(2008/04) April 2008

shelyn, if you are using nepia diaper, order from Nepia singapore directly is cheaper...

all sizezs at $15/pack for home delivery service.
Minimum order 4 packs

New born 60's (up to 5 kg)
Small 54's (4-8 kg)
Medium 48's (6-12 kg)
Larger 42's (9-14 kg)

Pants Type:
Large 30's (9-14 kg)
Ex-Large 26's (12-19 kg)

Hi Jamie,
Aiyo... I din know order from them direct is cheaper leh haha... I've been buying from ntuc for the past 1.5 yrs... ok now i know. Thanks

But anyway I usu stock up during NTUC promo, 2 pack for $28.95.

Side track abit... I just realised i missed the metro and isetan sales last weekend. Anyone know which dept store might have sale over the weekend? want to buy replacement btl teats...

Hi Shelyn,
About going overseas, I'll usually use distilled water to boil water for my boy. I also dun feel comfortable using mineral water or tap water.
By the way, you stay in Bukit Panjang? Me too!

<font color="119911"><font size="+2">Hi mummies! Sorry to intrude, i need to get Nestle Nan 3 milk sachets urgently.
If you have or know where to get them, please kindly PM me.
My budget is 50cents per sachet. Thanks for your help! </font></font>

Hi raynsky,
distilled water from where?
Yah mi staying at Bt panjang blk 177. How about u? your child attending any school/childcare?

Regarding childcare, my girl just started childcare for 4th day. Last 3 days I stayed with her at the centre but do the disappearing act on and off. Today is the 1st day she go in by herself, surprisingly she din cry at all. Last 3 days also din cry. So I shd be happy rite?

But duno why I keep having the guilty feeling and keep thinking that I shouldn't put her in childcare... so now considering to draw her out. Sigh....

anyway, her eating is one major problem. She can't chew well and can't eat much unless you coax her and entertain her... at home i let her eat quite a lot (I just realise I think I overfeed her when compared to other kids). For lunch and dinner, I'll feed til her tummy is round and hard haha... and usu it's about 1.5 bowl of porridge. At the centre, they don't give her so much and as long as she don't want to eat, they assume she's full and wont force her to eat. So she'll end up eating much less than wat she eat at home. I also don't find the food at childcare nutritious. Maybe I demand too much cos we can't really expect too much from childcare centre food.

So now dunno wat to do. Cos she is already quite settled in the school since she's not crying. If I pull her out and put her in 2 hr playgroup, she'll have to settle in the new school all over again. So headache...

hi shelyn
i think if u hv decided to switch to playgroup, u should do it asap. since she has only attended cc for a week, the attachment to that place is not that strong. it seems your girl adapts quickly to new places so if u can make the switch fast, she has a good chance of adapting to the new playgroup with minimal fuss too.

hi mummies, i have a 3D2N chalet booking at Downtown east to let go. Period: 31Dec to 2Jan. DH went to book aranda country club also, so looking for pple to take over the downeast chalet. Anyone interested, please pm me, thanks

Shelyn,
My gal also did not cry during her first week at school. Its only after the weekend on the 2nd week onwards that she started crying. Maybe its a delayed reaction to the environment. I agree with Joelle, if want to change sch then do it fast before she is all settled in and before all that crying starts coz when she goes to a new place after that she will be aware of what is going on and it will be more difficult for you to leave her there.

Hi joelle and Amy,
Yah I think I'll take her out from next week, even though she enjoys going. When we step out of the house today, she turned to me and tell me 'book', meaning going to school cos everytime I tell her she's going to school, whether she likes going to school, she'll tell me 'book'.

Now my problem is finding a good playgroup which takes in 18month kids. Not many takes in such young ones... and must be in Bt Panjang so it's easier for my mum and MIL to fetch. I hope to start her in Dec so I can be with her during the initial period before I return to work next year.

shelyn
does that cc offer half day? y not consider half day cc? most estates have "pimple class" playgroup organzed by talentplus but i don't know abt the quality of teaching as compared to ur cc.

Hi Sherlyn,

I stay at Blk 272. Usually hotels will provide complimentary bottled water, they are usually distilled water, you can check the label. Otherwise hotels usu would have shop that sells bottled water, or can go 7-11 to buy.

