(2008/06) June 2008

Hi mummies, any1 here following the recommendations on this website? I find that it's gd enuff for me, can't wait to try everything.

mag: cos i was thinking since he onli latch on for 10mins which is not considered very long.. so i think it could be that athan woke up at 6am cos that is his usual morning feed rather than he is hungry..

janvivy: WA! poo 3 times? my sheryl now onli poo once every 2 days loh.. when drink barley water then will poo 2x a day..

but my MIL nag at me say drink too much barley water not good for baby.. she said will cause phglem as its too 'liang' (reali meh?)

how often u feed reanne barley ah?

cos ellysia shared that prune puree is good to ease constipation so i buy n try..

Angel, Athan normally latch for 10-12mins each feed then he last 4hrs liao. I need to go dreamfeed him now then go zzz...

Tok to u ladies again. Nite nite...

janvivy: ooo.. i read too fast.. i thot u talking about barley water... u meant HT barley cereal is it?

when sheryl ate HT barley cereal, she will poo once a day but its harder compared to drinking barley water.. so i think barley water seems more effective..

heehee.. pai seh.. pai seh.. can ignore my earlier posting..

angel,
today first time I give..coz yesterday she never poo and she don;t like the prune puree, did not think it will work so quickly...hehehe..plan to give twice a week bah...

tiny feet: glad to hear that Masean is doing well.. he is def a survior!

take care, ya? do update us on how he is doing..

janvivy: icic.. ooo.. reanne dun like prune ah? hopefully sheryl likes eh.. if not 3 bottles go to waste..

what other cereals u giving reanne? i give sheryl on alt days.. dun know whether is it too much?

you mean you give sheryl barley cereal alternate days huh? ..i not sure leh..think shld be ok bah..maybe can ask shern or soyabean..hehehe

janvivy: right now im giving HT barley, Nestle mixed veg cereal n BR from medical hall.. so will alt these 3 everyday...

ok, nite nite!

Jsmurf,
Just gotta saw your post sometime... I am one of those here tends to MIA at times so pls forgive if I may reply late.

can check, is this your 1st kid or? How long has your wife been a SAHM & earlier she has been working for how long before she quit? Why I am asking is there could be alot of factors arising.

Practically, I am SAHM for about 2years. I have 2 lovely princess. When I quitted my job due to pregnancy complications, its has been a long transition just having to change my cycle. Been SAHM is also a job to us, having to fulfil all the needs & wants by this family. Outsider & family members are watching us so I can believe the pressure she is having.

You have done a great job in helping her so don't feel not doing enough & you gotta fulll time job to hold & trying to give the best for this family. I am used to felt my HB cant help me much though he try his best to help too. So end up we prefer to do it ourselves cos we are faster than man hehehe.

Maybe true to get ur wife in the forum if she is comfy. OR even she can make more SAHM friends too and share.

Some little ideas you can try to spend with your wife.
1) Try getting a once a mth dating for just both of you without the kids. This helps! Cos working out for me & HB.

2) Communicate. VERY important though It can be so simple.

3) Try get the butt out of the house whenever not working like spending little time eating out. Even simple meal can do great cos its the OUT of House thingy SAHM would love to have it.

4) Allocate a little sum to let her have her own buying of clothings, dressing up bah. Don't have to be huge amount. Sometimes its the... heart that counts
as SAHM will tends to feel forgo a job is a lost of income, earn power & having to be jealous of what others having whilst she cant.

Hope my post not too long for you. also hope its helpful bah... just my own point of views as I have gone through all these transition before.. its tough to get through but just need more time.

Morning ladies...
Wow, lots of posts to catch up..
Hows all ur wkends?
Brought my ger to Junior League for a haircut yest at vivo, abit ex but at least she won't cry and the hair dresser cuts fast fast lor...u might wan to try next time =).

janivy,
same here lor, my ger soemtimes prefer to play with remote control, bread plastic bags,cloth and her bloster..

angel,
I also fidn the HT barley works cos ever since I gave my ger that, she can poo everyday, everyday at least twice wor..

