(2008/07) July 2008

I am 9th weeks pregnant and was wondering whether the size of baby at 1.89cm is healthy? Also, can I extract wisdom tooth now or do I have to wait till 2nd trimester?

wow....this thread is already so happening!!!

mommies /MTB, i just confirmed with Dr just now. Yes, i am 7 weeks preggie and happy to see so many MTB here.
Congrates to all.

kimi and doggiebb, we are pregnant together again!!! hahhaa..COngrates congrates. i was just wondering how come our earlier thread hardly any preggie. so u gals have been keeping silent huh....

kimi ....

heheeee cos me 1st one so like more gan cheong like that ....

qing,

ooo ur ms at night one ??? okie cos me thot ms norm is morning so when mine at ard late afternoon then i find it funni ....
how was yest nite ??

wow quite a few new faces...welcome welcome and congrats!

qing
how did it go? how are your parents taking it?

kimi
i also feel less gan cheong abt second one. how old is your first one? mine is turning 2 in Jan.

kk5
think u must let the dentist know u r pregnant. best to seek their advice.

shelia
wow your boy is really big. mine was born at 38 and half weeks and only 2.85kg. very small bb. he is now abt 12 kg though.

kimi

*hides behind the coconut tree* oops! tummy still protruding! guess i can run but i can't hide huh?

karenp

YOZ! you too! bwahahaha!

i finally pluck up all my courage and tell my parents about it late last night.

i feel so tired now, i am such a cry baby. tears came running down soon after i finish my first sentence. i was crying thru out although i know crying is useless but i just can't help it. i am so lost.

my dad could sense that something no very good is coming when i walk into the room.
i actually Hesitated for the longest period of time before i finally walk in. i told my brother about it and ask for his opinion before going in. i was struggling on how to break the news to them and i know i can't wait any longer as i have dragged long enough.

my dad didn't scold me, he actually predict that something like that will happen sooner or later. As i often stay at my BF house like 3-4days a weeeks.
all he say was, what are you going to do about it. he actually encourage me to have an abortion if i am not prepared for the sudden change of my life. although he encourage an abortion but he did not object to me keeping the baby.

i just feel that i let him down totally, he always pamper me the most and this is how i repay him. i feel so sin. seeing him so depressed and hopeless. we are so into moving into our new house and i can never get to stay in that house.

anyway he agree to see my BF tonight to talk about our plan for the future. My dad is not into the idea of ROM first but to have a traditional chinese ceremony altogether before the baby is out. he pointed out that having TCC 1 year later when the baby is already 1 year old is totally meaningless.

and i really don't wish to do an abortion, as i know i will surely regret for my life. Now, guess what i can do is to find a hotel and get everything over and done with within 3 months. before the tummy gets even bigger.

o qing,

okie okie .. at least now ur parents know le n din scold u .... ya, more or less u will feel that u let ur parents down, next time b more filial to em then can le .. ya agree with ur dad, shld have the tcc n rom together le ...

thanks miracle for your advice. where can i get the cream?

qing
congrats you finally break the news to them. at least u will feel more relieved now.

Ceraine,
u take care...will pray hard for u n ur bb...HUGS!

stumbled_by
I am really sorry to hear about it.Do take care of yourself.HUGS!

qing...looks like it went quite well last nite.. dun be sad... at least you are honest with your family and I'm sure you will see things through and stick together as a family..

dun feel so bad coz we are all not perfect after all.. what's more important is that you learn from life and be a better person.. now is to ask yourself if you do really love your bf and is willing to settle down with him.. and if you do treasure your little baby that God gave you.. if yes, then be strong and things will work out I'm sure.. quickly look for a venue to have your traditional wedding soon.. and everything will fall into place smoothly somehow..

so excited for you.. it's good to grow up and start a family young anyway, I have friends like that and they turned out alright.. and are like buddies with their kids now..

so fret not.. can always come to us for any kind of advice if you need to..

qing
it doesn't sound so bad right? at this stage, best to go along with whatever your parents wishes. if your dad feels that shd have the TCC and ROM together, then go ahead lor. Your dad loves u a lot. he even wants to meet your BF to talk abt your plans for the future. so that is a good start right?

fathers always love their daughters a lot. dun be too upset abt it. u will feel that u let your parents down now but this will pass soon. when u become a parents u will know how they feel. they may feel disappoitned etc but ultimately they love u. have a happy life ahead and that is what matters most to them.

u are still young and u have a long way ahead of u. u still have opportunities to repay him for his love so dun think too much abt it. okie? cheer up. the worst is over.

