(2008/07) July 2008

Rayna,
welcome me also cannot take my hubby perfume..he just bought a new perfume when he apply i vomit and dun like the smell...
i like to drink lemon tea..

rachel,
wow u and me same age...i wanted to plan for a bb in pig year but cannot get only can get one in rat year...this is my 1st child my EDD change to 2 july our EDD diff 1 day...

Qing,
ya by now i think u can see baby moving in yr tummy..like that day i saw hand and leg moving up and down...so hope u can talk to yr parent to keep the bb... all the best to u ..pls update us ok..

hahaha i also shy to ask ..... think my nipple got some changes too..like hehehe... ps to say leh...

me also find plain water taste weird, and it makes me wanna to vomit, so have not been drinking enough water everyday now, i think i'm getting dehydrated soon. Someone recommends to drink lemon water izzit? But will lemon upset our stomach, and makes the bloated stomach even worse?

for those mummies who have MS but still manage to gain weight.. vomit, no appetite, how do you manage to do that? me losing weight

SY, chloegal,
thanks for info, maybe its due to the phobia I got from my previous gynae that i have to make myself eat crazily at the last stage (luckily got no GD), that's why i'm very concerned abt whether gynae will measure baby length & weight at every visit.

did my OSCAR test today, the scanning part was ok. now waiting for the blood test result. Spent $388... duh~!

Qing,
take care, if feel unwell, pls see your gynae. also, if you want to keep, stay firm.

qing
if u feel any discomfort after the fall, pls see gynae. it's also for your own sake.

your mum is still concerned abt u. whatever your decision is, they will ultimately put your needs first. dun think too much

update us...

btw i also lost weight too cos my appetite was bad.

chloegal
i m going for my scan on the 27th. one day after u!

ling
dun be shy lah. we all have been thru this stage of asking all these questions. your body will go thru changes to prepare for bb. nipples may be more sensitive etc.

sonic
hee, if u choose Dr Han, no need to worry abt bb. he very reasurring one. that day my fren was worried abt her bb being small. her gynae kept telling her too small at 2.6kg but when Dr Han estimate mine to be at 2.6kg, he kept telling me it's ok and reassure me.

ribena
for those taking ribena drink, i think maybe u should limit it lor. i used to take it for one period during my 1st pregnancy, and was found to have high sugar level. so immediately i stop drinking it and my sugar level was back to normal.

carrying elder child/bb
would like to share my experience today. i carried my son (12months and 9.4kg) quite a fair bit y'day coz he was sick and cranky. refuse his dad & maid. but this morning i bleed! gosh, i was really scared. went to see Dr and he said there was blood bleeding outside the sac. was ordered complete bed rest and no carrying of my son. so gals, try to avoid carry ur elder child if you can. didnt know it is that easier to bleed. gosh.

mommies
may i know how do u gals swaddle your bb. i used to swaddle my boy with his hands by the side but he really hate it. read that we should put their hands across their chest. is that true?

me too ... now i hate the smell of my softener... thot wat happen....

rayna,

me used to like to drink plain water too but nowadays felt like vomitin when drinking it ... then my gynae asked me to drink ribena, but dun make it too sweet.. me made the drink quite light so the suger content wont b high ....

qing,

the cramping part is okie de ... juz dun haf any bleeding then its quite safe ... me haf v bad cramping too ... but nowadays lesser n lesser le ....

SY & chloegal,
can let me know if it's painful to do the NT test after you have gone thru it. I'm doing mine on 19th Jan. Very scared of needles. then still need to draw blood. wonder the ultrasound scan will be painful or not.

ling,

how many weeks are you?
so fast can see movement?

i think i am in my 10th week.

i had a terrible night, i finally decide to keep the baby but i am still very lost. i made everyone so worried about me.
i have no idea how it would be after marriage and give birth. how to manage a family.
my father throw us with all these question that i don't know how to answer and in turn he is super worried about my decision to keep.
why i be able to handle the stress?

all i know is 'i don't know'
and i really piss everyone off yesterday.

i am just unable to be firm,
after what ppl say, i changed my mind.
i change and change but just can't be firm on one answer.

chloe
my scan is at TPS. how come yours is at breast centre?

rayna
it's not painful one. this is just a scan. the ultrasound is not painful.