I also tried giving my ger prune puree lor, it also works on her...barley cannot drink too much cos scare too liang wor..

Felicia,
ya lor, so fast hor...Lots of things to be done, wash curtain, spring cleaning buying of things...tink liao also faintz...

Tingfeet,
U hv been a brave mummy lor..Now that ur boy is okie liao, just takes awhile to get him bk to his weight ya..Jiayou!..

Mag,
wow, kopi time...I can't go cos hv to work lor..Enjoy urself ya..

Babycupid,
Ya lor, threadfin bery nice but ex..1 piece cost ant $6 at Rivervale Plaza, ex lor..Chinatown sells $4 each..But come to tink of it, if travel all e way down also same price liao leh..I gave my ger threadfin porridge with soem other vege lor...Its nice, she likes the fish flakes..

<font color="aa00aa">Morning feifei!
Just finished reading all the posts, super long man! I'm more lucky coz my MIL help me to do most of the spring cleaning. hehe... She rather let me take care of the 2 monster and she do the housework. I think my MIL was too tired of taking kids. hehe..
So, this week i just need to clean up my room and guest room.

Angel,
So far my #1 dont make noise lah, coz everytime we'll pre-alert her whom she'll be sleeping with on tat nite. Then now she'll 'automatic' asking us "i'll sleep with who tonite?"
We had this arrangement where, my #2 will sleep with me when my hubby is on nite shift and when hubby is off. And if hubby on morning shift then , #1 will sleep with us till hubby is off on next day. So basically my #1 only sleep with us for about 7-10days in a month.

TF,
Is nice to see you are back to the forum. Masean is a brave boy, and you must take care of urself as well as Masean will need you to care for him.

Re: Milk Intake after cereal
Can mummies share on your babies milk intake after started taking the cereal and fruits puree?
Coz i have some conflict over this issue with my MIL. I have been feeding my girl 2 S26 scoops of cereal mix with 60ml EBM. And this has resulted my girl on 'milk strike' for almost 5-6hrs. She just refused to drink any milk after that. So my MIL was reluctant to give her 2 scoops of cereal, and want only to give one scoop coz her rationale is milk is more nutritious. So, can any mummies advise me whther the portion is given is ok or not? And does your baby skip one milk feeding? </font>

Good morning. YOu all are too fast for me. No time to catch up on the older threads. Sob. Got to go work.

Felicia,
i see..good wor... =)..at least not so tired leh..taking care of 2 kids no joke lor..

Re : milk feed skipped..

Err..I not very sure leh, cos 2 scope of S26 = 60ml?or 120ml? if 2scope is =120ml + 60ml or EBM = 180ml liao wor..then she mnight be still too full wor..normally when is her next feed aft takinge cereal?

For me, I onli give my ger 5scope of cereal + 1 pear in the morning, then 4hrs later she will be having her porridge.Then 4hrs later her BR + Fm lor.. I dun give milk after cereal, instead, I add into her cereal lor..Say HT barley cereal 5scope + 2 scope of FM + 1 pear, this can last her 4hrs..

ZuEn,
bz bz bz...

morning girls...

mag, i marathon-read the book.. my baby's more of a Spirited Baby. cant wait to finish up the rest of the chapters! (still at EASY schedule only).

Re: fruits
i haven intro any fresh fruits to my boy. wanted to give avocadoes, but he like doesnt accept the taste well. maybe i try again. by the time i mash n give it to him (hours later, cos i went out), already a bit brown-black liao. means must give immediately ah?

Re: poo
my boy still excrete yellowish watery poo. not yet 'yi tiao tiao' type leh. normal or not?

Re: kopi session
ur venue too far for me.. else, be glad to intercept n meet up with u guys...

Re: Walker
My #1 also was placed in the walker. Easy on the Mom...less backaches. He seldom walk on tip toes. If he does, we will say - No tippy toes and he will stop. Now, recycling it for #2. Not to sure about it delaying walking coz my #1 walked before his 1st birthday.

