(2008/04) April 2008

Any mummies know where we can get children's bags/items personalised? Like the name spelt in embroidery?

I am preparing for Adel to enter CC and wan to get her bag/towels etc personalised.. I used to see quite a few organisers doing BPs for stephen joseph bags that come with personalisation but not sure of the quality of the bag. Any mummies bought from BP before?

Any mummies with the contact of the previous BP organisers pls PM can?

Hi Xavs_Mummy

I have no objections. Will it be at the same time?

Btw, I have not met any of the mummies here yet, I think. Can anyone PM me your contact number, so I can sms back mine for contact on that day?

xav mum, it's fine with me too.

ranting : I'll pm my contact later.

lynn : I'm using stephen joseph bags. not bad. I'll find e contact and pm u.

Ranting baby: yeah ! Same time !

Re: Outing (Confirmed)
Date: 10th July, Friday
Time: 1.30 pm
Venue: Esplanade

1. Xavs_mummy & Xavier (Will reach around 2pm)
2. Summer_mama & Summer
3. Violet & Olivia
4. Jules mum & julian
5. rantingbaby & Faith & helper

hi moms, what can i do to stimulate my little 14-15 month old? i'm not asking for einsteins but my little gaylingkia has been bored out of his mind, been playing with my high heel shoes (tries to put one foot in) all week.
jules' mom: curry not spicy. just enough to 'colour' the food. fussy GLK wouldnt eat porridge until i tried adding tomato puree in there. yuks i know. that's how i discovered he's attracted to colour. so have been making curry since.

Hiyee mummies!! Long time never come in liao, Apr mummies still very active

Lynn: There's a shop in IMM which sells the stephen joseph bag. So you can go there to see the quality. It's at the kids mall level. I'm also interested in getting the personalised bag for Asher. Let me know if anyone come across such BP ya? Thanks!

I found this 'army' shop that does embroidery, and sent hubby to check it out. but ubby says the 'uncle' just keep saying bring down the item and see can do or not.. hiaz now dunno wan to go bag shopping first and risk it being unable to be embroidered.. i wanna get a tiny bag for Adel to bring to school, she likes hanging bags from her arms/shoulders to imitate me.. once i saw her arm hanging from one arm, checking her 'handphone' with the other hand, i burst out laughing, cos so like me!!

Fiona, i update u when i've tried the arm shop to see if they can do personalisation cheaply..

regarding spicy food, Adel has been taking some pepper, ginger etc. 2 days ago she insisted on trying spicy chips, after a few tries she cried a bit, so we tot 'gotcha!' and serves her right..

last night she insisted on trying hubby's sambal fish slice with rice.. ok lor, we tot teache her a lesson again on what is called 'spicy' so she'll learn. but ended up she took it and was laughing all the way! *faintz*

all the chilli i took while preggie really paid off, my girl is a chilli padi and she loves spicy food! think her fave beverage will be coffee lor..

Outing:

Paisay, I cannot make it for the outing tomorrow. Ju cough had abit of cough. PD diagnose start of bronchitis. So, better don't meet up with your kids. Was so looking forward to it. Maybe another time la.

Hi Janine,

My boy has been playing with my shoes too... he will bring my shoe to show me and slip hhis foot in and walk around..Gosh!!!

Anyone bring your 1st child for MMR vaccine? I m not pregnant but i m trying for 2nd one. Is it safe to bring my girl for MMR?

my girl just went for her jabs, was prenavar 2 dose and PD asked if wanna jab MMR and chickenpox. I told her wanna delay MMR (or do individual jabs) even though she assured me abt austism. She says ok to delay cos locally no recent measeles cases, but chickpox very rampant, so she urged us to give the chickenpox jab. I agreed cos Adel going CC soon.. No fever after prenavar+chickenpox jab, but cried damn loudly lol..

One thing abt MMR, my PD said there is possibility of high fever, and she warned that it could be 39-40 degrees kind of fever as it is a live vaccine. So not sure if it'll be a good idea to combine MMR+V (chickenpox).

Rating baby: had PM you my no. Where's the meeting point?

Shall we meet somewhere near ocbc atm machine on the first level? or if you all have reach earlier in a cafe, pls sms me ya. See you guys tomoro.

Jules' Mum: Hugs to Ju. Recover well

xav mum : actually he dun look sick at all lo. only cough when wake up but we worried cos he had history of bronchitis when baby. but play safe we skip this meeting la.

mmr : my pd told me it's safe. he gave his gal too. but he wants me to decide whether wanna take, delay or take individual. his partner whom I happened to talk to told me is safe if not sing will not allow. but there's an increase in cases which may or may not be related to mmr. moh states can give e jab as long as child is not coughing but he would advise to give if children is well and immunity is high.

