(2008/07) July 2008

i also delivered at KKH (TPS) for both and i find their charges not cheap leh.. but so far, i am very pleased with their service, esp their midwives and nurses, althou people say KK service no good. :p
For first one, my labour was 25hrs, plus epidural and assisted, so total cash payout for delivery itself is $3k, plus gynea visit and those test, about $2k, so total also abt $5k cash...

second one cheaper, cos shorter labour (4hrs) and i 'check out' early.. less than 24hrs...
so paid abt $2k cash only...

yar, the DS test very ex hor...

this time, maybe i take the scan first, if scan is low risk, maybe i dun take the blood test, can save $100+.. kekeke

talking abt the bb bonus ... mine is 1st bb so me getting $3k rite ??? think they will give it to us in 4 instalement ... isit all cash basis?? meaning can use it to buy bb stuff etc ... heard that another way is we can dun use the $$ then open an a/c at posb then dun know how many yrs later govt will paid $1=$1 rite ??? but its like for 2-4th child ... 1st one dun haf rite ???

Rain,
my gynae is a lady. her name is K.T. Tan. recommended by my sis in law. she's the head of dept, so her charge is ex.

manuka,
ya lor, the test very ex. i dont intend to do cos i have done for the 1st one. but hb kiasu said must do this time wor.

piggy,
ya 1st baby ONLY have $3k and comes in 4 instalments ie after the bb born, 6mth old, 1 yr old then 18 mth old, each time $750.

just fill up form and indicate which bank a/c you want MCYS to credit the money to. i use it for many purpose for eg vaccination. it can be used for buying other things.

for 2nd baby, the baby will get $3k and $1 to $1 savings from MCYS up to the max on $12k i.e. we save $6k and MCYS will deposit another $6k into the designated a/c. the usage of $12k is only for educational purposes or medical. 1st child can also use it.

but not at one short to save to $6k for the 2nd kid lah, Govt set a time frame for parents of up to the 2nd child is 6 yr old.

shay,
wow i same doctor with u stay at same area with u too...hahaha then we shall meet up go tampines mall walk walk ok? and hor i stay 700++ u leh?

piggy,

ya u r right, for the 1st child u'll only get 3K cash (4x $750) and there's no co-saving bonus. as for 2nd child, u'll get the co-savings bonus of max $6K (1 to 1). For 3rd & 4th child, co-saving bonus up to $12K......quite a good deal ya? I really wanted 3 kids but i hate to endure the morning sickness so may be will stop at 2

how many do u plan to have??

ling,

mine is at St 21 blk 267. ya can meet up for shop shop after 1st tri. but i find tampines mall boring la nothing much to shop especially on maternity - only have 010 maternity, mothercare (not very big scale) and the new kiddy palace (at century sq). anyway, dun plan to get a lot of maternity clothes but still want to shop shop to see look see look hehe.....

manuka
i also find KKH not cheap actually. but then service not bad.

qing
since both of u r working, financially things will work out. just spend within your means. it is true that kids like to play with non toys. my boy has so much stuff but he likes playing with all the non toys. dunno why i buy so much stuff too!

ling
u r very brave to share your story. good that now u and your hb finally have a bb after trying for so long.

shay
my fren was telling me 6K + 6k doesn't last very long. once they start to go to sch, maybe last only 2 years...hopefully govt can give more next time..haha

dor dor,

I dun have spring maternity dis card but have perfect mum discount card 15%. in fact perfect mum clothes i find it quite gd also coz i belong to the big size so some clothes they help me tailor made but only charge me at the normal retail/selling price after u give birth they also can alter to the size after u slim down ...

JMON

ya first one only got the $3K baby bonus lor. no tax rebate.

