(2008/08) Aug 2008

hi mrs teng
ya must remove the skin to cook the tomato. I also asked and got green light for tofu and egg yolk. I guess diff docs have diff opinions on the food. I remember Isaac pd told him to take egg yolk quite early arn 6months. Anyway my hb don't want to put meat into bernice porridge. He say wana wait till she able to eat the meat then give. So I waiting for him to go overseas mth end then I cook for her. Haha. Cos I just want the flavor and nutrients from the meat. Its very diff when there are 3 people wanting to cook for her and all have diff opinions. Haha.

megan

ya..i am feeling the same here..study so much..then feel like switching to part time..like very waste time and $ leh..i also dun want to burden my hubby..if only one person bringing bread home...very shag and stressful for him..plus i will only keep talkng abt bb and maid things to him..can be quite sian and stressful ..me also not really the full time mummy kind..so..really feeling quite torn sometimes..

Vern, Ruixuan,
I need to get playyard. Pls pass me the details. thanks!

Ameda valves. Anyone has extra new ones to sell?

i planned to work from home today as contractor coming in to do some finishing touches but walao...office screwed up so now i have to go back in the afternoon to get things fix....sianzz

YLN,

me understand coz' i got the same problem too. besides lack of sleep, i also have to work late on most days. i try to make it a pt to reach my IL's place before 8pm. last time it was to feed jonah, but now, it's to make sure he gets home early and rest early also. now the earliest he drinks milk is 10pm, and he sleeps ard 11pm. i know it's bad for the child and he has lots of sleep problems now, but have to live with it lor, since both parents are working. things might be better if MIL came over to look after instead, but i dun think it's an option she'll consider. i did contemplate working PT but my boss says not worth it coz' my co will still pile me with the same amt of work and give me 1/2 pay. i'm hoping to find a new job that will give me a 9 to 5 working hours, even if it means lower pay or changing industry and taking up a more admin role. see how lah. have kids is like that one. so i think it's stupid for govt to just give monetary incentives when there's still no hope for work life balance in our society.

hey mommies,

do u know if our bb have to pay airfare if they fly with us? if yes, what's the percentage like? i had the impression it was FOC but someone told me it cld be 50% or something like that? is it variable depending on each airline's policy?

also, any suggestions for a short getaway? i'm thinking of some nice resort in thailand that is bb friendly. hope to go in june to celebrate weddding anniversary with the kid

mrs teng,
ur porridge look so appetising tt i m drooling...

catherine,
hw come ur hb dun wan 2 put meat into bernice's porridge? mine kept asking me 2 put. he has d same tots as u. bt lazy me kept delaying...

Woah... so many posts...

val,
really blur rite after deciding on all the little little things for the house. So when is yoru renovation completing? Mine mid Apr, which is soon...

yln,
I can understand you wanna have th extra money to provide a better life for kaer and your family which is normal. Sun think urself as selfish. Can you consider working from home? That is what I did. My boss recommended me to have remote access from work. SO I will try my best to finish my work and rush home before 730pm so that I can have some time to play with Kah Yenn. She is always smiling in joy when she sees us home, which makes me wan to go home to her cos maybe she is bored after one whole day. I will then put her tp bed ard 9pm and head back to pumping and work. In that case, I will still have some time for her but have to forgo my beauty sleep.

<font color="#CD3278">sylvia</font>
heheh.. In the event Meredith really doesnt like, can keep for ur #2

<font color="#CD3278">dongle</font>
Mummy talk! So shiok, u can still go gaigai at lunchtime..

<font color="#CD3278">vone</font>
Gd grief!! Mix urine with water to clean the toys.. Tt's really horrendous! Tt's why hb &amp; I fear having a maid, coz if u kena this type, u wld be worried instead of actually having the help needed

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Agree, with both parents working it really is hard for a child to be able to sleep early.. After reading a no. of books, i realise the strategy of letting bb sleep early is where 1 parent stays at home, otherwise it is almost not feasible

Must pay for airfare.. I dunno the %, maybe diff airline diff rates? Thailand is nice!! Can relax &amp; swim alot!

<font color="#CD3278">MrsTeng</font>
The porridge looks so colourful!

so many posts to catch up on! my comp crashed ytd. thank God my dad managed to get it back up!

did i miss anything????

shint
i'm not gg to April's on fri leh. cos i'm gg to church for gd fri service.

mrs teng
wah seh! ur porridge looks so yummy leh!

