(2008/04) April 2008

vonvon, too bad that we're not on the same cruise. This trip we did not bring along my gal cos my HB said this will be a trip for me to really rest before i go back to work. Is quite sad tat i cant bring along my gal but also a good chance for me to take a short break. =)

violet
so envy!! me no patho with hubby since my #1 came & now with #2, lagi no time
do enjoy & hv a really good break!!

calamari and koori, can share what pedipeds design your gals wearing? maybe the stiffness of the leather depends on design? Adel's is pdipeds originals Abigail-Pink and the leather is really stiff lor.. i do remember some of the designs have softer leather but ku-ku me went more for looks the last time, though expensive shoes for toddlers sure no problem.. Who knows..

Me thinkng of getting pediped flex, but didn't really check it out at Metro the last time when I bought my pair, so dunno if flex is better?

hello lynn, Kayla's Pediped Originals is Isabella White. Leather looks the same. Perhaps its just like diapers, different brands suit different babies ;)

Violet : Congrats ! Found your job already ! I'm still playing the waiting game ... ...

Think gonna pay the career fair a visit this sat.

vonvon: They do serve plain porridge in the Mediterrean cafe. I gave X porridge an cornflakes from there.

Not much issue for their food. Maybe you can just standby pigeon instant food or grab some marigold full cream milk for the meals.

Chinese Restaurant most of the meals comes with rice and soup. Not to worry so much ya.

thanks calamari, me thinking of ordering flex from BP. cos originals not waterproof (going to be rainy season soon) and i find them very slippery on some surfaces in shopping centres etc. for the most part they're ok but real slippery on some..

i do remember the Katelyn being the soft type of leather, but Metro carries limied colours for this design..

Hi babes,
Sorry for the late reply. Sthg wrong with my login last nite. All posted msg not up.

jules' mum,Angel,Violet,prawnie,scubababe:
It was great fun at polliwogs! Wow... quite siong ah. A workout for me, heng daddy chewy was there! Polliwogs more spacious then Bambini, wish they hv a cafe there too. Love the little sofas for the babies!!! Elliot felt so "at home" with all the mini-mes, hahaha! The outdoor pirate ship looks great but too bad it was raining... Oh Elliot loves the slides and once he was so excited that he overshot the slide and almost fell. Luckily, we had 1 parent following in front and back of him. Yesterday was gd, only ard 10 ang moh kids dashing around.They have playgroups there too. All days except wednesday.

Jules' mum: hugs to Ju... oh dear is he teething? Or sometimes they hv nitemares. Elliot can wake up suddenly too recently. Last nite he woke up and found daddy not back.. he said "beat daddy" hahaha

Baby rashes
Any babies had red, raised bumps like mosquitoes' bites before? Elliot had such rashes on his cheeks 3 days ago. It subsided but those on the knees came back. There was a few on his knees around 0.5cm2 each and it was not red unless scratched. They flared up and became big patches, feeling a little hot after the polliewogs. Suspected the high socks made it worse. They travelled to his ankles too. This morning was better with the redness subsided but the bumps travelled to the thighs. *worried*

xav (xavs_mummy)
ya, i heard abt the chinese porridge at M. restaurant. thanks for the infomation. with that,i need not worry abt his food. i was thinking to bring more milk + bisuit for him during cruise. heng, no need to trouble on his meal.

Violet Ng (lxmxbb)
ya, very romantic to have hubby and urself out for a short holiday, u will feel recharge when u come back and start the new work all fresh. it will be good for u to relax a while before work start....hope u have a good trip! oh ya, me will be having day tour @ KL too, so looking forward too...never been to KL..wow suaku...!

Chewy,
Might be hives... what old people say 'hong mo'... I also dunno what to do with it the last time brought yan to PD coz PD say rashes and such raised bumps they have to see and evaluate...

Amy: thks babe! I was afraid it was roseola at first ... so many variants these few days as I let him eat home cooked adult food, then he fell in a garden grass patch, change new shampoo & bath gel... gosh! TMC finally ans my call so going to bring him to c Dr Ong tml. Cannot imagine when I am in China. Nearest Raffles Med is in Shanghai!!

