(2008/06) June 2008

Apologies for posting in your thread.. but am..

1. Urgently in search of many tins of Enfapro A+..

If you've any to sell, pls pm me.. Budget's ard $10+- for the 400g tins..

2. Haenim Play Yard 6 panels (usu'd have 2 activity panels, 1 door, 3 plains with connectors) and ok with 4 panels too..

Budget's ard $100+- for the 6 panels

3. Steriliser
Looking for Pigeon Rapid Steam Steriliser

Budget's ard $20 to $30.. hopefully no rust..

4. Safety Gate needed to fit doorway of at least 118 cm..

Budget's $30++

5. Twin Stroller, just need one tt works, so on v tight budget constraint..

Pls pm me if you've any of the above tt ya letting go..

Thanks v much in advance! =)

My boy has slim down again due to previous fever + flu + cough over last 2-3 weeks. During his sick period, he is also super cranky n bad appetite.

Rizty,

My boy terrible 2 stage seems to have reduced after he attended CC. I tink he appreciate us parents more after he attended CC lor. Maybe oso bec' he been getting his own way when he is at my MIL house but its different at CC (has to be more self disciplined).

When my boy refused to let him put on clothes, i let him walk around (not wearing any clothes) awhile until he feel uncomfortable n he will come and look for me. sometimes like i wear his clothes halfway and he keep struggling, i will stop doing and let him walk around until he feel uncomfy n he will come lor.

e.g. when he is inside car at carseat, sometimes we alight and i undo his seatbelt then he suddenly want to play with seatbelt n refuse go let him carry him down. Wat i do is i told 'bye bye' and go out leaving him inside car alone. so he panick and co-operate to go out. When he playing toys at toy shop n refuse to go, we oso tell him 'bye bye' and go off. But tis tactic doesn't work last time before he attended CC.. maybe cos we leave him at CC so he learn tat we can just go off like tat lor.

When he throw his tantrums, i will ignore him and let him vent his frustrations. when he see i ignore him he will stop his tantrum faster. If he throw his toys etc during tantrum, will tell him to pick up his toys after he finish tantrum. Not necessary to pick up all toys but at least one or two is good.

If throw tantrum is at outside (no time to wait for him to finish throw tantrum), will just carry him by force away.

Refuse food - will just stop feeding and let him go hungry then will eat lor...

Btw, can also try to introduce other cooking methods or new food..

my boy now has stronger likes and dislikes of food.. will tell us when he want to eat wat food, drink etc.. and dun want to eat wat food etc. Very hard to force him to eat, have to respect his wishes more.

Thanks Ellysia for ur advice...
mine is a girl but behaves like a boy..headache...
not sure why she refuses to even bathe at times..nd to spend alot of time to make her go in the bathroom...some colls ask me to use cane..but i am afraid will make it worst...
girl and don wanto wear clothings...headache...
I try ignoring her when she don wear..but it will take long time for her to come back to me..on another hand i oso worry if i ignore her she take it as its ok not to wear clothes...sighhh..
i hope tis is a phase..esle faint!!...

Rizty

Refuse to bathe - maybe bec she dun like the way u bathe her? Like my boy dun like the way the water get into his eyes, so when i wash his hair must try to 'sweep' water away from his face. My hb will make it 'fun' for him by letting him play with the shower head n tell him it is 'playing water'.

cane - depends whether the kid temper.. like my boy dun like to be force so if beat him, may be worse. if i beat him, he may get even uncooperative.

Wearing clothes - if she come back a long time then my method not useful.. oso not good to let her expose too long wait catch cold. If not have to do it by force..
Do she has a preferred cartoon character, u let her wear her fav cartoon char t-shirt maybe she will like it. Or let her choose from 2 choices wat she want to wear.. kids tis age like to exert freedom to choose.

it may be some reason tat she dun like u to wear clothes for her.. try to find out.

like my boy recently will cry even before i change clothes for him.. cos due to previous incidents when the t-shirt got stuck at his head (cos opening too small for his head).

Rizty,

You are definately not alone on this. My little terror also the same. Now they want to assert their opinion on things, like what to wear etc

Just this weekend, I ran out of Huggies dry comfort, so I let her wear Huggies pull-up. She throw a BIG fuss...saying " NO!...the blue and red one!..not this one!"...then i told her no more liao...later then buy, and try to force her to wear the pull-up. CRy like someone torture her lor...I no choice but to ask the daddy to settle her. After much "sweet talking" by the daddy then she wear..seriously ...i wonder whats in store in the future.

