(2008/04) April 2008

Good day mummies

Sputnik and Koori, we made an impromptu visit to Carpe Diem this morning on the way home after renting some toys for Dana at Pasir Panjang and I love the rustic environment! There's open space for kids to roam, lots of greenery and even rabbits and chickens for them to feed. Only reservation is the classrooms look old and very small but the tchr told us they might be renovating the whole center in Dec. Fees wise, it's a little more expensive than LSH even though it's non-aircon. But hubby feels non-aircon might be better for kids. We might put Dana there for a 2 weeks' trial (fees payable) before we decide. Koori, wanna let Kaylen join Dana in the trial? Transportation wise, after sending Dana, I'll take a feeder bus to Queenstown MRT and head on to work.

Mummies, besides Polliwogs, my friend recommended me another playgym at Liang Court - http://www.roycekidsgym.com/content.htm Looks quite new and has different activities from Polliwogs so am keen to try it one day. Maybe we can set it as our next outing?

angel - do you know how much are the charges for royce kids? I seem to remember seeing somewhere that they have a one time registration charges and thereafter pay each time you go.

When you planning to send dana for the trial at carpe diem? Do update us how it goes ;-) will be great if they are planning to renovate the whole place. Wow, must not be easy sending dana via public transporation, the place is pretty inconvenient to get to.

Angel - oh can trial 2weeks one ah, when u starting? I only plan to start early prob when she's 24mths or older. Btw ur feeder bus taking from where? I know the busstop damn far, tik have to stop outside hortpark busstop walk over, sweat!

Currently I'm using the pigeon mag mag cup with straw, anyone has other similar cup to recommend, cos the mag mag starting to leak. I remember someone said they using a dora one which does not leak, any idea wat brand is it? Thanks!

Angel : I wanna go Royce too! Last month brought Ju there with my hubby. they had this funny rule of only letting 1 adult in with the baby. I was asked to sit outside. ( because of the H1N1) Can't even stand at the counter and it's a weekday. There's only 2 other babies inside. In the end, we went home.

Sputnik : You need to pay membership of $5o. As for the straw cup, the dora's one is by Muchkin. I think the Muchkin one is good as it's bigger. The pigeon one holds too little water to last even for 1 meal. At home, I prefer to use disposable straw. Lazy to wash. Haha.

RE: Pollieswogs

Elliot & I be going! Wednesday is good for us too. Gonna have more local outings for him before we stay overseas for a year

HI babes, been missing in action as I have been busy with the preps for relocation. A year in China is not long but having to prep for a kids, esp for winter, can be pretty hands full hahahaha!

Looks like most of the mums here are preparing our young ones for cc or some playgroups. I will still be "home schooling" Elliot :p! Shall miss meeting you all

I'm available on Tuesday too.. Let's see which day is most convenient for all mummies then i follow your all la, except Monday.. Hee...

mummies- anyone interested in little neuro tree @ toa payoh 9-10am. they are having a promotion, usual fee $600, now $450 for 12 lesson. they need another 2 more to start a new class in oct. pm me if interested.

i am switching my son from shichida.

polliwogs outing

shall we fix on thursday? mummies who can join, pls add on your names

serene123
jules'mum
xav
jamie
violet??
chewy??

sputnik: think i recommended the Munchkin Dora hahha. So far no leak at all and altho no handles, so far my daughter no effort holding it. Only drawback is after dismantling to wash, takes some skill to fix back the straw haha.

Polliwogs outing

Mummies, I just found out that thursday and friday is PSLE oral so P1 to P5 having holiday!!! Do you think it will be crowded? I don't mind wednesday. I'll just skip 1 week of Kindermusik. hehe.

Maro : Can go or not?

Hi Angel, is the chewable vitamins still available? If yes, i take it. Instead of candies, can give the vitamins :p

Hi caitlin, i'm using Bros too, the whales design. But bad thing is we cant remove the strap when we need to wash the bottle, so the strap will be wet too. Otherwise, its good..i found the replacement straws in KL and saw the straps too. Cant remember if i saw in in SG. Any idea? I bought a rubbermaid elephant design too, but cons is we gotta turn the straw right to the back then can sip, angle problem...
I will try the Munchkin too....hee

good morning Mummies

mummyfel, glad to know your boy likes the multi-vits! Dana loves it to chew it too esp since she's teething

Vonn, I've one bottle left. If you want, must make arrangement to self-collect from my home in Clementi asap.

Polliwogs outing on Wed/Thursday - what time to meet? I suggest 2pm so the kiddos can play for 2-3hours and we head home before the evening peak hours.

Carpe Diem (Off Alexandra Rd) - just called the Principal. Sounded quite young and not too friendly. She explained the trial's not a trial, the child has to be fully enrolled in their centre first then if really can't adapt for whatever reasons, they'll refund 2 weeks' worth of sch fees upon withdrawal but registration fees unrefundable. Also when I gave feedback that their classrooms are quite run down, she was rather defensive and said they can't change the structure; moreover the kids move around all the day, not confined to room etc. Sigh....now in dilemma as the right CC is impt
need to pray for wisdom...

