(2008/08) Aug 2008

Sylvia (yumeumi),
Hope Meredith is ok.
Diapers having gel like stuff. My #1's diaper even break before cos it was too heavy .... in your case, dunno why oso.

hisstory
ya..i think kaer cannot take fish..cuz yestd MIL gave minced pork and brocoli..she finished all with her mouth open!!..so we will stick to pork n vege lor...dun let her take fish first...

morning mummies.

yln,
so kaer don't like fish. maybe just keep to pork and vege first loh. did she eat the pork? or just add for taste.

nestle goodies:
i also can't see any leh. like krex78, i only see the sweetestmoments one.

morning mummies. is thurs
2 more days to weekend

Hi, I'm also an aug 2008 mum.

can anybody enlighten me what's SAHM?
do you put cereal in milk for bottle feeds at night? I read somewhere before but i'm afraid my girl will choke....

celyn,
think for the nestle goodies, you nid to register then they will automatic know that Yu Ze is coming to 6mths old, then they will mail the goodie box...this is what i think coz when i register quite some time ago i also did not noe got the goodie bag leh only upon receiving a call from them then i noe...or maybe wan try calling up and ask?

YLN,
i also think Kaer maybe allergic to fish leh, maybe you try to monitor a few more days if still pooing better see doc coz the backside may be a bit painful for Kaer after so many pooing

HT cereals,
i did not noe that brown rice cereals will make a bb more active, then how? at nite feed what cereals?

nite feeds,
last nite me try to use HT brown cereals into Gerlene 10pm nite feed, i put 2 and a half scoops (enfa FM scoop) with 4scoops of FM...wow the HT cereals realli very very fine leh, i open the packet, the cereals fly like feather..anyway i also try use the variable slto avent teat also..okie Gerlene managed to finish the milk and wake up for her usual feed at 5pm...

question: am i mixing too much cereals? normal feed for Gerlene is 150ml with 5scoops of FM leh

question:Brown rice cereals too active for BB so i use barley one?

morning mommies

so excited for the gathering tomorrow

Sylvia
yes, what did ur hb said ? :p

hisstory
yes, mayb can share the title n author..

Now I'm reading how to help baby to sleep then another book for weaning..
then also login here to chat with u guys, really mummy have to b multi tasking uh ? :p

Shint
Prev did ur bb sleep thru yet ?

YLN,
what my mil did for my nieces are she will add vege, pumpkin and may meat/fish into the porridge then she will scoop out the porridge only leaving the ingredients behind, she say the porridge have already absorb the goodness of the ingredients thus enough liao...

krex,
the link provide by smurfette is the one

Shint,
dun stress so much, do take care

gathering.
so excited for all going, well me need to work thus cant join but do post pictures hor kekeke

sylvia,
hope meredith is okie liao...

Krex
so nice leh Jonah sleep thru oredi.. Abt rocking just need to train slowly.
Prev my mum oso like to use the swing to put bb asleep, but nowadays she doesnt need that.. I put her down when she's sleepy, put my hand on her chest then for morning nap I try to put one song so she get used to it and can sleep.. so far ok, after little fidgeting here n there, she'll sleep or if she's too tired, I'll carry her for a while, rock a bit til she's calm then put her down slowly then she'll sleep..

paperdebris
welcome.. U'll find that this thread is very happening one :p
SAHM = Stay At Home Mom

YLN
so Kaer like the meat n veg uh ? nice to see Kaer eating well
mayb fish give the fishy smell so Kaer doesnt like it...

Mummygiraffe,
Haiz..of cors he's not ok lah..we gave each other cold shoulders these few days. i expected him to rem dat i was still angry wif mil over Sat's incident, yet he acted as if nuttin had happened. maybe becos datz his mom..easier for him to forgive n forget..

Lingling,
Oh, u are evaluating FM now?
My girl used to be on similac. She poo-ed once every 2-3 days.
The person fr Abbott is rite abt not pooing everyday, cos my PD oso says it's OK.
As long as their stool is soft, they are not dehydrated/constipated.
But we still decided to change her FM cos she was drinking v little at that time. Oso, i find dat similac is abit too sweet and there's alot of bubbles. Hb said it's becos the milk powder could not dissolve well in water.
So now we are giving her enfalac. It's not sweet at all, jus taste like how my milk used to taste when i was a kid..heehee..and there's not much bubbles.
Now it seems dat her appetite has improved a little and she poos everyday..vv smelly!