Lynn - mine also abigail but lilac color....tik its depends on indl. wat size u bought? Mine is 18-24m one, my ger big foot. hehee.

Angel - i saw on Carpe Diem website that there's one outlet opening in Oct 09 in Alexandra, but duno where exactly it is, u have any idea? Tik tmr i call to check.

koori - the one opening in Oct at Alexandra is suppose to be quite near the one at Royal Road. We also called and ask abt it. But angel said that she was told only the N2 - K2 will move there. Toodlers still at the old premise.

Hi koori

yes I met with CD Principal Lynn and she confirmed there will be no toddler class in the new outlet. She explained it's a double-storey bungalow and they will build special facilities to cater to the older ones. As for whether they will renovate this old premise, they have no concrete plans yet that's why I asked Sputnik to help 'push' for it if she's also sending her bb there. More parents greater voice mah. If you can, please help to ask about it too.

Anyway I have run out of leave to care for Dana at home so we would mostly likely be enrolling her there soon even though I've yet to solve my transport prob....sigh.

Chewy, perhaps it's good to bring Elliot to a doc before you depart so you know what to do with the hives. Keep us updated ya?

Amy, do you know what caused hives? Hubby got it before and we dunno how it developed...

Chewy : Good to know that Elliot enjoyed himself. Think if I go, I'll have to bring my maid or ask my hubby to go with me. If not, I'll become siao char bo. Haha.

Ju was still not in good mood. Brought my 9 year old cousin to my house to stay to brighten Ju's days. He was all smiling when he saw my cousin. He didn't eat in the afternoon but during dinner insisted that my cousin have to feed him and he ate alot!

Angel : Hives is sometimes due to allergy. Can be food, dust, pollen. My hubby gets it very often. He will become like michelin. Haha. Chewy, agree with angel that you should bring Elliot to doctor so that you know what to do when you are in china.

Violet : Congrates on your new job! Enjoy yourself on cruise. I'm planning to bring Ju too.

chewy and angle angel, me always get hives on and off leh, very very much worse during pregnancy, can wake up scratching and crying in the middle of the night.

doc said cos i have sensitive skin, dunno what triggers the allergic reaction (hives are frequently caused by allergic reactions although there many non-allergic causes too) and dunno why it's worse during pregnancy. usually it'll go away after taking antihistamine but during pregnancy cannot take so can only endure..

and Adel inherited my sensitive skin cos she has eczema.. hiaz..

i've been suspecting poor air quality as the cause of my allergic reaction, before moving to my current area i seldom have outbreaks, but now frequently.. or maybe it's just age catching up lol.. but really hope to move away from this area eventually..

Chewy,
Maybe you can check if there is any world link hospitals in Nanjing? As long as its not their local hospital can liao. But be prepared as these hospitals are uber ex lor...

Angel,
I dunno what caused hives lei... For yan it started one day when nanny noticed her bumps in the afternoon and nanny told me it started when the wind was blowing *scratch head* so anyway, how is started is still very much a mystery to me...

Amy, haha ya old people belive when get hives get not let the wind blow onto the body or it'll spread or worsen.

i can personally attest that there's no such thing, cos when i was young and got my first episodes of hives my mum tot so too then wrapped me up and used lemongrass/ginger etc to bath based on traditional remedies and still it didn't improve. so my mum declared mine's not the 'hong-mo' lol

dear mummies! SOS- my right cheeks are swollen and very painful; the swelling only started last night even though I've been having headache 2 days before. I think I might have mumps!
Now my top worry is Dana might catch it as mumpes are infectious anytime from 3 days before symptoms appear to 9 days after
Really glad I didn't make it to Polliwogs yday. Dana hasn't got her MMR jabs yet and today the usual PD we go is closed....any good clinics in Clementi/Sunset area Koori? Please help pray for protection on my family (esp Dana) ya? I gotta see the doc soon once the day brightens, it's so painful I can't sleep at all!

Angel : How r u now? Hope you getting better...

