(2008/04) April 2008

Luann mummy, I really hope it's just a phase. My 5 yr old nephew is very picky. Till now he dun eat anything. Only eats chocolate, chicken rice, biscuits. Maybe that's why I'm paranoid. I don't mind being small size but just eat la. haha.

Caitlin, I think is echinacea? it cannot be taken daily.

Tratties : maybe that's why your gal not eating well? Hope she's feeling better now. Btw about starving the child, My pd told me to do it too. So that they can regulate. I did it since he was 5 months. There was 1 time he fast for 14 hours! After that he will go back to normal. So, I've been doing this for long long time. Every now and then mothers in the thread will hear me complain my son fast again. Haha.

Artist : my friends all tell me it works but i really dun dare to feed la. I thought of giving him appetite stimulant. but i'm worried he will become obese. i'm 1 good example. I was very skinny (maybe that's why Ju's so skinny) my mum gave me lots of stimulant. I bloat at P4. It's really tough to lose weight now. At that time its a family trend to give appetite stimulant to kids. Most of my cousins on it are obese. My parents are against the idea of stimulant now after seeing what happened to me. hahaha.

My PD told me my hubby is not big either so maybe ju's genetic is small size.

bought Adel to Fidgets over the weekend and she enjoyed herself, but think she can;t really enjoy the place yet cos even for young fidgets corner the parents can't accompany the child up the slide etc..

Anyone knows if gogobambini or similar places can accomodate parents who would like to accompany the chid up the equipment?

<font color="aa00aa">Morning mummies..</font>

caitlin,
it's sambuccus that hv the substance echinacea, cannot be taken daily. I have just started my boy on this and will give him weekly then.. it's very sweet and this blur mummy gives him direct.. he loves it.. haha.. heard can mix with water, will try this wk.. :p

leo's mum,
dont worry too much, maybe like jules' mum say it's the genes.. as long as leo is active, healthy and eating well, shd be ok..

lynn,
i have been to go go bambini (dempsey), explorer kids (downtown east) and peek a book (at kallang leisure mall). these places all can have accompanying adults. guess have to give fidgets a miss, our baby still small, no adults rather dangerous as they are other kids around who may be a little rough.

my boy loves all these places.. for me, i still prefer explorer kids as it's a bigger area and hv more stations for the kids to explore. dont like the lighting at go go bambini, too dark and peek a boo is rather old and not much things.. hope this helps. :p

thanks maro, will check out the places you mentioned

for fidgets, the adult can accompany in the area but unable to go up the structures (for little fidgets) cos it is built really tiny, even if we were to go on all fours also cannot squeeze through lor.. for bambini and explorer kids the adult can go up the structures with the child? i dun mind bending my back, my girl needs encouragement

are they both very crowded on weekends? i went to fidgets on Mon (off-in-lieu for national day) and it was crowded, even for the baby fidgets section..

Lynn : Like wat maro said, I don't like go go bambini too. My friend brings her daughter to polliwogs at east coast. She likes it alot. Weekday is not so crowded according to her.

lynn,
ya.. both can.. the structures are built for adults too so no prob.

most of these places I went on wkday cos wkend sure crowded.. bambini was for a bday party, a sat, also crowded with all the birthday guests..

jules' mum,
polliwogs, will try.. thanks for the recommendation

Jules'mum: Yah i also agree going weekdays to these places are better. A bit paranoid about bringing baby to these places on weekends cos some of my friends' kids have caught viruses from these places as its too crowded. Best is to have own playgroup where you know the parents are responsible.

Hello everyone!
Haven't posted in here in like a million years! How's everyone? Sorry for the long absence. Just started work on a new job and missing my boy at home so much..catching myself spacing out just thinking about him. Am suffering from withdrawal....

Calamari : Ya. I prefer own playgroup too. I'm quite worried about bringing Ju to indoor playground. That's why till now I haven't bring him there. My friend's kid fall ill after going to indoor playground and was hospitalised.
Maybe I'm too paranoid la. I went to Gogo bambini when he was about 5 months (for a friend's daughter's party. I don't like that place. I feel the air quite stale and quite dark. maybe I'm being sensitive la. I went there before they renovated. Maybe now better. hehe.

Hi Steph: How's Justin? I think it takes time to get used to it esp when you stayed with him for so long. Jia you!

Jules' Mum

just let nature takes its own course. think better dun feed Ju the stimulant. maybe just follow wat your PD said... let him starve a while. this is just a growing up phase. we will soon overcome this.
like wat Marco said, health is most important. haha... later on when our children become teenagers, we will start to worry they becoming too fat. haha...

i only brought my Jax to play with the sample toys at Toa Payoh's Kiddy Palace...hehehe... have not really brought him to those prof playgrounds.