Valnsw,
Actually tis could be the oni time she's bald.
i oso did contemplate on shaving Char's hair, cos she has cradle cap and wif her bushy hair now, i can't see the cradle cap.
Another reason is i wanna spite mil (but decided not to cos not fair to innocent Char); Char wore a hair clippie on CNY. Mil KEPT raving abt how cute she looks. i mean c'mon loh, she's ur grand-dotter leh..u dun feel paiseh when u keep praising her in front of others meh? Buay tahan.

tim,

think i'll give it a miss... Me staying in Jurong West leh... So far from you...

Re: Nestle goodie pack

I encounterd the same page with sweetest moments despite sylvia sharing with me. So in the end I wrote to them... See their reply...

Dearest Samantha,

Thank you for your interest in Nestlé's range of infant cereals. We are happy to offer complimentary Nestlé infant cereals to parents who are a Nestlé Baby Club member.

If you are not a Nestlé Baby Club Member yet, we are pleased to extend an invitation to you to register yourself online at http://www.nestlebaby.com/sg/nestle_baby_club/.

*Kindly inform us once you have activated your membership online and we will arrange to post you some samples.

Krex,

I used to rock my ger to sleep previously esp during the initial months. Nowadays, I seldom do it unless its late, eg.past midnite or I'm super tired... Don't incultivate a habit with bb, cos they are super smart, they will always expect the same standard to be maintained...

Am curious on how many bb are still on total BM? Will you be introducing FM soon?

My ger still on BM only as demand < supply ...

HI Mummies,

I may not be able make it for gathering tomorrow. Cos my bb is down with fever. Guess he is teething again. As he already got two.

This morning he cry and cry so loud. Until my mum cant handle him and got to pass to me then stop. Lucky I am still clearing my maternity leave. Otherwise dun no how. Now fall asleep liao.

Somemore he refuse to drink water and milk. Should I give him so cereal later?? I am still thinking.

Any mummies come across?? How to handle your bb??

Ling/Smurfette,

I told him... he o_O at me for a while then he said...u finally decide to go. how come suddenly change mind??

So I explained that got same birthday bb and same situation like me loh....

He said..... after work, he will cme n pick me n bb up.
Hahahaha!!

Hi Samantha

My boy is still on TBM. I latch him on totally as I am a SAHM. So far.. supply is meeting his demand. I would like to breastfeed till maybe he is one then offer FM? Of course pending supply.

How about you?

I wrote to Mamy Poko liao. See what they reply.

HB check that problem diaper, but can't find the tear too.

Dunno where the crystals come from loh.......

Meredith is still sleeping. Think yesterday didn't sleep well, so I just let her sleep till she fully awake.

Samanthan,

Meredith is on TBM. Once she start semi solid food, will slow switch to FM.

Not sure if she will reject food. I once went to breastfeeding seminar, the gynae said that one of his 3 kids refused to take semi food &amp; FM and has to TBM till he's 1 yr ++. So really depends on what's the situation.

My bm also dropping with Amber starting on cereals and I give her Enfalac fm when bm is not enough.

Snow74: I gave Amber Nestle brown rice cereal which I got free samples from my friend but she did not like them. She spat out. But she is alright with Happy Bellies. I am not sure it works for all babies or not so please do not blame me if any babies reject Happy Bellies after purchasing. It's all trial and error when comes to baby food. Just that I remembered my son's case well as I had gone all the way to Tanglin Mall to buy the HT and earthbest cereals and it was a long walk from the mrt station to that mall with him so young back then. And in the end he did not want to take them so of course I very pei chek. Hee!!

Yuuri: For my son, I was cautious so I really started him on solids when he turned exactly 6 months old. Turned out he takes to it so slowly and he did not wanted the cereals so I just gave him milk, fruit and vegetable purees, baby biscuits. I gave him Yu Ren Sheng brown rice he also did not like and I threw away the whole can in the end! So introduce fine porridge and he is alright with it. By the time he was about 8 months old.

So for Amber, I decided to start early at 5 months plus in case she is like her brother. Turn out she is easy to feed! Duhz.....

I did not buy the multigrain cereal type as I thought I read advisable to start them on brown rice then oatmeal and multigrain is advisable to start say about 9 months.

Happy mummying! It's a different experience for different baby :)

SAHM gathering

yay im also so excited! first time im meeting you all =) ive been trying to keep active by joining classes and groups for mummies....and its really good fun to meet so many mummies.....day before yest.i went to botanical gardens for a walk...met so many mummies too...

baby pilates

wondering if i should join the ongoing class at Katong Mall...firstly i think my muscles wont be able to handle lifting baby up and down...secondly its really expensive...dunno why spending money on myself..i feel heartpain...say if spending money on baby's kindermusik lessons i dont feel so heartpain....hmmm

Good Morning Mommies!

