetus is not healthy to begin with, we will lose it someday somehow.

take heart and u can try again in another 1/2 months and still have a little mousy ;-)

Hi Jappoh.. Take care! I will still hope that everything will turn out to be fine for you.

I visited my gynae for the 2nd time yesterday, she said my baby still abt 2.1mm, not much growing since my last visit, which is abt one week ago, tat time it measures 2.0mm. If count from my last menstrual period, i should be 7 weeks pregnant now. She's not sure if everything is ok or not, as i have no more bleeding and spotting. So, she suggested me to do blood test for two days to check the hcg level. But i didnt do that, as i am travelling today. Already in the airport now. Very upset last night, didnt have a good night sleep
I still hope that everything will turn out to be fine, maybe just baby just a bit slow in his/her development...very worried.

Anyway, wish all mtb here a very happy new year...good luch to all. Wish me have a safe and smooth journey too. Bye..will update again when i m back in sin, take care ya...cheers!

Hi Porky

Congrats congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!! Happy for you.. thanks goodness you went to seek second opinion. the 1 week wait is really worth it
Rest well and continue your folic acid... glad you find a caring gynae who can understand how you feel and know how to assure you

Hi take care Japoon & shirley!! I am still spotting today, also worried leh.. Resting at home still have spotting.. Am hoping Monday faster come so I can see Dr Woody...

Hi LC, you preggie? How many months? Congrats! Cos Iasked you but you never reply leh... I never see you at the TCC thread liao.. :p

thanks everyone. finally me & hubby can have a good sleep last night. hehe. in fact, dr woody only use the tummy scan and he pointed to me that this is my bb. no need v scan at all. i do not know why the 1st gynae have to do both scan and say see nothing at all....then immediately he say is an empty sac...make us feel so sad

storeberry, thanks again for recommend dr woody to me. his assurance means a lot to us.

Hi Storeberry and Porky,
I jus came back from checkup... so relieved to see the baby liao... 5 days ago is still an almost undetectable dot, today its 2.5mm liao. Its something like a cashew nut and its beating away... can see the heartbeat quite obvious n strong. Forgot to ask how fast is the heartbeat cos too excited le... heard from mummies here that heartbeat rate can be used to predict gender?
anyway can see heartbeat i happy enuff liao le. It has been a stressful week.

Storeberry i am also having spotting, jus now got a super duper painful jab on the butt, the pain numb my whole leg. Hope spotting will be gone for good. How long have u been spotting?

Porky, really happy that u are not having empty sac... u shd be able to see bb growing v fast le. when is yr next appt?

LC faint.. u preggie liao ah? Really? Congrats and welcome to Sept mum thread

Shirley, are u a small size mummy? Did yr gynae say diff mum have diff bb growth rate? Rest well and hope u are not travelling too far n too long. Bed rest v important. Must Take care okie?

Hi Porky - CONGRATS! You & your hubby must be so relieved
Thank goodness you didn't go back to that horrible 1st gyne of yours! Here's to wishing u a smooth pregnancy ahead

Jappooh (jappooh) - take care okie? If your baby really is gone, then the fetus was not healthy to begin with, and this is natures way of ensuring that u carry to full term a healthy bouncy baby. You can always try again in 1-2 months

Meanwhile, i read the gender prediction link from shazz yesterday, and dreamt of the gender of my baby last nite! So weird...dream that my hubby brought back this auntie to check on the baby, she did some test & took a whole syringe of blood (v painful, could feel her drawing out the blood from my thigh in my dream!), then told me our baby was a boy! I was suspecting it would be a boy anyway, but secretly hoping for a girl
Maybe when i go for my 1st gyne check up can see if the heart beat matches

neber online for a week liao... great tat every1 is feeling good!

this morning, seen my gyn ..im in my 8wks 4days now ... bb is growing ..abt 2.1cm now....i vomit almost every night now
..feeling tired...

Mrs Yap : i had 2 jabs b4. ... there will a lump on the spot for a few days. ..
... think tat jab did help my spotting stop
... u will be fine soon
do have plenty of rest...need to lie down hor

storeberry : u can ask gyn abt the jab.... maybe can help u too ...& u need bed rest hor... dont walk too much hor

Shirley : hi, we r having the same gyn ...are u staying in punggol too? im at punggol field

Hi mummies, I tested positive yesterday and today. Actually before I tested, I knew I was pregnant - dunno how to explain.

Went to see gynae today and he confirmed I'm pregnant. Have done a blood test today, if hcg level is low, got to go for injection on Mon. Am in my 5th week only.

Wish me luck.

Shazz: The gender prediction is cool!
I used it to test for my first baby and it's accurate.
This time round, it predicted I'm having a boy.

Hi welcome makebaby!!

Porky, no problem at all!!! Dr Woody is really affordable, did you take up the package?

Mrs Yap, I have been spotting from the time I kno I am preggie, took double dosage & last week spotting stop for a few days then this week came back again. And the worst is I was resting at home when spotting came...

Thank jane, will aske gynae on Mon...