(2008/04) April 2008

leo's mum,

i'm fine with both arrangements. agree tat school hols is going to be crowded.

ak is annabel karmel. she has books on children food recipe.

lynn : u mean adel can do equations? I know nothing about gd. Hehe.

any suggestion which camera is good? planning to get one that can take photo of Tiffany fast. cos she always move n by the time the photo is taken she already turn her head liao or if not the photo is blur.

Angel,
Wow, it sure looks yummy
The pics you post always looks so good!

Leo's mum,
I buy books for her everywhere. No where in particular. JTS, Her favourite book is
http://www.amazon.com/You-Know-Harper-growing-tree/dp/0694008702/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1243670165&sr=8-1#
mainly coz there is a page that goes peek a boo and a mirror on the last page.

Her second favourite set is this
http://www.amazon.com/Babys-Box-Fun-Lift-Flap/dp/0689038623/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1243670423&sr=8-2

Books that she like usually have very bright and bold illustrations so nowadays when i buy more books for her i look out for the illustrations. Some other books she likes will be action songs board books. Such as these
http://www.amazon.com/Head-Shoulders-Knees-SHOULDERS-KNEES/dp/B001SROGKE/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1243670645&sr=1-5

Hope these helps

Angel: Looks yummy !!! Shall try it soon !

Jules' mum: Here's the steam cake, looks pretty plain.. hahahha..

2513535.jpg

The ever first time in my 26 years of life, I made cakes !!! Taste a bit like huat kuei or those malay cakes? Texture it's those firm type. Not too soft nor hard.

This is the method and recipe link:

http://littlegastronomy.blogspot.com/2009/01/steamed-cupcakes.html

I just changed the recipe a little by replacing the coconut milk with Milk powder

Leo's mum: good idea to wait for the school holidays to end. Lesser crowds and definately safer, esp with the swine flu lurking around.

xav : you can try adding soda or carbonated drink into e mixture. will be rise more and softer. last time a auntie tell me one. I haven.t try la. Hehe. I'll try 1 day.

Hi all, thanks you for the advice
. I fly with BA, but I think I might be given a Quantas flight. Anyway.. I've emailed them to request and I'll just wait till Monday so that hubby can make a call to BA to request again. (I'm currently overseas and will only be back 2 days before flying to OZ)

Our flight is during the day, so not sure about those bassinet installation and that. I think we just wait and see and be prepared. And meanwhile pray that God will grant us good seat with less hassle

Maddy is still quite small (8.8kg, 75cm) thus I think she will still fit in the bassinet.

Calamari and Jamie, have fun on yours too...... share pictures later.

Angel, thanks for the tips!!

Have a great Sunday everyone....

xav

that blog belongs to my friend who is also fr this forum
we were fr the same thread, our girls same age, 2006 baby. sometimes when i ran out of ideas on wat to cook for bryan, will drop by her blog too

Jules' mum: any idea how much to add? I want softer but dun need the cake to huat.. hahahahaa.. my mil likes it though. She said taste alot better than those sold in the market.

Jamie: ooh.. small world. hahaha.. her blog is good ! Very informative !

xav : u can try sub maybe 1/4 of milk? or try to add little more liquid. too hard can be because too heavy or not enough air. u trial and error. I'll try when I'm free too.

jaime : oh u know brenda too! Hehe. she's very nice. taught me a lot of things. my good friend is her hubby's good friend. that's how we gotta know each other la.
I like to see e things she come up but dun have time to try.

jules'mum
yeah but only met her once at our xmas bash gathering. she's a very nice lady, always whip up something nice for her A

jaime : ya. she's a very dedicated mum.
lucky A.

realised every time ju teething sure runny nose one. sigh. then his sleep disrupted cos nose block. sian so many teeth more.

Maddy's Mum...

just to share...Luann is abt 75cm when we r on the flight n she is onli 8.2kg....its quite squeezy in the bassinet....we had to carry her till she sleep b4 we can put her dwn...not much room for her to move or stretch....

xav...wow the steam cakes looks yummy....hee hee hee...will try next weekend hope luann likes it

can our toddler eat sweet corn already? i onli gave her sweetcorn soup but not the sweetcorn itself....

Stefy,

I think i read from super baby foods that sweet corn can only be given when baby is 18 mths... But i also gave yan soup that is made with corn but never fed her the corn itself...