Rizty

Probably bec she like the way yr helper did those things for her.

My boy also prefer my hb to bathe him rather than i bathe him. sometimes when i bathe him, he will put up a struggle.

Jan & Rizty

articles n magazines suggest tat tis is a passing stage whereby they will outgrow 'seeking for freedom' at 3 years old.

Janivy... real headache hor...i almost pull hair oso...even pillow oso she fuss...'that one' small one..when u gif her she says NO...

now when comes to meal..she doesnt wanto eat she says 'stomach pain' faint!!!!
Diaper oso don wan tis and tat...eventually she say ok the one got rabbit print (Drypers)....when i take she scream...dun wan ....

everi nite i pray tis phase will be over soon...

Morning ladies..

Rizty,
I guess our gers are into terrible 2 stage now..Charlotte also has all those habits like ur ger...

Re:bathing.
I would always tell her, lets go shower shower and wear meimei(nice nice), sometimes she busy watching tv and won't follow me. She has a small hello kitty plush toy where she always like to play with.If she doesn't wan to bath, i will take e plush toy, and said " Kitty, lets go shower shower, dun bother abouth charlotte jiejie, she smelly". Bery soon, char will come running aft me and into the bathroom =)...Its like she need something to fight for attention from us...

At times, she choose her own clothings, kept saying wan to change change, so i ask her which one u wan, she will choose herself, most of e time I let her choose herself cos those she choose are those tees with hello kitty on it =)..

As for food wise, soemtiems she doesn't wan to eat or make a fuss, again, I take out the kitty, and say "kitty, jiejie dun wan to eat, y not u finish it k?" Then i will act act like as if kitty is eating then after than say "nice", bery effective, char will soon eat =)..My ger hor...hehe...

As for diapers, hmm...recently i tink she is getting herself to toilet trained, so when she wans to pee, she says shhshh and take off her pants n diapers herself and brign me into the bathroom..When she managed to pee into the toilet bowl, i praise her and she happy and fight to flush, i let her lor =)..after that she ok to wear e diaper back...

Hmm, i feel hor, now our kids really has a mind of their own leh...imagine wear socks also wna to wear herself lor...even cup also wan to choose..*faintz*

Ritzy,
Oh ya, forgot to mention, regardign rejecting of food, i was inspired by Janivy to make my ger's meals more interesting..so I went to get those bread and vege cutters and also a barney lunchbox and plate. Wkends bf will be bread with diff shapes and animals , either with egg or plain bread lor...so far, she quite like it though, mayb u can try...

Morning...wah i tot my girl is a unique case...stubborn lor...
she cant stand if her clothes kana water..will say take out take out...then if u change to a new tee...she say don wan...and run off...
my mum is nagging saying tat i am too lenient...kp talkg to her don work nd to use cane...aiyo...sian

Rizty,
Actually i support the cane de...cos at times when char really too much, we will take out the cane and she will immeidately stop cos we used it on her afew times before...

Ellysia,

i bought a few from Daiso..but i find it abit small...
Good if Fei can tell us where to get..heheh.

Fei, wah serious ah nd to use the cane huh...must be painful leh... :p

Woohoo! I m joining tle club! Lil zuen also refused to bath, wear diaper, clothes, n make tons of unreasonable demands now. Plus her falling sick, I already pulled hair.
She will want to chose her other after shower and can go through every single pc of clothing 2x then decide way to wear. Haiz. Sometimes just have to coax n it doesn't work everytime. I tot she's insecure bcos no 2 coming wor.

Mummies.. I tot I'm the only one pulling hair..hehe..I guess tis terrible 2 is make us go siow .... my mum jus called and complain..ask maid to gif stew chicken to her but maid say she don wan to eat...then she ate all....faint!

Ritzy,

See my FB photos under bento pic. I got state where to buy. Any question can PM me. =P

Terrible twos:
Ya...we can all hug and cry together!!...

Rizty,
My dd is rejecting my maid and she will select people to do things, usually mummy kena her many requsets. But she's alright when she's alone with my maid. Haiz.. Last night was so cranky again. She simply cannot take "no" for an answer and refused to shower at night. -___-"

MOrning ladies..

