(2008/08) Aug 2008

sam
i also same same like you.. thought it was the same.. i had asked the price from a neighbourhood electronic shop t jurong west. it cost $85 for Mrsteng's blender

wendy,

i put jonah in a bath tub that sits on a bath stand in the toilet. he will sit down there and start splashing and playing with his toys while i shampoo and clean his body. he's ok with water flowing down his face most of the time. i let the shampoo flow into the bath tub. it's ok one, he'll still be clean after soaking in "dirty" shampoo. sometimes he even pees in his bath! if we go swimming, i'll just sit down with him on the floor and use shower head to bathe him.

DP Mummies
i am representing u all to meet DP to discuss the theme... so that's mean i must get some info on hands..

er.. what theme u interested? we dun mind suggestion from those never sign upfor DP.. it just for the fun

Wendy
there's this bb yogurt... n cos yogurt is much softer than the dairy like milk instead, it really help the absorption n digestion as well... so far her poo bcome lots n soft leh... dunno if there's specific concern that yogurt shouldnt b given on constipation

I bath my gal by putting her sitting on the tub now.. wash her hair then rinse off by pouring the water down but slowly cos bb havent learn how to manage the water n breathe.. n cos I used top to toe means her body oso use same mah so... :p

TIgg3r
u r indeed a good cook it seems.. ur family is lucky having u there

Alamak!! maybe i need to ask hubby to bring SL for the group photoshoot.. forget to request off day that day... (i try to change shift with colleague)

"SL, what is this?
ur ah ma like everyone's ah Pa (work and work; no saturday and no sunday, everyday is a working day); and
ur ah Pa like everyone's ah ma (weekend off and spend time with u on weekend, feed u and bath and also can bring u for ECA)..."

BUT like that also good.. cos SL prefer his dad to feed to feed him and i can rest.. (hahaha!!)

ruixuan,

$85 alot leh. Will check out if NTUC has anot? Am considering whether to buy cos I havent give my ah ger any puree food as yet. Haiz, so lazy me...

me was on urgent childcare leave yesterday. Falisha kena fever(39.2 deg) on Mon nite, so i went on leave to take care of her. Wanted to bring her to see Doc in the evening, her fever gone liao. Then this morning was ard 38deg smthing again. Duno what to do leh...i ask my maid to monitor, if anything too high call me. Wanna bring her to see PD this evening. Any mummies got good contacts in the east? I got the one at Tamp Blk 828 and Bedok one only. But the Bedok one dun have evening session. And there's one at Bedok Nth St 3, says they only TAKE 1 yr and above. Lame siah!!

linx,
wat yogurt u give ? cos so far i can only find yoplait for babies and it's too big qty for her to finish.

wendy
i have been putting bernice in the tub since she i think 3mths. i have the sponge which she can lie on it so avoid slipping. but since she is able to sit she will sit there while i bath her and she will play with her duckie. i shampoo soap etc all inside. i'm using the mustela all in one, soap free. so i think it's ok to just rinse with that water. usu once i put her in before i start with the soap i will use the water there to clean her face etc . she has no problem with water running down her face. since young i already do that to her.

it was more stressful when we were in japan cos i had to use the tub and it was so huge and sometimes very tall. so i brought my own anti slip mat for her to sit on, then fill with water and had hb to hold her while i bathed her. she's ok with that too. but just that i cant do it alone.

Wendy
I have exactly the same problem as you, hehe.
I still doing the football hold on my gal also..

Cat
Bernice wun cry when water running down her face.. so good. Think its time I better start "training" her to wash her hair the proper way.
Mustela one can wash hair as well?

SHIRLEY
Thanks for sharing. Wow.. your girl very 'quai'! To stand and wait for her body to be rinsed!
The prob is that our toilet bowl is not within the shower area so abit diff for baby to stand and hold. Hmm.. and there is nothing else for him to hold within the area. The shower tap but it'd be hot cos of the heater.

MISSYSZ
Hee.. your boy likes to exercise his legs! So how? You have to support him throughout the bath? Wah.. must be tiring!

RUIXUAN
Hee.. SL so cute lah! Your tub very big! Mine is quite small.. he definitely cannot stretch out like that! So gung ho.. dare to go underwater already!!

SYLVIA
So do you rinse off the shampoo and bath when done? If so.. how? If not.. it's ok to just wipe dry like that? Hee.. same.. my boy will also sometimes try to touch the floor..

