(2008/04) April 2008

Jgal

but i tink if u r comfy with him , and he knw yr conditions liao, y not stay with him..is beta...money wise , is like only for this period of time...mine oso quite ex but me gt no choice gt he knws my infection.....

i've yet to sign up a package..will only discuss it on my next gynae visit..anyone has some idea the range? I'm at SGH with Prof Tay. Thanks!

hi Jgal,

i just signed package with Dr. Fong on 10Sep, now at my 21weeks. The package cost $600 include 8 x normal scheduled consultation, scan & pre-natal vitamins only. Fish oil & calcium tabs that we r taking are not included. If bb arrive early (before EDD), there is no refund of package signed. I've done my triple blood test & detailed scan at TMC on a separate charge.

So far, i've spent approx 2.2K from week 6 of my pregnancy till 17weeks.

hi.. it's really expensive wor.. his pkg is $600 from 20th wk onwards, just consultation and normal scan. Normal delivery is $1k onwards + another $80 for 1st post natal visit. Assume, i continue with Dr Fong
--------
12,15,18 th visit - $(50 consult + 70 normal scan) x 3
3D Scan - $200
Pkg( 20th wk consultation and scan) - $ 600
Delivery - $1000 onwards
Mt A 2-beded - $1200
Postnatal visit - $ 80
-----Total > $3440 ... assume no complication and excluding suppl, oscar test.And note that delivery is 1k onwards..

Dr Ong @ Mt E
Pkg (12th consult and scan + 3d scan + delivery + post natal consultation) - $1900
Mt A 2-beded - $1200
-----Total > $3100 .... assume no complication and suppl, oscar test

Dr Fong is too expensive liao.. considering he is not as well-known as Dr Chan or Dr Ong.

hoops : Prof Tay is also a very well-known Dr. Hear good comments abt him dealing with complex cases. He's one of the ppl i am considering also.
His delivery charge is not cheap i heard.

i am not looking for a cheaper doc.. Just that i dun like to write a unfilled check. Difficult to budget.

yeah.. i know his charges may not be that cheap but no choice cos I heard he's very good. I have an existing health condition so my hubby dun mind paying more to ensure all goes well.. He believes that money can earn back but not health..

hoops.. my concern is not only money.. but the waiting time.*ha ha* ...I heard Prof Tay is always running ard attending meetings and appointments get cancelled. *Since it's wrong.. delete*

yeah..i did hear about being his patient, must be really patient cos of waiting time..hee.. =)

Thanks for the link.. think that's the other Prof Tay..mine is Prof Tay Sun Kuie.. ;p

Now me oso doing some budgeting so as to ensure enough for bb's arrival..

yesterday.. went to great world city to see Cot.. Wow.. those victorian cot is selling at $1199..*faint* + cat seat + crib + diapers + steriler + bottles + maid/nanny....+ gifted class at 6mth mth old...it's going to be a bomb..

Need to budget well lor. We already spend most of our saving on the renovation and the wedding..

wah... dun need buy such expensive cot bah... I think I maybe able to save on the cot as there are friends who can pass down theirs to me.. my new flat is coming soon too...money again..hee..

Ello mommies...especially mommies with MS
I bought a dozen orange chuppa chups and have been sucking on them whenever i feel ill.
It really works. Maybe you can try that if you feel like puking.

have a great weekend all.

thks for the tip, mumbly.. do take care..cos those chups chups r high sugar content..

I've no MS but I always get giddy spells and heartburns.. sobz..

hoops .. if you need help with your furnishing/renovation.. *i dun work in reno. line* but i went thru my renovation with 50 over families in my neighbourhd.. Some of them call for advise lor.. cos' i see most of my neighbours renovation, know most of the problems and options.. where to get the best deal for electronics/aircon ;) Even the furniture shop scare to offend me. they changing my mouldy bedrm set for free tomorrow.. ha haha .

wah.. u r so power..hee.. thanks for offering your help.. My new home should be reno-minimum as it's a DBSS..so not much needs to be done.

I've a contractor whom I used for my parents' home.. he's very nice and I should be using him.

jgal: i thought the package you quoted for dr fong is quite cheap already. My package from 9th week onwards is $2,300 and excludes medicine, scan etc

yeah.. gng to be ready in 2009..hv to start saving liao.. by then bb shd be abt 1 yr old.. so exciting..

oh no..just taken lunch, hungry again... hope to eat fries..but saw earlier postings..fries no gd..sobz..

i have decided to go back to Dr Woo as paying a min of $70 more per consultation for Dr Fong is abit too much for me. It worked out to at least $700 more than Dr Woo for the full-term. I rather save this $$ for a single-bed ward / infant care / confinement lady.

hoops, since i am on medication, i had been feeling sleepy 45 mins after dinner. then I will sleep from 9+ to around 12+/2+, where i will wake up for a pee.. last night, i can't get back to sleep after 2+, so sian... woke up late this morning.

hope this symptoms will end after i have completed the course of medicine.

oh..u r on medication..? must rest plenty plenty..take care!