Karen P
my gynae also told me not to carry my boy too often. my boy is coming to 2 years and 12 kg. but it's more cos he's very active now and he may end up kicking me.

u better take care and rest more.

Can i ask y don't wear underwired bras? you mean don't wear underwired bras from now on or later part of the pregnancy?

For those MTBs who does the OSCAR/NT Test, are you all ready to terminate the pregnancy if the results for abnormalities is positive? my dr says for my age, the possibility is low. but hb worry cos i did an x-ray before i knew i was pregnant. though dr says it shouldn't affect. but he's worried. for me, mouth says will terminate if results for abnormalities is positive. but not sure how i'll react if it's true. very scared lei.

Rayna,
I also did a x-ray before i knew i was preggy during my 1st pregnancy, everything was ok. if u r worried, tell your gynae.

hi qing,

hmmm its good that u decided to keep the bb.... juz take things naturally.. dun think too much ....

rayna,

me doing the test next mth too ... me never thot of soo many things ... juz wanna take the test ...

JMON-Lynn,

have already told my gynae. he had said not to worry. cos he says the radiation on x-ray nowadays are very mild.and if it were to affect, i would have miscarriage already. since it's growing, most likely it will be fine. but you know lah, sometimes it's just worry. that's y decided to go for the test.

Qing,

Before you made further descision to keep the baby or not it better to have ur BF support coz he will be the one be with you through out ur whole pregency n ur baby growth.

My pregancy was also not planned at all even though we intend to have it 3 years later probably it just fate that the baby is fated to be ur child just be prepared and accept it coz not every woman who wan to have kid can have it easily. (Sorry i might sound nasty)

1 of my GF have been trying for the past 3 years till today no luck they have been wanting kids for so long.

sorry for being so long winded

rayna,
aiyo, dun worry bt it now. most prob everything will turn out alrite. as 4 terminating pregy, i really can advise. me n hubby r pro life n agnst abortion but we've nv been thru having an abnormal bb b4. but anyway, it's a v v low chance tt there's b any abnormalities lah.

as 4 underwired bra. i dunno if early stage can wear but i play safe lor. anyway, i've been wearing non wired onese since giving birth cos i was breastfeeding. so used 2 it liao. wired bras tend to b too tight n wld exert a pressure on ur breast which makes e area v susceptible to blocked ducts after u gif birth, n trust me, blocked ducst r v v painful. in my opinion (n one o my mum frens), e engorgement pain n pain fr blocked ducts is worse than contractions...
i had engorgement fever 5 times oso.

karen,
aiyo. bleed so easily? rest well hor. ask ur maid to tend to darren until u pass ur 1st tri lah. i've oso stopped carrying mandy tt much cos i sprained my back e other time i carried her... n it ached 4 a few days...

qing,
*pat pat* since u've decided, keep to it. no matter wat decision u make, u'll haf reservations. tell u sthg, when i decided to get married, there was oso tension in e family, big quarrels w my hubby, fallouts w my family... n we din even haf any prior prob. it's just tt these kinda big life decisions usu bring conflicts... it's normal. now everything's ok liao, i can say my bb played a big part. it brought everybody together...

n b4 i got married n had a bb, we were oso unsure o a lot o tings. just learn on e way lor. all e best!

rayna
x ray shd be ok cos the dosage is low. dun worry too much abt it.

u shd not wear underwired bras when u know u r pregnant esp if u intend to breastfeed. it may clog the milk ducts.

actually me and hb discuss before. if really got abnormality, we will terminate.

glitter
u shd take the NT scan btwn week 11-14.

qing
good that u have decided to keep the bb. dun think too much abt the questions that your parents are asking. if we have to think so much abt all these things, nothing gets done right? questions like how are u going to manage after u give birth etc, somehow u will manage. it may seem difficult now but trust us. somehow u will manage. like what sally says, even second time mums like us will never be prepared. try to relax yourself, feel happy (this will affect bb too) and u will have a happy bb too.

since u have decided, focus on what needs to be done now.

i got pregnant right after i got married. me and my hb were not prepared and neither were our families. like kimi, when we decided to get married, it wasn't easily accepted cos we only dated for a short while. but now everything still work out. u may not see how things will work out now but eventually they will work out somehow.

if u have any questions or doubts or need help, feel free to ask. we will all try our best to advise/help.