Qing

yes u just need to buy some simple toys from those neighbourhood shops. or borrow books from library .... sometimes I even let my gal plays with spoon, cup, or empty tissue box !! she loves it ..

lynn/shay,

thanks for ur explaination ... me juz wanna make sure is in the form of $$$ (good good, can use on bb medical/other things).. cos me dun wan blur blur dun know can have the $1=$1 thing then i go n use up all the $3k.... cos i see from the web the $1=$1 thing for 2nd child onwards ... then me wanna make sure, cos all along i thot we onli can take $1500 then another $1500 muz save in the bank for bb for wat ... "sotong" ...

shay,
act me wan "one nation" = one child ... but think hubby wan 2 leh .... me scare of the nausea feeling leh

jmon

very tired looking after them right ? and ur boy only 8 mths right ? mine is crawling everywhere ...

piggy
it's ok, u will forget after a while..
then u will ahve 2nd one.

Jmon,
your boy is just learning to crawl? the very active stage.

dun know leh ... the feeling now v terrible ... today the whole day in office i think me onli go toilet/lunch/play with internet ... my brain not working too .... the nausea feeling realli bad today ....

lbt,
ya esp mine very active. cannot sit still, twist here and there like 'worm'.

then me now 'maidless', the soonest is early Jan then i wil get my maid. will train her to take care of ah boy, if not i die ah.

mine one quite slow, still dont know how to crawl. but he keeps wanting pple to carry him. he's now >10kg, very taxing... but lucky thing is tat he can sleep thru the nite, phew.

piggy,
not every pregnancy is the same. my sil used to have very bad MS all the way till she was 4.5mth preggy. need to be bed rest and cannot wake up. cant even eat or drink. hospitalised twice.

but now she was abt 5mth preggy with #2, so far so good. better than the 1st time

JMON

slowly lah .. once they starts crawling they wont stop ! my gal also .. not like gal leh .. everyone says she is very active ... but I rather have an active bb than a quiet one right ?

piggy

fri liao .. relax a bit !! me also .. holiday mood liao

now juz hope faster 5pm then gg to pack n home sweet home .... think will juz lay on the sofa the moment i reach home ....

lbt,
i cannot imagine the time when they know how to walk... we will be chasing after them like mad woman Hahaha....

shay,
century sq got one more spring i think i bought a jean from there $75+ they got sell top like 2 for dun kn how much maybe we can share if u like the top .. haha that day walk pass saw one top i like it very much thinking to go back buy.. then the jean i bought liao also havent wear hahaha..

Sy,
haha not i brave is i hope qing dun follow my foot step cos the feeling not very good.. really wan to do some thing to make up for bb but nothing i can do...

Piggy,
my hubby said he wan 3
i tell him now this one havent come out dun said too fast cos in singapore not cheap to hv a kid... some more i also scare of the nausea feeling i cannot take it liao but heng now i 11week+ so starting to be better liao..hahaha i now already scare when i think of going give birth in another few mth.. that y i tell shay i wan to go c-sec and the one mth confinement some more my friend said come that one for one mth... ai ya so scary leh... dun kn i can take it anot...i not like shay so brave dun kn how she do it...

piggy,

same here! i totally have no mood to work with the morning sickness. so have not been working much lately. keep surfing the net, go for tea break, etc...... my brain just can't work with the nauseous feeling.

like sy said, now u complain and say wanna stop at 1 but later when u see ur bb grows, u'll start thinking of having #2 haha..... we women have the amazing power to forget the pain we go thru for our pregnancy & delivery...wonderful ya??

sy,

ya i agree with u 6K will not last long but at least help a bit la better than nothing. the 6K can't even last thru their primary education if u enrol them in the childcare at early age....think around 200~300/mth for full day care.

piggy
Ya. KK has all the facilities in case of emergency. I think service wise and cost wise quite similar to the rest. Did consider TMC or MT. A but due to facilities, eventually choose KK lor.

KMON
Ex but at least you are assure of the qualification, so should be $$ worth spend. I'm still searching around. I think the tax rebate and all the good stuff only if mother is working rite? Cos always reading SAHM complaining they missed out the benefits.

So xian, 1st baby govt so stingy against.

ling,

hahaaa at 1st me wanna c-sec also cos of the pain ... but later think n think, think me gg for normal with epidrual ... my gyane encourage natural also unless ....me too me too, been thinking alot, but hubby saying most women all went thru that ...

shay,

hahaaa we sama sama .... but this cant go on .... my work is piling up le ..

yaya $3k is better than nothing ... my colleague all complanin some never get that ...

