(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi MTBs,

Im from sarawak, malaysia. my EDD is mid of september. Hope to hear bb's heartbeat next checkup. I'm worrying everyday. I have one 4 yr old daughter, and one 1 yr old son. Hope to enjoy pregnancy with u all too.

Thanks BabyAtom!!

Congrats Monica! I'm oso looking forward to hearing my bb's heartbeat.... am due for my 1st checkup on 5th Feb... just b4 CNY ;-)

check with u ladies...
gynae quoted $2500 for Normal delivery
and $3500 for Casearean... does not include use of scanning equipments, injections, medication and hospitalisation stay.
Is it reasonable? How much does it normalli cost outside? Can share yr package?

hi cynthia & monica,

congrats ! we will share our views along the way.
now i am also looking forward to this friday scan. hope can see my BB heartbeat already. this few days, feel pretty great. no more cramps. and starting to enjoy getting preggy. hehe. btw, anyone taking Frisomum ?

hi cynthia, congrats! i hear that spotting is quite common if you've undergone ivf. your doc will prob give you some duphaston to help support your pregnancy when you see him. hope you'll have a smooth 9 months ahead!

i guess there's really no telling for sure what's okay and what's not so okay to consume during pregnancy since there're so much conflicting info on this. it's prob best to keep to the good old adage "in moderation" to be safe. i read somewhere that even ginger cannot be taken in excess as it can result in birth defects while some other sources claim that it is helpful in curbing nausea. moderation ba.

mrs yap, so fast ur gynae talk to u abt the delivery package ? my one not yet leh. gynae say after 1st trimester over then discuss abt the package thing loh. now is pay by per visit.

wah mrs yap! How come so ex?

My gynae quoted at TMC quoted me $1200 only for normal delivery. But I also paid $800 for booking fee (covers scheduled antenatal consultations only) Like urs, $800 does not inlcude scans, injections, medication blah blah blah.
Oh ya, the caesarean is $1800.

hi mrs yap, here's what i was given by one clinic:

single pregnancy: $2,275
twin pregnancy: $3,375

includes:
all scheduled consultations and standard urine dip stick tests up to delivery, and also all types of delivery (incl normal, c-section and forceps) and all hosp visits after delivery.

excludes:
unscheduled/emergency consultations, lab tests, ultrasound scans, postnatal check (check up after 6wks of delivery), paediatrician costs, hosp bills and GST.

not sure if this is the standard also.

isabelle (isa_belle) - which gyne are u going to at TMC? Thats pretty good deal...I guess it does not cover room rates, etc etc?

I went for fibroid removal with my gyne at TMC last year, & my room rate was already $400+ per night, & the anaesthetist was $1000. Gyne fees another $3600+. They also took pictures of the fibroid (normal 4R photo) which cost me $15 each!! As u can imagine, the final bill was huge! Thank goodness my company's insurance paid for the bulk of it!

actually western doctor will not stop u from eating anything. my gynae say everything also can eat. but in small portion. if feel uncomfortable then dont eat loh. so we must control and limit ourselves. hope everyone of us here can carry our BB till full term and this year sept will have lots of mickey & minnie liao. hehe.

Porky (porky_jean) - yes, you are right.
My gyne is also the same - she even told me to just leave my fibroid in the womb & get preggers (which I didn't want cos it would be fighting for space with the baby)...

I think sometimes, being 1st time mummies, we are abit paranoid & want the best for the baby. But most of the 'harmful' foodstuff would also not cause any harm unless consumed in excessive amounts, which we won't even eat so much of normally. Afterall, our mums didn't know any better, and we turned out fine! The only stuff to avoid 100% is alcohol & ciggies!

Cynthia Lee (mikojade)- You are very very brave to go for IVF!

i've booked an appt with dr judy wong, tps @kkh tomorrow. i'm 5 weeks plus only but i think i need immediate attention bcos i did took diet pill recently. feel so guilty and stupid for doing that. i'm so worried if my baby doesnt turn out ok

i'm a civil servant. what do you guys think? should i go to tps or east shore??

i dont mind going for the subsidised clinics, but it's just that their appt time is only during office hours. my hub and i can only make it after 7pm. only the private suite has night clinic is it??