Xav & Jules' Mum : Thanks. I shld thanks my fren cos she's the one introducing the job to me. =)

Vonvon : Thanks.
Hope you enjoy your trip too.. Me also haven go to KL b4 only take couch pass by nia.. Hehe.. This is also my 1st time on cruise so is quite excited too.. =)

Chewy : Glad that you and Elliot enjoy the fun at Polliwogs. I'm looking forward to it when I'm back from my short trip.

Oh no Angel, hope its not too serious. I was previously recommended the below PD at Bukit Timah Plaza although have not tried before but heard good reviews. Want to try?

DOROTHY'S BABY & CHILD CLINIC (TEL : 6468 9803)
Mon – Fri : 10am – 12.30pm
Mon : 3 – 7pm, Tue, Wed, Fri : 2.30 – 5pm
Thu : 5 – 7pm
Sat : 9.30am - 12.30pm
1 JALAN ANAK BUKIT #02-20 BUKIT TIMAH PLAZA

Angel - i used the PD at Spore baby & child clinic in gleneagles.

Tel : 6235-6706 (Medical center - level 7 (1st clinic u see when lift open)
Look for Dr. William Yip or YY YIp.

Angel/ Spuntik - so the new one at alexandra is just nearby the existing haha. I tot there's another one thats more convenient. keke.

Angel - btw, which area are u working? So u stopped gg to Littleskool? My fren mention that Littleskool playground is public area, isist true?

Angel, you got fever as well? one of the symptoms of mumps is fever. probably you are just too heaty. maybe drink more water and put some "watermelon" powder on the swollen area.

mummies who went polliwogs, is the place accessible by public transport? not familiar with east coast leh...

mummies who already brought your children to CC. how do you accompany your children during the first few days? i am sending my Jax to CC next month... and he is starting one month earlier than the usual 18 months. I am very scared of his reactions. got one mummy's gal vomitted and cried at night after she went to CC...

angel, hope you're feeling better. my sis got mumps when she was young but no else else in my family caught it from her, hope Dana stays in the clear

artist, Adel also going CC at 17 months (plus a few days).. I am prob going to phase her in over one month, first few days stay there with her, and leave before naptime. then second week prob leave her there half day and bring her back before nap and then third week let her nap and bring her back after nap and then 4th week she'll be full day there. That's my plan, but gotta discuss with the principal there too. think she can sense my anxiety, so she never also assure me i can take my time to phase Adel in.. but the principals of the CCs whom i've spoken to all say crying is very normal and part of the adjusting process, if got choice of cos they wanna stick to us lor. and nightmares are also common in the beginning.

but they all stressed that we mummies must feel confident, if not the babies sense our anxiety will be worse off and take longer to adjust and settle. so i guess we have to be strong for them and provide them with the stability during this period of change for them.. jia-you!

I suspect Javier have HFMD.....he got ulcers on his tongue....some red spots over his body....tonight will be bring him to another doctor for 2nd opinion cos yesterday GP said he just have throat infection...

thanks for your concern. sorry couldn't log in earlier cos not feeling well. We had a bad scare thought it was mumps but turned out it's Temporal Mandibular Joint Tendonitis (Swelling of Jaw Joints) caused by impact. Think injury might be caused by few nights ago Dana fell onto my face while jumping on the bed
The pain has gotten more excruciating than when I first saw doc this morning so I'll be heading to clinic again before it closes.
Sigh, glad that it's not mumps but suffering too cos of the pain & swelling, can't eat anything!

Koori, LSH got no playground leh...yes we've decided to withdraw Dana from LSH cos the Indian P there not mature enough to take feedback. We questioned her on why she continues to take in kids who have yet to fully recover in this H1N1 period and she raised her voice at my hubby over the phone!
Will share with you more when there's a chance.

Also, we rushed Dana to the polyclinic for her MMR jab which made her wailed so miserably, think super painful
Btw MMR is given free at polyclinics, if your bb hasn't got it, better dun risk it cos for e.g. Mumps may lead to meningitis. Check this website for more info : http://www.nhgp.com.sg/contentview.aspx?article_id=498

Koori and mummies, did any of your bbs develop fever after MMR? Please share your experiences so I know what to expect. Thanks

calamari & koori, thanks for your clinic contact, I'll keep for future reference. It's good to have backup clinics in case of emergencies.