Hi Qing,

Dont worry, all parents dote on their children like you will to your little darling in you.
For my 1st child, I have already ROM but not the customery. Also like you fear of telling my parent but in the end i still have to.Tto my surprise, my dad did not scold me for being pregnant but scold me when i have the intention to abort the bb.
Chop chop have the customery within 1 month of preparation, have a small gathering between close friends and relatives. Now my gal already 14 months... haiz.. the saddest thing is my late dad looks forward to his 1st grandchild but passed away 1 months before she is born. It's the biggest regret i am having.

Qing,

glad to hear that you hv told your family abt your news. it's not a bad situation afterall, isn't it? at least things now are clearer, you dont have to keep worrying and your father is willing to talk to your BF. look at the bright side and everything will be fine.

having ROM and TCC together is not a bad idea. many couples go into this trend nowadays.

by the way, what's your mum's reaction?

hope to hear more news after your father talked to your bf tonite.

karen p,
so it IS you!!!! hahahaha... u've been keeping silent oso wat! lemme recall, ur son is darren??? or is tt e other karen??? pai seh lah cos u hardly post at e dec thread.

Rata,

Used to this thred liao....hehe have not been to Aug thread. think will stick to this thread cos i think i'm gonna due end Jul....cos i treckon i ovulate quite early.

stumble_by,

sorry to hear of the news....all i can say is let the bygones be bygones. ppl say u'll get conceived easily after a mc. so fret not.

Qing,

happy for u that finally the time bomb has exploded and no one got hurt! now it's time for u to consider carefully if he's the guy......no point being together becos of the bb and regret after that. i sincerely hope you'll have a happy future together!

i'm only 6th wk and the belly button area already started to itch (like 6-7mths preggie). have not started to apply any cream. Plan to use the cream from gynae. I used xtra virgin olive oil for my 1st one but still a little stretch mark so, i plan to use the cream reccomended by gynae for this time.

Hi Shay,
Tried using Palmer but think i have sensitive skin..so itchy after applying. In the end under gynae's advice, use Johnson Johnson lotion and luckily(touch wood) i dun have any stretch mark from my 1st pregnancy.

Hi Ladies.. i am selling pigeon empty container at $3.50 each. (kiddy palace selling at 7.20 wif 82's wipes.) if u are interested can sms me at 97979554.

3Ds Family,

ya, read from one of the thred that Palmer may cause allergy so dun plan to use. May be I can try Medela double action.

ask u something. just now for lunch, i ordered something and din expect it to have beer inside cos the description din say so. but i still eat cos was with my colleagues and they din know abt my pregnancy.

will it affect bb? little amts in food shd be ok right?

Hi SY,

Think it should be ok.. cos alcohol will evaporate after cooking and usually it's small amount used in cooking.

Kimi
I also have two premature babies. My boy was born at 25 wks gestation and my ger at 34wks gestation due to incompetence cervix. For my presence pregnancy most properly will also delivered early.

SY,

based on the book "What to expect when u are expecting" quoted that there's no evidence that a few drinks on a couple of occasions early in pregnancy will prove harmful to a developing embryo. Continuing to drink regularly throughout pregnancy however is associated with a variety of problems in the offspring.

So I guess it's ok. Just ensure no more alcohol after it

I started to have rashes on my stomach above my belly button. So long i dun touch it i dun feel the itch. I din scratch it but the rashes still there. I also applied cream but stil the same. Guess it's due to hormones change.

Qing,

good that ur Dad din reprimand u. No more worries and u can happily enjoy ur pregnancy

cholegal,

wow your first boy was borned on 25 wks...that is very early.

he must be very small then?
u are very brave leh.

Miracle
He was only 775g when born and have to stay in NICU and SCN for sometimes before he is discharge

Qing
You have already passed the greatest fear and worry by breaking the news to your father so now just enjoy your pregnancy.

cholegal,

how long did he stay there? how many weeks was he when he got discharged? how heavy was he then when discharge? your hospital bill must have cost u a bomb.

according to the books, bb chance of surviving is high when they reach at least 28wks?