Catherine

Why not try boiling pork stock to make porridge for Bernice? Buy those pork bones and simmer for a least an hour. Den strand it with a cloth filter to get rid of excessive impurities and oil. cool it den freeze. I normally make concentrated one and keep in a 200ml cube container. When I cook, I'll add more water lor..

In the First Foods, they suggested to put long chinese cabbage and spring onion. But I think the cabbage will cause gas, so I'll skip it for now.

I hope my gals can take the wolfberry, den I can start using other meat like, cod fish to make porridge.. Threadfin quite sianz liao... Unfortunately, I do not know how to blog, and also dun know what free blog website is easy to use. Otherwise, I would compile my experiments.. hehehe
Like your blog, looks very cool

Vanilla_pod

May I know what complications did your boi had? Is he okay now? My gals also were very weak when they were born (in n out of hospital 3 times when they were barely 2 months old, so they couldn't drink well enuf to gain weight during their first few months.. That is why, their progress is so slow. Only now that they are slowly catching up, but den again, they are so hyperactive. Whatever goes in burns out so fast..

Vone, History, Timmin

Porridge may looks appetising n colorful, but the most important thing is whether these 2 imps of mine are willing to eat or not.. Can you imagine how frustrating it can be when they dun want to finish, after all the efforts you have put in? Haizzz

what is 24months of jail for the cruelty...should be whipped...

krex..sq is 25% of the fare till 2years old then its 75% fare...think got some airlines is 10%

yumeumi
I wana go back japan !!! Didn't do enuf shopping. Haha. I love the bb clothes there. All very unique but very ex. Recently I found this shop at liang court that sells jap bb clothes. But limited and no mikihouse

Vone
I dono why he don't wana put meat. I think he feels he rather she able to eat the meat then give. Else just boil and throw wasted. If so rather she eat the fish. He got weird theory one la. Anyway now he cooking for her so I dont wana argue lo

Krex
they pay a certain percent. I dont remember but bernice paid $500+ for the japan trip. Think after 2yo its much more. Thailand so hot and dirty for bb.

hisstory,

i was also wondering...if i use any of those sleep training methods, must it be consistent? coz' my MIL has her own way of putting jonah to sleep and i found out yest that she will carry him and walk around the house, make him feel sleepy already, then put him in the cot. then must hold his hand some more. no wonder daddy has hard time putting the boy to sleep at night! coz' he refuses to do all these. he will just place the boy down, wrap him up in blanket and try to restrain him from kicking and moving his arms too much. then sit on the chair and accompany him to sleep. yesterday MIL suggested i be present to put the boy to sleep as well since jonah might want to see both parents during bed time. it worked a little, but i think it's coz' i was more gentle to him. i will talk nicely to him and ask him to sleep, pat pat him, stroke his head, etc. my hb doesn't do all these, so maybe that's the difference. anw, need to experiment and see how to best put the boy to sleep, moving forward.

u been to thailand recently? i know there are many islands and resorts to visit, but dunno which one to choose. any recommendation? i just want to spa and swim and "nua" and maybe shop, heehee.

cat,

no lah, i think phuket or phi phi is ok. i will definitely not consider bangkok! dun think i want to go too far like japan or korea. too hectic to plan itinerary. if bring bb along, just want to relax in a resort.

Thanks for all the concern : ) Yesterday went on half day mc to rest and today feel so much better.

Cat
Hope Bernice's eyes recover soon.

Vone
Aiyo yr poor Dawn! Terrible maid la, how can do such things?! Good thing you sent her away. Else dunno what else can she be up to.

Yln
Cheer up. It is a phase that will go once kaer grows bigger. What to do, as a working mother it is not easy.. If dun work then probably will deprive the child of many things... That's how I feel also.

Mrs Teng
ya I still doing total BF. Doc says ok to continue as long as medication is safe.
Anyway I am very hungry.... cos I saw yr yummy pic of the poridge!!
Btw just to check with you, I am starting my gal on porridge this week so what is recommended since its the first time.. I cant remember what I did for my #1...ooops

Val, Snow
Our girls turned 8 months today!

hi Mrs Teng, my boy had omphaocele (where his liver and intensines are not fused inside his tummy) when born (this we found out during 20th week scan). After his op to fixed this prob, they found out abt his holes in the heart (ASD and multiple VSD) and kidney problems - 2 kidneys reflux and 1 kidney is not functioning....Becos he did a banding for his heart, this is one reason for his slow development. Hopefully after his open heart surgery due soon, he will recover n pick up his feeding. So now must make him eat more to gain more weight for the operation.

Funny thing now is that he reguritate his milk rather frequently...now sure why..but me pretty worried cos he does not used to do it.