I couldn't get good nite sleep these days.. so wake up will be giddy...then, won't report to work. Thank God for being able to work from home..

calamari : wow $2300... are you a foreigner? Does it include delivery ?
anyway Dr Chan @ Gleneagle charges is as follow
$816 from 16 th wk onwards
$1200 for normal delivery
$2200 for c delivery.

Xiang.. it's not $70 per consultn.. it's $120! .. every see mus scan also meh

Anyway, like i say.. Dr Ong (he write for her world) and Dr Chan are more well-known doc.. And they work out to be cheaper.

Dr Woo is abit young leh.. and someone complain abt him in the forum, say he is not very "experience" when it comes to complicated case, so i not going to him lor, just because he is much cheaper.

Anyway.. as long as you are comfortable.

Xiang & Jgal

i use to be with Dr Woo..but change becoz he didnt detect my infection..and i told him i have terrible cramps and he say is v normal , will be more pain when times goes...but i think my cramp pain is not normal type of cramps....then actuali wan change him back coz he is cheap n deliver at TMC...but when i call him and say i went to other doc, he sound abit unhappy liao..then i say is becoz of my spotting on sat, n u arady closed....then he say ok..then i say e other doc discover abt my infection, if i go back to u , can u check my V area every visit....he say 'if u wan, u remind me lo' ..i tink he is those quite relax type..he wont tk the initiative to check V area or watsoever..unless sometin bad happen..tis is my 2cents worth...

So far I am comfortable with Dr Woo and so far, my pregnancy has been smooth-sailing. Furthermore, my previous gynae knows him and says Dr Woo is ok. So it's ok with me.

Kea, I can understand where you are coming from. If I am in your situation, I would think he's not patient-oriented. But there are few who has been with him for multiple births and he's good for them.

jgal, i calc at least $70 as it's the difference between the Woo's and Fong's consultation. If it's $120, I will go "peng san".

I've been seening this Dr Woo 2 times le. Just feel very convenience walking over. Mm...he may seems young but he got
MBBS (Singapore) 1990
MRCOG (UK) 1996
MMED - O&G (Singapore) 1996
MRANZCOG (Australia) 1996
Actually i dun feel comfy with doc check V area if nothing's wrong. :)

There's always a few approach to things...
1 .. to start with a very good gynea from the start.. so you start with paying good money.
2 ...is to start with a okay gynea from the start, if got complications then go to a better one for 2nd opinion.

Anyway.. most pregnancy are safe and risk-free and after the 1st tri it consider quite safe liao ...Else there wont be some many kids running ard .. hahaha ..
so it up to you which approach you chose lor

but Kea concern is valid lor.. cos' i read posting abt Dr Woo.. he's not very attentive to details...if your preggy smooth smooth,which most pregnancy are, then it a sure save money... if you have problems.. then it's likely that he miss lor. Too many customer meh.. same like Dr Ang..

Please don get offended by my posting.. i am a very direct person..

Kea - Hope everything's fine with u now. :) It's is always good to seek 2nd opinion. Find a doc u are comfy with is best. After all, u are the one paying them $.

Wonder how is schnauzie, she mention check up today. Hope everything is fine for her too.

Yup I'm also waiting for schnauzie to come and update us on her check up today. May God Bless that everything be fine w her and her bb

do u all have those sudden pin poking cramps..as in not prolonged but on n off keep having it??? me so worried..haizzzzz..wads is wrong wif me?

for those who are interested in Perfect Mum, they are having some promotions now. check out below for more details.

Festival sale now on. purchase 3 pcs to get 50% off on new arrivals and additional 10% off overall bills for gold card members and 5% off overall bills for silver card members. Also Tops going for 2 @ $39.90.

Perfect Mum at Suntec (Tower 2) #03-019 Tel: 62386869.

Kea - I dun have poking cramps. Only evening time, stomach will bloated/heavy and cant eat alot. Then mid-night will feel hungry. This is the 1st time u are MTB? Guess all 1st time MTB will be anxious. Try relax if got cramp, then uterus will also relax. If still feel sever pain, better consult ur gynea. :) Jia you~

xiaozhu

thx....me v worry becoz seem like all MTB don have cramps leh..only me gt sudden poking cramps..haiz.....ya,i m first time MTB...reali v stress

Congrats to All MTBs!

cheesycake

2nd trimester actually starts at week 14 and not week 12. i'm also counting down & looking fwd to it, which is another abt 2.5 weeks.