Hi Qing,
cost of bb is not that ex.
some ways u can save:
save 3k+ by going as subsidise patient with KKH. this is v common. hosp and bb fee will be abt $1500 ( can use medisave to pay )
save $1800 confinement lady - get your mil/ hubby/ mum to cook for u.
mthly expenses after bb is born:
save $100/mth by using dumex milk powder which is at least 50% cheaper than most milk powder.
save on toys clothse, cots by getting 2nd hands.
u can use the baby bonus ($3k) to cover you and bb hospitalisation + your own checkup fees during the 9 mths.

most impt is if u abort, bb is gone forever, can never take back. ( i think including your bf too)..can both of u face each other knowing you aborted your own bb? guilt may stay....so

if really no choice, give it up for adoption, at least you will know your baby is alive.
i know of a very deserving couple who is looking to adopt. contact me if this is your choice.

ling,

i didn't know there's spring maternity at century sq.....is it newly open? cos they r renovating quite a bit so may they'll have more shops coming up. i stayed very near to tm but hardly go shop shop there nowadays. also i have to take care of the 2 monsters at home. fyi, i'm taking care of my niece (sis's daughter cos she's studying in us)and she's 3+...so a bit tied up sometimes.

how i did it? i keep remind myself of the side effects of epidural and tell myself i must determine and be brave like our mothers - dun think they have epidural for their time right? in fact, a few of my couz & colleagues managed to do it w/o epidural so i thought to myself if they can do it why not me?? during my labour, the midwife keep asking me if i need epidural cos they said i will not give birth till the next morning....sigh luckily i was determined enough and bb poped out at 5.45am! oh ya one more thing that i did was, i keep telling my bb (towards the end of pregnancy) that he must be strong and push himself thru the birth canal when time comes and amazingly he did after only 2 pushes......i was so amazed! remember to relax so that u can dilate better and faster. another experience i learnt from my ex-colleague is that she told me she took epidural and b4 the epidural take effect, she dilated and bb popped out......wut a waste ya? her experience also helped me to stay determined.

ok ok. but not lump sum, break into 4 payments.
How is it being paid? Anyone knows?

What is epidural? Pain killer or to induce labour?

Rain,
the 4 instalments will be credited into the bank a/c which you fill up in the form

Shay,
i was on epidural when giving birth to my boy. so far no side effect on me leh. the only thing is i vomitted 3times straight after delivery and the nurse gave me medicine to stop the vomitting part, other than that, everything is fine for me.

Rain,

There's a baby bonus form for u to fill up. There u provide the acc. that u want MCYS to remit the $ to and they will remit the $ accordingly.

rain,
more like a pain killer. i did not feel pain when the dilation started, but in order for me to push, the nurse adjusted the dosage such that i can feel a bit of pain (bearable one) in order to push.

piggy,
epidrual i also scare leh.. cos my friend just give birth then she tell me how she feel when they inject the epidrual so make me scare leh...i ytd tell hubby i scare to go give birth he said i siao everything also scare... hahaha but i also think back how the old ppl can do it cos at their time dun hv epidrual... but i really scare of pain leh... my next appointment wan to take my blood i already so scare...

ling,
for me when they inserted the tube on me, i felt ok leh although u can feel something go thru lah but everything is ok.

my hb was in the delivery room, i told him as long as he does not give me the weird look, i wont be gan jiong and keep thinking of the needle.

JMON,

I have not read any scientific proven side effects, so far all these are from hearsay. The most commonly heard side effect is backache during old age - dunno how true but i just dun wish to take the epidural if possible
want to try out how horrible the labour pain can be...haha

Rain,

Epidural is a painkiller to help curb labour pain and i think it work wonders.....no pain at all!

Back in the olden times, woman die from childbirth is so normal that it is scary. So i'm glad that today medical advances made it much better. But guess certain things still cannot be change like the pain of giving birth.

Then to induce labour is another type of injection?

shay,
my threshold for pain is VERY low. so die die must hv epidural hahaha...

ya i also heard that we will hv backache at old age, but my grandma also have leh. hmm....