Looking at ur daughter's pics..they look soo pretty and active..ur food must be doing wonders for them!!

<font color="#CD3278">MrsTeng</font>
Hope the 2 gers wld appreciate all your efforts u've poured into making their porridge so nutritious!

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
I was also asking myself the same question when i was abt to embark on sleep training back then.. Coz i know my mum wld use sarong for Ashley's daytime naps, so wld tt affect her night's sleep?

But it seems she can differentiate the 2.. The bk i'm reading also says the same. She has no prob with the cot at night *phew*

Continue to experiment.. Hopefully Jonah wld guaiguai realise his daddy &amp; mummy's efforts in helping him sleep &amp; make things easier.. Ur hb's kind of right actually, unassisted sleep is better in the long run, tends to help bb self-soothe back to sleep

Me ah? I wanna go.. The last time was before popping, and we chionged BKK.. heheh! I think Krabi or Hua Hin are gd locations.. I rem wanting to go some boutique resorts in the past, those tt had their private pools.. Can nua there the whole day

krex,
think baby would like to have parents around them at night. I also feel that is the best time to bond with them. Usually my hubby and I will keep her company before her bedtime then put her to bed. Last night, we are playing with her in the living room and then I carry her to bedroom saying she should sleep. Then she shouted "eh eh" and looking at my hubby who is sitting at the sofa. Apparently she wants my hubby to follow us into the bedroom. So both of us keep her company and then I carry and rock her to sleep. I agree with you moving forward must find one way to put her to sleep on her own. Cos she getting heavier, not possible to rock her to sleep for too long.

mrs teng
i know what u mean!! i get so frustrated when E doesn't like or eat my concoctions too!! haha... oh well...got to trial &amp; error.

but he seems to love pork porridge. like me. :D

Mrs Teng sorry I meant to reply hashisan...me still *blur*

Hashisan
ya I still doing total BF. Doc says ok to continue as long as medication is safe.

krex
Babies up to 2yrs old have to pay taxes for the flight...I brought baby to bangkok and paid $200+. Hope that helps.

<font color="#CD3278">wendy</font>
Sorry, missed your post!

Am wondering if David's nightwakings gotta do with teething.. Hope he resumes his sleep thru soon!

Can't wait to see his pix.. hee, esp now he has teeth/tooth?

<font color="#CD3278">happymummy</font>
Ooops! Over-friendly ah..
Why are u 'scared' of empty clinics? ie, the Dr no gd?

Hi, i oso wanna share my pork ribs soup recipe:

I used pork ribs (otherwise known as 'long gu' in mandarin), japanese ikan bilis and cod fish (the parts wif bones) to make soup.

1) Pour boiling water into a bowl of pork ribs (to remove the 'porky' smell and wash away the blood and any bits of bones)
2) Boil a pot of water
3) Once water boils, put in all the ingredients and cook at medium heat
4) When ingredients are more or less cooked, cover wif lid and turn to low heat.
Cook for a while (I usually cook for 1/2hr or so..sometimes i had to add water cos most of the water had evaporated due to prolong cooking)
5) Once done, pls rem to use a sieve with a piece of clean, white cloth on top to strain the soup into a bowl, to strain away the oil, and small bits of bones, etc.

You can freeze the soup. I wld usually keep in freezer for the most 1 week.
But after thawing, I will use it within 3 days. Rem not to thaw and re-freeze!
I used this soup to mix with my HT cereals, or used it to cook porridge.
It's really yummy even without any seasoning!

sleep training,
Last night adel rolled on the bed. Played and chewed on his book, and then suddenly , no noise. Fell sleep in the same position he was playing, all legs curled up ! Hahaha... I dunno if this is sleep training. But i really felt good he could sleep on his own !

Hopefully it will continue tonight... If like that it will be easy to do my marking at night. Exams coming, tons of worksheets to mark. Anyway, last night while sleeping he really coughed so loudly, almost like adult type. Sleep elevated liao, also no use. Wanted to put him in the centre, but he kept on kicking me ! So put him back in his bed. Sigh... no wonder they say, kids sick, MOTHERS get no sleep. My HB slept all the way through.

hisstory,
Heeeeee, empty clinics = doc no good or whole estate very healthy ! =D

But say like that means Sengkang babies very unhealthy leh ! Kid's clinic super pack forever !

Krex,
You want to go thailand? The political situation there... scared or not? I love bangkok, but i scared kena stuck at the airport with Adel...

so many post but no time to read... :/

Mrs Teng: how do u make corn puree? must hand pick out one by one n then puree?