Qing
After you have make the decision focus on what you need to do dun xin da xin xiao if not you will never get things done. Your parent is worry becos they can feel that you are not firm with your ans. You have to be firm now and planned what you need to do. Maybe now you just focus on your health so that the mummy and bb will be healthy. Try to stay happy caused some ppl say bb can feel mummy's worry and if the mummy is always frowning next time the bb will always be frowing too. Try to book an appt to see your gynae soon and maybe after seeing your bb's movement you will be more determine to keep the bb.

SY
The doctor doing the scan for me is Dr Kenneth Kwek. I see him at the Breast Center on the 17dec too. Maybe now they have two doctors to do the scan, one at TPS and the other one at Breast Centre thats why now the wating time have shorten by alot.

glitter
If i am not wrong by 11-13wks

Qing,
pls try to stay firm on your decision... it's not easy to bring a kid up, be it you or me or other pple. but at least u r giving the child a chance to see the world.

I was at Tampines Mall did my pedicure y'day and the pedicurist was a mother of 3 and she is only 26yr old. eldest boy is 8 and youngest boy is 4.

both herself and her hb are not earning high income but they still can manage their finance and they are happy lor. for kids, she would sacrifice her shopping/personal time for them. she told me if financially is ok, she would want to have 1-2 more kids.

there are pple who can make it. if you make up your mind, i think you also can make it.

Hi Qing,
Many pple also cant answer your father's questions. Startg a family is a new phase of life, it has lots of uncertainties. We just handle 1 thg at a time. If you look back, you will laugh at yourself for the worries you had.

gals

sometimes the NT scan or triple test results may be positive. However these tests are not 100% correct. So the next step is to go for Amniocentesis test. However this test is invasive so dr has to be very very careful.

Hope our test results are good !!

SY
Dr Han will not be doing NT scan. They have a group of doctors doing it. If i am not wrong is from the High risk pregnancy dept.

lbt
If the scan and blood test show good result the doctor will not recommend to go for amoiocentesis test as there is a risk of miscarriage.

chloegal

of cos !

but usually we only do one test, cos my gynae says the scan and blood test results accuracy are almost the same.

hi all mummies..
wow.. this thread is going real fast..

hi manuka..
ya.. i agree with u dat if i keep the bb i might or might not be able to cope..moreover still in poly dat time.. haiz.. but now dat i tink back of cos i will feel regret towards my unborn.. keke..

hi ling..
my edd supposed to be 27/06/08 but after scan become 01/07/08 lor.. my 1st born oso overdue.. kee.. by dat time we will be waiting for each other to pop.. so fun.. cant wait

hi qing..
glad dat u hav make a wise decision
i gave birth to my gal last year when i m 23 lor.. i 4got to tell u.. when i tell my parents i preggie b4 marriage they were so angry feel so no face.. then i lose the bb they look so sad.. when i finally gave birth to my gal.. they were so happy.. & doted on her so much.. so don worry too much on ur parents reaction too much.. when they set their eyes on ur bb.. i believe their heart will melt.. even if u cant cope. i m not surprised dat ur parents will be more than happy to offer to help.. like mine. haha.. now my daughter is their pearl on palm ley.. 1 day no c oso cannot.. & i really agree wif all the mummies here
wat a great forum we have..

hi karenp..
pls take care.. i oso carry my 16m (12kg) a lot. haha.. worse than u.. no choice cos she very sticky.. i oso got spotting last sun. but later i going check up.. hope everyting is ok

wow this thread is going real fast........pheeew all are archieved! i oso lost track on who says wut liao. have been busy but lazy lately. MS got a little better with the help of sour plum. I have been popping sour plum every minute! i even put it into the plain water and it taste really really good! those with MS may want to try it yum yum........

i just want to wish all the mummies a smooth pregnancy & delivery. hope that our MS will be over soon and we can all enjoy our 2nd tri!

btw, i do not intend to take the oscar/triple/NT scan and will go for FA scan on wk 20. i'm in wk 7 now and so far have done only 1 scan on wk 5 to make sure that bb is in the womb. plan to go for one more scan next wk to listen to bb's heartbeat.

Lbt is right, NT scan is 90% accurate only. Bal 10% could make lot of difference. Worries... I'm in same situation like rayna, exposed to x-rays too. Mine is whole body scan, the dosage is higher than chest x-rays.