Ellysia,Ritzy,
Ya lor, I ordered under the blog which Janivy has posted lor =)...

Jan,
how are u doing? hows the lit one? I bot soem cutters and moulds frm the lady lor, her price quite ok le..=).

ZuEn,
yo ger, how u doing? Haiz, now our gers have their mind of their own and they are always up to something...Wat happen to lit zuen? flu?

I tink she know who to bully now leh..

Morning...

Well kids are smart lor...always bully mummy wan...when we are out of sight...they will somehow behave..

Zuen, i face this NO NO shower for few weeks liao..shower battle, food oso battle...

Now my boy dislike me changing his clothes. I tink is due to the clothes opening too tight and always get stuck on his head.

Ellysia,
PM you already.

Feifei,
I am fine. Heng the placenta went up, so no need to lay on bed until due date. Else i will go crazy! Little one like abit of the small size this time...hmmm...wonder why.

Ritzy,Zuen
Like everything else, its just a phase lor. Just hang in there..

jan

thx, receive le. wow a lot of nice cutters.

Last time when i preggy with zhe, placenta also low for many months until close to 3rd trim then it went up.

ever since 1 yr plus my boy has also becoming very fussy on food....at times we have to feed him porridge or rice together his crackers...

now i know i can do much more to attract him to eat more variety of food....thanks janiviy! u r really great mummy...salute to u...must really learn wor....

Yest nite when hb bring ah boy back from CC, hb feed him sweet (before he eat his dinner). I so angry that i throw away the whole sweet. Cos i dun like hb to feed him junk food especially before dinner lor. Actually my hb bot the sweet for his own consumption (he is a tidbit guy) but my boy see liao then want mah. Previously he oso feed him dried mangoes.. faintx.

Got 1 time, hb told me tat ah boy dun want to eat dinner. then i ask him wat he feed him before dinner. hb said he give him fruit juice. no wonder dun want to eat dinner lor.. drink a lot of juice liao, tummy full le how to eat dinner. Got my scolding again.

Morning Mums....

Ellysia....wats the blog add for the cutters arh???hehhe..i oso wanto see...

Yestrday another round of food battle...mum complaint lots abt maid...i ask maid..she tells me diff story... so sian !

Ellysia, some daddys are more lenient..mine oso junkie...loves to buy crackers ..everitime he buys i hv to hide....
my coll told me once kids try food wif strong taste...they will reject those tat are more blend... so we nd to kp educating not oni the young the old oso....so taxing!

Morn!

Re: food
same here, my boy also super picky with food. dont wanna eat porridge anymore. recently even rejects fish. only rice with soup. all fried stuffs or chicken rice. super unhealthy lor. no idea how to make him eat lei.

Ellysia, Janivy
can i also have the blog for the food cutter? thanks! =)

My boy dislike porridge since 1yr plus. Maybe bec he has been eating porridge everyday since 8.5 months old. So i have been cooking marcorni & mee suah. some months ago i also started to use spaggetti. Vitakids have many type of pasta.

Last weekend i tried to use homemade stock. I cook some stock during the weekend and freeze them in small containers. When i want to cook the meal then i took out the frozen stock and use it. It make the food more tasty.

For taste i been trying not to use salt or soya sauce. I put either ikan bilis, red dates, wolfberry, si shen powder. ikan bilis i dun make powder nowadays. I just cut them into small pieces and cook direct.

Hi June mummies,

Haven't been posting for quite some time. I'll b due anytime within these 3 wks so thot just come in & check out how everyone's doing so far.

Saw a few todds here still falling sick occasionally fr CC or PG. Just to share about Athan, since he joined CC in Apr, he has fallen sick 1st 2 mths spending $300-400 on medical bills but since early June until now, he's been fine except for some occasional cough/runny nose which usually goes away after 1-2days when I give him additional doses of supplements.

Now his daily routine of supplements/fruits/fibre includes the following:

1. 3/4 bowl of cherries & blueberries/kiwi half an hr b4 dinner. Fruits will change according to wat is available.