KREX
But the shampoo and bath that I have says that bb should be rinsed off after bath leh. So how? Does yours indicate otherwise? That's the prob I face.. all the shampoo and bath that I have says that bb has to be rinsed off. So I dunno how.. unless I use showerhead to rinse him off but to support bb and handle the showerhead.. seems to be a bit of a challenge. Hmmm..

LING
Which brand yoghurt do you buy? Maybe I should try. I once bought the Yoplait one I think and I dare not give cos he was at that time having a bit of constipation.

Cat
I see.. maybe I should go and buy the Mustella one then. But the thing is that I already have some others and such a waste to not use. Or maybe I keep until the boy is older and can stand on his own. Easier to rinse off using showerhead then!

Medusa
Hee.. you too eh?! Act I'm still ok holding him in such a manner but thought he so big boy already.. should bathe like an adult liow.. haha.. no need to always carry!

Wendy
Ya exactly somemore my gal sometimes when you put her in that postion, she will want to get up automatically which makes washing hair a nitemare!

wendy

the bath soap I got for Meredith no need to rinse off. So just bath n use towel to dry her n bring out for clothings n diaper.

if u want to rinse off, then u hv to get another pail ready. so dat u can let bb stand leaning on u n u rinse.

Oh... she like to sit up, so hv to tell her mummy wants to wash hair. There's once she suddenly sit up when I wash her hair, then got abit into her eyes, so she make noise. after that, some times I tell her wash hair n put her head dwn, she will guai guai.

football hold all the way during bathing? Not heavy ar? I only football hold when washing hair during 1st 2.5mths. After that put in bathtub n wash liao. Too heavy liao.

bathing:
we will let yu ze sit in the tub to bathe. i use a small towel to wet it and squeeze the water out on top of his head. so water will flow from head to face. he is ok with it. babysitter say she use shower on him liao and he is ok.

hisstory,
heheh.... will post pic after ps ok.

ruixuan,
how come sl is in that position when bathing? not lying or sitting meh?

medusa,
no lei bernice doesnt cry with water run down her face. maybe cos since very young i already do that intentionally. hahaha. i will just tell her ok close ur eyes ahh .. then i pour. soemtimes i never say and just pour. hahaha. mustela can wash hair & body both.

Sylvia
No lah.. only football hold to wipe face and wash hair. After that.. straight into the tub he goes! What brand is your shampoo and bath?

Little twin Star , Krex

Got it! here's the pic of how I did today's porridge

Pork, Spinach, Huai san, Ikan bilis powder n pumpkin puree

I used only this amount of baby spinach, so not so bitter

2307101.jpg

Cooked porridge in slow cooker for 1 n half hour

2307102.jpg

Put in the spinach n ikan bilis powder

2307103.jpg

put pumpkin puree together and blend... Lazy to serve separately...hehehe

2307104.jpg

Blended porridge (Took out the Huai san, dun want to let them eat yet) Bubbles are due to the blending process, after awhile will be gone.
2307105.jpg

wendy

I using tollyjoy one nw. The previous one I used was pigoen. Next one in line is avent's babies no tear wash.

mrs teng
wah...looks so good! heheh...
oh...i saw LC the other day and they recommended to stop blending, so bb can exp more texture. i tried and E's ok with it leh. actually, i tink he prefers more texture compared to blended porridge.

Sylvia

Yeah! for the start, just the taste. Huai san seemed ok for my gals bcos they took the Rabbit brand Si Sen Brown Rice before. That one also got huai san inside.

Timmin

My PD also recommended textured porridge for my gals, but I dun see the hurry.. reason being my gals digestive system is very slow.. So if they take textured food, they'll take a longer time to digest, den they will miss one round of milk. My gals dun really take lots of milk, so cutting one down means a great lost of fluid for them. Cheril only takes 100ml of milk each time and only 4 or 5 times a day.. Clara is slightly better, she takes 140ml..

Blending them take a shorter time to digest, so they drink one extra round of milk...

Anyway, my gals dun like textured food, I believe eventually they will learn to take it lor... I always believe in letting the child progress at their own phase, hurrying them is like forcing them to do think they dun like..

mrs teng
oh ok. hmmm...if they'll miss 1 round of milk, then better to blend lah hor? milk is still important.

E asks for milk @ same time regardless of whether i blend or not. i guess maybe he's ready.
yah true...every bb is different. i've got a friend who's having difficulty transiting her bb to more textured food cos she's already 12mths. u got any ideas???

Timmin
Why the change, may I ask?

Textured porridge.. is this regardless of whether bbs have teeth yet? Cos my D is a member of the toothless club.

textured porridge
bernice prefers textured ones too. but her milk intake also quite little. morning after shower once and now after lunch she can stretch all the way to dinner time and only take milk to sleep at 8pm.

wendy,

i change coz trying out. like adult's also chg for new experience.