Hi Mrs Yap

My gynae package is $500. Covers the cost of visits starting from 13 week, scan and standard urine dip stick for every scheduled visit,and multivits...but dont cover emergency visits n blood test....

Me has tested postive today, very faint faint line for the past few days. So want to confirm then log in here later.
But saw the gynae charges. i wanted to share my views..heehee

When i concieve my #1,
$550 is for antaneal charges, meaning the monthly scanning, checkup. But exclude details scan at 5th month and some blood test.But overall add up to less than $650.
This is the cheapest i guess in the market. Also got govt subsidy $450 after that

(Advice : a package one might be better cos it could mean unlimited visit)
Me got relative that go by visits which is about $70 pervisit, same thing also exclude the above.

Another one is the delivery charge which include ward charges, doctor operation charges etc...
That one got to depend on your hospital.

So i think
isabelle and Mrs Yap is consider "delivery charge"

MrsYap,
It depend on the hospital and whether you are having normal delivery or Casearean and what bedded room you opt for.

TMC, Mt Alvernia, East Shore are normal rate.
Mt E, Raffles Hosp, Geagales are more exp
Govt hosp from what i remember is about the same rate as TMC, Mt A etc

BUT TOUCH WOOD, if got complication, govt hospital will be cheaper.

Hope i not so luo so..heehee

Thanks Porky, xuanting and bigtoes!

I must say it takes more of one mentally than physically... Esp on the day of the pregnancy blood test...

When I was there to collect my medication, heard the nurse telling one of the patients that hers wasn't successful... I couldn't imagine if I'm the one on the other line....

But I had a scare on Sunday the day before the test when I notice some spotting... Was told to go to the Woman 24hr Clinic.... had a faint positive line but nothing detected at the viginal u/s... I was crying all the way to the hospital n back....

hi isabelle,
So good u still bf your gal till now. I only bf my gal till 6months, abit mafan to express milk in office lor...conf room always occupied... i really hope this time round i can bf much longer.

Hi cynthia,
Congras! my colleague also had her ivf done end last year...also good news for her. heard it's a tough process rite...really happy for you. :-D

limay, ya loh. think we 1st time preggy. so we tends to listen too much from people. everything also scard to eat. but our mum is old fashion type. they will tell us cannot eat pineapple or drink too cooling coup. i think that is fine lah. so ur gynae has already remove the fibroid in ur womb ?

babyatom, what do u mean by standard urine dip stick for every scheduled visit ? why need to do this ?

xuanmommy, who is ur gyane for your #1 ? can share ? thanks.

Porky (porky_jean) - yes, went to do a check up to make sure I was healthy before we tried for babies last year, & found out that I had a 7cm long fibroid in my womb. That is considered v large & my gyne said it would grow more when I was preggers since it there would be more estrogen...so I had open surgery done to take that out.

My scar has since healed (almost cannot be seen), & the surgery was a breeze..so now I am wondering if I should just get a C-section done for the baby as well. MTBs - are u all opting for natural birth? I can't imagine having to suffer for hours, then having to cut the vagina to open up the passage...

limay, actually hor, i also wanted to opt for c-section leh. it will be faster but suffer later right ? anyway i heard from lots of fren, c-section not really that pain lah. got painkiller mah. better then screaming and shouting all the way inside the delivery room right ? hahaha. my sis in law also c-section, the next day, she can carry her bb and walk around liao. like nothing happen wor. so amazing !

btw, what caused the fibroid to grow inside the womb huh ? never hear before....