Mag - For me, I will give cereal and intro new food. If can mix into cereals like carrots, fish, tofu, etc then will just mix. As for avacado, I treat it as dessert. As for poo, I am also like that coz it tells us a lot about the well being of our precious.

TF - So happy to hear that Masean is recovering well. Keeping him in my prayers! Take care of yourself too.

BabyCupid - Loi Her is Threadfin. Haven't intro fish or meat yet though.

Felicia - For my #2, after feeding her her lunch, she will be wailing for milk in an hour or so. For 4-6 months old, 4-5 feeds &amp; for 7-9 months old, 3-4 feeds.

when u all talk about "scoop" of cereal, what kind of scoops u talking about? the milk powder scoop? but different milk, different size scoop?

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
I nvr measure the scoop before, but i think is around 30ml per scoop. So total is 60ml, plus 60ml ebm , total is 120ml. Normally we fed her cereal at around 12noon, then she'll only drink milk at around 6pm. Tats 6hrs gap. Her normal milk intake is 160-170ml.</font>

HI Bleh,
Whats the characterisitcs of spiritual bb?

I feel its best to give asap aft we mash teh fruits wor..

JP,
Hi..
My ger also like to sit in her walker, more freedom lor..can jump inside also..

kye,
Yes, we talking abt FM scopes lor..Like similac, 1 scope = 60ml. Friso - 1 scope = 30ml onli..

kye - For me, my 1 scoop = 30ml.

feifei - Hi!
Ya, its like new found freedom. She chases her brother with it....can die! Ha!Ha! But of course, I am like a hawk...constantly watching them.

Felicia,
I see...guess cereal quite filling hor..

JP,
hehe, ya lor, my ger also will trap us leh, such that we can cross over..*faintz*..Then hor, she know how to parrell her walker so that she can come into the room, so cute at times..=)..Ya lor, i also watching her cos now she knows how to pull wires liao..Her NEW hobby..hiaz..

<font color="aa00aa">JP,
Before started on cereal, my ger is hvin 6 feed of BM per day. Now drop to 5 feeds, so i assume is normal. But not sure how to convince my MIL that cereal is oso nutritious. She always think that milk is the most nutritious food lor. So when my girl drop her milk intake, she feel uneasy and she actually want to feed my ger one scoop only. *sigh*</font>

I started my baby on semi-solid about 6 weeks ago, initially he was very happy to take them. I've tried brown rice cereal, carrots, pear, apple, pumpkin, oatmeal, barley etc. but for the past 2 weeks he's been rejecting them, I wonder why?

<font color="aa00aa">good morning ladies!
Happy New Year! Just back from leave, clearing my mails &amp; all cos wun be in office tomolo...

MOrning ladies!!

Hi TF!!! GReat to see you back!

Feifei, there are several characteristics of sprirted bbs but the one that I recall the most is that they know what they want, and they will not be easily coaxed into accepting a substitute. They will make their demands know and they are very focused when they want something. From my experience, because it is hard to tell what Matthew wants as he cannot speak, he tends to get frustrated when he cannot get his point across. Matthew likes my mom, me and my hb. He doesn't quite like the maid because the maid is not sensitive enough to his body language - she doesn't know what he wants. It's quite obvious - his dislike.

an update: baby Matthew went for his 3rd hep B jab on Sat. He is 70cm and at 9.5kg.

Over the past few days, I included blueberries and asparagus in his diet.

kye,
mayb he abit sick of the food? hv u tried mixing it?

crystal,
wow, u on leave?

cactus,
tks for the infor..me still trying to see which type does my ger belongs to..hehe..

Wow,chubby bb =)..u bot blueberries frm ntuc?

feifei, I recall there are 4 types of bbs according to Baby Whisperer. Textbook, Touchy, Spirited and something else (sorry, I forgot).

Yes, I bought blueberries from NTUC. Must choose the big ones.. they are sweeter. I would peel the skin off, then mash.