<font color="ff0000">RE: polliwogs outing</font>

serene123
jules'mum
xav
jamie
violet??
chewy <font color="0000ff">(prefers wednesday since thursdays is a sch holiday)</font>

angel...where u buy ur multi vits ah? i yet to try such chewable gummy...wonder my boy will accept bo... can let me know.. hehee..

actualli i walk past Nature Farm and saw they selling those gummy too...duno suitable anot..any mummies tried? issit nice?

oh ya...i just realised last week that my mum let my boy chew a small pc of mentos fruit!

chewy...WOW! then u alot of things to pack leh...

RE: polliwogs outing

serene123
jules'mum (prefers wednesday since thursdays is a sch holiday)
xav
jamie
violet??
chewy (prefers wednesday since thursdays is a sch holiday)

thanks Amy!! hehee... ai... nvm lar... let him eat rubbish lor... so far he very picky about baby food... adult food "eyes" till drool...

sob...

choc : Ju also la. We totally dun bother about baby food already. not even porridge. Last friday he dun wan his steam chicken thigh. he eyed our roti prata with curry. haha. No choice we gave him roti prata for dinner lor.

Mummies, I just called Polliwogs. Wanted to get some bulk discount. They are having this promotion where we pay $39.90 for 6 visits and it's transferable. Meaning if we have 6, all 6 of us only need to pay $6.65.

jules....talking about roti prata... i fed him with a bit of it last weekend...initially happily chewing..then give a few more he spit out.. haiz....
notti boy

serene123
xav
jamie
violet

calamari - haha, yeah, seem to remember that you were the one who recommended the dora. No handles is ok, my gal also dun use handles when she uses the mag mag cup.

angel - my hubby was the one who called the carpe diem previously, must ask him if the person he spoke to sounded friendly. Will ask him to check on the reno plans when he call again. We did not meet the principal when we visited last week as she was not around. Will also ask my friend who has 2 kids there how issit when I meet up with her later this month.

Jules' mum, great to have the bulk discount. Makes it more worthwhile
I'm so tempted to join you mummies on Wed!

Sputnik, apparantly, CD has acquired a new building near its exisiting premise and will convert it to childcare too but only the N2 - K2 will move there. Toddlers still in this old premise. I met up with the P this morning. She's nicer in person and was patient with my queries. I think we might enroll Dana there as hubby thinks Non-AC will be better for kids' health but in our half an hour there, Dana was already sweating profusely cos the weather these days are so hot and humid! I had a feel at the uniform too, gosh, very thick leh...think Dana will have hard time adjusting in the 1st 2 weeks, no AC in the classrooms, no AC in canteen, no AC everywhere!

angel - yeap, we also spoke to the P abt their new premises which is suppose to open later this year. So it is only for N2 to K2? I'm also quite concerned abt the heat, cos now the weather already considered to be cooler compared to May and Jun, can you imagine how hot it will get in those months? My gal also quite sensitive to heat.

So when you going to start Dana there? Haha, if I decide on CD as well, they may end up being classnmates next year!

The pat schoolhouse behind pandan valley condo actually within walking distance from my in laws place, my hubby emailed them sometime back and I think they said they only take in from 3 years onwards, not sure if we got the right message cos after that did not really follow up. Anyone else checked there as well?

hi leo's mum, pat's schoolhouse's fees are a lil too steep for us as I'm on PT work...but they have excellent curriculum. Do check it out.

Sputnik, we might enrol her in Sept or Oct. Yes hopefully she and Isabelle can be classmates! Let's try to rally for the current CD to be renovated for the little tods.
Another thing i worry abt is mozzie bites as it's housed in a lush forest estate...i'm quite a worry-freak sometimes, sigh....

Choc, regarding the Multi-Vits, the stocks are from USA. If you want, can PM me.

serene123
xav
jamie
violet
angel - prefers 2pm slot (wed or thurs is fine)

angel - oh, you working PT also? Me too, I'm working from Mon - Thurs :) Will ask my friend if there is mozzie problem there when I meet up with her. Dun worry, all of us are worry freak when it comes to our kiddos. Even tho i planning to put her there only when she is 2, i already start worrying whether she will be happy there or will she be looked after properly.

angel
u can apply insect repellent if u worried abt mozzie bites. i just changed to a non aircon school for my elder gal, the school is also very nature type. if dana is on full day, usually the teachers will reapply for her again after shower. so u dont hv to worry much lah.

haha yah Jamie, I know I will spend lots of $$$ on repellant once she starts her school there! Once brought Dana along when we brought our pet dog to the vet at Mt Pleasant and she got bitten by mozzies! The bites were so nasty and inflammed that caused her so much discomfort and they're still slightly visible on her skin now, that's why I'm so paranoid cos I hate mozzie bites myself!

Sputnik, you only putting her in CC when she's 2? That's so much better for them cos their immunity is already more developed and advanced...but we have no other alternatives...

angel - ya, only planning to start her when she is 2, but thot better to start soucing early cos heard that some need to enrol real early if not no space. Currently my MIL is taking care of her, quite ok cos my MIL is an ex pri school teacher, so also teaching her stuff.

sputnik: the Pat's at Pandan Valley only take in 3 years old and above. The one at Jubilee takes in toddlers 18 months and above. Me also like u, plan to only put bb at halfday cc after 2 years old
And yes, must register early. I registered Kayla at Pat's at Jubilee for Apr 2010 and the principal told me its the last 2 slots liao. Dunno whether true or not.