(2008/04) April 2008

schnauzie,

Thanks. yep.. will coat it with eggs and fry it before i eat it. That is hw my mom used to cook it. Miss that taste. hee...

heehee ok so i don feel so PIG liao

jenny - plaza sing abit far for me (abt 5 to 10 mins) ride hehe but can meet u lah

xiaozhu - i feel bloated but nthg i can do leh. for my constipation i drink prune juice n fibrogel (alternate everyday)..bobian coz i don like to eat fruits.

cloudluv - i din know abt it..ok so i better don anyhow touch kids..yesterdae i carry my dog then got backache..so mei you yong

Schnauzie, u plan to get a maid after u deliver to look after bb? We were thinking if I should le. My mum will look after bb, but if we intend to bring back bb every night, scared cannot cope, coz still got two dogs and alot of household chores.

Thanks Schnauzie, Maybe i'll drink some prune juice then. :) Anyone got experience taking care of baby alone? I got no one to take care of me, so maybe i'll gotta take care myself. Maybe will book for the cater confinement food. Just headached tat dunno how to bath new born baby...

xiaozhu

dont worry, the hospital do provide FOC class after u give birth on how to bath & breastfeed bb. Otherwise u can always sign up for their pre-natal class which is very informative & useful for 1st time mum.

sherin - got no choice..no one to take care of bb..my ILs are old and don have the ability to take care of bb, also not shun lu to drop bb there b4 goin to work..

then my mum also say she cannot take care coz got 2 dogs there and my dog will whole day go n ga jiao bb or bark at passerby. im tryin to convince her to let me drop the maid n bb off at her place. but my mum feels tt there's no problem in leaving the maid n the bb alone. so see how lah.

xiaozhu - u not having confinement lady? maybe u shld reconsider..will be super taxin on u and if u don recuperate well next time will have problem.

i feel v guilty coz keep want to puke, i eat alot of swt n sour sweets......=/.....will cause any prob anot??

hi kea,

think there shouldn't be a problem. Everything in moderation. My gynae was telling me... something is always better than nothing. So whatever I want to eat, he ask me to go ahead and eat. hehe....

jamie .. my hubby cannot stand blood.So i dun expect him to be at the delivery ward.. he will *faint* one. As for the rest, up to him lor.

XiaoZhu, yah.. you need to re-consider. Confinement very impt to us, need to do properly. The most econmical way is probably
1) get a maid to take care of the household chores
2) get husband to share the nursing needs
3) cater for the meals.
... i heard cater confinement meals also not cheap.. >$600 for the mth.

i heard some confinement lady also not doing their job properly. Waste money if you get a bad one.

me jus nw go 7-11 then saw those by weight sweets...when young alway buy one...those by grams de......long in shape n sugar then super sour one..me eating non stop now..but tink jus for today....coz i wont buy anymore...

Thanks Gals. (Jamie, Schnauzie, Jgal)

Jamie - Will consider enroll the class. :) Think only $100++.

Jgal - My hubby also scared of blood, lol, maybe he also not joining me to delivery ward. Try pyscho him go inside. XD say will be helpful in delivery.

Will ask hubby do housechores and take care of baby ba. Since he dun wanna hire maid or confinement nanny. (He dun like living with strangers)I scared the most is go for C-sect. I got this 8cm fibroid. Hopefully can go for normal delivery.

xiaozhu - i also got a fibroid..a few of us here also got..don worry..will go thru it together..even if have to go C-sect also no choice right? just scared of the pain in 2nd tri

Kea: izzit green color one? tat one super sour, me like also. thinking of it im drooling liao. keke... me eating non-stop had one burger and one muffin just now... now so full haha~

jgal, xiaozhu

u shd convince your hubby to be with u in the ward. really helps u alot & good experience for him too. i'm sure he will forget abt all the bloody scene when your bb arrives!

cheesycake

yup yup...gt green, pink, cola favour , blue one...i bought all colors $1.40 total...finish soon...like 2 each....omg.....cant stop

xiaozhu.. does your hubby work shift? if not how he going to bath the bb? he cant bath him at night ?.. you cannot bath bb for sure.. cos' you will be too weak to do that.. it's harmful for you and the bb, you may drop the bb.

hey ladies - do u all cook or still cook after work? b4 preggie..i used to cook abt 4 times a wk but nowadays feel v tired then feel v bad to dabao home food

Think my mum is doing confinement for me if not need to hire 1 to manage, if not thnk can faint. Is there diff meals for different das/weeks of confinement. I thgt just need to cook nutritous meals throughout the 1 month period. anyone care to enlighten on confinement meals?

Hi Jgal: Same same .. heehehe dun think my hubby will go in delivery with me too .. he say scared to c blood and bb come out looks wrinkle wrinkle he also scared hhaha ...

me most probably will be opting for c-section .. dun wanna go thru pain twice ... (In case)

i already ask hb must go in delivery ward with me... hehe... anyway he oso say he wan make sure doc remove my plcenta properly (the KKH case scares us) haha....

schnauzie, i think that's normal to buy packed food home. it's so tiring for preggy mum to work and to cook bearing all the nausea etc.

Somemore our appetite increase, worse must stock up more food at home. i have been like eating dinner then late at nite 2 kfc burgers yesterday, so scary to see my appetite increases so much.

Another taiwanese website link.. some of the items i havent heard before so cannot translate. I guess, we will be eating different set of food here.. but basically for the same objectives.

http://tw.knowledge.yahoo.com/question/?qid=1507051602275

First week ( for normal delivery)

Obj: To encourage discharge of water and blood remaining in womb after birth. To discharge excess water retained in the body. To help womb contract and back to normal.