I'm tinkg of putting my boy in the CC too, but probably starting in June next year. The other option that i have in mind is to start him on playgroup first, cos my main purpose is for him to interact with others and learn something. Currently my mum is taking care of him. I'm tinking of enroling him in a full day CC, but probably get my mum to pick him up at ard early afternoon. Then occasionally if need be, then leave him there full day. So I need to look ard for CC in Yishun, where i work and where my mum stays.

Anyone has any suggestions of good CC in Yishun or even woodlands area?

hi shelyn,

how many days u spent at kl?can share what are the places to go?for Berjaya Times Square hotel room,are there 2 twin beds in 1 room?u took plane there?can share with me ur itinerary?what are the recommended places to go?

Hi goodbb,

I haven go yet. Going from 14-16 Dec. I booked plane + hotel package from firefly. It's cheaper to take cab from the subang airport to city compared to the international/budget airport. As it's my 1st trip with my very, super, extremely troublesome bb, I have no intention to venture much. Mainly stay within the berjaya building for shopping, food and of cos theme park.

hi shelyn,

can help me check if beraya times square has 2 twin bed in 1 room?do they provide baby cot??how much is ur package?mine will be next feb

joelle,
The childcare centre doesn't have half day program.

My girl has such bad temper these few days and totally reject food. Dunno whether it's her way of showing her distress.
Anyway today I didn't bring her to the childcare. Has decided to withdraw her and put her in MMI program 2 times a week.

goodbb,
Yes they have twim bed or double bed. You can choose. Baby cot I think subject to availability. Maybe when you book you put a remark and request for it? I don't intend to use baby cot. My girl will sleep with us on the double bed.
My package is RM1180 incl airfare, tax, room + breakfast. If you go in feb might be cheaper cos Dec is peak period.

jojoz,
the talentplus near my hse only accept kid over 2YO, although the web says 18mth.. u have to check it out the age group..

Been a long long time since I can find time to post !! Hope all mummies and babies are doing fine.

Ever since I started working, it gets real busy and I only see Xav for about an hour a day !! Suddenly just feel like switching back to become SAHM again !

Can I check with the mummies here about cough and phlegm. What do you all give to help with the cough and phlegm ? Apparently Xavier been having prolong on and off cough for more than a month or two. Even after having discharge from hospital, the cough came back again after he returned to CC. I feel just like withdrawing him out from there. Been giving him all the supplement to help to build up his immunity but seems like no use leh .... M at a loss of what to do now ..

hi xavs_mummy

You can try to get some *song zi* from Yu ren sheng medical hall.....grain into powder and mix with warm water and let him drink...good to dissolve phlegm...hope its help..

xavs_mum,

xav got hospitalised?

Jax had fever almost every other week ever since he went cc... recently got very high fever with cough and phelgm then just 2 days he got pnuemonia... sign... i am also thinking of withdrawing him from cc. but hubby said try TCM at Serangoon then see whether his health got improvement not. if really no improvement then we might withdraw him from cc. then i will got big headache. think mil doesnt want to take care of him and my 6mth old son together.... maid is out of question...thinking of getting my 79 years old grandma to help... but she is quite old already...

shelyn
i'm also planning to go kl but my trip is 17 - 19dec. will be my 1st driving trip there.

xav mum
why dont u stop cc for the time being till xav fully recovers? my elder gal also fell very sick when she 1st started preschool so PD want us to stop school for a mth till fully recovers. i hv since changed her to another school &amp; she's doing well now. it could be the school that makes xav sick.

Hi jamie,
my trip is 14-16 dec haha... which hotel are u staying at? I don't dare to drive to m'sia so taking plane.
I'm looking forward to the trip and hope that everything turns out well. Keeping my fingers crossed.

shelyn
most likely will be staying at somerset serviced apt. its my 1st drive in trip to malaysia, so i hope my 2 kids can tahan the long drive. they "survived" while we were in perth so i'm keeping my fingers crossed too since this is a much longer journey.

jamie,
wow you went perth with your 2 kids? then KL would not be a problem lah haha... I don't dare to go australia yet. Have decided 1st is KL then genting, then HK and australia is 4th hehe...

shelyn

actually i went HK last year &amp; perth mid this year. wont really recommend HK as its not very child friendly. OZ is a must go!! very child friendly place, lots of open space &amp; parks for the kiddos to run around

jamie,
let me try KL and genting 1st then see how haha. Can't imagine the flight to OZ. She's those type cannot sit still one...

shelyn

my younger boy also cant sit still. so brought dvd player on board to let him see his fav shows. i took the morning flight so means hv to wait up early &amp; by the time flight take off, he already abit tired &amp; want to nap liao. so almost half of the flight he's napping

Hoon: can i have the han yu pin yin for "song zi" ? I have no idea what is this .. heee.. thanks.

artist: sometime in end sept r early oct he was hospitalised for bronchitis.

did you gave Jax any supplements? hope he is better !

