(2008/06) June 2008

eh?? like tat ah??? i every morning' take HL choc milk...cold...but i usually leave it out for a while b4 i drink, coz if too cold, my teeth cannot take it...sensitive... ;p

wow bb08 & jazol start taking anmum already
me also dun like to drink milk ah... if take calcium pills good enough? hehee

Juliet08, last time i also like you, leave the cold milk for a while then drink...then switch to meiji full cream milk...but later due to alot of unknown reasons, i had a miscarriage...so for this time round, i decided to take anmum....

Luv
my friend who's already 5 months pregnant also didn't take any milk, she just take calcium tablets...can ask your gynae abt this..

Veniz and iamsnow,
Thank you. I am feeling better now, after telling my friends and hubby how mean is that supplier.

Jesslyn,
Strange leh, I have resend my email to you last night. You still cant receive?
*touch wood* I dun have dry and itchy breasts, but have sore breasts. I think maybe you can try to apply some moisturiser on your breasts so that they are not so dry. Get those olive oil cream which is richer. I think it can help.

iamsnow,
Dun drink too much sweetened drinks during pregnancy.
Try to drink more plain water.

Cheekymonkey,
Anmum chocolate flavour tastes good, but it's very "heaty" ... cannot drink everyday.
When heaty, will cause headache, constipation and pimples.
Now I cannot drink ... miss the chocolate milk and soya bean milk. *drooling*
I usually dun drink milk unless I cant sleep at night. I will fall asleep when I drink milk (like sleeping pill to me).
Hubby always says that I am like a baby. :p

*Faint* just now a customer said that she noticed that my bigger tummy liao ... hmmm ... cannot hide for long ... :p

Hi angie i check my email later.Btw my sister in law got told mi abt this website too..i haven realli go in n check ..keke.ok i will try nw to put moisturiser so when is ur next check up with dr adrian?mine is on 1st nov did i told u b4?keke

Hi ladies,i alady start drinking Emfa mama choco milk liao..bcos my gynae got give mi sme sample vanilla & choco so i try both of them but i prefer choco...actually last time i drink meiji vanilla dun noe y nw i dun like vanilla smell...

Hi angie,when u feel better then i jio u go together to eat dou hua or soya bean since u oso like to eat...sama sama..Btw u stay hougang mah?i stay hougang ave 9 how abt u?

jesslyn,
i ever heard preggy cannot eat dou hua ley, dou hua shui is ok, but not dou hua, bcos got one ingredient not gd. anyone can explain further on this? pls help :D

Hi jess
luv is right, cannot eat dou hua..if not wrong is the ingredient called collagen which is used to thicken the beancurb...

Any ladies have taken any tonic yet? I wanted to take some but dunno what to take.. wanted to brew the red date tea but my mum said too heaty cannot take...

Now should start drinking milk powder already? Will be over norished?

Actually I'm drinking HL milk in the morning. But somehow drinking a cold cup of milk makes me feel a bit cold.... esp so early in the morning....

Luz, i've also heard abt dou hua also. It's my favourite breakfast. I have it weekly. but after hearing that it's not good for pregnant mtb, I stop taking immediately once I knew I was pregnant..... not sure what's the logic behind also....

jesslyn & iamsnow
i heard from a few friends b4 ley, think it's true bcos a lot of ppl say so, just that i forgot the name of the ingredient, bu think bb8 trying to explain too
so i never take the risk lor.

bb8,
red date tea is only for confinement then drink ley, not during pregnancy bah. i also heard take bird nest from 4 mths onwards. u know lah all these heard from a lot of experienced birds, so i also learning

Jesslyn & iamsnow,
my mum also told me not to eat dou hua so better dun

Ladies, i dun like to drink fresh milk, been trying to drink soya milk instead. issit okie? actually i find also dun like soya milk liao.. prefer warm water.. how ah? calcium tablets good enough?

Lastly, it's weekend! Remember to have a good rest!

Hi mei,luz & bb08,Thanxs for the advice i take note liao...thank u so much

Mei,my gynae told mi b4 du hua shui & milk is gd for the baby..

jesslyn, i used to drink a glass of soya milk everyday during my ttc period.. but now really dun like it.. dunno when will my appetite get better??????

Hi ladies, I am back from my first scan. Today is the first day of my 6th week and I can see yolk sac with baby's heartbeat. Too bad its not twins (which I had secretly wished for) but then, one more is good enough. Doc even thanks me for contribution to Govnt budget of getting 6.4 mil of Singaporeans. I almost fainted with this thanks.