Porky, #1 gynae is Dr Adrian, visit his CCK branch. Quite good...
Under the same group of thomson woman, there is a also a good guy doc at sembanwang.

jo,
think packet juice no harm lar. but of course dont drink too much cos of sugar content lor
my gynae say pineapple will be too cooling, raw fish is a NO NO food.
Personally i think eat abit of everything u will be safe

Porky (porky_jean)- my open surgery was precisely like having a C-section. The opening was about 8cm, and I think a regular c-section cut is about 10cm, so not much difference. I was warded for 2 nights, & went off painkillers on day 2 cos it was making me nauseous. The pain was almost non-existent actually, just that the cut hurts abit when I cough or sit up for about 2 weeks after that.

I am sure most people would encourage mommies to go for natural birth since it is suppose to be better for the baby, but yah, I will talk to my gyne/sisters & see what they say before deciding.

Btw, my gyne said the fibriod grew cos there was too much oestrogen (or something weird like that). Apparently quite common & no pain, so most people won't know until they go for a scan.

Fsa, My Gynae is Doc Heng TL at east shore too.. Had my first baby with her.. so should be going
thru her for this time round too.. think she's ok.. and quite experience too...
As for drinking coffee.. to me i think personally.. everything in moderation is ok..
hmmm.. maybe on the fact tat I love coffee.. oppss.. anyone else here kopi fan?? :p

Here is TMC EUNICE CHUA delivery package
Normal vaginal Delivery : 1200-1500
Assisted delivery (vacuum/forcep) : 1500-1800
Caesarean Section : 1800-2500

Tik Medisave can claim :
Normal : 550
Assisted : 725
Caesar : 1000

Have you all decide for normal or C section ?

Has anyone heard that you can't go near pets when you are pregnant? My hubby and MIL refused to allow me to go near my pet dog when I go back home and it makes me so sad cos I miss it so much since I moved out so whenever I go back home, I will hug it and carry it about with me. Now the thought of not being able to go near it makes me feel so sad. They say it will make my baby asthmatic.

hmm.. wingkei.. i think they just worried tat u will get any virus from ur pet..
but i do have friends who have pet dog.. still.. they are close to them..

Thanks for the concern, aloevera. Here I am again. Things are getting better at home, though we still have our conflicts now and then, like the one mentioned above. I started spotting yesterday so am on medical leave for 3 days. I heard that this is pretty common for the first trimester?

By the way, has anyone heard of Dr Chua Yang from A Clinic For Women at Chun Tin Road? I want to know how her stitching skills are like. I heard that some doctors stitch so beautifully (for natural birth) that you don't feel any pain after that but for some, it hurts so badly that you have to sit on a float for days after giving birth.

hey wing...wat i understand is the danger of pets faeces as thr's presence of sum kind of virus in it which could be harmful to the foetus esp dat of cats' & it could caused toxoplasmasis....hopefully i got the spelling rite....=)

anyway mummies....can anybody advise the claim allowed under medisave cos the example given in MOH website is a little confusing....wat i noe is we are allowed to claim our antenatal package up to $450....

thanks xuanmommy! I'm into my 6-7weeks and the nausea is full force...can't work can't focus, every moment feels nausea, no appetite...have been eating sour plums to curb the feeling...but scare eat too much so try to refrain myself too...very jia lats. Do u gals have such bad nausea feelings during the 6-7 weeks? any good ideas on how to curb it?

i feel so sleepy and tired all day. any mommies feeling this way too? what can i do to make myself a bit more energetic? so far, i have no nausea spells. my appetite is very good. this is scary bcos i dont want to gain so much for this pregnancy. i gained 32kg at full term when i had my 1st.

i feel very tired easily. dont even have the energy to wash dishes. i think i need a part time cleaning lady.
anyone has a contact for a part time cleaning lady?? need her to come weekends only.

momoko,
may i know dr heng charges?? how much was yr hospital bill?

Hi fsa, begining I was feeling tired & back pain all over.. Now I am better, in my 8 weeks now...

Hi momoko, I am a kopi fan!! But now I don't drink coffee because of my baby lo.. have to sacrifice..

I saw from one of the threads that those bottle chocolate milk has caffeine? Is it true??