I am going to make chicken stock today! Went to buy kumpung chicken today..
A friend share her recipe with me. She use a medium kumpung chicken, 1 litre water and 5 large dried scallops n slow cook for 5 hours.. Then freeze the stock.

Then i also specially went to buy a slow cooker Takahi 3.2litre cost me $69 and the Takahi baby cooker $27... Anybody bought this at a lower price? juz wanna be sure i am not being a carrot head...hahah

Ok going to make the stock later!!! havent feed chicken to my boy yet.. so far give pork only. i use the pigeon bowl to grind the pork n then mix with porridge.. ok la he can chew give him chew lor! kekeke!!!!

Vanilla_pod

Oh! dear.. your boi must have suffered a great deal...Sayang him for me.. In that case, you have to slowly nurse him back to good health. Avoid giving chicken, zucchini (Cucumber), ikan bilis for the time being. Ikan bilis is not too good for his kidneys..

Milk regurgitation will be over after sometimes.. it's just means that his stomach is not fully developed yet. After feeding him, try not to pull him up immediately and burp him.. slowing bring him up and burp him.. After a feed, let him sit on a recline position, that way he won't regurgitate so much. Best is to giving him lesser quantity n more frequent feeds.

Medusa

No problem!

Timmin

Yeah! most of the time also 'ti come' lor... sometimes really scared cook wrongly... sometime wipe out.. sometimes just totally dun eat...

History

Yeah! luckily they still okay with their lunch today.. Mei2 actually wiped out the entire bowl again.. No need for carrot puree today.. hahaha

Here's a pic of before n after. Mei2 is on the left.. look at her satisfied face after the porridge..

2331210.jpg
2331211.jpg

This one is where mei2 clearing out the bowl.. notice the bowl on the left.

2331212.jpg

Reirei

Great idea on the pork stock.. save the time of making ikan bilis powder...

Nini

Wah! you really invest in the slow cooker ah! I used the baby slow cooker, think is 2 litres, got to cook for 2 lah!

Kampong chicken is very 'bu' good for babies.. Scallop.. you got to be careful leh! it's an allergenic food, so must test first.. until now I dare not give to my gals yet.. You may like to try give 2 or 3 pieces instead of 5 lor.. And if you dun want to waste electricity slow cooking for 5 hours. Use the claypot and bowl for 1 n 1/2. but must put 2 litres water lor.. Gas cheaper but must watch the flame lor..

hisstory,

i think i'm just taking bb steps now to improve the situation. ultimately, would like him to sleep w/o our reassurance and w/o pacifier also. now he wakes up 1-2 times each night and can only be soothed by pacifier...so jia lat!

will go research on hua hin and krabi. i rem reading an article in some parenting magazine about baby friendly resorts...thinking of checking them out.

cindy,

hmmm...so my MIL's advice is not wrong after all! i must admit i dun have much involvement in putting bb to sleep. i interact with him mainly after i come back from work, but once we get to our own home, i will be busy taking a shower and then pumping while my hb feeds him and puts him to sleep. but now, i guess i'll make the effort to put bb to sleep first before pumping. thank god last night he didn't take too long to sleep. if must wait for 1 hour i sure pengz one!

mrs teng: ya lor i use the big one to cook the stock, then the small one to cook his food daily. i buy kumpung chicken cos no chemical/additives..
Ya i wont put so much.. maybe 2-3 can liao.. sure very sweet. i also buy a few containers to freeze the chicken stock. i limit usage for 3 days.

nini
wahhhhhhh.....sounds shiok leh!
but like what mrs teng said...scallops are shell fish. so got to be careful. actually, u can put in some veg and it's also very sweet.

mrs teng
yah yah...same with E! sigh... but sometimes, i tink it's just mood.
ur gals like fruits? my E loves bananas! anything with banana, he wipe out! haha...
if they like bananas, u can try the banana ragi porridge too. it's a type of finger millet, so very high in iron and calcium!

ur gals so cute lah!!! do u dress them up in similar clothes, esp when they go out? heehee...

vone

can it be ur maid use vinegar mixed with water to clean toys? Maybe she mix too much vinegar?

But if nt vinegar, then it might be wat suspected....

so bad.

bb having rashes around the mouth is common when they are teething.

happy mummy

hope Adel recover soon.

Ya... think he's growing up now.

Mummy are sensitive to bb's movements, dat's y mummy will nt sleep well if bb around. plus bb will move nearer to mummy by instinct.

Dad act as the barricade on bed!! Hahaha!

mrs teng,
your girl are so cute especially mei mei on the 2nd pic.

stock:
if i only cook on weekends for yu ze, can still make soup stock to freeze? can freeze for how long?

rashes:
yu ze also got rash around his mouth. sometimes, it form like a ring also partly cos he suck very hard on the pacifier.