Jesslyn, I am also born on 1979, so your chinese age is 29. Now, you think back, when is the possible date you conceived (date will be after your last menses lar)and then, you search through a calendar with lunar one stated, and check the date against the lunar one. if lunar calendar states in 8th month (example lar) then you go check chart of 29 and 8th mth to see if boy or gal. Hope you understand the above. If not, send email to me at [email protected] and I will do checking for you first time on Monday morning (coz I dun have lunar calendar at home).

Hi kylene and newbies, welcome!

Glad to hear starmoon stop her spotting liao.

I can't drink milk so I get doc to prescribe calcium pills for me. Even soybean milk I dun feel like drinking. Only milo is fine with me.

Jesslyn, I also have such feeling one, but not very painful one rite? Its normal i think. You will get this more often when your baby is growing inside you.

so dou hua shui is good? hm.... then I can consider drinking this. craving hot drinks. but then milo seems to be too heaty...

jesslyncheong, I experience cramps and pains initially everyday. now is on and off. my gynae say it's normal. just take care to make sure no spotting....

veniz, u had your first scan? excited to see the bb's heartbeat right? when i had my first scan, i was so excited.... i was also hoping for twins actually, but one is also good enough. hee hee....

Veinz & iamsnow,
wow, u 2 were actually wishing for twins? i have 2 younger sisters who are twins and they were a handful so i was hoping that i won't get twins :p
ya, it was really amazing to see the bb's hearbeat

just went for my 1st visit yday with Dr Adrian. Can only see the waterbag which is 1.1cm only no heartbeat yet, but still feel very excited hehe. From the scan it shows that its only 4 weeks +- 7 days old and my EDD is 26 June, but I have heard from other MTBs that this will always change???

littlemini2
please update mine, thanks!!!
Age:28, EDD: 26June, Gynae: Dr Adrian Woodworth, Hospital: TMC, 1st baby, Staying at Punggol

Ladies, I asked the Dr what food to avoid and he only mentioned pineapple and alcohol. I asked him about raw food like sashimi, steak, eggs, he said can eat woh.

I was joking to my hubby who knows the baby might pop on my bday which is 19 June and we will have same bday 29 yrs apart! But my hubby says dun wan better dun be another gemini he cannot take it hahaha

Ladies...

Pls Do avoid consuming Brown Beans at all costs! My colleagues told me yesterday that during her first pregnancy she doesn't not it and took only a few of it and she gave birth to G6PD Deficiency child!

G6PD Deficiency

is an inherited condition in which the body doesn't have enough of the enzyme glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase, or G6PD, which helps red blood cells (RBCs) function normally. This deficiency can cause hemolytic anemia, usually after exposure to certain medications, foods, or even infections. Now it was found that - Brown Beans can cause this condition too.

The best way to care for a child with G6PD deficiency is to limit exposure to the triggers of its symptoms. With the proper precautions... "NO CURE".

Symptoms of G6PD Deficiency
A child with G6PD deficiency who is exposed to a medication or infection that triggers the destruction of RBCs may have no symptoms at all. In more serious cases, a child may exhibit symptoms of anemia (also known as a hemolytic crisis), including:

paleness (in darker-skinned children paleness is sometimes best seen in the mouth, especially on the lips or tongue)
extreme tiredness
rapid heartbeat
rapid breathing or shortness of breath
jaundice, or yellowing of the skin and eyes, particularly in newborns
an enlarged spleen
dark, tea-colored urine
Once the trigger is removed or resolved, the symptoms of G6PD deficiency usually disappear fairly quickly, typically within a few weeks.

wow looks like a lot of mummies born in 1979. me too i am 28 this year, so accordingly to the lunar calendar prediction is boy. i got a boy liao actually i hope for a ger... but as long as healthy baby, i must xie tian xie di liao hehee :D

thank u everyone for your concern, prayers and well wishes. i'm finally back home after 2 days in TMC...it was so bored. My bleeding finally stopped yesterday. Now being confined to my house...gynae says not to walk around too much and rest more. need to finish my medicine for stabilising foetus as well. was good to see my bb heart beating though bb is very small. next week gotta go back for review.

hi juliet
thanks for the updates. continue with the milk hor...

hi littlemini
hope u get to hear or see bb heartbeat when u go for the next visit.

regarding the dou huay, it is no good cos they use "shi gao" to solidify it...soya bean milk is ok to drink though. i usually alternate that with milk cos if not sianz to drink milk everyday lah.

Hi Sparks,
What are brown beans? Normally use to cook with what?
This sounds scary.