Rayna, what did your gynae tell you when you consult him/her on the x-rays exposure? The worst scenario is miscarriage rite?

JMON, what type of x-rays have u done?

Chloegal, my FTS appnt is at TPS too, so definitely not Dr Kenneth Kwek lor, disappointed. Heard he's very good. I tried to ask nurse to assign him to me, but nurse said we cannot request for such.

Shay, me wanna try the sour plum!! Where can I get it?

Hi Sy, Kimi
Thanks for the advise. Then I must buy new bra cos all my bra are with underwire.

Hi Sonic,
Try to take more fruits with juice like grapes or oranges. natural sweet is still ok compared to artifical sweetness.

Can I ask a qns, how to you manage this post, cos everytime I went in, I got lost and need some time to find the post which I haven't read and continue from there....

hi, my EDD is on Mid-Aug08 and I guess I will give birth in Jul08 as my #1 was born 21 days before due date. Can I join here too as I am from Aug08 MTB

regards the bra issue,
i am always wearing wired bra. i am wearing a C bra and i really need the support which i think bra with no wiring is so insecure.

and i have decide to firm on what i have decided earlier and pray that i will not be flicker minder anymore. it is killing everyone close to me, including myself.
so far, beside my family and his, you guys are my confidant. and i do have a colleague whom support me thru out, she is the only one i let my secret out to. i feel i really need someone to understand my situation and advise me face to face. someone beside my family and his. You guys played a big part by advising me what you all have been thru.
i am really grateful.

sonic
When is your NT scan? Heard that the doctors goes to the rwo clinic depending on their schedule so yours might be Dr Kenneth too. Yap he is really very nice and he explained in detail. Always asking if i understand what he say. He has a part in saving my boy life during my first pregnancy. So have you chosen Dr Han as your gynae?

sonic,

the x-ray i did was for pre-employment checkup.

by the way, it was Dr Kenneth Kwek did the OSCAR test for me yesterday at TPS. i see my gynae at TPS and i did not request for Dr Kwek to do the OSCAR test for my 2 pregnancy. my gynae just help me to book appt under him.

Sonic,

Too bad i got the nice sour plum from Malacca last wk end and i only bought 1 pkt huh......it's finishing now and my colleague helped me to get something similar from Umeya but i find it not as nice. u can try may be u'll like it.....

Avocado,

Welcome on board.....me too ETD early aug but i think i will deliver sometime end jul cos my #1 early by ard 1 wk+ from the 1st EDD. so decided to join this thread.

Shay,

Is it common to deliver before the EDD. Cos from website, my EDD is 5th July.

JMON,

What is OSCAR scan and the NT scan? How is the week calculated? From last period, rite, then I should be week 12. Can I hear the baby heartbeat or know the sex of the baby?

Qing, it's good to hear that you've made up your mind. Believe yourself and just go for it!

Chloegal, my NT scan is on 4th Jan at TPS, I'll be 12-13wk by then. In fact, they are trying to book me an earlier slot, but all doctors are fully booked for full 4 weeks. This slot was given to me after many calls. The nurse said I can't miss this, otherwise no NT scan for me.

Hmn.. I haven't decide between Dr Benjamin Tham and Dr Han. Heard both of them are equally good. Think depends who has lesser patients to attend to. I'm thinking what if you, SF, and the others in this thread who choose Dr Han go labour same day, he will be very very busy running around.. Haha!

Shay, oh I thought you were mentioning those sour plum preserved in water type, so u can mix it with plain water. I think I saw something like that in NTUC.. Will look out for it.

Jmon, oh so it's chest x-ray then. Chest x-ray has the least radiation dosage.

rain,
i dont really know the diff between OSCAR and NT scan leh. i think the week is calculated from the last menses lor.