Mainly : liver , redbean soup , glutinous rice , fish with ginger and multi-grain rice.

2nd week

Obj : to improve blood circulation. Prevent backaches and bone pain. To reduce discomfort after delivery.

Mainly : sesame oil pork kidney , fish with ginger , glutinous rice , red bean soup , glutinous rice

3rd wk to end of confinement ( also for caesarean and miscarriage)

Obj : Improve strength and qi. Prevent aging.

Mainly : sesame oil chicken, fish with ginger , green vegetable , fruits , redbean soup, glutinous rice , malt noodles.

i still cook...outside food too many MSG...

confinement period must eat well and take good care.. i heard from my mum that this is the only time that we can 'bu' our body.
if not, when we age, will have alot of problem...

the article is very useful and true!

schnauzie : i think maybe cos' crying use alot of energy lor.. we will be super weak then.

for those christian ,even the bible talks abt confinement for 30/60 days in levi 11. I believe it really very impt to us..

yeah.. those that has asthma & sinus. You can also take this opportunity to "adjust" your body. These problems may leave you permanently if you do your confinement properly.

Jgal - Will ask hubby on leave 1-2 weeks ba. During this time, bath baby, do house chores. By then, i shld be recovered le. :) The only thing is i need stock up the pad b4 deliver. (He feel embarrass to buy pad for woman, haha...)

Schnauzie - I also ta bao food / eat outside everyday (3 meals).

i think you better make him a list of items he has to take care.. And remind him, you cannot move not even in the house for 2 wks.

So he needs to take care of you, baby and the house. Assuming, you will cater for food.

He may not know the amt of commitment required of him.

You
- boil drinks for you
- prepare washing water for you to clean body.
- clean up after you finish your washing
- prepare drinks and layout food. take water etc.
Baby
- change diaper ( poo ard >6 time a wk)
- bring baby to you for feeding
- clean bb bottles etc

Household
- clean toilet
- clean bb's mess if he anyhow poo.
- wash your clothes
- wash bb's clothes and diaper
- clean house (sweep and mop)
- run errand e.g. go to register the bb , insurance etc.
- buy food for himself
.... and bb wakes up every 3-6 hrs.. so no sleep also.

jgal, thanks for the article. i think i hv not do my confinment properly for mine #1. so i hv sinus & backache after den...hope tat tis round can be adjust & go away..

Jgal - * clean up after you finish your washing
* prepare drinks and layout food. take water etc -> lol, i dun think he will do tat. He sure will say, u r on confinement, not handicapped. Haha... Nvm la, as long as he can take care of baby enough. As for house chores, he is doing now. (Sometimes complain i act blur nvr do. XD)

You cant touch water for the first 2 wks..very bad for your health.. the water that you use has to put herbs one. Else you will get backaches etc.

Just tell him, on confinement is as good as handicapped for 2 wks. Do you know how much blood we will be losing!
Ask him to ask ard lor. What is your mother/in-law's opinion?

How i wish the document is in english.. then can show my hubby also. Anyway, my mother will be ard to treat me like a queen.. and my hubby dun dare to go against me with my mother ard.. hahaha :p

Both mom /in-law not ard anymore. :) See how ba, still long way. My EDD is 1st April 2008. Really April Fool for me. haha... I stay near u. My place is Jalan Membina.

Hi April 2008 MTBs,

Sorry to interrupt. I have a BNIB Avent Naturally Express Steriliser and BNIB Avent Naturally Express bottle and babyfood warmer with unfilled 24 mths warranty that was purchased just a few days back from Isetan bb fair for $179 (UP$277) for sale. Selling it off as I've got a similar set as a gift from friend. Hence hope to sell off the set we've purchased for around $169 and will provide receipt as well so that MTBs can enjoy the warranty.

The pic is as attach:
958314.jpg

958315.jpg

Pls PM me or bid at http://sg.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/i::234154079 if interested. Thanks.

wow

this set of sterliser seem gd hor..regretted that i didnt buy anything at Taka baby fair when i was there at that time!! was thinking too early le...maybe can saved alot hor...

Jgal,

There's very informative abt confinement. Dun think my mum understand the objective. Thin will tell her abt this.

Xiaozhu, i lived very near u, in tiong bahru but now outstationed in KL for a few years.

I have sinus and i eat very good food during my confinement it doesnt help.
I drink black chicken soup every alt days and it helps reduce my backaches.

NB tend to wake up every 1 half to 2 hrs for feeding.. be prepared..

I touch water even for the 1st few days of confinement. Brush teeth, bath baby myself, wash face etc.. I sleep with aircon as well.
Air con can but must wear long sleeve and long pants.

Am quite independent for my 1st confinement. Not everyone has good life with people doing confinement for them. I am consider good already.
My friend she cook for herself and do everything herself. Her HB did help her but for both kids she learn the hard way. Feel bad for her but no choice.

Confinement had been on my mind recently. I am thinking of doing it myself + hb's help. Might not be engaging a CL in the end.

Adeline: hope I can be like you.

i need advices and info here. I cant drink milk anymore as once i drink, i will feel naueous and puke within the nxt 1-2hrs. How? will it cause any bad?? milk is v important. my DH told me that since Doc say MS will fade away by 16wks, by i shld be able to drink... by nw how? haiz...i am taking calcium pill but feel that is not enough