Jules's Mum,

Thanks for the info. I think I'm gng to give my gal MMR next week if she looks fine. Afterall had also checked with my HB coll where both his daughters had already taken their MMR jabs. Currently looks fine on them.. So cross my fingers.

Ju baby, get well soon.

My apologies. I am unable to join the outing tomorrow as my husband has made plans to bring the family out. He is rarely in Singapore and he has taken leave to spend time with us. I hope you all will understand.

I hope to join in the next outing, keep me informed, ok?

hi bebe11, glad to know mine not only one wearing my shoe.. maybe it's just normal behaviour. was getting worried he may turn out gay.. touch wood.

hope ju's baby get well soon.

Hi Janine,

My boy not just wear my shoes, he even took my makeup pouch from my bag and want to put on the loose powder!

Coz he always see me putting on makeup in front of the mirror... gosh! Kids are so funny, they really like to imitate what adult is doing!

Imitate

Tiffany also like to imitate. she will take the tissue n clear the floor n bring it to the dustbin to throw. really surprise when she 1st do it wo ppl teaching her.

Jules

hope ur boy recover fast. hug hug.

Sorry to interrupt.

As our babies are born in the year of rat, believe many will be celebrating their 1st yr bday using mickey & minnie mouse theme.

I am looking for minnie mouse topper, anyone can lent me or sell me cheaply.I need it by Oct 2009
Pls Pm me.

re: shoes...

Janine & mummyfei, your children so cute and clever. Jay just loved to step deliberately on my shoes (no others') whenever he steps in or out of the house. Geez...

And, he will bring his shoes to us when he wanna go out.

Lynn, Jay took MMR and got fever and rashes. but they subside after 4 days.

Little Jay is exceptionally close to his daddy now. Cant tolerate a minute away from him... sigh... he will push me away or cry violently if i want to hug / carry him. Felt so depressed!

shoes..
mummyfel, yvonne, cath: maybe our kids will become future mr jimmy choos or blahnik. mummyfel, your son is so clever.
cath, dont be depressed la.. u are so lucky jay's closer to daddy, more free time for u! how about giving little jay some haagen daz ice cream when daddy's not looking.. i've tried that, he clings to me like superglue now..
stretch.. MMR= measles, mumps, rubella.

janine : u so cute. giving ice cream when daddy not looking.

cath : ju used to love his daddy much much more than me. I so depressed too. lately he prefers me cos I'll bring him walk walk alone which his daddy won't. now he cling to me already. yeah.

my baby also likes to wear my shoes and use my comb and hairdryer. of cos he dunno how to turn on la. he'll pick it up and aim at his head. e other hand mess his hair.

xav's mum : u mentioned e pigeon powder is e sacket type? just pour into e rice like powder?

leo's mum: not sure if it's still Superstar Virgo. They are having a promo @ end year for Superstar Libra one for one with the voucher they gave us. Tempted to go again ! =P

Thanks for the comforting words. I used to think that it is better too.. cos since Jay loves daddy, then i have more time... but hor, he totally dont want me to carry at all. sigh... our horoscope must have clashed. Especially when i come near to him, he will scream and scream and when daddy hug him, he will have the super 'Teh' look, so jealous!

I will try the walk walk method... cos he loves to go for a walk.

cath : this only happened recently? or all e while? do u know e reason? my son didn't like me cos I was impatient. my hubby is very patient and more fun to be with. usually if he cry when I carry, I'll distract him with things tat interest him. see flower, bus, fish... and ask my hubby to get out of his sight. this applies to strangers who carry him as well. we'll ask them to distract him and we'll not go near. so far he's ok.

jts my gf son dun like her too cos her mil takes care of him. everytime her son cry she will carry him away from my friend. one day my friend was playing piano with her son n e cover hit his head. he cried very badly. instead of allowing my friend to console him, her mil took him away. after tat my friend's son dun want my friend. even when she sit beside him he'll cry n crawl away. my gf tried her best, keep playing with him. now he ok already.

Hi Xavs_mummy & Jules' Mum,
Nice meeting you gals too.. I'll tag you once I've uploaded the pix to the facebook. =)

Cath, understand your depress cos my gal also used to stick to her daddy so much that she doesn't want me. But ever since I left my job to take care of her, she is now v sticky to me. What I would suggest is maybe you can spend some quality time with BB Jay alone (w/o yr HB) during weekends or maybe taking leaves. Hope it works. =)

Hi Cath,

My case is different from yours.

My Boy is super sticky to me and my mil... When he wakes up in the morning(wkends or when Im on leave), he will hold my mil hand and come and look for me. Must have 2 people with him..

If I disappear, he start to cry for me.
Vice versa, if my mil went back to her room, he will cry too.

I am not allow to disappear from his sight every minute..not even to go toilet to bath or urine! Arhh.. he will bang on my door and cry..