Jen,
Dun think I can join in next Sun gathering coz hb is out of town this weekend so next Sun, sure must go IL’s place as ILs have not seen our 2 gals for 2 weeks liao…so sorry…

Mummygiraffe,
Same like you, we intended to just have 1 kid but as #1 grows up, she asked for a sibling so we thought why not so Mae is made and born =P I wun mind having more kids if I’m a SAHM material but I can’t coz dun have the patience for that…so being FTWM, not enuf time for 2 liao so how can have more??!!

Tree,
Hope your bb is ok after his fall.

Rata,
True, who wear lacy gloves nowadays??!!
Me oso looking fwd to weekend although hb wun be ard

Wendy,

My ger is on bottle from the start, seldom latch on de. Juz planning for how long I wanna pump as I'm working &amp; pumping is so tiring (excuses to stop pumping... hehe)

Sylvia,

Me aso considering to introduce FM but I'm hesitant cos I'm producing more than what my ger is drinking. Wasteful to turn to FM leh.

Samantha,
Me, my ger still on TBM. Think I'll try to continue till 1yr (like Wendy) cos she's allergic to cow's milk, cannot take the usual formula at all unless I use Pediasure or Isomil (not very nice). Gd that your ss>dd. Got a qn here.. my bb has been latching for 9-10x these few days. I've been latching to feed. Anyone who's bb is having more feeds? Is it growth spurt?

April,
Wow, your bb already has 2 teeth. That's fast.. mine been drooling for a long time but I don't see any tooth.

Got a call from Mead-Johnson asking how old is Meredith. They wanted to send samples, but when I told her is 5mth 1wk....

the lady said.... " oh... we can only give when she is 5mth 2wk"

eh... what's the diff between that 1 wk?

Like Mamil gold and Similac... long long time give liao........

Samantha

I know what you mean about expressing milk. In the first couple of months, I used to express too.. cos I had the CL around.. so I had time to express. Even then, I honestly found it a chore. It's a lot of discipline. So good on you for persevering!
I think if you have ample supply, should continue to express.. for the good of your baby

earnestmum
Oh dear I also start my boy on cereal zhun zhun 6mths...and he refuse to take. So your boy started with puree in the end? I dunno if I should go on and try puree or not...

Baby porridge
How do you cook baby porridge? Like step by step cos I don't even know how to cook rice!!!

wow 2 days i never log in and already lost in all the postings... sorry if i missed anything :p

bernice fell off the bed AGAIN. actually twice this week already. 1st time hb was outstation so he dono. 2nd time was yesterday, she was sleeping between us and somehow she manage to Uturn and crawl herself to the edge to do her bungee stunt. sigh .. unfortunately she forgot to harness herself to bump onto the floor. lucky hb nvr scold me.. but my little fearless one .. wahh wahh .. awhile then can laugh.. sigh .. put her back on the bed and she want to try her bungee again. then yesterday we went to carrefour and buy mattress on the on the floor in case she falls again.. need to find permanant solution

Re: teething
she is teething .. this morning she put my finger into her mouth then the bite and i felt the teeth coming out. then she smile .. like she made her point known.

re: porridge
today i made codfish porridge for her..

M2B,
Hey, we are in very similar situation. If I can afford not to work and be SAHM, then I may consider 3rd one. After such a big gap, I really miss my time with #1 and am enjoying my time with #2. Haha.. Even if I'd have 3 gers, I also wont mind. But as reality sets in, not possible lah.

Samantha,
You are pumping exclusively? How's your yield like? How many times do you pump while in the office? Your office got a room for you to do so? I can only pump almost just enough when I work. Sometimes, I wish I can reduce the freq and still yield as much but I dare not try le..
Ya, I've same sentiments as Wendy, continue to provide bm if you can. It's good for bb and it's free! ^^

sam,

it's so tough. when i try to lie jonah down, he will be kicking and flipping away. then after awhile cry. if i don't attend to it, he will cry real hard and sweat. in the end, still must carry him for awhile. it's a very fast method, but it will make him over dependent on me. *sigh*

yuuri,
umm this is how we make the porridge at home. (btw cantonese style.. haha)

baby porridge
1) wash the rice, and add in 1 small drop of olive oil and mix with the rice. the oil will not be able to mix with all the grains but it's ok.
2) boil water. alot more water than usual. when water is in boiling mode, put in the rice grains.
3) stir occasionally
4) scoop up a small bowl of porridge water for the fish
5) boil till rice grain opens up and becomes porridge mode.
(we usually cook until barely can see the grains.. all become nua nua already)