Xuanmommy, I am also seeing Dr Woody leh... :p

hi preggie,
not able to pm you. do u mind sharing it here? i'm sure it's useful for other MTBs too

anyone civil servant here? wanna know abt using CSC in kkh

chillicrab (chillicrab): I'm also in my 7th week. Am nausea throughout the day today. Ate and felt nausea. Yesterday, my favourite pasta smell disgusting and I almost threw up after taking half of the plate.

I didnt take sour plum directly but I added 2 to my water. It helped to keep the nausea at bay, or rather the funny taste in the mouth away for a while.

I also started taking red date tea to mask the funny taste in the mouth.

Read that adding lemon to water also helps nausea, but it worked for a while but I felt like throwing up after a while.

The sweet stuff helps me to keep the nausea at bay. Oh yah, eating wholemeal biscuit helps me too. Hope it helps you!

Hi ladies, all those who are feeling nauseous, try taking some vit B6 supplements (should be in your pre-natal supplement). I am on that, and so far (touch wood), have not encountered any morning sickness.

Don't feel anymore tired at all, or have spotting...in fact, the only indication that I am preggers is my appetite. My tummy also feels more 'solid' already & my hubby says there is a difference (can't see, but from touching).

chillicrab n shazz,
my nausea hits me in the evening..i had eating sweets but that kills my tastebud...nothing i eat taste good. No big appetite but if i dont eat, i get gastric pain immediately. Lemon puts me off...even lemon scent bath gel...Eating biscuits help...how do you make the red date tea? can share?

Fsa, i am forever tired too..do you have to nap all the time?

anyone with constipation? i only can go toilet 3-4 days once...

hi mummies, anyone of u dont like to eat sour stuff ?? i dunno why leh, whenever i eat sour apple, i cannot stand it. cant finish the whole apple. i thot preggy should like sour stuff right ?

storeberry, u already 8 weeks ah. thats fast. so when is ur EDD. i am supposed to be 8 weeks too. but after scan, gynae say my bb only 6 weeks leh...

When did u gals kena the morning sickness?
from which week onwards?

I m oledi at my 6th week and oh manz, i dun feel any MS (touch wood). I wonder is there anyone that is liddat oso?

baconegg, me also constipation leh and a lot of wind inside tummy. but after i start to drink Frisomum, i can go toilet every morning liao. read from the milk container, that it can helps in reduce constipation for preggy woman

wingkei (wingkei) : hi, dont worry. I have 2 dogs myself and we r very close.... just make sure u wash ur hands before eating and keeps ur pet clean at all time ... should be no problem.... dont go near to strays as they might be sick ...

goldfish, dont worry too much. me also 6 weeks this week. no MS too. (touch wood !!!) hehe. what other symthoms u having ?

Goldfish, according to old wives tales and from pp around me who are pregnant. It seems that those who had bad nausea will have baby boys and those who dun experience too much of nausea will have baby girls. this is true for many cases of frds n relatives ard me lor... dunno if u all heard before or not.

Today, im 3 days MC again! ...
there was a slight spotting yesterday
... any1 stopped spotting and come back again??????

Goldfish (goldfish1395) : hi, im at 7 wks now... no MS too (touch wood)..

Phew. It is good to know that some MTB are liddat oso.. no MS... i was telling hubby tat i dunno whether baby is doing good or not. I heard 'stories' tat MS is a sympton that baby is progressing well lo. So actually it is good to haf MS as it means baby is doing well.

Bt on the contrary, my colleague who is oledi in her 40's told me tat her when she is preggie wif her 2 kids, she oso no MS. Baby oso healthy.
*Diao*

So confusing rite?

Porky - I haf no other symptons except haf to wake up 2 or 3 times at nite to pee cos hi-tide. In the past, onie nid to pee once. And also feel my heartrate beat quite fast.I dun haf craving for any food at tis moment. U leh?

Mrs Yap - keke. I never heard abt tat
But i seriously hope i got a gal
But i do hear tat boys will give bad complexion to the mama like pimple scarring or freckles. I hope i dun fall into tat category :S

Jane - Actually how u all define spotting? Abit of blood rite?