Sy,
What u eat y got beer inside? i think should be ok if u eat cos the beer that they add into food the amount very little only..like what 3D said alcohol will evaporate after cooking..

cholegal,
now yr bo how old or how many mth ? what is his weight now?

Qing,
tel u dun cry liao u still cry naughty gal... but u r so brave to break the news...so now we wait for yr good news for yr wedding date ...

Seems like a lot of 2nd/3rd time mummies here right?? correct me if i'm wrong.

Just want to check if your 1st/2nd one cling to you at this time when you are preggy with no.2/3?

anyone of u experience stomach bloating .... mine realli big leh ... then me now still wearing office wear (onli 7 weeks leh) but like the stomach bloated like that... think now wear maternity v funni lor .. act me juz bought those bb doll dressess ....

piggy,

i also felt more bloated these days.

i shd be around 9 wks. sometime bloated till like tummy very big like that.

but i was thinking maybe this is my 3rd child, so maybe stomach expand faster?

ling
i ordered pizza. so weird right..got beer

piggy
it's common to get bloating. for my first pregnancy, i started wearing maternity bottoms quite early so that more comfy. u can still wear normal tops

feel very nervous. seeing gynae tmr. somehow feel not very good abt it. dunno whether is it cos i walk a lot these few days so got this uneasy feeling. hope bb is ok.

thanks everyone for your encouragement.

JMON-lynn
my mom didn't say much, but i know she is very into abortion. my mom is more on the negative side on how to face the relative and all.
but my father say if you are willing to keep, we will face it, don care what others will say. i cried because he dotes on me the most and i let him down. and he always give very sensable advice instead of being a cold blanket. i am really very glad to have him as my father but i just let him down.

peppermintt
i still cant enjoy my pregnancy until i am done with the wedding and all.
actually, i have the thought of abortion.
my dad ask am i ready for all these changes if not don't rush yourself.
my BF and everyone else is very worried that i might not be able to take it. now it is my decision to keep or take away the baby.

to me, it may seem very interesting now that i am pregnancy. the feeling of having baby inside of me. after talking to my dad, i keep asking myself and my BF. am i able to take the sudden change? not being able to stay with my own parents and to become a wife in less than 3 mths and a mother in less than a year.
somehow, i am afraid that i am not being able to cope with this change.
but i also know that i will surely regret if i abort the baby.

i am really lost, in a dilemma.
to keep or not to keep?

actually before knowing that i am pregnancy, i was about to give up on this relationship as my BF is very 'da na ren'. although he is changing for the better, i tell myself that he might not be the one and to let go sooner. but drag on.
ever since the last fight with him, he really changed. stop clubbing and drinking. and when he knows i am pregnant, he is even more caring. always give in to me. i can really see and feel the change. (i hate clubbing and drinking). now, i am somewhat sure that he is the one for me. now, he love me more than i love him. BUT, should i take the risk and get marry? Divorce maybe common if we find each other not suitable but with a baby, it will be a hassle. not, i can't Guarantee that he going to stay this way always. as of now, he is the one.

Hello Qing,
Have not read your previous post... am only catching a bit of your story... May I ask, how old are you now? and how old is your BF?

Actually, this is my third baby, and he came totally unexpected and unprepared. Initially, I tot of not wanting the baby too, cos its too much for me to handle, be it financially, emotionally and physically. Having a baby is no joke. I feel you must make sure your hubby is the one for you and be there with you, no matter what happens in the future. There will be more to come when the bb is born, the care and concern, the time and attention he needs, the nite feedings, the nappy changing, the childcare arrangement, the sacrifice of couple time, the sacrifice of even a simple movie time, let alone clubbing and drinking. Your hubby must be willing to let go of his current lifestyle. If not, you must be prepared to be very strong, that you must tell urself u are there for the bb no matter what happens.
I am saying all these cos I am facing it now... Sometimes hubby comes back late cos of work, i feel so helpless... and sometimes, we quarrel, i got so mad i wanted to divorce him. BUT... i didn't cos of the kids.. whenever i think the kids will suffer, i stop.
U have a choice now... I really hope you make a good decision and stick to it.