fish - ngor fish (or we call ma yau yu) or cod fish.
1) sliced, remove bones and skin ( I kept the skin for myself)
2) I used 1/4 cod fish
3) using a NEW chopping board, cut into really small cubes/slices and chop chop chop until fish becomes like a paste.
4) in a bowl, scoop up the mashed fish meat, make sure no bones and paste like, add in the porridge water from (4) of porridge. mix together until watery paste
5) bring porridge to bowl, add in the above(4) into porridge and quickly keep stiring to avoid lumping and burning.

Done !! Ready to eat.. hehehe.. cook 1 pot and can eat for lunch and dinner. and remaining u just add some soya sauce for yourself to eat. yummy. hahha

thanks Catherine!
I like cantonese porridge so I will try..but ermm..how much rice to cook? And how much water to add? So just cook in a pot? Don't need slow cooker?

Wah! How Bernice maneovre to fall out of the bed!? Lucky she's fine...tough girl!

yuuri,
ummm ... the container that u use to scoop rice to cook, slightly less than 1 cup or 1 cup also can. Then as for water.. estimated 300-500ml water. sorry cos i agar agar, but more water nvr cos u need the water to "open the grain". dont need slow cooker la. remember to boil the water then put in the rice grain, then it wont stick to the pot.

mummygiraffe,

Yes, me pumping exclusively. Previously, my ger still wanna latch on. But nowadays, she cannot cos mb flow too slow for her. She using avent teat #3 now. If she latch on, she will cry till mad. Actually, me pumping in boss room cos he stationed in another office. Hee. If he comes, I pump in a storeroom. No choice cos our office got camera &amp; I dislike the idea of pump in toliet. So unhygienic. My yield is bet 900ml to 1100ml, depending on my water intake &amp; if i pump 5 or 6 times

reirei,
Perhaps your MIL feels v proud of Char, that's why she is v happy.
But yes, if overdone, it can be quite irritating.

Re: porridge
I hv nil experience on this, wondering if I need to cook in those pots or need slow cooker?
I'm an idiot at cooking. I totally nvr cooked before in my life, I must confess...

Cat,
Gd that Bernice is ok and she actually manages to smile and all! sometimes our kids amaze us!

For the fish part, u mean u put it raw together w the porridge while it's being cooked/boiled? Or u alrdy cooked the fish, then mash it and put in the porridge? I totally lost at that part liao.

hisstory,
Haha, thks. Lucky ya she got girl features. But back then even w her hair on, stil hv people ask me if she's a boy :S

Catherine
That's a big help! Thanks, I will try it out. Soon.

Val
Same here lah, never cooked in my life!! Let's jia you and try Catherine's method
Chevelle so cute when botak!

Had such a trying teleconversation w MIL just now. Feel like vomit blood.

Think she still didn't get my point and I guess I also didn't want to spell out directly to her.

Actually yday I called ILs' place but PILs were out of town to play golf. End up is hb's auntie who picked up the call, she came over to jagar the house and maid.

So ok tdy I called, to tell MIL I prefer not to let hb's bro's wife carry bb as she is pregnant.

I told her I'm worried cos she is pregnant plus bb is quite strong may accidentally kick her.

MIL said oh it's ok, no need to worry, that she (hb's bro's wife) even carried her own daughter (hb's niece).

I repeated myself, and MIL still didn't get it. She still thinks it's ok to let her carry bb.

So I just left it at that.

Then she asked how bb is, so I just said ever since CNY eve, she was abit cranky, didn't want to sleep at night. Then she suggested alot of things, say shd not carry bb too much.

I knw it sounds like she's just giving advice, but duno why sounds so irritating on me.

Cos I told her bb does not like people who are not familiar w her, to carry her. MIL said, that's why must bring her out every morning to go walk in the park to see things.
I said, every morning, she's still asleep, so she won't be going out but we bring bb to the playgrd every evening and she likes it.

Actually, I just stopped short of telling MIL, bb will cry if the person whom she doesn't like, to carry her. Cos bb cried when certain people carried her. Basically she doesn't quite like hb's relatives. To quote an eg, during CNY eve, at ILs' place where all his relatives gathered, Chevelle cried and seems she didn't seem at ease with them. When my aunt fr my mum's side carried Chevelle, she was ok. And it was the first time my aunt carried her cos she missed her manyue.