Hi Jules,

Justin is good.. just recovered from a bout of coughing and flu. Think that the haze is making lots of kids sick.

Have been to polliwogs and its quite nice but must go on weekdays.. weekends are super crowded.

Hi Maro,

I'm also another blur mummy.. Fed him sambuccus for a week or so. My cousin said it was sambuccus that's ok but saw from the forum that it's sambuccol.

the indoor playgrounds really have irresponsible parents
but that's the only place where they can climb up and down and explore and dev their motor skills, different from playgroup right?

i guess the other alternative is to sign up for baby gym, been trying to convince hubby kekeke.. but not sure if baby gyms would have the structures for them to climb/hang etc.. gotta go for trials i think.. any reviews of the programmes of baby gynms from mummies who have went for trials or are with any baby gyms?

jules' mum,
i went in early aug, i think same le.. does not feel good there too..

caitlin,
actually was recommended by my colleague, but saw from forum so hesitate for a while to give.. anyway, since i bought, gv him lor else will be wasted too. also since just started so give him weekly to try out first.

lynn,
if u looking for purely gyms, can try the JWT kids. we hv our aprl bday bash there, lots of motor skils activities. i attended a birthday celebration at gymboree and have a free trial. will check that out and share again.

Recently very vexed... My nanny who is taking care of Yan wants to look after another baby. The baby will start in Sep and will be about 3-4mths. Which means come Sep, My nanny will be looking after 3 kids at home, her own granddaugther who is coming 4yrs old, yan who will be 18mths and a baby 3-4mths. Though she has her hb to help around at home with the chores and looking after her granddaugther. SOmehow i feel my gal will become the middlechild and will be neglected. So now i want to put her in a childcare centre instead at least she gets to attend classes and learn things though the amt of attention given to her is going to be much lesser... Hb seems to feel that i am making a moutain out of a molehill and that nanny looking after another baby is no major concern...

lynn: yah, that's why I signed Kayla up for baby gyms since a year back, as there are no alternatives where kids are screened before entering. Have been with The Little Gym for 4 semesters. TLG is a professional baby gym with professional gym equipment, different from some of the gyms where there are toys, swings etc. She is in the the Little Birds class of 12 to 18 months and they teach babies self-awareness, body parts, how to fall properly, climbing, obstacle courses, forward/back rolls, hanging on bars, swinging on bars etc. So far I like the instructors and the classes and will continue sending her there as she is very comfortable there and looks forward to the lesson every sunday.

Amy, I personally also agree with you. I will rather put my gal in CC than to a nanny. Afterall I believe kids will learn more in school. If your hb insist of no issue leaving your gal with the nanny, then let him try for few mths to see if there's anytin to concern abt ba. Most guys don't think so much de, they just wan to minimise all MAFAN things.

Amy: cc lah. Perhaps try half-day cc first so transition will not be so abrupt. They get to learn good habits and to be more independent from cc. See whether can delay sending her to cc till she is 24 months.

lynn: forgot to attach the url http://www.thelittlegym.com.sg/. They just opened a branch at Marina Sq. Kayla is with the Forum branch.

By the way, I saw the Little Tikes tricycle you posted yesterday from Aprisin at $59, I saw it at Robinsons for $89. Now make me so tempted to get from Aprisin, hahaha.

calamari, can share how much are the fees are TLG? makes me tempted to go for trial, but hubby finds it very troublesome cos it's in town.. But then you mentioned Kayla's in sunday's class? Good to know they have classes on sunday..

The only gym that's near me is TumbleTots, but timing clashes with Adel's power nap + lunch time.. hiaz..

The Little Tikes tricycle good deal hor.. I saw another webby selling at $69 if I'm not wrong.. Going to get hubby to go down this Sat to have a look.. Her Puky tricycle is still a little big for her right now..

lynn: They have a variety of timings for the Little Birds class on weekdays and weekends. S$52.86 (including GST) per lesson. Another good thing about Sunday lessons is cheaper parking! ;)

Amy - agree with you that perhaps 3 kids would be too much. Any reason why the nanny wants to take in another kid? Maybe like what calamari suggested, half a day first and see how yan yan takes to it?

mummies i have a question on potty training.. how to get the kiddos to sit on potty? now Adel can pee when diaper is off (and i ask her, like before shower or diaper change), but cos it's usually shower time then she just pees standing up. then last week i intro the potty to her tell her 'sshh sshh' sitting down she looked at me weird.. how to re-train her to pee sitting down? she seems bothered by the hole in the potty, like not a solid chair so she feel weird, only dare to sit at the edge..