2. 10drops of Echinacea continuously for 10 days + 5ml Vit C + 1 scoop Sishen BR + 1 scoop Oatmeal powder + 5 scoops of FM b4 bedtime = 270ml

3. 10 drops of Echinacea + 5ml Vit C + 1tsp Probiotic + 5 scoops FM = 250ml.

4. 1 tbsp of seed mix (Flax/Sesame/Pumpkin/Sunflower) + 1tsp Cod Liver Oil added into his dinner. Dinner is usually half bowl of rice wif meat, veg, fish & soup which makes up to 3/4 bowl.

When he starts to cough or have runny nose, I'll increase Echinacea to 20drops for 4 days then revert back to 10 drops & he normally recovers without any medication.

Previously I gave him 2 scoops of Sishen BR every nite but his poo has been very inconsistent so I decided to replace one scoop wif oatmeal powder on Sun & he's been pooing everyday for past 3 days, previously he can poo only 1-2 times a wk & the poo looks like pebbles.

I dun know which of the above worked for Athan but his health has definitely improved tremendously after I started loading him wif all the stuff I stated above, his appetite also increased alot the past one mth & his weight n height has increased very well too, 13kg now, height din measure but confirm he grew taller (>87cm) compared to when he just entered CC, our family members all commented that Athan has looked so much better compared to 2mths back so at least something had worked for him. Previously btw Apr & June, his weight actually fell below 11kg, appetite very poor, complexion color also look unhealthy cos took too much medication & fell seriously sick.

Athan doesn't necessarily take his dinner every nite, he will skip dinner once or twice a wk but it doesn't bother me much cos since he told me he doesn't want to eat, then I just respect his decision.

Hopefully mummies here may use this as a reference.

Ellysia,

U can also try using Vegemite for taste if your boy can take it cos very good Vit B provider. I use that occasionally too for Athan.

Just want to ask if any mummies here have weaned your todds from milk bottles or planning to do so?

I've been considering to let Athan stop using bottles for milk but hubby said I too kan cheong since he's still so young. He now drinks milk 3 times a day during wkdays & 2 times during wkends.

Mag

School still use milk bottles so i didn't wean him off from bottles. Anyway my BM is v pathetic and he can't take formula, so v soon he probably won't be using much on the bottle. However, sometimes we gave him barley water or plain water using milk bottles.

Hmm, Echinacea so good? I been considering to give or not too.

I started giving multi-vits, fruits after dinner, Cod Liver oil daily. Cordycep powder i will give randomly if he is not sick.

I have tried giving seed oil, but he dislike it so much that the whole bottle is wasted.

Ellysia,

Athan's sch also using milk bottles. Reason I want to wean him off the milk bottle cos the bottle he uses at sch, the teat always kena chew until very jialat so I have to keep changing, home bottle no problem cos he passes me his bottle straight after his milk is finished. Yesterday principal told hubby that lately Athan dun drink much from his straw water bottle but he can drink alot from cup so I think tonight I may let him try half of his FM in a cup & c if he can drink.

I've been giving Athan Echinacea for >6mths liao tho not on regular basis but after I mix wif Vit C & using the 10 drops/10 days or 20drops/4days method+10 drops/6days, so far so good lor. Remember Echinacea cannot give continuously, must stop completely for 4-5days after every 10days so as to maximise benefits. Maybe u can try, I bot 2 Childlife Echinacea & 3 Vit C but now down to last bottle for both, had given Childlife First Defence too but since finished 2 bottles, I din replenish cos waiting to start him on Sambucus.

Maybe u can try giving fruits half an hr b4 dinner cos we've been doing that for the past 2mths & so far Athan seems fine. I think alot of studies said fruits b4 dinner is better digested than taking it after dinner.

Normally we give fruits & a cup of water to Athan when he comes back fr sch, then rest 10-15mins, shower+dressup 15min, followed by dinner & half or 1 cup of water.

Ellysia,

I dun give seed oil cos I find not very nutritious as compared to ground seeds mix & I find oil commercially produced got smell. All the while, I just buy the Origins Golden Flax Seeds, Origins Black Sesame Seeds, Origins Pumpkin Seeds & Origins Sunflower Seeds & grind them for past 1yr. I usually keep them in 1 250g glass jar which I keep inside fridge, another 60g fully filled glass baby food jar left on table for everyday use & 1 60g half filled glass jar in diaper bag used when we eat outside. It is very convenient cos I only need to grind once every 3-4mths so maybe u can try doing that too. Ground seed mix taste also very bland so should be acceptable for your boy since u only sprinkle 1 tbsp into his food.