Leo's mum,
I buy books everywhere... no where in particular. So far i bought from borders, kino, amazon or sometimes atrium sales at shopping malls depending on where i am or where is the sale...

jolene...i booked thru the same sites as calamari...thk they offer quite good rates but wotif charges admin fee of 4.95/booking

which part of auz u going? if melbourne i can recomend you the plc i stayed in....veli nice

leo's mum...

re: books

for books u can try borders, they got a bargain corner...always got nice books n veli cheap...

if not u can also try big bookshop, their books are not too bad n cheap too...

leo's mum

RE: books
Borders having 3 for 2 sale for children books, if not all, most of the titles, frm now until 2 June (2 more days).
i just grab 7 eric carle books for $66

hi jamie, calamari and luann_mummy
thanks for the recommendation! hb and i havent decided which part of aussie. i prefer melbourne cos more fren there. will check the sites u ladies share abt.

o Luann_mummy, where did u stay in melbourne? how many days were u there?

jgal

thanks heheh i just got more books for mine!

leo mum..

your boy is not the only one.... mine is definately older then all the babies here but he is still a tap too.... current count of teeth is at 8 but think i can see 1 more coming up.... :p

elijah's mum - thanks for sharing. leo's also got 8 teeth

anyone still breast feeding?

i am & leo's learnt to self service & help himself to my boobs at night!!

leo's mum, ju dun really drool much since baby. anyone heard of using marie biscuits to suck ursaliva on 4th month? I did tat. ju really never drool much.

Luann_mummy: yeah, do try. Quite straight forward.

Re: Drooling
Xav is also drooling like a tap. 8th teeth just came out. Think more to come, just waiting to erupt.

Jules'mum: whats marie biscuits?

xav : marie biscuits is those round ones, abit sweet one. hokkien always call it ma ni bia. now do no use already la. tell ur sis to do k. Hehe. u know I see many kids putting bib to collect saliva, julian does need tat and his t-shirt still dry. or maybe I ate too much during pregnancy? haha. everything I crave I eat. my grandma will scold me say if dun eat baby will drool. I know it sounds nonsense la. but I still follow. haha.

Julesmum

ok. i will check it out over the weekends.

Drooling

my gal also got 8 teeth and also drooling non stop and her top will always be wet. wondering when will it stop???

Yvonne..just to share on the drooling part..once the upcoming teeth come out hor..drooling will reduced very significantly...

this is wat happen to my boy... past few weeks like tap like that..then when i see the teeth emerged out liao...suddenly the tap like off..hhaaaa

can i check with you mummies what beakfast is your little ones having? mine rejected cereals so i'm goving bread with cheese or jam etc (she can only finish half slice) and then some cheerios/teddy puffs for her to eat on her own. Then when she takes her first nap she'll have the second part of her breakfast which is milk..

What other things can we give for breakfast? And can we give other adult cereals like quaker oats square or honey stars etc? She's enjoying her cheerios but I'm worried she'll get tired of it soon. For breakfast she'll insist on feeding herself, even if it means taking bits of the bread from me and putrting it in her mouth..

choc

my gal had been drooling non stop when she is a few mths old. if compare tat time and now, the amount of saliva since to reduce a bit. hope she will stop soon.

Lynn : Julian also lor. Rejecting cereal. I think he's sick of eating cereal for 6 months already. Hahaha. I've fed him bread with cheese, corn bread, raisin bread, Chee chong fan, Pancake, cakes. I also give him cheerios. Wanted to add milk to cheerios but I tried and abit "geh geh" (choking). I've bought full cream milk and cornflakes and rice puff. Going to give him soon. Very Gan chiong. Haha.

Hey all, I came across this blog and I was saddened by it. It's about a not quite 4yo girl's battle with stage 4 cancer. Her chance of survival is very low if she continue to seek treatment here in SG. Her chance will be higher if she receive a drug treatment from US, but the medical fee is very hefty.

Little Charmaine's blog is at--> http://ourfeistyprincess.blogspot.com/
Her medical report--> http://www.ourfeistyprincess.com/campaign/docs/letter_from_Dr_Aung.pdf

I'm trying my best to help them. No, I am not related to them in anyway, but I am sure if you read her story, you will be as moved as I am.

Please pass on this message to your family/friends/colleagues and if you can, donate or raise funds for her.

rejecting cereal
so far ivan still enjoys his cereal. i hope he will continue as long as he can coz i juz stocked up his cereal for the nx two mths :p

hee ivan managed to walk on his own for about 3m. so happy to see him reaching this milestone.

joelle,
thanks...
me preparing to wash the old clothes from #1...cos my #2 going to due in late aug
some clothes got bad stains now searching for this to bleach...
i can't find it in Tampines mall NTUC...