Hi Lynn and Calamari,

I had the Little Tikes tricycle that you mentioned,and personally I find that it is light and not stable.

The front and the steerng wheel is held together by only a screw cap and a piece of metal.

My son was happily sitting on it and start to roll with his feet, the entire steering wheel came off and he crashed onto the floor and bleed.

and of the bike is now at packed and dumped at one corner.haha

Caitlin &amp; Maro,

Oh dear,didn't know we cant feed sambuccus daily..
I was doing tat for quite a few weeks.Good thing now that i've stopped. Wats the side effect huh?

Maro,
U mentioned giving your boy weekly. Once weekly or twice weekly or ?? Didn't know can dilute with water. Any link which i can read up more on this?

Jules' Mum: Just been to Polliwogs today. Had so much fun !I prefer that as compared to Go-go- Bam. more spacious and less crowded definately on weekdays.

Amy: 3 kids is too much. Think cc is a better option. I believed the amt you're paying is comparable to the cc fees.

For cc, yan can still learn thru their classes there. Slowly transit her from playgroup hrs, to half day then full day.

Depending on individual also, Xav is doing good by the 3rd week. so far, the teachers said no more crying from him and he is much involves with the activities. Kinda like resign to fate.. hahahah..

Xav : I'll go 1 day!!! Hehe. Will go on weekday la.

Amy : I think cc is good idea leh. Anyway u take yan home every night also right. I always think kids in cc are more independent and they pick up things faster. They also learn to share. I think 3 kids is abit too much for 2 person to handle. Furthermore Yan's at the age where need alot of attention as she's mobile. Kids are easily adaptable. I'm sure Yan can do it.

xav mum,
did you do anything to prepare your child to go CC? i am sending my son to CC next month and i tried to talk to him about going to "sch" but he doesnt seem to understand leh...

Amy,
I just had a newborn this May 09 and i myself find it difficult to cope with my 2 sons,esp when they both cry together and wanted me to carry... would your nanny be able to cope then? currently, my mil stayed with me to help taking care of my newborn. come sep 09, i am resuming my work after the long Maternity Leave. i myself already supposed mil couldnt cope. hence, planned to send my son to CC. I think he will be able to learn more things there, compared to staying at home with mil and his baby bro. ;p

Lynn,
my son same as your daughter. when he was trying to poo poo, i quickly use potty to let him sit to poo. but then he got scared and his stools "went back".

anyone already potty trained your child? most of my frens trained their children after 2 years old... but i got one church mate who claimed she trained her daughter once she started to sit up...

lynn - leo's tried JWT, My Gym @great world city &amp; Gymboree. I think JWT &amp; My Gym are both quite good. JWT is cheaper but the location &amp; timings dun suit leo. We may sign up for the My Gym at great world soon.

lynn - leo's tried JWT, My Gym @great world city &amp; Gymboree. I think JWT &amp; My Gym are both quite good. JWT is cheaper but the location &amp; timings dun suit leo. We may sign up for the My Gym at great world soon. oh &amp; the My Gym is HUGE!!!

potty training info -
http://www.babycenter.com/0_potty-training-readiness-checklist_4384.bc?scid=momstodd_20090811:2&amp;pe=2UvBiGI
http://www.babycenter.com/0_successful-potty-training-for-boys_11652.bc?scid=momstodd_20090811:2&amp;pe=2UvBiGI
http://www.babycenter.com/0_the-abcs-of-potty-training_4399.bc?scid=momstodd_20090811:2&amp;pe=2UvBiGI

thanks leo's mum.. i heard good things about MyGym, wanted to sign Adel up when she turned one but unfortunately the branch closest to us moved
so now all the gyms are way out, except tumbletots which is near but the timings are unsuitable..

just spoke to hubby abt signing up for gym, he said to try the tumbletots near us first, if no good then go to the others further away. hmmm, how to con him into going to MyGym trial first? lol

artist, i talked to my girl about going to 'school', she doesn't seem to understand, but sat still and listened to me. quite unusual given and get-up-and-go attitude nowadays..

i think it is too early to potty train lah, but my girl is in a phase of refusing diapers again, scream her head off, last time i managed this with pull-ups cos she didn't want to lie down. now even with pull-ups she'll scream and cry and tug at the diaper after it's on.. makes me really pek chek!

anyway she went diaper-less at home yesterday afternoon, damn happy at her new 'freedom' cos luckily she can now understand 'sshhh sshhh' when i ask her if she wants. but she can't initiate (means tell me she wanna go) yet, or rather i didn't wait and see if she can initiate cos me too scared of accidents! but really headache, she keeps patting the potty when i asked her to sit and just repeating 'sit sit' after me, she'll even bring her baby doll to 'sit' (which reminds me i gotta buy a 'potty' for the baby doll) but she dun dare to sit on it so she'll pee standing up. how ah?

i hope the cc can correct this when she sees many children using the toilet bowl (they have those mini real ones lol)..

