(2008/04) April 2008

Calamari,
These days i seldom cook for yan anymore coz she eats what we eats. My family like to eat porridge teo chew style with 1 or 2 stir fried dishes so she just eats what we have and dinner is usually whatever my mum or mum in law cook. Typically its rice with some grwvy or soup then with fish/chicken/egg/toufu and some veg that are mashy enough for her.

Lynn,
I think kids have their growth spurs so sometimes its horizontally sometimes its vertically. I am sure Adel is fine
Am sure she will catch up vertically
Anyway, girls, abit short nevermind mah next time in class can get to sit in front then next time can wear high heels... kekeke... hmm, i didn't know that part of the 15-18mths assessment requires them to walk up steps ah? sounds very advanced lei...

mushloom: my boy has never been interested in food or milk.. i always consider rejecting food as normal. haha!

calamari: what kind of food do you usually feed? sample meal plan?

Amy, the walk up steps is 'walk up several steps without holding on to a person (may hold on to railing for support)'. Adel can do that leh for a short flight of like 5 steps. I realised the trick is to stand one or 2 steps ahead of her so she'll want to walk up holding on to railings instead of my hand, previosuly i walk alongside her and after 3 steps she'll want to hold my hand instead so fail hahaha..

But go down stairs only at max 2 steps without looking dangerously close to falling, so dun dare to let her try that frequently, but no prob getting up/down the step at our doorstep. In fact she loves coming in and then going out the door on her own, sometimes even ten times still cheekily doing that and refusing to sit down to have her shoes taken off.. Her new fave is to go out, close the gate (she literally bangs it shut, so chor-lor!) and the wave and say bye-bye and then walk off to my neighour's plants and then come back, ask me to open gate and repeat all over again..

Too bad Adel can't really eat what we eat yet. That day tried rice with soup and she loves it. But the stiry fry dish (asparagus with pork) must chop it up, so very ley-chey.. Not like she can eat straight off the plate.. I must start cooking dinner more often cos tat day she polished off the bowl of rice and soup, such good appetite!

Lynn,
I think Adel wants to dine at the table with the adults. Yan always like to eat with us if she is not eating with us she is eating in front of the TV coz thats the only way to distract her from coming down her chair or crawling all over the place. Sometimes when she hasn't finish her food and starts to play with it, daddy will eat a few spoons form her bowl and pretend that its really yummy then she will make noise and want to eat again...

BTW, yan has not started walking yet... duh... who else has not started walking yet? my mum says if she didn't walk by now she will only walk when she turns 18mths... I dunno is it a confidence issue or a balance issue... this gal dun even want to walk if she is only held by one hand... tried to let her stand against the wall and make her walk to me only to find that she squat down and try to crawl to me...

Amy, still online ah? heehee

Dun worry lah, Adel started crawling late compared to many babies (she was creeping for the longest time before she can crawl) but graduated to walking very soon after. The books say if the baby is very comfortable and happy crawling then maybe will delay walking. But no worries lah, old people always say walk later means better life!

Anyway also better life for parents cos when they're slightly older at maybe 16-18 months then maybe easier to communicate with them and they will be more cooperative won't run like a mad chick all over the place, and then we won't have to run after them like a mad mother hen..

Calamari : u can try cooking cous cous and quinoa. Quite nice too.
Ju loves cous cous.

Cote Gr : I miss sleeping in late too...

Amy : I tried giving ju thai rice again. He spit out again. haha. Gonna keep trying till he eats it.

Amy...ME ME...my boy still no confidence to walk alone..maybe can bring them together and they walk hand in hand...WAHHAAAAA

opps...i tink nana will kill me for coming here to "kao zhar bor"

Re: pedisure

it is more filling? after one feed, when bb will be hungry again?

i tempted to give charis pedisure, FM seems cannot fill up her stomach, she has been asking for milk every 2hr. Even sleep, she will wake up every 4 hr to drink.. I am super lacked of sleep now

Jules' mum,
Haha, jules got expensive taste... LOL, my gal dunno what is cous cous... How do you cook that?

Choc,
Ah pheal is younger lei so not yet walk is ok mah... the 2 of them will not walk hand in hand now lor will fall hand in hand lor since both not walking yet... wahahahahaha....

Charismama,
Theoratically it is lah coz of the higher calories... What time is charis's dinner and what time does she go to bed? At this stage, they should not be relying on milk to keep themselves full liao... Maybe she is not hungry but 'nee gian'... craving for milk...

Amy : ju has a nick name. "ang mo kia". cos he like to eat ang mo food. hahaha. bread, pasta, cous cous, quinoa, mash potato (fav). He dun like porridge. But he eats mee sua and udon. I'll post the recipe for u tonight k.
Btw, yan takes table food meaning u don't care about the salt content?