Then I also disliked the thing abt MIL telling me to bring bb out to walk every morning. She thinks I v eng like that? Every morning?? She must be crazy! If I'm working, where got time in the morning to bring bb out to walk walk.
She only knws how to talk and say, but she doesn't realise it's the person doing it who has to do it, has to put in the effort.

Yuuri,
Think I need crash course in cooking liao.

Talking abt ILs, even though you don't rebut them, at least after u tell ur hubby off, he keeps quiet leh. For me, when I tell hubby off, he will argue w me. I double worse.

To all the SAHM:
Wana do a "survey".
1) How many children do you have?
2) Do you have a foreign domestic maid?
3) How do you cope? i.e. Any arrangement between u and hb to take turns? etc
Feel free to mention anything.

hashishan,
Before you had Misaki, were you taking care of Ryo by yourself? How was it like?

I'm gathering some feedback, cos I'm contemplating whether I shd just stay at home.

Was arguing w hb on some things and partly cos I said wana change maid. Then we came to this topic SAHM. I'm not sure if I'm ready to be one, it's like a 24/7 job and without maid I think can go bonkers. Then, being out of the workforce for a while, later want to go back will be abit tougher.

Then now with the economy so uncertain, hb is also worried. Alot of questions/issues on hand. Sigh...

val
He only don't argue back when he's in a good mood. If in bad mood, he will shoot back until I want to cry then will cold war few days. Sometimes I really wonder if its worth it...I think alot of mils really want to get back at dils for 'stealing' their son!

Given a choice I'd want to be a SAHM altho hb says I cannot make it!

yuuri,
just fed bernice the porridge. she finished 3/4 of it and thou she looked like she can eat more i didnt want to overfeed her so i stopped. hahaha. and cos 1st attempt at it so i made it more watery for her to eat. then slowly increase the consistency to thicker. later o post the pics for u.

btw when u cook the porridge use a taller/deeper pot.

mummies...
i've got a question:
my boy LOVED his cereals when i started him out more than a week ago. but now...he doesn't really want to eat them anymore. am wondering y there's a decrease in appetite. is it cos he's sick of them? shld i change flavour then???

catherine...
wow! the porridge recipe is really helpful!!! thanks!!! hee...i "bystander" also benefited. :D

got a qn tho...
shld use white rice? cos we, adults, are eating the healthy mixed rice (brown, white &amp; red). can i use that or shld i buy a pack of white rice for him?

Catherine
That's good! She's doing really well on solids! I must make Keston watch Bernice's feeding videos!! Hopefully can inspire him to eat also haha

timminbuzz,
same with bernice. last few days she didnt want her cereals. then i just let her be. and give her something else for a change eg jar food, mashed pumpkins, then a few days later back to the pumpkin. i think alot of issues, maybe sian of it, maybe teething.. i think nothing to worry about. you can try add some other stuff into her cereal for a diff taste.

Catherine,
Thanks for your recipe. I should try this out when my boy is much better.

Timminbuzz,
I might have to give your gathering a miss. Cos my bb's tooth fairy has cast some magic on him. Down with fever last nite.

timmin,
Chevelle initially v excited n happy to eat the cereal (guess it's something new).
Then subsequently, she didn't seem so interested cos it's the same old thing. Think it's normal, u just gently pry his mouth open to put the spoon in and let him take.

Of course, if he doesn't want, then don't force. Think u knw your bb's pattern best right?

Cos I normally give my bb the cereal about 1-1.5hrs after her norm milk feed. I noticed if I give the cereal immediately after the milk, she's too full to take cereal.

So it will be: Morning wake up drink milk, 1hr later, brown rice cereal. Play awhile, take her nap for the afternoon.
Wake up drink milk, bathe. Then take apple juice (usually alrdy mid-aftn abt 3-4pm). Play awhile. Sleep if she's tired.

Wake up again drink milk, 1 hr later take barley cereal.

The exact time not fixed, but the sequence is like that.

valnsw...

To all the SAHM:
Wana do a "survey".
1) How many children do you have? 1
2) Do you have a foreign domestic maid? no
3) How do you cope? i.e. Any arrangement between u and hb to take turns? etc
i'm alone @ home most of the time but i get a part-time cleaner to do most of the household chores (vacuum, mop, windows, toilet, ironing). she comes in once a week. my hb only takes care of our son when i work on sat mornings. but i'm home in 2hrs. i do the other household chores in between. i keep my sanity by going out! hahaha... and also by keeping my boy on an early bedtime, so i can have a proper dinner and time to chill and rot in front of the tv. hope this helps!