Thanks ladies, for the positive comments on sending yan to CC... Actually i very anti-cc one... those who know me will know... but now i really got no choice coz it really seems to be the better option. So i shall work hard at brainwashing my ah lau... The thing is its actually very stressful coz i dun have much time to act and popular CC they dun have alot of vacancies so really hope i can chop one for yan before it is too late...

Re sambucol vs sambucus
Can i check the sambucol that we are discussing about is by which company? I just emailed natures way and they said they are no longer manufacturing sambucol and sambucus is ok to take for daily maintanence.

Amy, we mummies constantly worrying about what's best for the our little ones yet the hubbies more chin-chey sianz right?

Actually usually CCs will have vacancies at the end of the yr when the k2 kids graduate but only this one dun have any k2 this yr so if full will be likely till next yr end unless someone drops out lor.. Did you managed to speak to your hubby? If her wants to look at other CCs in our area quickly arrange lor, but also try to go in the morning or afternoon when most kids are around to have a 'feel' of the place and see the kids interacting with the care-givers. We've been to most of the CCs in our area liao, can let u know which ones dun need to bother to go see..

jules mum, the G-bike very cute hor? wanted to get something like that, but 3-wheeler cos now they can't possibly use it. but cos spent so much on the tricycle liao, maybe can only get the G-bike nearer the 2nd birthday when they can really start using it.. kekeke on Adel's birthday shopping list!

<font color="aa00aa">good morning, mummies
amy,
u can try to let yr hubby know that yan can get to know more friends and learn more.. else can compromise, maybe can try the half day first. :p

deby82,
i'm not sure the side effect, i read from the thread u posted previously but no longer valid. i gave once weekly but half the dosage, 2.5ml instead of 5ml!

re: sambucol vs sambucus
i bought the sambucus from my coll's recommendation, her children have been taking it for a long time.. there is an ingredient, Echinacea which was not supposed to take daily (i read somewhere :p)but my coll's children have been doing that daily, so far no prob. since our babies hv not reached 2 yo, i took the liberty to give wkly and half dosage.. hehe..

i got from vitacost:
http://www.vitacost.com/Natures-Way-Sambucus-For-Kids

another brand is this, i think without that echinacea, may try this if interested:
http://www.chemistdirect.co.uk/sambucol-for-children_1_12228.html

Hi Artist,

Yup. My boy has started potty training. Whenever he want to pass motion, he will tell us by making the sound "nghh nghh" and point to his diaper. So we quickly take the potty and let him sit on it... when he is done, he will get up automatically.

As for urinating, he only knows how to point to his diapers.
So far I havent train him on urinating yet.

However he seems to know that only when in the toilet, he can urine while standing..

It happens many times when I took off his diapers for bathing, he only urine when he reach the toilet.

Artist: Same as you, I keep talking to him, what is going to happen in school. I think they might appear not to understand, but nevertheless, I keep on telling him about school. Even to the extreme on the way to CC!

Anxiety is sure to have. But up to the kid to decide how long he/she wants to cry.Some dun even cry.

Jules' Mum: Remember to jio me !! hahahha

Amy: you looking at CC near your home or near your workplace? If near your workplace, you might wanna consider the one Xav is in now ? quite near to your workplace if you can drop her and go straight to work.

Lynn : Ya. I like the G-bike! I know he cannot use now la but I worry next time I dunno where to get leh. haha. Is it a good excuse to get now? Was showing my hubby last night. He kept saying ju cannot use now. I say can keep wat. haha.

potty training : My son dun wanna sit on potty also. I even bought those kids seat to put on our toilet bowl but he also dun wan. My maid will actually sit on the toilet bowl with him for him to poo. Dunno wat's so scary about the potty.

Mummyfel : ur boy so good can control. I tried making him pee when i take out diaper. He just stare blankly at me. Haha.

Mummies, anyone heard of Juzmusic?

oupss...yan u help me promo ar :p

Anyway i wanted to get the sambucol but currently no open spree
so decided to order myself since the shipping charge is fixed anyway
Hope the price wont be too much different from the estimate LOL...

Lynn, wow, you invested an expensive potty for Adel. heheh..

mummyfel, wat potty you used for potty training. maybe we shld follow for our trainings. ;p