YLN,
a lot of the FTWM are all feeling the same... tiredness &amp; more tiredness from working plus taking care of baby at night &amp; some still BF their babies... me too cant afford not to work bcos of all the committment and used to this kind of lifestyle aledi.. sama sama... working life is not smooth oso no choice... colleague got promotion, me dont have bcos i took MC? ML? duno? a lot of things not fair but no choice lor... i see "open" aledi even though i like to complain now &amp; then... keke...

mrs teng,
you food photos all look so yummy... C &amp; C reli look very cute &amp; pretty

shint,
must monitor your maid closely... you got CCTV? yr MIL still helping out?

my spare ameda valves all used up liao... thought of organising spree earlier but no mummy interested except hisstory so now maybe once all torn, i will stop BF too..

the haenim playard is from cheong choon Tel: 65323855, 1 box got 4 panels at $140, so must share with another mummy to buy 6 panels if you need it to surround your playmat (those korean ones bot from the BP here)... vern show hers here &amp; you can see mine at my FB...

vone,
oh dear!! another maid from hell!!! hope everything is ok now...

hisstory,
yup, can gai gai during lunch but now mostly do auntie stuffs like shopping for fresh vege &amp; fruits esp for cayla

Cat,

Hahaha!! maybe we can organise a Jap trip with the mummy here for shopping? bring bb along too?

Ya.... very unique design, easy to wear n durable. Just that the price is high, esp when yen is higher.... I hv NB for Meredith, so easy to wear n take off. Some r velco, zap n take off liao. So homewear n gaigai ones I still buy from Japan.

Used to hv MIKIHOUSE here, but closed. Nt sure Takashimaya still hv or nt. I rem Liang Courts, Sogo used to hv.

thanks megan...replied u as well...

Hi Mrs teng - thanks for ur tips...seeing ur little one enjoying her meal...so cute..hope my son will be like that!! they are fraternal twins right? Who looks more like daddy and u?

mrs teng
ya thats what i told my hb to do but he reluctant to do it. until just now finally manage to convince him to add meat into the porridge. hahaha. we dont freeze the stuff and we make it every time we cook for her. i think cos i'm a SAHM and i have a maid with the hsework so i can do everything fresh for her. that's the least i can do for her

i put wolfberry into the porridge for her too. But i just cook and then remove it from the porridge. i dont give it to her. bernice loves the codfish porridge.

i have so many things to blog but also too tired after a long day to do it. by the time i sit down to do it, many things already past tense. haha

krex,
i'm planning a trip to perth end may. hb gave green light already

<font color="ff6000">shint</font>

hanger........ I think any bb above 5kg should worry since they move alot now.

need bigger size clothing to hang them

I think they will plan it well esp heavy weight bb pah??

It'll be fun if they take the weighting scale fm lightest to heaviest... then maybe for comedy effect... the last one turn till the pin overload? Hahaha!!!

DP GROUP PIC
the detail had been mailed to ur email, mothers, please check email and RsVP too.

Megan
are u still interested to go for the group photoshoot?

DP#2 invoice
I actully issue a cheque to fenny on MOnday so the cheque process take 2 days. I apologize for any inconvenience cause (still waiting for the invoice) should be sending to u by today or tomorrow...

Cindy,
The way i put Adel to sleep is to let him play in the play pan till he is tired. Usually he will fuss, I will stay by him and watch him. If the crying gets very loud, I will pick him up, cuddle him a while then put him back to sleep. In a way, I am trying to show him that I will be there, but will not cuddle him to sleep. last night he play with the story book and eventually just KO in a kneeling position. As if he was playing then suddenly shut off. hahaha... so funny...

Hisstory,
Quiet doc = ???
I dunno, it's either bishan babies are all healthy or Seng kang babies are all sickly ! Kid's clinic at seng kang super packed every day !

Krex,
Want to go thailand ? Scared of the political situation there or not? I also want to go thailand but very scared leh ...

happy mummy,

I think they sometimes only want to play n nt sleep, so till the body shut off themselves?

Meredith always hv this once in a while. sometimes very cute.

Happy_mummy
Whenever I put my boy to sleep between us, he will concentrate on kicking his dad only! haha...and he always manages to kick his dad out of the bed cos hb will surrender and go sleep in the living room.

The last time I went thailand, there was supposedly some political situation going on but nothing happened at all, life as usual there. Think i will go again in a couple of months, love the food there! heh!