Sorry, hope u dun find me lor soh... :p

qing,
erm, since u asked 4 opinion i'm gonna b frank ok? i tink it's rite 4 u to consider e future now. i feel there's no need 2 rush into a marriage just cos u're pregnant. but i noe it's hard cos mb e parents dun wan u 2 b a single mum. do consider it carefullly. it's really a major lifestyle change. 4 me, ever since i got my 1st one, i've nv had a chance to step into e cinema, never had a chance to go out w my hubby alone etc. but tt's bcos i'm a SAHM. it's my choice. it's worth it all 4 my bb. bcos e baby IS our responsibility. so we owe it to him/her to plan properly n give him/her e best we can.

4 u, altho e bb was nt planned, but i feel it is still u n ur bf's responsibility. in my opinion, i wld feel tt abortion is just trying 2 'erase' ur mistake by making another mistake. since e bb is here n he/she's innocent n he/she is a result o u n ur bf's action. den too bad, u 2 haf 2 b responsible. i dun mean 2 b harsh but tt's how i feel lah. some might feel diff but to me, it's a life we're talking bt here. he/she din asked to b here in e world. u brot him/her here n bcos it was unintentional, u wan to kill it? doesn't seem v rite lor.

manuka is rite, it's nt gonna b ez. coping w a bb AND living w ur bf. u've realyy gotta prepare urself. n tink o e childcare arrangement. so if i were u, i'll start to prepare myself both mental n physically. build up my health n read up on parenting n marriage life or single parenthood. humans r much stronger than we tink. i'm sure u can do it. u might nt feel it now but in time to come, ur bb will gif u e strength. n years later, u'll b happy u kept him/her. so ganbatte!

SY,

why the uneasy feeling? Maybe it's the hormones that's playing the trick. Tmr u will see ur baby growing bigger and hear the nice rhythem of ur baby heartbeat

Qing,

U really have to think carefully and not to regret after making the decision cos it's pointless then, what's done is done. Im sorry if im harsh.

To me, u have to be prepared to face the things that's coming up. I wont be bothered with how others (relatives etc) think abt me. The priority now is whether u are prepared mentally and financially to have the baby. Like wat some of the mummies mentioned the change of lifestyle, the sacrifices etc. If there's a will there's a way. So if u choose to keep the baby i believe u will give ur all as i strongly believe a mother's love is the greatest.

hi all mommies

I am into my 7th week of pregnancy. Went to see gynae last Friday. Baby was then 6 weeks + and was 7.2mm. Is it normal? Few questions I would like to see advice as its my first pregnancy, so a bit nervous.

1. I often have bloatedness in the stomaach and keep burping.
2. There are a lot of food which turns me off, such as fish, seafood, food with gravy etc. So far the only stuff i can eat is rasin bread, porridge and rice with soup. Will this affect the baby?
3. I often get hungry and it will develop into gastric cramps if I don't eat immediately.
4. I get nausea feeling almost every hour of the day.
5. Although, no spotting so far, but I do get stomachache.

I am quite worried. Can some share your experience with me?

Doreen

doreen,

welcome~! answer to your Qn based on my experience, it varies individually. if hv doubts, can always call your gynae to check.

Q1. it's normal at the beginning stage of pregnancy. sometimes i feel so bad that i will take a few sips of coke light in order to burp the gas out

Q2. it's normal due to change of hormone, i guess. some pple will just dislike the food they usually like & vice versa. for my case, i do not have any preference or dislike throughout my pregnancy.

Q3. i do not think it will develop into gastric but i wld advise you to keep some snacks near you like biscuit or bread, etc

Q4. it's normal too. pple call it morning sickness and it does not mean tat it will only happen in the morning, it will happen anytime. some mummies here suffer it during evening times.

Q5. my gynae told me tat sometimes stomache is due to the growing of wombs. however, i might not be rite. to ease your doubts, call your gynae.

miracle,
why do you need the strips now? for yourself? I sold mine away during my maternity leave. didn't use it at all, everytime I poke myself I cried. I just controlled my diet and lost weight during pregnancy. foetus also loss weight too.

Qing,
like some mummies said, u must really think of future, be it emotionally, physically or financially. i do not think that abortion is the only way out. it's not fair for the baby.

but you must be prepared that when the child is born, you do not have such luxury times for shopping, movies, chill out with frens, personal time with your bf, etc.

i think to sacrifice those times for kid is worth it. but i wld also think that we still need a little bit of time for ourselves. maybe tat can be worked out later. i m lucky tat my PILs and auntie are helpful.