Charismama : Agree with Amy. some times kids drink milk becos they crave for milk. After a heavy meal, ju will ask for milk. Give him, he drink 1/2 only.

Jules' mum,
Table food for us usually is home cooked food. So they are generally not very salty and msg free.

I not sure it is her craving, so far, she will drink the whole bottle, else also have 180ml..

in the daytime, she will drink 260ml every 2hr.. in between we will give her apple, biscuits..

her porridge is at 6.30pm, another milk feed at 8pm.. around 11pm, will start tossing around and cry for milk, 3am another round, by 6am, she is awake for the day..

wow, araid22, ur boy eat so many food.. i tried cooking pasta, but she only took less than 10spoon..

btw, mash potato, do u add gravy to it?

charismama...wow!! her intake is very good leh...
but hor..if u change FM, u not worried that she refused milk or change pattern?

re: food
Byron's appetite is pretty good too, tried pasta, mee sua, kway teow, bee hoon, white rice. But he has a bad habit, he will spit out the food mid way through feeding him. And almost always he will continue eating after that, anyone's baby does this too. He makes me scream so much everytime i feed him!!!

ladies, i wanna look for a bumbo for Byron. Anyone letting go or know anyone letting go let me know okies

Charismama,
Would you want to try feeding charis rice for dinner? Maybe that will be more filling after that top up with milk?

Scubababe,
Have you let Byron try the bumbo already? From what i remember, its quite small at the legs area. Might be tight for babies with big thighs...

charismama... i think ok lar... as long as she wan..just give lor... hehee... i got friends who headache over their boys dun drink leh...

if mine stop drinking..i also gan cheong...

Hi xavs_mummy,

I don't have any prefer location. Maybe we can meet somewhere convenient for everyone on this Friday morning or afternoon? FYI, I'm staying in Punggol area.

amy: I am still not for the idea of letting Kayla eat our meals as her full meal, as there is oil and seasoning.

cotegr: hmmm, a typical meal will be rice with broccoli, minced beef and eggs.

jules' mum: do u have the recipe for cous cous? can share share? by the way Kayla hor even weirder, after a full meal, 15 mins later can drink another 240ml of milk...!!

scubie baby: I really really doubt byron can fit into the bumbo leh!!! But I can lend you mine when I see u this sat hahaha...if u don't mind..

jules mum - leo is the same! but prob cos i also am very ang moh in my cooking

scubababy - i dun think byron can fit in the bumbo, leo can't fit already

Jules' mum: what's cous cous & quinoa ?

Scubababe: hahahaa.. same here !! Been screaming at X off my head !! He can eat but he likes to keep food in his mouth mah chiam like hamster!

Calamari: try making meat balls kway teow. The uncle taught me to mix the fish paste with minced pork. I tried today using lean meat with carrot soup base to cook the kway teow, then add (meat+fish) balls, (taste pretty sweet and tender), cabbage and tofu. Taste nice. Even hubby likes it.

Violet: actually, tot of botanical gardens. The kids can run on their own freely, just bring our own mats. take it as picnic. Any suggestions u have?

xav: my mother will make fish and minced pork with kway teow as well, haha..maybe my mom learnt from the same uncle ahahaha..

calamari : I'll share the recipe tomorrow k. My maid sleeping already. I forgot how to do it cos taught my maid then i delete from my brain. Haha. You can try baked vege too. Zuchini, brinjal, potato, pumkin, sweet potato, bake fish, chicken, or teriyaki fish and chicken.

Xav : cous cous is like a kinda pasta. Very small and yellow in colour. Quinoa is a kinda grain. Rich in protein and good source in dietary. I went to a rest and ate it and I love it so intro ju lor.

Leo : We eat very chinese food. Only ju's food is ang mo cos he dun like chinese food leh. Dunno y. Will slowly intro him.

Charismama : Mashpotato dun need to put gravy. U can add unsalted butter, different vege, meat... Tat's wat we do to Ju's food la. Basically it's 1 or 2 types of vege, 1 meat then mix with 1 type of carbo. Charis only eat 1 meal of porridge a day?

Scuba : I try not to feed Ju cos I'll be like xiao char bo. screaming, shouting, beat him... Everytime I see the maid feeding him, I'll go hide. Dun wish to know. haha.

Amy : Ju ate ba chor mee today. he saw me eating and wanted so i tot let him try though it's spicy! hehe. He likes it and kept asking for more. Hehehe. Yan yan got friend already.

