(2008/04) April 2008

xav & jules mum

jio me too leh, weekdays of coz

Can I join in the group? I've been a silent reader for quite sometime cos I don't have much things to contribute to the discussions so far.... Let me introduce myself.

My girl, Sara, was born on 28 April. I recently took no pay leave from work to spend more time with Sara and most likely will return to work next yr. I stay at Bt Panjang and I'm a very lazy mummy so my girl has never went for any class or indoor playground etc. The only playground she went to is the one below our block of flats hehe...

potty train: my boy is potty trained for poo poo...
using those cheap cheap potty from ikea and the red round one (given for wedding) leh..

so far so good... when ask he wan poo poo..he will willingly sit on potty leh...

tink got to slowly intro ba

my 3 mth old baby kept crying during some feeds, after he made a few sucking. he previously had diarrhea and was placed on pre-digested milk. now he is on soy milk and could only switch back to cow's milk on this Friday. he doesnt seem to have throat/ear infection, neither he has oral thrush... Do you know wat is happening?

artist, so sorry to hear about your feeding problem with your newborn. did you check with your PD already?

me gonna give up on the FP potty, still brand new cos she has thus far refused to use it
think gotta go potty-shopping this weekend.. gotta get the little princess to 'try' her throne. with this girl really many pricey trial-and-errors!

Lynn, i havent brought him to see PD. prob seeing PD next week when i bring him for jab. i really hope he is not having any infection but a growth spurt as he is like hibernating... kept wanting to sleep!

Lynn : Thanks for the sites. I'll keep it.

Xav, Jaime : When u wanna go.. I dun mind leh. Anyone else wanna join us? Weekday will be good.

Artist : Does he arc his back when drinking? Is it reflux? Ju had reflux.

my son just asked for milk n had it peacefully.. seems like he is cranky n sleepy during morning. other times, he is alert n likes to play. no signs of fever too...

joelle/jules'mum, he earlier had throat infection but already given antibiotics leh. also teat up-sized... dun think its reflux cuz no sign of vomitting/arching n i have been giving him colic drops... haiz... tat's why im quite puzzled. dunno wat is happening

leo's mum, me going for trial at MyGym this weekend. have you been to their trial? really excited, hope Adel will enjoy the trial so daddy will sign up willingly, cos hubby he is already grumbling abt the possible weekly commute to great world city..

caitlin, i found the ingredients list on Nature's Way Sambucus for Kids.. maybe i'll reserve it for when Adel catches a cold

Proprietary Blend (Echinacea angustifolia (root) and Echinacea purpurea (flower) liquid extract; Propolis

Talking abt childcare centres, today I visited some of them, cos planning to send my gal when she 2 years old. Would like to know wat some of you think :

Carpe Diem Kidz
No aircon, single storey building surrounded by nature - trees, open space, rear ducks, rabbits, chickens, grow fruit trees. But place looks quite old and run down tho. Student teacher ratio is 1 : 6.

Little Skoolhouse
Indoor aircon environment, place is newer. Student teacher ratio is 1 : 8

Altho non aircon is good for the kids, but the teachers look more tired at the carpe diem one, probably cos it is warmer. School fees is abt the same for both, the little skoolhouse is more convenient cos nearer my MIL place as she will be the one sending my gal.

Which one would you choose? Or any other recommendations for cc around Ghim Moh/Holland V area?

Also visited Lorna Whiston pre school, place is nice with their own land area but pretty expensive, so probably will not consider that.

sputnik, i'd prefer non-aircon cos like u say, better for the kids. but then some months like now no aircon really suffer man!

what time did you visit the place? have to look at the interaction between the teacher and kids and how the relate. and most importantly if you're comfortable with the principal and teachers..

i'd prefer a place with lots of outdoor space and nature for the kids to explore, but that's just me cos i'm sorta a tree-hugger and really missed my grandma's 'kampung' when i was very very young.. loads of fond memories of a very very big dog, kittens, chicken and guava even though i dun even know how old i was (so must be super young!)

sputnik

learning vision at Biopolis...but is full when my fren check for Feb 2010 intake... Singapore poly got Kinderland (newly open jus a few months)...non aircon..i haven go c..i go little skool hse c before, don like..

for kinderland...ratio is 2:8, if i not wrong as heard from my fren..and c the brochure i receive when they newly open, is all outdoor activities etc..seem not bad...u may go take a look.

Kea - can share wat isist u don like abt Little Skool house?

Kinderland - i haven go check out the place. haha, so slow........