Jmon,
somehow, the pregnancy is still very fresh in my mind. 26dec ok. meet around lunch time? will open this gathering to all mums here for first time meet up. think I will buy more preggie clothes this time.

doreen,
I like to eat hot food and soupy stuff like bee hoon to curb the bloatedness. I find mee very difficult to digest.

piggy,
thanks for the welcome.

doggiebb and kimi
the dec thread has been v quiet hor. are ur pregnancy plan? ours is an accident. was planning for year 2009 but god has decided to bless us earlier i suppose. kimi, i also carry Darren (yes, that is his name) a lot as I am SAHM, but i have the help of maid. Darren will only sleep in our arm/shoulder. sign. donno how to carry him as this pregnancy progress.

Mommies
Can you please share how to teach an infant to fall asleep on his/her own? my son (12months) will only sleep on our shoulder/arm. I think i carry him too much when he was a newborn (but he cry so much as a new born). made a HUGE mistake and i am determine not to repeat the same mistake with #2. I am reading up on the books by GIna Ford and Tracy Hogg. Any comments on their methods or other books to recommend?

Miracle & Ling
My boy stay in NICU for abou 2mths plus and SCN for a mth plus. He was discharged at 40wks gestation and aroung 2kg when discharge. All payments are from medisave which is around 20+k after govement subdies 80% as i was in C class. My boy now is 2yrs going 3yrs in Jan. He is now about 11kg only. Will be going playgroup next year.

stumbled_by
Take good care of urself okie n dun dispare. Can always try again ur bb is now in a better place try not to think so much okie.

Qing
I personally will never consider abortion at all. But since u asked I will state my opinion. If u and ur boyfriend are willing to sacrifice ur lifestyle for the bb's sake in future n financially u are able to take care of bb then its good. But if u are still thinking of depending on others for their help with bb then I believe aborting is a better idea. Cos if u dun want to take responsible for the bb u should not give birth to it n expect other ppl to take care for u.
Why I say this is becos my sis was in similar case as u. My parents react the same way as urs. My sis n her hubby also told them their plans. However after she gave birth she n her hubby were not willing to sacrifice their lifestyle they still went out with friends, clubbing as n when they like n we had to be the ones rushing back to care for their kids. Everyone can see that they are not ready for kids yet. N my dad had to financially support them quietly. So if you are not ready please do not bring the child into this world as it is them who will suffer in the end n u hurt those who love u dearly.
But of cos I still hope that u n ur bf are willing to do ur best to your bb n plan well for your future so that u can be ready when bb is born.
We also go into marriage not knowing if the other person will change for the better or worse wat is important is the both of u must be willing to make the marriage work n willing to make the marriage stay.

Doreen Tay
Hi....my name is Doreen too....hehe
Lucky I changed to Dor dor else very confusing with 2 doreens.

JMON
AIyah why on 26th....hehe
Think gotta join u gals next time liao cos my anniversary.

KarenP
Maybe can try lying with your son on the bed?? Now my son falls asleep sort of hugging me at my side while we both lie on the bed. Cos he used to sleep on me so I sort of changed him to the side so can't press my tummy.

Jus went for my checkup today n bb is fine n heartbeat detected already. Please update my details for me. Thanx.

Edd: 25 July
Hospital: TMC
Gynea : Dr Caroline Khi
Zone : North
Kids : 1

I would like to join this really active thread! I'm also expecting a July bb and this will be my 2nd child.

EDD: 27 July
Hospital: KKH
Gynae: Dr HC Han
Zone: West
Kid: 1

KarenP
Maybe you can start by lessening the time your son spent sleeping in your arms. Meaning maybe instead of putting him down in his cot/bed when he's asleep, you can try to do it earlier when he's almost drifting off. Slowly, you can try to put him down earlier and earlier until he no longer needs to fall asleep in your arms.

For my boy, what we did was to establish a routine so that he knows it is bedtime, milk - brush teeth/wipe face - change clothes - off to bed. He sleeps in his own cot and we'll have to pat pat him for a while... sometimes, he's fine to fall asleep on his own but there are times when he needs us to be around till he fall asleeps. After I'm preggie, it has been the latter... so trying to get him back to fall asleep on his own again... sigh...