Regarind tcm, a taxi driver told me serangoon garden got a very good tcm. but he can't remember the medical shop name nor the doctor's name. Was told tt the doc quite good with children's cough and phlegm. Do u by chance have the addy and contact of this place? hopefully we are talking about the same person.

Another place he recommended me is Ji4 sheng1 tang2 in thomson area. I have yet to check that out too.

Jamie: I too thought of pulling him out, but just started working only less than two weeks. if I pull him out, noone can look after him as I wouldn't want to leave him in the care of my in laws who do not really practise good hygiene.

Jojoz: they only on the aircon during nap time. Prob the ventilation is not good enough. I'm currently looking out for a cc near fernvale, sengkang as i'm moving there next year.

goodbb
will email u my itinerary. i went in june during winter, as my family all like the cool weather. was there for 6 days &amp; we rented car. though i hv been to perth a few times but my recent trip was our 1st time driving around. its very easy to drive in perth actually. i would suggest u go after their summer coz now there's alot of flies around everywhere &amp; anywhere. it can get very irritating. i hv not been to darwin so no comments.

xav,
my son is not in CC but is also v prone to cough and been coughing on and off for abt 2 weeks already. ermm.. Maybe u can try to look for non air conditioned CC..

hey ladies, anyone got suggestions for a nice not too noisy and good place to bring our tots out for dinner? I want to arrange dinner with my galfriends but we always have headache thinking of where to go considering our babies are approaching the "terrible two"...

Hi scubababe,
haha... i'm interested to know where the place is also. I've not had a chance to eat out in peace and enjoy the food ever since the arrival of my girl... everytime we eat out, have to chop chop order and finish and while eating, need to constantly find things to entertain the little devil at the same time. Then after eating have to feel guilty for dirtying the floor with biscuit crumps, bits of food etc. Sigh...

anyone can suggest wat to give leo to increase his appetite? lately dun wanna eat!! only eat 2-4 spoonfuls of food then dun want already. pediasure also dun want, fresh milk also not keen. i've really got a headache man

Leo's mum : Is leo teething? How long has this been going on? Many of us do experience this when the kids are teething. usually if that's the case, I'll give ju whatever he wants. Be it ice-cream, cheese, bread.. .. I will trial and error till he eats a fair bit. For ju, usually he will fast for about 1 week then back to normal. If he doesn't wanna chew, boil some soup. Huai San is known to help increase appetite. Just add in 1 pc into the soup to boil.

There are appetite stimulant but I don't think you wanna give right...

Xav mum : How's Xav? Feeling better?

Hi dear mummies &amp; little ones!

Greetings from Chewys! Miss you all!

We are doing fine in China.Was touring in China for past months. Elliot enjoyed his first snowball here as it snowed unexpectedly early in Nanjing. He's adapting well and enjoys classes at Gymboree here. The lessons are conducted in English. However, the instructors are very loud... we are not used to the China's loudness heehee. We got him prepared for winter but I forgot about myself.. hahaha. Was down with stomach flu for a week here and it's bad experience getting sick in China.

Thanks to a few mums here for your wonderful gifts for Elliot, they are all in good use :p

Here's wishing:
- Xav to recover soon, babe u can try these:
1) Cook Chinese pears with honey = gd for cough
2) Cook apples with ying2 er3 = gd for cough &amp; removing toxins in body
- ranting babe to get well soon &amp; congrats!
- leo to regain his appetite ( Leo's mum Huai san is good, or maybe just keep repeating leo's fav food but in different forms. Elliot loves egg so I try to intro any new food with some egg.)
- scubabe, enjoy ur dinner :D

chewy : Hope you are recovering already ! snuggle up in more thicker clothing ok ?

Thanks for your recipe ! Shall try it ! Do post some pics here for updating yah ! Missed Elliot and your company !

chewy - thanks. the huai san can buuy from chinese med hall? oh dear! hope you don't get sick again. you look after elliot on your own over there?

hey chewy! long time no hear! so happy to hear that you are settling well there. Must take care of yourself there, the cold can be really harsh. Good to know elliot is doing great too! so sad China still cannot go on facebook right?