Hoon, hope it's not HFMD...

Hi calamari
Just GP yesterday....tonight I will bring him to PD at my area but I was thinking shall I go to KK or TMC ...
last week I brought him go swimming with fren's kids, one of them suffer from HFMD after 2 days but hopefully mine is negative cos its been many days since the swim.

Angel,
glad that you are ok and hope you will recover soon.

may i know whether you just changed from PD to Polyclinic for Dana's jabs? if so, when did you switch? i am thinking of taking my boy to polyclinic for jabs to save some cost.. ;p

Angel - am glad u ok, phew! Please share with me more on LSH cos its one of my shortlisted ones.

For MMR - Monitored kaylen for 9 days, she did not develop any fever. Hope Dana goes through smoothly.

Hi artist,

we usually bring Dana to our PD at Sunset way for vaccinations but today they are closed and out of desperation, we headed for polyclinic. It doesn't matter when you switch as long as you bring the health booklet along for recording purposes.

Koori, maybe I call you tonight or something to tell you more. Btw, was the MMR jab on the left arm or thighs? My PD usually give shots on the thighs but the nurses at the polyclinic insist it must be administered on the arm
may leave a visible mark in future right?

Chewy: Yeah ! Glad tt you guys enjoyed @ Polliwogs! Hope E went to the PD ? Hope his bumps have subsided! Hugs to Elliot !

Violet: Good ! I'm looking out for jobs too. Do let me know if you have normal office hours job to recommend.

Angel: Do take care ya ! Hope your pain goes away soon !

Artist: The cabs or cars can be drive straight into the carpark. Normally I will drop infront of burger king, cut thru it. Polliwogs is just beside there.

Just to share, I'm more relief today. After passing Xavier to the teacher, though he made some noise but he did not cry anymore like he used to be. Guess he took about 3 weeks to get adjusted to the teachers and environment.

angel - the indian P showed us around when we went to take a look at the LSH at Ulu Pandan. She seems pretty young, but I guess this may mean that she is not very experienced. How can she raise her voice to your hubby?? That's too much. As parents, of cos we are concerned and give feedback if we feel that something is not right.

re : childcare centres
Read that some cc are only $100-$300+ after the subsidy. Any idea why there is such a great difference in price? Like the carpe diem that I'm considering is abt $700 after subsidy, and some are more than $1000+.

Sputnik, you got it right. The Indian P is young and lack the maturity and experience to handle parents' feedback professionally. My hubby has written to the GM of LSH Chain who apologised for her behaviour. However we no longer can entrust our daughter to a CC who's led by such a Principal so we are giving Carpe Diem a try. Lynn, the CD Principal is a mother of 3, so she may be able to understand our concerns better.

I am also baffled why some CC rates are so cheap...maybe these are the HDB Void Deck setups run by PAP?

angel - my collegue is sending her son to CD, not sure which one it is, but shld be near CCK. She says she is only paying $340 after subsidy and she already thinks it is quite expensive! But I think maybe it is located at void deck...

angel, sputnik: I understand that different branches of the same brand cc charge differently. E.g. Eton House at Vanda is cheaper than the one in town.

on charges of CCs, really varies a lot, but i think ave abt $400 after subsidy? i searched and some really so cheap but i have not visited so cannot comment on why there's such a vast diff. My girl's CC also abt $700 after subsidy leh.

just to share, my latest buy.. Ikea's play kitchen to replace the electronic one Adel has, cos I'm so in love with wooden toys lah, so i sold off her existing set and bought this Ikea one. considered cheap for wooden kitchen, less tha $200 for the set and sturdy too, plus lots of storage for her playfood and flatware

2836281.jpg

she's really excited to see a life-like sink and tap, since she's obsessed with throwing the dishes into the sink and watching me wash up, and also helping me to open and close my kitchen cabinets (gotta distract her with mini tasks while i try to get her meals cooked)..