I think heartbeat can be heard lah. i m not too sure. for the gender, i tot only 4th or 5th then will know one.
Qing,
i m now 12 weeks preggy. bb now is 5.5cm

Karen P
Please rest well n take care. I think that was wat happened to me when I went for my 6wk scan. Gynea found liquid outside my sac and asked me not to carry heavy things n to carry my son on my side. Luckily I didn't have any spotting or bleeding was on Duphaston for 2 weeks. Lucky 8wk scan everything was okie already n heartbeat detected the liquid also lessen till not a concern already.
Think U strained urself when u carried ur son. Cos I itchy hand lift my mattress to put the bed rail. Gynea actually told me that time the sac actually tore abit off from my womb hence the liquid. So u better rest n be guai guai already.
btw think our darlings will keep sticking to us more cos we preggy. Wat I do is I sling my 14mth 11kg son at my hips. Lucky I'm cleared already cos I sahm ma no 1 to help with my son.
I dun swaddle my son once we r home so dunno. As for ribena I take it very diluted jus for taste only cos can't take plain water ma.

Hope u get well real soon.

Kimi
Really agree with u dun enjoy our food now....sigh
I dun even enjoy ice cream so sad that day I threw away my half finis icecream cos cannot tahan eating it anymore.

Qing
Since U say u have decided then dun think about it anymore. It affects ur health n baby too. I like to think I was never angry when I was pregnant with my elder son so when he was born he was not a very fussy baby quite easy to care for n smiley.
U can never please everybody n Chuan Dao Qiao Tou Zi Ran Zhi. IF they keep asking u how u gonna manage jus tell them u will learn n ask them to help u learn. We all had to learn when our babies came. Nobody was born with the knowledge to take care of a baby. As long as u are willing to take the effort to learn nothing is impossible okie.
U will be asking the same qns even if u were 25 or 30. U need to have a family before u can learn to manage right so dun worry about tat now make ur bf help u together marriage n baby is 2 person's things dun handle them alone esp now ur preggy.
Take good care n dun stress n think so much okie.

Rayna
Dun worry so much since doc say the xray won't affect. I actually did xray when I was jus pregnant with my son too. Changed job so went for checkup n Xray. Only realised I was preggy 2 weeks into the new job. My son was born very healthy too like jmon.

Sally
U so funny still can tolerate contraction so long. My waterbag broke when I cough at my 35wk 6d I still tot I leak urine....hahahhaha

sonic,

the sour plum i'm referring to its the dried type.

Rain,

Ya, think 90% will deliver b4 the EDD that's y i decided to join jul thread

re-wired bra

i wear my wired bra till birth and thru my bf for 9 mths cos i find nursing bra not very secure and due to it's material it's kinda soft and make ur breast look saggy. so far so good but had 2 times block ducts (not sure if it's due to the wired bra).

as for wired bra

those that we used to wear could be too hard on our growing breast. try brands like OIO, they sell wired maternity bras. the wire is softer and i feel very comfortable wearing it throughout my pregnancy and breastfeeding days. But it's not cheap, cost me abt $60+ for one. But i like it cos it provides support and it is a nursing bra as well.

Sonic,

yes, the gynae said that worst is miscarriage.
I think we shld all not worry too much. it's not good for the bb. =)

any1 starting to have backache? i seem to have 1.it's like when menses is coming that kind of backache.

sighz, everyday onli feel like lying down and sleep onli. feel so lazy.

Sy / ching,

I had quite bad MS but unlike u guys I gained weight! I eat & eat non-stop to curb MS and so far I have not vommitted once. I tried very hard to control whenever i feel like vomitting cos i hate to merlion. some ppl said u'll feel better after merlion but i reckon that's just for a while and the nausea will come back very soon. so i might as well control and may be that's the reason y i keep putting on weight! i dunno how much i've put on but i know i have balloned quite a fair bit. guess wut.....i gained 23kg for my 1st pregnancy!! scary ya?? but luckily managed to loose all within 5 mths. anyone having MS + weight gain like me??

rayna,

i dun have backache only MS. do u have ms? just like u i just feel like lying down and sleep the whole day.....brain not working at all!

Shay,

i have MS. Sometimes it's good on one day, sometimes it's not. i find that asking my hb to talk to the child helps. so now every nite i force hb to talk to the child. he say i siao, i told him, rather u treat me as siao then i suffer for the next day and can't work.

rayna

hey u r fast to have backache now !! u will experience more of it when ur tummy gets bigger !

Shay

though i do not vomit but I feel nauseous and my appetite is good leh... hai gained wt oredi ...

i think it's fast too. not sure if it's because i always have a weak back. i didn't gain wt yet. but have been eating only not as much as last time.