Jesslyn,
I also heard from my friends that dou hua is not suitable for pregnant women due to one ingredient include to "harden" it.
My hubby said then beancurd and toufu also cannot eat. I have been avoiding all these food since week 4.
I only start to love soya bean milk during pregnancy (baby's craving ... not me).
I personally love beancurd ... but I have to bear with it cos of baby.

iamsnow,
My mum said that soya bean milk is good for baby's complexion, dunno how true.

bb08,
Red date with gou qi zi is good for baby's complexion, but must remove the seed of the red date then wont be too heaty.
I think it will be better to start drinking after 1st Trimester, cos baby is developing now.
My mil brewed dunno what tonic, I dun wan to drink, and had a "fight" with my hubby.
I am now taking diarrhoea and gastric medicine, and also folic acid and pregnavit pills.
Now mixed with the tonic, anything happen is not my fault.
Damn pissed off.

thanks juliet, angie and ndzgirl. i missed my girl so much during my stay...now can only carry her when seated. me starting to feel nauseous oso but no votmit. hope MS dun come knocking.

starmoon, glad to know u are well now. Do take care and rest more!

jesslyn, I do experience mild cramps but its on and off only, i take it that bb is growing so must stretch for more space.. heehee..

sparks, what is brown beans???

Ladies, my bil also told me not to eat shell food and peanut butter. I am not sure issit only peanut butter or all kind of nuts.

Is it safe to eat peanuts during pregnancy?

The BabyCentre Editorial Team answers:
The UK government recommends that certain women avoid eating peanuts while they are pregnant. You are advised to avoid peanuts if you, your baby's father, or one of your previous children has had an allergic reaction to something. Allergic conditions include:

eczema

asthma

hayfever

any allergic response (rashes, itches, bumps) if you've eaten food such as strawberries, shellfish, or peanuts.

It is only peanuts that should be avoided by some women - other nuts, such as brazil, hazelnuts, walnuts or cashew nuts are perfectly safe.

An allergic reaction is when the body over-responds to a particular substance: this can cause breathing problems, wheezing, skin conditions, and other symptoms. Peanut allergy is a growing problem in the UK. Approximately one in 200 four-year-old children has a peanut allergy; most children will develop the problem before their third birthday. Peanut allergy can cause a severe reaction called anaphylactic shock in which the allergic person has such trouble breathing that they die.

Before an allergy can develop, a child first has to come into contact with small traces of peanut. This initial contact sensitises the child so that she later has a severe allergic reaction when she eats peanuts or foods containing peanuts.

Some experts now think that this initial sensitisation may occur during pregnancy, when a tiny amount of the peanut protein crosses the placenta, although there is no definitive evidence to prove this yet and further research is needed. However, it is because peanut allergy is an increasing problem -- and such a serious one - that the government has advised that women with an allergic condition or who know that there is one in the family should avoid peanuts while pregnant or breastfeeding.

Breastfeeding gives your baby protection against many infections; exclusive breastfeeding for the first six months of your baby's life helps decrease her risk of allergies in the early years of life. However, if you eat peanuts, there is a small chance that your baby will come into contact with traces of peanut through your milk.

If you decide to avoid peanuts while pregnant or breastfeeding, you need to avoid not only peanuts themselves (which are also sometimes called monkey nuts or groundnuts), but also products which may contain them. These include:

peanut butter

cereals, cakes, muesli, biscuits, some salad dressings, ice cream, and breads - always read the packaging label carefully for information on the ingredients

dishes in restaurants - either ask if peanuts have been included or choose a simple meal which contains no 'hidden' ingredients

Your supermarket may be able to provide you with a list of the nut-free products it produces and sells.

starmoon,
u r back! try not to carry your ger too much... not gd to carry heavy stuff now mah. my 1 yr old boy also kept want mummy to carry, also no choice, so i ask my hubby to help sometimes.

bed rest more ah

hi mei and luz
thanks...yah now MIL looking after my girl. no choice since cant carry her....doc said only can carry her when i'm seated only. will g take a nap now.

hi starmoon, u are back! glad u are ok. remember to rest more and do not exert yourself too much.

sparks, what are brown beans? sound so scary leh....

ND, you're gemini also? I'm born on 31st may. my bb edd is 5 jun. i was also joking with my hubby if i pop earlier, our bd would be the same.... he almost fainted.... haha....

littlemini, can update my details too? I'm 29, edd 5 jun. gynae is sf loh @kkh. 1st child.

thanks for your help!!!

Brown Beans can be found at Kacang Puteh nuts and its flat and yellowish bean with brown outer skin de... Dried nuts of course..

hi kylene, I'm also thinking of getting one. i want to keep all my scan photos etc...... any one as any idea?

Hi Nd Ger,My gynae ask mi dun eat salmon (raw) & egg must cook want cannot eat those half cook.I like to eat sake sushi salmon nw must tahan cannot eat for 9mths..keke