Even with daddy around, he will not let him carry or come closer. He just shook his head and want to beat him daddy! Gosh..

Now he learn how to hit people...dunnoe why and where he learn from...

When I told him NO, or I hit his hand, he will deliberately hit again and again...

Really no idea how to teach him...arhhh!!!

yeah... mine son do the same too. he is good at bashing people up. when i say no to him, he will start to slap me or to the maid.

sometimes, when angry he will grind his teeth

Hi Jule's mum, ya.. cos hb is more fun to be with. he is fun and always bath for him. I don't usually bath him. So now i bath him more often. Talk to him during bath time. So at least he will still want me - a little.

violet: ya lo... depress. not easy to be SAHM. It is a big lot of sacrifice. Salute to all SAHM. It is really not easy... when i am all alone with Jay, taking care of him, cooking for the family + clean up the house... very tough to handle. i have taken more time to walk with him to neighbourhood playground and all. Hope hope will be better.

cath : good to know u r trying.
I'm sure jay will feel it.

agree with u. sahm is tough. I know I won't be able to do it. i'll prob cry when he cries. :p there's so many sahm here who did a great job.

last might ju was very cranky. cried so hard. he didn't want to sleep on his own cot. e moment i saw his dozing off, i put him there and he started crying. I guess is e molar. can see 2 huge whitish lump in e gums. hope they will come out soon.

Hi Jules Mum,

Ya, probably is the molar tooth that is causing him pain.. lately my boy has been rejecting his milk and grinding his teeth ..

Then I realise his molar teeth are out... 2 huge whitish lump in the gum, drooling saliva everyday.

So I gave him biscuit to stop him from grinding his teeth.

Mummyfel : Ya. he's not eating much (what's new? haha.) He kept putting his fingers into his mouth. I see lump and whitish but haven't come out yet leh. Dunno have to wait for how long.

This morning he choke on his cornflakes. haha. He didn't bite properly and swollow it. He's scared now. he dun dare to eat cornflakes already.

I have to get more safety locks for cupboards and drawers. Julian's opening everything. Yesterday he opened the cupboard with all his snacks. The next thing we know he opened up a box of raisin and was eating happily.

Mummyfel : Ya. he's not eating much (what's new? haha.) He kept putting his fingers into his mouth. I see lump and whitish but haven't come out yet leh. Dunno have to wait for how long.

This morning he choke on his cornflakes. haha. He didn't bite properly and swollow it. He's scared now. he dun dare to eat cornflakes already.

I have to get more safety locks for cupboards and drawers. Julian's opening everything. Yesterday he opened the cupboard with all his snacks. The next thing we know he opened up a box of raisin and was eating happily.

Jules - i have the same problem with you, now kaylen is opening all the kitchen cabinets. When i told her no, close it, she will slam the cabinet door to close it hehehe. Need to get those safety locks cos i don wan her to get cut from any one of the kitchen utensils.

Hahaha!! Jules Mum, you rboy is so cute.

My boy dont want to drink his milk at all when his molar teeth is coming out, but luckily it doesnt last too long. Just 1 day and he is back with his Huge Appetite!

My boy also go round the house opening drawer, hiding controller...opening this and that. Gosh...

lol... my mum child proof the cabinets by sticking a small tiny stalk of flower..then my boy dare not touch the area.HAHAA

i was shocked to see my mums' cabinets got flower stick out..ask her why..she ask me to bring my boy to the cabinet..indeed he try to touch..but hold back when he saw tt flower...

LOL... maybe can try?

choc : ur mum very funny leh... Hehe. A reminder la. last time my aunt used dried flowers to put on the floor so that my cousin dun dare to go into the kitchen. In the end, he grew up to be scared of flower leh. imagine ah. he's 16 and scared of flowers!!! Haha.

I always tell ju, "mummy pak(beat)" when he tries to open drawer and all. Tat day he tried to open. I ask him.. "Ju, wat will mummy do?" he beat his own hands. haha.

Jules' Mum: Ah Ju's so cute !!! hahahaha.. Must disturb him.. Ju share your raisins pls.. hahahha

X's open the cabinet door of the tv console, wanted to put himself into the cupboard .. *faint*

Leo's mum: you might wanna put colour tape on the floor, set that as boundary. No access beyond tt line.

For electric plugs, we buy those covers for those sockets not in use.

Xav took the door ledge as a boundary. He wun step into the kitchen unless I hold his hand. Same method as Jules, I "piak " on his legs initially when training him. Now he knows.

Xavs_mummy.. how u managed to train Xav?? I piak him..he cried so loud machiam i cutting his flesh... hai.. then got to let him have his own way...

beat also no use... this boy... eat soft dun eat hard..

for me if at night i dun wan my boy to roam about, i off the lights and when he see dark dark..he wun enter leh.. hohoh..