Outing : I should be free this friday. Keep me in the loop.

jules' mum: ok thanks! The rest of the baked stuff you named i have tried too, except teriyaki...ok i will try the cous cous next...hehe.

recipes: i want the recipes too! i always watch those ang moh cooking shows using cous cous but never know how to prepare it! i wanna try them for myself too.

serene the fish/meat ball sounds yummy, tomorrow i shall try for Byron and myself ha.

bumbo: Byron still can fits! ha i was surprised myself. anyway he seems to love it now so tot i get one for him. THANKS DOLLY!!!

outing: i am in for botanic gardens! but its kinda rainy now so dunno if pinic is feasible. But i think it will be so cool for the babies to roam there! Oh did we mention about Bambini too, i went yday with a friend and my goodness it was so CROWDED due to youth day. So if we plan an outing there must make sure its not any special holiday etc

<font color="aa00aa">Morning mummies</font>
scubababe, xavs_mummy,
same here.. my boy likes to dig out his food and play.. faints
sometimes will put it back into his mouth.. (like cow) :p worse if got something he does not like (like vege) he'll dig out and throw.. so messy, i give up feeding him too, now ask my helper to do it like jules' mum.. hehe..

looking at yr menu, all so interesting.. my boy opp of ju, i call him chena boy.. haha.. cos he likes rice or porridge, tried pasta, cheese, yoghurt, dont like

any babies starting with rice? i want to give him so it will be easier to go out, no need to cook porridge(lazy mum :p)..but my mil disagree saying my boy only hv 8 teeth, chances he is not chewing, just swallow, i dont agree le.. he did chew.. so i just cook soup now to bring out during wkends to eat with rice (though kena scold once
).. my boy likes lotus root soup.. haha..

lynn,
not sure if can get ready fish paste in wet market but chances they already add seasoning.. better to buy the fresh fish (batang fish i think for fishball), check with the fishmonger lor and scrap the meat out to mix with minced meat.. my mil likes to cook this though baby hv not tried yet. :p

maro, my girl now feeding time soooo messy too, when she's not really hungry but it's our mealtime we'll just let her join us (but try to feed her her own food) but she'll want to try to self-feed and all the nonsense. Breakfast she'll wan to slef-feed still ok cos dry stuff she can use her fingers. now lunch/dinner she'll wan to use spoon (the food goes everywhere but the spoon, even in spoon liao also halfway to her mouth will drop off somewhere).. then after a while give up try to use her fingers!

mummies, any idea when would be a good time to let them learn to self-feed? i know the books say now is the time but how are they going to eat enough with the food flying everywhere? any particular cultery that are very good for them to start with? I have combi ones that are slanted, supposed to be useful for them, but the spoontip so small and shallow the food hardly stays on the spoon. my girl prfers the huge chinese soup spoon and it's really not funny watching her try to self-feed.. every time can feel my blood boiling..

Mummies, I've included 2 of Ju's fav food for you to try.

Cous cous
50g cous cous
75ml water
some vege (carrots, pumkin... anything)(dice and cook)

Put cous cous in bowl, pour boiling water into bowl. Cover 10 min. Fluff cous cous with fork. Add vege. Tada! so easy.

Another of Ju's fav. Been eating this since 10 months. Millet (xiao mi) Xiao mi is very nutritious according to a famous TCM in singapore.

Millet with califlower
1 cup millet
1 cup califlower (or brocolli) cut into flowerettes (can use pumkin also)
4 cup water.

Wash and frain millet (roast millet in pan for extra flavour) Add water and cauliflower and boil. Simmer for 30 min til water is absorbed.

Maro : Ju loves lotus roots soup too. I add with water chestnut and lean pork. TCM teach one. hehe. Good when teething.

Lynn : I think it's alot of training leh. My hubby's ang mo cousin trained her gal to eat herself. By 12 months she was able to feed herself already. 1 teacher at a childcare told me the way they train kids to self feed is let them do it but u use another spoon to help feed her. Ju can feed himself but he dunno how to scoop the food. Haha. so we will scoop for him then he put into his mouth. Ya. Self feeding is very very messy. Gotta tahan for now lor. hehe

jules, i dunno how to tahan man, everytime the food drop the dogs rush for it, then Adel machiam watch show from her highchair, damn happy..

gotta lock up the dogs but they will be unhappy and bark, then Adel also will be distracted from eating.. hiaz

maro: think you can try soft fluffy rice with perhaps a bit of soup to start baby with. Let him familiarise with the texture

Lynn: i let Kayla try self-feeding at 12m. So now even when we put her in the high chair for feeding, she will have her own extra set of cutlery and bowl with a bit of the food for her to self-feed. Its a mess lor! Sometimes she can aim quite 'zhun', sometimes all over the face!~ For self-feeding, she is using the Pigeon (red and white colour) spoon with a Sassy suction bowl so that the bowl won't topple and fall.