I think Ling's bb is toothless but love to chew grape?

oh mummies...where is the Hate-MIL club liao?? I wanna join!! Sometimes i really love-hate my MIL..sigh..my ger has not been taking solids for a week plus liao...last week she was feverish so MIL never give porridge says scared her heaty..but up until she still haven't give...she says my gal now very very sticky she can't leave her how to cook porridge...aiyo...headache..i think i need to prepare the porridge and send together with my ger in the morning before i go to work liao...

wendy
i find the avent more bubbly than mustela or california baby. my E has eczema, so i prefer sth more moisturising.

E also member of toothless club! haha... increasing texture doesn't mean chunky. just not totally smooth, but they won't choke. it's to try to introduce different textured foods and encourage them to learn chewing. it's to transit them to "normal" food as they grow older. E will kinda "chew" when i give him more texture. very funny!

cat
i usually give milk feed before solids. E takes 4 milk feeds now: 7am, 11am, 3pm and 7pm.

Due to this mummy, Meredith gets to try watery/ textured or chewy type.

Sometimes.. I think I din steam long enough, so even when i mash also not smooth.

Only now when I saw Tigg3r's pumpkin puree, then I see so smooth leh. Really smooth puree leh.

:p mine shld be textured n lumpy pah.......

sylvia
i also don't blend anymore. i just mash. mash sure not smooth one, definitely more textured than blending. if meredith ok with it, then great! maybe she likes texture too?

timmin,

she sometimes will give me the ' want to vomit' action and then push out those small pieces that she finds too big. if nt, like apple, she will chew and chew.

Think I never really intro smooth puree to her pah. :p

even apple.. i blend is for big pieces to small pieces only leh. hardly till puree type.

think this mummy still very blur leh. Hahaha!!

Sylvia,
jerold is taking huan san also... no problem. but he takes in powder form together with si sen.

Huichin,
hope Falisha gets well soon. I went to kinder last week. saw Dr Cheng. you can call to make appt first: 64467100

wendy
u can try california baby too. it seems it's quite gd for eczema bbs. it's just that i cheapo. i got tangs vouchers, so i wanna use vouchers to buy. haha...so get mustela lor. but it's got gd reviews too.

Wendy/ Timminbuzz
My gal also bo geh and have ezema. I have been using esemtem since birth. However I tried this moisturiser from Baby Gaia for her after bath everyday and her condition improved.. No more dry skin.

Mrs teng
Do you mind explaining what huai san is?

medusa
i also use moisturiser after bath since birth. cos he went under the photolight for jaundice and his skin was peeling. have been using mustela bb body moisturiser. so far so good!

mine also hv mild eczema. so unless serious, if nt dun want to use cream by PD. So I using avent liquid talc n california aloe vera cream.

hello mummies..

sorry din reply to ur sms..or call..cos I am in sydney ah...aiyo...everynite finish studying at 12 wakes up at 6.15...I realli konk out liao..

i prefer sun for shoot lah...

Timmin

Why not ask you friend to try giving textured porridge together when they take dinner.. that may help to encourage baby to take.
Another option, semi-textured.. ie , ask your friend to blend 3/4 of the porridge, den the remainder 1/4 textured (but must be very fine) . Den gradually over the days, do half/half den fully textured.
My porridge occasionally do have a few lumps of rice that are not fully blend, bcos I use handheld mah! They are still okay when there is one or two.. I intend to give them slightly textured ones when they're more willing to drink more milk..

Medusa

Re: Huai Shan

Also known as Chinese Yam. Some people call it Shan yao. It is a neutral herb. Influences the kidney,lung and spleen channels. Strengthens and improves digestion, supports the respiratory process, and tonifies and stabilises the kidneys. Commonly used to treat diarrhoea, wheezing, whole body weakness, spontaneous ejaculation (ah ahumm. for man) and frequent urination - (From Eu Yan San anthology of chinese Herbs and Medicines)

Here is pic of the fresh n dried Huai Shan.. This morning I used the fresh one

2308002.jpg

This is tonite's dinner

Threadfin, ikan bilis powder, Red potato and carrot porridge (pretty fine enuf to eat like that but need to mash it manually further if you like it that way)

2308003.jpg

This is red potato, very much like apple.. (skin red, but inside just like normal potato)

2308004.jpg

was thinking how come the fotos Mrs Teng posted could be so big. i'm trying the shrink foto webstie... trying to post now...
2308038.jpg