Yah, for a long time, Matthew was 50th percentile for height, and 90th for weight. He was born 50th for both, but by 1st month, was 90th percentile for both. 2nd month, he was 90th for weight, 50th for height and remained that was until recently.. I was so worried he would be a shortie!

feifei,
I thought so too initially. so I gave him "new" food - like potato, porridge, peach etc but he still didn't want to eat. I gave him food that he used to like but he also refused.

can teething cos food refusal? and how long will it last?

Cactus,
the last type is angel - wonder if it really exists!

Hi TF,
Nice to see you here again. Wanted to call you to ask abt yr boy but worried tat you too busy so no call. Nice to hear tat yr boy is doing well.

Mag,
Me tried yesterday nite not to rock and pat chloe to sleep and just let her toss n turn in bed and she fell asleep by 10-15mins hehehehhe will try again for tis few nites.

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
off-site mtg tomolo. will be in suntec.

RE: Secrets of BB's Whisper
hi mag,
u got me hooked on tis book. bought a copy from times on NY's day. gwen is a Textbook bb from the questionnaire but she had a lil bit of the Angel &amp; Spirited aspects too according to my hb.
but thumbs up for sharing tis good book. m still reading....

hi TF,
great to have u back here. happy to hear tat masean is doing well too. miss u ard here.

morning mummies!!!

Aiyo.. BLUES BLUES BLUES!!!!

Zzzzz...

I still unable to replace my boy milk feed or lengthen the feeding hrs leh.. the only thing is milk intake reduce frm 180ml to 150ml.. but still 5 to 6 times daily.. 2- 3hrs apart..

I am feeding 2.5 similac scoop of rice cereal.. not enuff?

I tinking to feed another meal of cereal at 6+ 7.. can rite? 2 cereal feeds a day..

Crystal, I think it's normal to have a bit of other characteristics and not have our bbs fit into just one. My boy is predominantly spirited but he is a little touchy too. :p

babycupid, my bb's milk feed is also still the same. about 3 to 4 hours apart. it's good that our bbs are drinking more milk than taking feeds because milk is still very important to them at least up to 1 year old.

cactus,
hehe...tks ya...Ahya, dun worry lor, boys will grow fast de =).

Kye,
hmm..is he ok with milk?

Babycupid,
he will cry for milk 2-3hrs time?

hi feifei,

yes cactus is rite, Spirited babies know their likes and dislikes.. hahaha they are easily frustrated.

ok, i'll mash n give it to him straight. but the avocado a bit black around the skin (inside).. is it too ripe?

feifei, I'm rather short. Only 1.56m. My hb is tall though - 1.82m. I think it's very sad if boys are short loh. girls short never mind but if a boy is say, 1.6m or so, cannot make it.. :p so I was worried for some time that Matthew will be a shortie like me. he has a very broad chest though, and long limbs, so hoping he will be like his dad. :p

BBcupid, mine too lei! I also give 2.5 similac scoops for lunch. then 1.5hrs later, he's hungry. Think we got to slowly increase ba.

I'm starting him on cereal in morn and porridge in afternoon tis week. Will see how...

JP, now i feed him in walker, he's OK... finished his cereal ytd. Will try hi-chair tis wkend again.

Parkway Parade Kopi Session

1. Mag+Athan (Anyday)
2. Priscilla + eunicia + helper (16th Friday)
3. Christina + Chloe (weekends)
4. Shycloud + Jade (weekends)

BabyCupid, you mentioned that the milk intake has decreased but feeding frequency remains the same? It sounds like every 2 to 3 hours is quite frequent. Is your bb very active? Or go under the sun often? If it is, then maybe he is thirsty and not so hungry? Or maybe he wants to suckle for comfort? I'm just thinking a little cos 2 to 3 sounds quite frequent.. and you mentioned the milk amount has dropped.. so it can't be that he is hungry.. if he is hungry, he may drink more often, but the milk amount will increase or stay the same. it should not drop?