Jules' mum: Thanks for the cous cous recipe. Will try soon.

Calamari - tik its time i rember to bring out my suction bowl, i tend to buy many things, kept it and forget about it then will pass kaylen's stage to use, waste $. Kaylen haven tried self feeding i guess its going to be a BIG mess.

Kaylen's still eating her 'own' food don dare to let her eat too much of our food cos too much 'added' seasonings and oil. Sometimes i get lazy during weekends i will feed her cereal at least still guarantee got some level of nutrients required by baby. I not so worried for weekdays cos nanny feed her quite well with 2 full meals and some 'snacks' in between. Finally Kaylen passed the 10kg mark, weighed her at PD yday no wonder my arms are getting easily tired after carrying her a while heng now she can walk by herself.

Can anyone advise is soya milk bought from Jollibeans stores good for tot like 15mths old ? My boy is always snatching my soya drink &amp; i am tempted to let him have it... ?

scubababe: yeah, think should go only when there is no special holiday.. X went GGB then believe to got viral infection there.

Lynn: I bought the fish paste from wet market. Depending on individual, I am ok to let X take abit of seasoning. Uncle told me that there is no need to ass salt as the paste has already added.

So I mixed half fish paste and half minced pork, add a little of water. fold and mix together. Put into a plastic bag, sealed it, cut a hold at a corner (Like a piping bag) and squeeze out bit by bit into the soap base to cook. Can also add dry scallops, veg if u like.

Maro: They will know how to chew with their gums even if they have no teeth. hee.. I bought the instant pigeon food, those gravy to pour over rice kind for my cruise trip. Just ask the waitress for a bowl of white rice and pour it over for X after warming up. Easy !! hee

Re: Outing

Pls add in your names if you're coming

Just bring a mat and some snacks for your little ones !

Date: 10th July, Friday
Time: 1.30 pm
Venue: Singapore Botanical Gardens

1. Xavs_mummy &amp; Xavier

Xavs_mummy, sorry that i really no idea where will be a good place for an outing with kids, so I'm fine with your idea of going to Botanic Gardens.

Pls add in your names if you're coming :)

2. Violet &amp; Olivia

2. Summer_mama &amp; Summer

3. Violet &amp; Olivia

i also let my girl eat our food, no choice cos she's so insistent hahaha.. even her food i also add a bit of seasoning, except when cooking the 'everything thrown in' porridge. will add a bit of sea salt, sesame see oil, good oyster sauce/soy sauce etc. i read from the book that should buy good quality seasoning so that there is more flavour and less salt.

actually one of the PDs i visited mentioned they need oils and fats at this stage, so i try to give but healthy version like EVOO or canola when cooking..

lynn : I was very strict with ju's diet too till e chinese physician scolded me. partly because ju's a picky eater so rather he eat flavour food then nothing at all. I gave in to salt and soy sauce and other seasoning. haven't gave him oyster sauce though. we try to intro spices his food now. I start stir frying with oil or butter too.

think few months back I mentioned I'm going to add seasoning to ju's food. e tcm warned me. if I restrict everything, he's gonna be more picky in future. I realised it may be true for ju's case as he wasn't able to accept new taste. from then, I give him in moderation. of cos not those very salty one la. sad to say my family got very strong taste bud. our food super salty. been telling my mum's maid about e level of salt but she still put like it's free.

xav : ur recipe looks good! will try it 1 day.

re: Outing

3. Violet &amp; Olivia
4. Jules mum &amp; julian

Long time no in here again... Always MIA-ing.

re: Communication

My girl, Faith, is now about 14.5 months and can communicate pretty well with us. She responds to questions with either nodding or shaking of head. She also calls out to us clearly (dad dad/ papa &amp; mama)

re: food

she has 3 feeds of solid food and 3 feeds of milk. Usually her milk time is between the solid food feeds as a form of comfort sucking. Only the last feed will usually be more filling.

re: Outing

3. Violet &amp; Olivia
4. Jules mum &amp; julian
5. rantingbaby &amp; Faith &amp; helper

Hi, sorry will not be able to make it on 10th July.. Have fun!
Thanks Jules Mom for the meal ideas.My little boy is also fussy eater. he's gay-ling kia, likes curry chicken. I add a little curry powder and coconut in chicken/potato/carrot stew.

jaime : haha u so cute. say ur son gay-ling kia. is e curry spicy? I haven.t gave ju coconut. maybe will try curry but substitute coconut with milk.

Mummies, are you all ok if location change to Esplanade. Scared of the raining weather, might be too wet at Botanical Gardens.