Spuntik - Carpe Diem Kidz is the one near Alexandra hotpark rite? Building seems old but how is the envt inside?

koori

i go during sat...so there is 1 teacher looking aft a few kids..i don like e way they handle leh..like when kids run ard, they jus say stop and pull their arms and ask them sit dw...hmmm..i dunno la, maybe becoz all along is my mum who look aft, i cant stand e way stranger handle my own kid in that way...so is my own views..so i not putting my son so early..maybe only at 3yrs..coz to me, now, is more like childcare ,than learning class....my mum helping me, so i don have to rush...

Hi Sputnik,

my girl's attending LSH's infantcare at Ulu Pandan Bldg, she'll progress to the toddler class in 2 months'time if no change. We like the teachers and the clean, bright and cheery environment. Dana's been there since she was 5months' old and the teachers have done a good job in caring for her. Dana loves going to school very much
However when we put bbs in CC, we have to be mentally prepared that they do fall ill more frequently (due to the exposure to more kids and irresponsible parents who sent their unwell kids to school before they fully recover!)

As for Kinderland at SP, hubby and I visited last month and almost freaked out. It's not newly opened (been opened since 1996). It's housed in the ground floor of their SP staff apts, few units loosely converted to CC. Faciltiies, toys and posters are old and peeling, lights dim and dingy and whole place not well-kept. When we visited, the kids were left alone to sing to a CD player and they look sad and unkempt! Although the fees are much cheaper than LSH (non-aircon) and it's just stone's throw away from my home, we will not put Dana there.

As for Carpe Diem Kidz, we haven't visited. I like the fact that there are animals but you mentioned it's run down? Transportation wise, also quite inconvenient unless I drive...

We enquired at LV at Biopolis but the toddler class is full and has long waiting list. So is the MOE one.

We visited Pat's schoolhouse at Jubilee Rd too. Its curriculum for toddlers is good (teach phonics) but fees are the steepest among all and we can't go in to visit the faciltiies due to H1N1. You may want to pay a visit.

artist
mebe his throat has just healed so was a little sore. or like u said, since he's a sleepyhead maybe he is disgrunted at having to drink cos he's hungry, yet still wanna sleep. glad he is drinking well now. wow can't imagine holding a 3M old little precious! i'll bet u look at your little one and your big one in amazement all the time - how fast they grow!

Kea – just called kinderland, they said that the ration is 1:8. Full day is $908.50 before the subsidy. Actually many people recommend to start sending at 2 years old, cos they dun learn much staying at home anymore and need more stimulation and exposure to other things. Even tho my MIL is a retired teacher is helping me look after her, I would prefer to send her to cc when she reaches 2 years old.

Koori – Yeah, the Carpe Diem Kidz is the one near Hort Park. Was recommended by a friend who sends her 2 kids there and she says it is pretty good, hence went to take a look. Building is quite old, but inside seems ok. Kids seem to be having fun at lessons, except the toddler class which was quite quiet cos I guess probably they still young and it was around 4pm+ so almost end of the day.

Angel – how much u paying for LSH? Cos the one I went to yesterday at Ulu Pandan CC (is this the same one u sending your gal? It is at Ghim Moh), the school fees is abt the same as the kinderland at SP, $600+ for full day after the subsidy. I also enquired abt Pat Schoolhouse near Pandan Valley, but they don’t take in kids below 3 years old.

sputnik

i think is really up to individual to c when to start.. most important is be comfortable with the envoirnment etc... coz my mum is a nanny before i deliver, so i c the kids she look aft, go school early, come back keep falling sick, lack of slp, drink cold drink, although i must admit, they do learn things in school, but i would prefer my son to be healthy most 1st... and also there kids to play with my son, also my dad bring him out everyday...so shld be ok la...i will put him until i found a school i am comfortable with...coz i cant be in sch , 24/7 to monitor.

Sputnik, currently the infantcare fees we pay per month (after subsidy) is $950(full day). Once she promotes to toddler, it's $670 (I think). Kinderland fees are cheaper by $100+. Pat's Schoolhouse has one center at Jubilee Road (along AYE), they accept tods from 18mths onwards. Maybe I should pay Carpe Diem a visit too.

Angel: put Dana in Pat's at Jubilee leh then Kayla and her will be schoolmates hehe! I have reserved a place there and will start Kayla there for halfday when she is abt 28 months.

Sputnik,
just for info.... MCYS'requirement for CC teacher to child ratio is 1:8

have you checked the MCYS website, u can search for the list of cc near your hse. u can also view the cost n lang/food offered.

Angel - since Kinderland so 'jialatz' then i don need to check out although its quite near my house. MOE learning vision is for MOE staff only, pity. MOE biopolis haven check it out but now knew that its full, sigh. Maybe can check out carpe since its middle of my house & workplace but no busstop nearby bit inconvenient.