We gave fruits after dinner.

won't be able to give fruits half an hr before dinner bec by the time he is back from CC, it is ored close to 8pm and 9pm is sleep time.

Yah the staff at nature farm oso told me that Echinacea can't give continuously. I am not giving childlife bec my boy doesn't like, so i switch to Yummi bear. Sometimes when he ask for sweet we will give him Yummi bear (and will reduce the amt at the usual time when we r giving). I will check on the Yummi bear series for Echinacea.

Mag

U can give flax seed meal (which is flax seed already grounded) so u dun have to ground it yrself.

Hmm maybe i switch back to giving flax seed meal.. last time i use to give when he is small.

Ellysia,

Flax seed meal cannot store for long cos it will turn rancid quite fast thus I prefer to buy flax seed instead so I just grind the amt I need & the rest of the seeds I can keep for a longer period.

Flax seed very good for fibre too & very healthy for children & adult, good to give Yuzhe again.

Good idea to let YuZhe try Echinacea & will work better if combined wif Vit C.

Mag,
thanks for sharing. so informative. maybe i should try giving flax seeds to my boy since hes not been pooing everyday.
tried giving him all kinds of fruits also ended up having constipation.

Mag,

Thks. The Echinacea Yummi bear series come with Vit C too.

Oic, no wonder the flax seed meal i bot turn colour after i didnt use for some time. But grind seed v ma fan. Maybe can just sprinkle some seed directly?

Eve,

U r most welcome.
U can also grind Oatmeal or wheatgerm into powder & add into his formula cos Oatmeal n wheatgerm not heaty & also one of the best sources of fibre. Oatmeal was wat got my boy to poo continuously for past 3 days cos that was the only new thing I gave him this wk, fruits & flax din really help much.

Oatmeal currently I'm using Quaker Instant Oats(red packing) but Quaker Quick Cooking(blue packing) is more nutritious cos it's rolled oats so lesser processing but must cook b4 serving.

Pls take note that if todd got diarrhoea, wheatgerm cannot give so my opinion is oatmeal is a safer option.

Ellysia,

U can give flax seed directly too if Yuzhe dun mind the crunchy texture cos flax seed is slightly bigger than sesame seed. In fact ground flax seed nutrients are better absorbed by the body as compared to the whole seed. I also find it ma fan but since I only grind once every 3-4mths so not so bad lah.

The Yummi Bear Echinacea is also in liquid form?

Mag,
i will try oatmeal over the weekends. i didnt know they not not heaty always thought will cause constipation so didnt give it to my boy wor. only gave him barley but didnt help much too.

i tried giving him quaker the red packing one but he didnt liek like.rather bland lei, even myself dont like the taste either =P did u add anything inside? i boiled and added in fruits but ended up only fruits finished and oats unfinished lor.

Eve,

I used to give oatmeal porridge to my son since last yr but stopped after he went CC in Apr cos lazy mummy lor. I normally add cheese or egg into it previously. Now I just add one scoop of oatmeal powder into his Sishen brown rice & cook, then add into his nite feed cos can't seem to squeeze in the oatmeal in other ways. So far, dun think Athan could tell the difference in his nite feeds.

Maybe u can try adding 1 scoop ground oatmeal to his nite feed if he doesn't feel comfy wif eating the oatmeal.

Must grind the oatmeal into powder so easier to mix wif FM & also prevent choking also.

Regarding my son's constipation issue, it has been bothering me for almost a mth liao & last wk have been doing quite a bit of research & asking around for solutions. My hubby scolded me for being so stressed over nothing & I told him now dun settle then wait until he start to poo wif blood & tears, then go hospital take laxative & stool softeners then start panicking is it? Sometimes men really too relax over certain things lor.

I told him if my son so young must rely on medication to help him poo then wat's going to happen when he gets older, still doing same thing?

Read that toddler constipation very common, poop once every 3-4days but i still feel this is not very good & it'll make toilet training harder too cos no pattern to follow.

Hopefully, what I'm doing now can help him poop regularly. The best part is Athan is eating alot but no output so I scared his colon might burst lor altho so far when he poop, no blood & tears but still pebbles come out.