Koori: actually I didn't check ard about other school's fees cos had only shortlisted Pat's, Lorna Whiston and Gracefields. In the end decided on Pat's cos its near to my place. Left the form at home but recall its abt $950+ for half day. Full day is abt $150 more. After studying what other mummies have posted on other ccs, think Pat's generally abt $200 more. Think also as they are older, the fees get cheaper.

i tot most reputable CCs would run below MCYS requirement.. 1:8 sounds bad..

i think for CCs have to visit during their 'normal' active hours, not like naptime, or near closing time or sat cos we can't get to see how the teachers relate to the kids. angel, i agree with you on observing how the kids look, one CC i visited the kids look a sorry state too! if the environment is good and the teachers caring then the kids should look relaxed and happy but of cos not running amok like some CCs i visited too.

kea, if i saw any teacher shouting at the kid and grabbing the arm it's definitely out for me. for CCs really the standards vary very much, so gotta find one that you feel comfortable with.

i visited most of the CCs in my area before settling for one, and really i've seen too many examples of how kids should not be handled and too many teachers who are so fake and change their tunes and smile wildly when we pop in. so much so that the kids are left looking rather bewildered at the sudden change in their teacher's temperament.

lynn - maybe should peak at wat the teachers do when no visitors around, i strongly believe in the change of attitude when we pay visits, mayb really have to look at signs.

Xav and mummies, have fun on your outings at Polliwogs. Wear something comfy and sporty cos you need to accompany your tods to climb up and down and oh, rem to bring socks too for yourself and kiddo
Can imagine the place to be jam-packed on weekends so Mon's a wise alternative.

If I can spare the time, will join you again next time cos Dana really loves it there. Also thought can bring her cycling cos ECP's really nice on weekdays.

Calamari, did consider Pat's but find the fees a bit steep. Paid infantcare for a year plus, now time to save a bit

Lynn, most CC operate at MCYS's requirement so for Toddler class, ratio is 1:8. If lower, then it's a bonus for parents. I also find 1:8 not ideal esp since toddler class age group ranges from 18mth - 34mth! Big difference in their devt needs and skills.

Koori, ya Carpe Diem a bit inaccessible by public transport...think only for those parents who can drive to send/fetch their kids. That's why difficult for me too cos I take Public transport to work in the mornings...sighz.

artist - yeap, am aware that MCYS'requirement for CC teacher to child ratio is 1:8, but like Lynn says, thot the better ones would run below MCYS requirement. Also prefer to go by recommendation to better gauge which cc is good instead of searching via the MCYS webby :)

Just went Polliwogs today and was there from 4pm - 7pm, pretty fun and my gal enjoyed herself! Will definitely go back the next time I can on a weekday. From 5pm+ onwards, the place emptied out so was very good for her to run around, since my gal still quite young and most of the kids who were there earlier were older than her. Think weekend will be really crowded tho.

xav, did you go back today? I actually can make it on Monday 4pm but no transport there cos hubby working. from Clementi to ECP very far if via cab!

paging for Goodbb, the USANA multi-vitamins you ordered is here. Please reply my emails and come to collect the vitamins as I've already paid on your behalf. If you can't self-collect, please make arrangement with me for postage. Appreciate your reply. Thanks.

I've one spare bottle of the vitamins. Any mummy keen to have it?

hi angel,

just emailed u,sorry for late reply,cos very busy these 2 days,so did not check my email,totally exhausted,any 1 got any cure for back pain?

Joelle,ya! very amazed with the speed the babies grow. just 2 months ago, my little precious' head looked tiny compared to his elder brother's. now his head size is catching up! hehe...

haiz... my little precious still having problem drinking milk though he is slightly better than yesterday... hope this is part of his growing up process...

Koori,
Even if the centre is fully booked, Its still worthwhile to visit coz most centres have their K2 graduating class and therefore by Jan they will have a new class for toddlers i think... So unless you are looking at letting Kaylen join CC by this year or else still can go see see look look.

xav, jaime : this monday i can't leh. going for haircut and eye check up leh. i'll try to change the appt. if not i join another time.
or tuesday?

xav & jules'mum

can we change to wednesday? pai seh coz my hubby may take leave on monday, so its family day. tuesday i cant coz i'm joining my gal on her school field trip.

xav, jules & violet

i just checked my gal's field trip details, its just to watch a play, so i shd be able to make it on tues if u mummies prefer on tues. otherwise wed is fine with me too.
i only met xav, so sure hope to meet up jules & violet

leo'smum
i hv not been there too but its at east coast parkway, walking distance from macdonalds. i think its at the old tennis centre.